DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/remarks filed on 02/12/2026 have been fully considered.
With respect to 112(a) rejections, Applicant’s amendments have overcome the previous rejections with the exception of the limitation “wherein the powder drive system drives the first powder in contact with the support surface in a second direction having a first component opposite the first direction and a second component opposite the powder bed”.
According to Applicant, support for the amendment is found in [0059] of Applicant’s specification. Examiner respectfully disagrees. [0059] of Applicant’s specification reads:
[0059] clearly describes that the backward component is along the first direction, and therefore, the backward component is in the same direction as the first direction 201. Additionally, Fig. 1 shows that the backward component 201 is in the same direction as the first direction 101. Thus, Applicant’s disclosure is not commensurate with the scope of the claimed limitation. Thus, the 112a rejection is maintained. Examiner recommends Applicant to amend the specification and drawings to clearly label the claimed first direction, second direction, first component, and second component.
Furthermore, Applicant’s amendments introduced new 112a rejections set forth below.
With respect to 112(b) rejections, Applicant’s amendments have overcome the previous rejections. However, Applicant’s amendments introduced new 112b rejections set forth below.
With respect to the claim rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a first deposition device arranged to deposit … and a second deposition device arranged to deposit ..” in claim 1 with corresponding structure disclosed at least in [0151-0152] and Fig. 22 of Applicant’s published application.
“a powder drive system arranged to transport the powder in contact with the support surface towards an outlet” in claim 1 with the corresponding structure disclosed at least in [0109-0112] and Fig. 1 of Applicant’s published application.
“agglomerating system arranged to agglomerate at least one portion of the powder bed” in claim 12 with corresponding structure disclosed at least in [0046-0047] of Applicant’s published application.
Other Claim Interpretations:
The term “cutting line” has been interpreted below as described in at least [0015] and [0110] of Applicant’s published application.
The term “support surface” and guide has been interpreted below as described in at least [0016] and [0117] of Applicant’s published application.
The term “powders” has been interpretated below as described in [0050] of Applicant’s published application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the newly added limitation “a guide forming, with the support surface, a powder-tight channel connected to an outlet” which fails to comply with the written description requirement. Applicant has not pointed out where the amended claim is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the claim limitation “a guide forming, with the support surface, a powder-tight channel connected to an outlet” in the application as filed. See MPEP §§ 2163.04 and 2163.06. Examiner recommends Applicant to explain how the specification has implicit/explicit support for the limitation.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the powder drive system drives the first powder in contact with the support surface in a second direction having a first component opposite the first direction and a second component opposite the powder bed” which fails to comply with the written description requirement. [0059] of Applicant’s specification clearly describes that the backward component of the second direction is in the same direction as the first direction. Additionally, Fig. 1 shows that the backward component 201 is in the same direction as the first direction 101. Thus, the inventor has not provided sufficient disclosure to show possession of the claimed invention as required by 35 U.S.C. 112(a). See MPEP §§ 2161.01 I, 2163.03 VI, and 2181 IV. Examiner recommends Applicant to amend the specification and drawings to clearly describe and label the claimed first direction, second direction, first component, and second component.
Claim(s) 2-3, 12, and 18 is/are rejected as being dependent from claim 1 and therefor including all the limitation thereof.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a guide located at least partially opposite the support surface and arranged to channel at least one portion of the first and second powders” which fails to comply with the written description requirement. According to Applicant’s disclosure ([0021] of Applicant’s specification and Fig. 1), only one guide is provided per leveling system. According to Applicant’s disclosure ([0150-0159] of and Figs. 22-23a of Applicant’s published application), the guide of the leveling system 1a configured to channel/transport the first powder is NOT arranged to channel at least one portion of the first and second powders. . Examiner notes that Applicant is confusing the functions of two separate leveling systems 1a and 1b. Thus, the inventor has not provided sufficient disclosure to show possession of the claimed invention as required by 35 U.S.C. 112(a). See MPEP §§ 2161.01 I, 2163.03 VI, and 2181 IV.
Claims 3 and 18 recite the limitation “the powder drive system comprises a suction device arranged to suck at least one portion of the first and second powders in contact with the support surface towards the outlet” which fails to comply with the written description requirement. According to Applicant’s disclosure ([0150-0159] of and Figs. 22-23 of Applicant’s published application), the powder drive system comprising a suction device of the leveling system 1a configured to transport/suck the first powder is NOT arranged to suck at least one portion of the first and second powders. Examiner notes that Applicant is confusing the functions of two separate disclosed leveling systems 1a and 1b. Thus, the inventor has not provided sufficient disclosure to show possession of the claimed invention as required by 35 U.S.C. 112(a). See MPEP §§ 2161.01 I, 2163.03 VI, and 2181 IV.
