DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 through 7 originally filed 13 June 2022. Claims 1 through 7 are addressed by this action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1).
Figure 2 includes multiple views that are not separately labeled. Each view must be individually labeled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Yamaguchi et al. (Yamaguchi, US Patent 5,541,945).
Regarding claim 1, Yamaguchi discloses, "A compound semiconductor substrate" (col. 9, lines 33-47 and Fig. 9A, pt. 501). "A gain waveguide composed of an optically active semiconductor material integrated on the compound semiconductor substrate" (col. 9, lines 33-47 and Fig. 9A, pts. 501 and 520). "A tunable wavelength filter for selecting light of a specific wavelength using current injection integrated on the compound semiconductor substrate" (col. 10, lines 28-41 and Fig.9A, pts. 501 and 513). "Wherein at least one or more of the tunable wavelength filters are formed to select a specific wavelength of light from the light from the gain waveguide and return the selected specific wavelength of light back to the gain waveguide" (col. 10, lines 28-41 and Fig.9A, pts. 501 and 513). "A semiconductor mixed crystal material constituting the tunable wavelength filter has a strained multiple quantum well structure in which a mixed crystal material ratio changes periodically" (col. 9, lines 51-54 and Fig. 9, pts. 513 and 520).
Regarding claim 4, Yamaguchi discloses, "Wherein the peak wavelength of photoluminescence light emission of the strained multiple quantum well structure constituting the tunable wavelength filter is separated from the shortest wavelength lm among oscillation wavelengths of the tunable laser by 50 nm or more toward a shorter wavelength side" (col. 9, lines 57-60).
Regarding claim 5, Yamaguchi discloses, "One or more phase adjusters for adjusting a resonator length of an optical resonator constituting the tunable laser are provided" (col. 9, lines 33-47 and Fig. 9A, pts. 505 and 512). "Wherein a material constituting the phase adjuster has the same strained multiple quantum well structure as the tunable wavelength filter" (col. 9, lines 51-67 and Fig. 9A, pts. 512, 513, and 520).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi in view of Forouhar et al. (Forouhar, US Patent 5,257,276).
Regarding claim 2, Yamaguchi does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein a peak wavelength of photoluminescence light emission of the semiconductor material constituting the gain waveguide is longer than 1.65 μm." Forouhar discloses, "Wherein a peak wavelength of photoluminescence light emission of the semiconductor material constituting the gain waveguide is longer than 1.65 μm" (col. 4, lines 10-16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yamaguchi with the teachings of Forouhar. In view of the teachings of Yamaguchi regarding a tunable DBR laser, the alternate construction of the active region as taught by Forouhar would enhance the teachings of Yamaguchi by allowing the laser to emit light at an alternate wavelength.
Regarding claim 3, Yamaguchi discloses, "Wherein a semiconductor material constituting the gain waveguide has a strained multiple quantum well structure" (col. 9, lines 51-54 and Fig. 9, pts. 511 and 520).
Regarding claim 7, Yamaguchi discloses, "Wherein the compound semiconductor substrate is an InP substrate" (col. 9, lines 33-47 and Fig. 9A, pt. 501). Yamaguchi does not explicitly disclose, "The strained multiple quantum well structure is a strained InGaAs/InGaAs multiple quantum well." Forouhar discloses, "The strained multiple quantum well structure is a strained InGaAs/InGaAs multiple quantum well" (col. 3, lines 10-14 and Fig. 1, pts. 22, 24, 26, 28, 30, 32, and 34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yamaguchi with the teachings of Forouhar for the reasons provided above regarding claim 2.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi in view of Sato et al. (Sato, US Pub. 2004/0179569).
Sato was initially cited in the IDS received 13 June 2022.
Regarding claim 6, Yamaguchi does not explicitly disclose, "Electro-absorption type light intensity modulators monolithically integrated on the compound semiconductor substrate for modulating an intensity of output laser light." Sato discloses, "Electro-absorption type light intensity modulators monolithically integrated on the compound semiconductor substrate for modulating an intensity of output laser light" (p. [0066] and Fig. 8, pts. 131 and 191). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yamaguchi with the teachings of Sato. In view of the teachings of Yamaguchi regarding a tunable DBR laser, the additional inclusion of an integrated modulator with the laser device as taught by Sato would enhance the teachings of Yamaguchi by allowing a modulator for modulating the laser output to be integrated with the laser device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ohtoshi et al. (Ohtoshi, US Patent 5,042,049) is cited for teaching a DBR laser that includes a strained MQW layer throughout both the gain and DBR regions.
Serries et al. (Serries, "Improved performance of 2-μm GaInAs strained quantum-well lasers on InP by increasing carrier confinement", IEEE Photonics Technology Letters, vol. 13, no. 5, pp. 412-414, May 2001, doi: 10.1109/68.920734) is cited for teaching a strained MQW active medium composed of InGaAs/InGaAs that emits light in a 2µm band.
/SEAN P HAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2828