Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on August 25th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 9, 13, 15, 17, and 19-20 are pending in the application. Claims 2, 4, 7-8, 10-12, 14, 17, and 18 have been canceled.
The rejection of claims 1, 3, 5-6, 9, 15, 17, and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ochomogo (WO 2007133934 A1) and in further view of Ceulemans (US 20190330568 A1) is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 9, 15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochomogo (WO 2007133934 A1) and in further view of McDonal (US 20060287215 A1) and Ceulemans (US 20190330568 A1).
With regard to claims 1, 3, 5-6, 9, 13, and 15, Ochomogo teaches an aqueous cleaning composition wherein the alkyl polyglucoside comprises C8-C10 alkyl polyglucoside (see Formulation 2, page 17), nonionic surfactants at 0.75-5wt%, and further discloses alkyl polyglucosides as suitable nonionic surfactants (see [0026]), preferably alkyl polyglucosides of 8-10 carbons (see [0027]). Ochomogo further teaches 1,3 propanediol at 0.1-10wt% (see [0038]). Ochomogo further teaches the composition may comprise 0-10wt% of glycerin (see [0057]). Ochomogo discloses 0.01-5wt% of an essential oil (see [0023]) and further teaches citrus (see [0054]). Ochomogo further discloses essential oils are commonly used in cleaners for their fragrances (see [003]). Therefore, essential oils, when used in this context, can be classified as fragrances. Ochomogo further discloses water at levels of from at least 70wt% (see [0010]). Ochomogo further teaches additional adjuvants as colorants (see [0041]).
However, Ochomogo fails to disclose a coconut fragrance.
McDonald discloses cleaning compositions, an analogous art (see Abstract). McDonald further discloses fragrance compounds include essential oils and further discloses coconut, orange, and lemon as essential oils (see [0065]). Orange and lemon are both citrus scents. McDonald further discloses essential oils are commonly available from companies in the fragrance and food businesses (see [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the coconut, orange, and lemon essential oils of McDonald in the composition of Ochomogo as essential oils are commonly available and coconut, orange, and lemon essential oils are disclosed as essential oils. Further, the selection of any fragrance is based on preference. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select coconut and citrus oils if such a person found coconut and citrus to be pleasant fragrances.
Ochomogo further fails to disclose lactic acid as a suitable alpha hydroxy acid.
Ceulemans discloses a hard surface cleaning composition, an analogous art (see Abstract). Ceulemans further teaches lactic acid at up 0.5-2wt%, especially where antimicrobial or disinfecting benefits are desired (see [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the up to 10wt% of lactic acid as taught by Ceulemans in the aqueous cleaning composition as disclosed by Ochomogo for the purpose of adding antimicrobial and disinfecting benefits to the composition, as disclosed by Ceulemans.
With regard to claim 17, Ochomogo teaches the aqueous cleaning composition may be packaged in any suitable materials and housings, such as aerosol containers and spray bottles or impregnated into wipes (see [0044]).
With regard to claim 19, Ochomogo teaches a method for cleaning bacon grease involving pipetting 2.5g of product onto a clean sponge and running the sponge across the length of the tile surface tested in two sets of six pass wiping cycles using only the weight of the sponge (see [0050]). Ochomogo further teaches the composition of claim 1, as shown above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, that a composition composed of the disclosed components would perform similarly under the same testing method. The disclosed testing method is analogous to the method disclosed in the instant claims, specifically applying the hard-surface liquid cleaning composition according to claim 1 to a surface in need thereof.
With regard to claim 20, Ochomogo teaches an aqueous cleaning composition comprising 93.6wt% of the cleaning composition (Formula 2 and Formula 3, page 17).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 5-6, 9, 13, 15, 17, and 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that the essential oil of Ochomogo would need to be removed in order to utilize Ochomogo as prior art as essential oils are distinct from fragrances. However, as stated above, Ochomogo discloses essential oils are commonly used in cleaners for their fragrances (see [003]). Therefore, essential oils, when used in this context, can be classified as fragrances and need not be removed from the composition of Ochomogo.
Applicant further argues that Ochomogo and Ceulemans fail to teach or fairly suggest some unexpected results of the claimed invention. However, Applicant does not disclose what these unexpected results may be. A statement of unexpected results is not evidence of such results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761