Claims 1-3, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the powder drive system drives the first powder in contact with the support surface in a second direction having a first component opposite the first direction and a second component opposite the powder bed” which is indefinite because it is inconsistent with Applicant’s specification for the same reasons set forth in the 112a rejection above. [0059] of Applicant’s specification clearly describes that the backward component of the second direction is in the same direction as the first direction 201. Additionally, Fig. 1 shows that the backward component 201 is in the same direction as the first direction 101. See MPEP § 2173.03
Claim(s) 2-3, 12, and 18 is/are rejected as being dependent from claim 1 and therefor including all the limitation thereof.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a guide located at least partially opposite the support surface and arranged to channel at least one portion of the first and second powders” which is indefinite. Is the guide of claim 2 same or different from the guide of claim 1? The limitation also contradicts/broadens the limitation “drive system arranged to transport the first powder in contact with the support surface towards the outlet via the powder-tight channel” of claim 1. Is the guide arranged to channel/transport the first powder or a portion of both the first and second powders? According to Applicant’s disclosure ([0021] of Applicant’s specification and Fig. 1), only one guide is provided per leveling system. According to Applicant’s disclosure ([0150-0159] of and Figs. 22-23a of Applicant’s published application), the leveling system 1a configured to channel/transport the first powder is NOT arranged to channel at least one portion of the first and second powders. Thus, the limitation is also indefinite because it is inconsistent with Applicant’s disclosure.
Claims 3 and 18 recite the limitation “the powder drive system comprises a suction device arranged to suck at least one portion of the first and second powders in contact with the support surface towards the outlet” which is indefinite. The limitation contradicts/broadens the limitation “drive system arranged to transport the first powder in contact with the support surface towards the outlet via the powder-tight channel” of claim 1. Is the powder drive system arranged to transport/suck the first powder or a portion of both the first and second powders? According to Applicant’s disclosure ([0150-0159] of and Figs. 22-23a of Applicant’s published application), the powder drive system comprising a suction device of the leveling system 1a configured to transport/suck the first powder is NOT arranged to suck at least one portion of the first and second powders. Thus, the limitation is also indefinite because it is inconsistent with Applicant’s disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tenhouten (US 20180311769 – of record) in view of Okane (JP 2015196254 with English machine translation – of record) in view of Prakash (US 20200101663 – of record).
Regarding claim 1, Tenhouten discloses a system (P0001, Figs. 4A-B) comprising:
a first deposition device (413) arranged to deposit a first powder (416) at selected locations in an unmixed state and a second deposition device (415) arranged to deposit a second powder (417) at select locations in an unmixed state, so as to form a powder bed (403) comprising the first powder and the second powder, wherein the first powder and the second powder are of varying material compositions or particle sizes (P0057-0065, claims 4-5, Figs. 4A-C), and
a levelling system (leveler) for levelling the powder bed by levelling the first powder (P0062, Figs. 4A-C). However, Tenhouten fails to disclose the features of the claimed leveling system.
