DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 6 regarding drawing objections, Applicant argues amendments to the claim overcome the drawing objections.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, noting as Applicant points out in their response that item 400 appears to be drawn towards a “laser-cut electrospun heart valve shape” and not towards a “single electrospun tubular structure”. Additionally, while Applicant argues the top and bottom edges are shown by items 210, the specification appears to refer to these as “curved edges”, as opposed to distinct top and bottom edges, or even, as would now be required by amended claims, top and bottom edges. The drawing objections are accordingly maintained.
On page 6 regarding 112b rejections, Applicant argues amendments overcome the rejection of record.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, noting 112 rejections which were not addressed are maintained.
On page 7 regarding prior art rejections, Applicant argues amendments overcome the rejection of record.
The Examiner respectfully refers to the rejection below regarding amended claim limitations.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “single electrospun tubular structure”, the “first edge”, the “second edge”, “notched structures” and “notch structures” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 9, 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 is objected to for referring to “the fold” and “the notch structures” with improper antecedent basis.
Further, the claim is unclear for referring to “a folded edge” when it is unclear how, if at all, this relates to the previously defined “fold”.
Further, the claim is unclear for claiming “the folded edge is a free edge one or more leaflets of the engineered heart valve” since it appears this is grammatically incorrect/words are missing.
Claim 9 is objected to for appearing to miss punctuation and/or a word after “bioabsorbable”.
Claim 11 is objected to for referring to “pores” multiple times without making it clear whether or not the pores referenced are all referring to the same pores or whether these are distinct pores.
The claim is similarly objected to for referring to “natural tissue”, “cells”, and “nutrients” multiple times with improper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 7 is rejected for having new matter for claiming the single electrospun tubular structure has “notched structures distributed across the single electrospun tubular structure” such that notched structures are positioned at the fold. There is no support in the originally filed disclosure for there being “notched structures”, let alone their distribution or positioning at the fold. This is accordingly considered to be new matter.
Remaining claims are rejected for depending on a claim with new matter.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is indefinite for claiming the top and bottom edge are “incorporated to” a base of the heart valve, since it is unclear what this means, and whether or not the claim intends the two edges to be incorporated into a base, onto a base, or are somehow formed into a base, attached to a (distinct) base, or some other explanation.
Remaining claims are rejected for depending on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rolando et al. (WO 2017013578 A1) hereinafter known as Rolando in view of Colavito et al. (US 20190125529 A1) hereinafter known as Colavito, further in view of Jana et al. (US 20160317295 A1) hereinafter known as Jana.
Regarding claim 7 Rolando discloses an engineered heart valve (Abstract) comprising:
a single tubular structure (Figure 5a) with a first edge (top of tube T) and a second edge (bottom of tube T), wherein the structure is folded over itself in a direction of a longitudinal axis thereof (Figure 12), the first edge meets the second edge (Figure 12), resulting in a bi-layered design with a folded edge (Figure 12),
and wherein the folded edge is a free edge one of the leaflets (Figures 14-15),
but is silent with regards to the tubular structure being electrospun,
and the tubular structure having notches structures.
However, regarding claim 7 Colavito teaches a method of manufacturing a folded heart valve which relies upon notches structures at a fold (Figure 7a item 706; [0086]). Ronaldo and Colavito are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely heart valves. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the valve of Ronaldo so that Ronaldo’s folded leaflet edges include notches such as is taught by Colavito in order to help with the alignment of the fold during manufacture (Colavito [0086]).
Further, regarding claim 7 Jana teaches a heart valve which includes a leaflet which includes multiple layers which are electrospun ([0009]). Rolando and Jana are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely valves. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the valve of the Rolando Colavito Combination by having the leaflet material be electrospun as is taught by Jana since the courts have held that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results in a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2143 (I)(B). In this case, it would be obvious to substitute any known type of leaflet microstructure that is known in the art.
Regarding claim 8 the Rolando Colavito Jana Combination teaches the valve of claim 7 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Rolando further discloses only the first and second edges are attached and incorporated to a base of the valve (Figure 15 item 20 shows the attachment).
Regarding claim 9 the Rolando Colavito Jana Combination teaches the valve of claim 7 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Jana further teaches the leaflet is porous (see Figures 6, 10 which show the pore openings inherently formed by the electrospinning process) and bioabsorbable ([0009] PCL, PGA, PLGA etc. are all bioabsorbable materials), so the leaflet is capable of being absorbed and replaced by natural tissue due to ingrowth of cells and nutrients into pores (The applicant is advised that, while the features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In addition, it has been held by the courts that apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. See MPEP 2144 (I). In this case, the patented apparatus of the Combination teaches (as detailed above) all the structural limitations required to perform the recited functional language, therefore was considered to anticipate the claimed apparatus.).
Claims 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rolando, Colavito, and Jana as is applied above, further in view of of L’Heureaux et al. (US 20150088247 A1) hereinafter known as L’Heureaux.
Regarding claim 10 the Rolando Colavito Jana Combination teaches the valve of claim 7 substantially as is claimed,
but is silent with regards to there being a middle layer in between the bi-layered design that is independently moveable from the bi-layer.
However, regarding claim 10 L’Heureaux teaches a heart valve which includes a middle layer in between a bi-layered design ([0079]),
wherein the middle layer remains independently movable from the bilayer design ([0079]). Rolando and L’Heureaux are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely prosthetic heart valves. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the valve of the Rolando Colavito Jana Combination to have a middle layer as is taught by L’Heureaux in order to provide an extra layer in the leaflet to increase durability and strength thereof, which can increase the amount of time the leaflet is functional after implantation.
Regarding claim 11 the Rolando Colavito Jana L’Heureaux Combination teaches the valve of claim 10 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Jana further teaches the middle layer is porous (see Figures 6, 10 which show the pore openings inherently formed by the electrospinning process) and bioabsorbable ([0009] PCL, PGA, PLGA etc. are all bioabsorbable materials), so the middle layer is capable of being absorbed and replaced by natural tissue due to ingrowth of cells and nutrients into pores (this is stated as a functional limitation (see the explanation in the rejection to claim 9 above).
Regarding claim 12 the Rolando Colavito Jana L’Heureaux Combination teaches the valve of claim 10 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Jana further teaches all the layers are electrospun ([0009]).
Conclusion
/Jacqueline Woznicki/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 06/08/26