Claims 106-110 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 106-110 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veiseh WO2018067615; Takeuchi, (2021 Future Science OA, 7(8); Kaschula, J. Med. Chem. 2002, 45, 3531−3539; Bissantz, J. Med. Chem. 2010, 53, 5061–5084 5061 and Atzrodt, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2018, 57, 1758 – 1784 and Chiodi, (J. Med. Chem. 2023, 66, 5305−5331)
Veiseh teach
The difference between the above compound and that of claims 106-110 (see compound No.304) is the triazole heterocycle H of Veiseh is replace with substituents in the instant claims.
Substituents are routinely used in the medicinal chemistry art to arrive at alternate versions of previously known structural templates (pharmacophores).
H, alkyl, halogen, isotopes etc. are obvious variants of each other and used interchangeably, as result effective variables, in the art to optimize desired physical and biological properties.
Substituting H on the periphery of ring system of known structural core (pharmacophore) is routinely practiced in the medicinal chemistry art to arrive at alternate optimized versions of prior art compound.
H, alkyl, halogen, isotopes etc. are obvious variants of each other and are used interchangeably, as result effective variables, to optimize desired physical and biological properties. The argued upon ‘unexpected activity’ is limited to chloro substituted compounds (claim 109) The claims are not limited to chloro.
This is not hindsight analysis. Veiseh provides the template/pharmacophore. Takeuchi provides the fundamentals of the medicinal chemistry exercise of why and how. The multiple citations of Takeuchi is not presented here to avoid redundancy. Why and how of the above routine optimization is/re the subject matter of previously presented Takeuchi teaching.
Takeuchi, titled
R-group Replacement Database for Medicinal Chemistry
to optimize the biological activity of small molecules in medicinal chemistry, series of analogues are generated by introducing substituents on the core template of the small molecule lead compound.
Bissantz, Kaschula and Atzrodt, are invoked for exemplifications of the above medicinal chemistry gymnastics to arrive at alternate improved versions of previously known compounds.
Bissantz teaches titled
“A Medicinal Chemist’s Guide to Molecular Interactions’
for rationale underlying routine substitution of H for other groups. For specific C-halogen bond for C-H bond replacement, see page 5070 column B onto page 5071, with specific examples.
Similarly, see Kaschula Table at page 3352 for Cl substitution for H:
(see below for more on the above Cl for H).
According to Atzrodt, in medicinal chemistry, the replacement of a hydrogen by a deuterium atom has recently received much attention as a way to alter the absorption, distribution, metabolism, and excretion (ADME) properties of drug candidates. See multiple examples in Schemes 1-10.
With explicit guidance from the guidance for methods of optimizing core structures and
employing well-established ‘click chemistry. using alkyne substituted (at the terminal C of the alkyne) with routinely used groups,
in the place of the Veiseh
one of skill in the art would arrive at the instantly pictured compounds.
It would have been within the routine practice of one of skill in the art to make the compounds of the instant formula. Similarly, making amide bonds to install the acrylate would be elementary to one of skill in the art.
Veiseh teaches the method of making the compounds as follows:
Bottom of page 218
Top of page 222
Further, a reference is relevant not only for what it expressly teaches, but also for what it would have conveyed to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Opprecht, 12 USPQ2d 1235, 1236 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Bode, 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner finds that the claimed subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, in view of the cited references and the knowledge generally available in the art. Accordingly, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Response to Remarks filed Remarks 09/03/2026.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
According to Applicant the cited Veiseh compound teaches away from the claimed products, because there is no motivation to choose it (as lead compound) from the large number of possibilities.
The rejection is not under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102.
Applicants arguments with respect to large nature of choice (available in the prior art), SAR and predictability, are specious at best,
because,
of the many compounds listed in the claims
out of the alphaphet soup of
(see specification page 1)
the disclosure is limited to one compound (#300, also see claim 109).
With regards to Applicant’s arguments on secondary references,
again,
The rejection is not under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102.
The position taken is that the analogous art citations explicitly teach H replacement of variable at
Applicant’s arguments (last two paragraphs) relate to previously made acknowledgement with respect to the subject matter of claim 109 (the sole compound made from the lead from Veiseh, as taught by the secondary references).
Obviousness can be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Accordingly, the claims do not recite an unobvious distinction over the prior art. Further, a reference is relevant not only for what it expressly teaches, but also for what it would have conveyed to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Opprecht, 12 USPQ2d 1235, 1236 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Bode, 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner finds that the claimed subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, in view of the cited references and the knowledge generally available in the art. Accordingly, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Suggestion:
Option 1: Limit to claim 109.
Option 2: See MPEP 1204-Notice of Appeal
Double Patenting
A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s).
See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 106-110 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11945786 further in view of Veiseh WO2018067615; Takeuchi, (2021 Future Science OA, 7(8); Kaschula, J. Med. Chem. 2002, 45, 3531−3539; Bissantz, J. Med. Chem. 2010, 53, 5061–5084 5061 and Atzrodt, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2018, 57, 1758 – 1784 and Chiodi, (J. Med. Chem. 2023, 66, 5305−5331).
The difference in the conflicting claims is the substituents (instant claims) on the triazole rings. Replacement of H with other groups such as halogen, alkyl etc. is part of routine optimization exercise in the art.
The entirety of the arguments presented under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 is invoked here for obviousness analysis.
Applicants arguments are not persuasive. The changes/replacements made are as per secondary references using finite number of result-effective variables. As such, any assertion of technical benefit is not unexpected.
Suggestion:
See MPEP 1204-Notice of Appeal
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NIZAL S CHANDRAKUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1625