In the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing systems and solving the problem of improving levelling by preventing accumulation of surplus powder in the cutting device (pg. 3, pg. 6), Okane discloses a levelling system for levelling a powder bed (4), the levelling system comprising:
a cutting device comprising a cutting line (24a: Fig. 3) and a support surface (lower side of suction nozzle 41: Figs. 2-3), wherein the cutting line is … coupled to the support surface (24a is fixed/attached to the bottom side of suction nozzle 41: pg. 5, Fig. 3) and arranged to cut the powder bed so that the cut powder comes into contact with the support surface and does not return to the powder bed when the cutting device is displaced in a first direction relative to the powder bed (24a is arranged to cut/level the powder bed 4 so that the cut powder 31 comes into contact with the lower side of suction nozzle 41 and does not return to the powder bed 4 when the cutting device is displaced in a first annotated direction d1 relative to the powder bed: pg. 5, Figs. 2 and 4; Figs. 2-4 clearly show that the cut powder does not return to the powder bed 4),
a guide (upper side of suction nozzle 41: Figs. 2-3) forming, with the support surface, a powder-tight channel connected to an outlet (the upper and lower, i.e. opposite, sides of suction nozzle 41 are capable of forming powder-tight channel 41a connected to an outlet of the suction nozzle: Figs. 2-4; while Okane does not mention the term “powder-tight”, the internal channel of suction nozzles is inherently air-tight and powder-tight; furthermore, the opposite sides of suction nozzle 41 read on the claimed powder tight powder-tight channel in view of [0117] of Applicant’s published application),
a powder drive system (suction device 40) arranged to transport the powder in contact with the support surface towards the outlet via the powder-tight channel (41a) to prevent return of the cut powder to the powder bed (pg. 5, Figs. 2-4; Figs. 2-4 clearly show that the cut powder does not return to the powder bed 4), wherein the powder drive system drives the powder in contact with the support surface in a second direction having a first component opposite the first direction and a second component opposite the powder bed (40 is capable of driving the powder in contact with the bottom side of the suction nozzle 41 in a shown slanted direction inherently having a first component annotated as d2 opposite the first direction d1 and a second component annotated as d3 opposite the powder bed when the slanted direction/vector is divided into theoretical components: See annotated Fig. 4 below) for yielding the benefit(s) of improving levelling by preventing accumulation of surplus powder in the cutting device, surprising generation of irregularities in the layers of powder, and/or increasing speed (Abstract, pg. 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Tenhouten in view of Okane by replacing the levelling system of Tenhouten with the leveling system of Okane for yielding the predictable benefit(s) of improving leveling by capturing leveled/cut powder on a support surface and sucking/removing the captured/accumulated powder from the support surface, surprising generation of irregularities in the layers of powder, and/or increasing speed as suggested by Okane. See MPEP §§ 2143 I B, 2143 I C, 2143 I G, and/or 2144 II.
The combination of Tenhouten in view of Okane, as applied above, differs from the claimed invention in that combination is silent about the type of coupling/attaching between the cutting line and the support surface.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that mechanical coupling is one of the well-known and limited options to couple the cutting line and the support surface desirable to allow disassembly and replacement of the cutting line as it is expected that the cutting line wears off faster than the support surface. In fact, as evidenced by prior art of record (Schmidbauer or Herzog), the technique of mechanically coupling a cutting line to a support surface for the benefit(s) of enabling deflection of the cutting line and facilitating replacements is well-known in the art.
In the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing systems, Prakash discloses the technique of mechanically coupling a cutting line (131) to a support surface (200) for the benefit(s) of enabling deflection and/or removability of the cutting line (P0057, 0059, Figs. 2B and 13).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further have modified the system of the combination in view of Prakash by mechanical coupling the cutting line to the support surface for the benefit(s) of enabling deflection of the cutting line, allowing removability of the cutting line, and/or facilitating replacements as suggested by Prakash and ordinary knowledge in the art. See MPEP §§ 2143 I A, 2143 I C, 2143 I G, and/or 2144 II.
Regarding claim 2, Okane further discloses wherein the guide is located at least partially opposite the support surface and arranged to channel at least one portion of the powder into contact with the support surface as it travels towards the outlet (pg. 5, Figs. 3-4) for the benefit(s) of preventing accumulation in large quantities of excess powder material at the cutting line and support surface (pg. 6, Fig. 4).
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Okane further discloses wherein the powder drive system comprises a suction device (suction unit 42) arranged to suck at least one portion of the powders in contact with the support surface towards the outlet (pg. 5, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Tenhouten further discloses wherein the system is a three-dimensional printing system (P0001-0002, Figs. 4A-B) comprising an agglomerating means (409) arranged to agglomerate at least one portion of the powder bed after the powder bed has been levelled by the levelling system (P0060, claims 1 and 20, Figs. 4A-C).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Additional prior art made of record and not relied upon that is considered to be pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
Akira (JP 2016155337A – FOR of record) discloses a relevant system (Abstract and Figs. 1-4).
Masaya (JP 2018118442A – FOR of record) discloses a relevant system (Abstract and Fig. 5A).
Okane (WO 2015151834 with English machine translation – of record) discloses a relevant deposition device (22 + 42) capable of depositing a plurality of powders (16, 30) at selected locations and a relevant levelling system comprising a cutting device (36) with a cutting line (36a) and a support surface (36b), the cutting line arranged to cut the powder bed so that the cut powder comes into contact with the support surface when the cutting device is displaced in a first direction relative to the powder bed, and a powder drive mechanism (suction device 37) arranged so as to drive the powder in contact with the support surface towards an outlet (Abstract, Figs. 1-3, all pages of the English translation).
/JERZI H MORENO HERNANDEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743