Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 106-110 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 106-110 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veiseh WO2018067615; Takeuchi, (2021). R-group Replacement Database for Medicinal Chemistry. Future Science OA, 7(8); Kaschula, J. Med. Chem. 2002, 45, 3531−3539; Bissantz, J. Med. Chem. 2010, 53, 5061–5084 5061 and Atzrodt, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2018, 57, 1758 – 1784.
Veiseh teach
The difference between the above compound and that of claims 106-110 (see compound No.304) is the triazole heterocycle H of Veiseh is replace with substituents in the instant claims.
Substituents are routinely used in the medicinal chemistry art to arrive at alternate versions of previously known structural templates (pharmacophores).
H, alkyl, halogen, isotopes etc. are obvious variants of each other and used interchangeably, as result effective variables, in the art to optimize desired physical and biological properties.
According to Takeuchi, to optimize the biological activity of small molecules in medicinal chemistry, series of analogues are generated by introducing substituents on the core template of the small molecule lead compound. (See for more on Takeuchi)
Employing well-established ‘click chemistry. using alkyne substituted (at the terminal C of the alkyne) with routinely used groups,
in the place of the Veiseh
one of skill in the art would arrive at the instantly pictured compounds.
it would have been within the routine practice of one of skill in the art to make the compounds of the instant formula. Similarly, making amide bonds to install the acrylate would be elementary to one of skill in the art.
Veiseh teaches the method of making the compounds as follows:
Bottom of page 218
Top of page 222
Bissantz teaches titled
“A Medicinal Chemist’s Guide to Molecular Interactions’
for rationale underlying routine substitution of H for other groups. For specific C-halogen bond for C-H bond replacement, see page 5070 column B onto page 5071, with specific examples.
Similarly, see Kaschula Table at page 3352 for Cl substitution for H:
(see below for more on the above Cl for H).
According to Atzrodt, in medicinal chemistry, the replacement of a hydrogen by a deuterium atom has recently received much attention as a way to alter the absorption, distribution, metabolism, and excretion (ADME) properties of drug candidates. See multiple examples in Schemes 1-10. (see below for more on Atzrodt).
The rejection is not under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102.
The cited references are art in the same area of endeavor.
Further, a reference is relevant not only for what it expressly teaches, but also for what it would have conveyed to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Opprecht, 12 USPQ2d 1235, 1236 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Bode, 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner finds that the claimed subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, in view of the cited references and the knowledge generally available in the art. Accordingly, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Response to Remarks filed Remarks 03/13/2026.
Applicants argument with regards to Takeuchi:
Takeuchi does not cure the deficiency of Veiseh. Takeuchi relates to R group replacement in medicinal chemistry. Takeuchi, however, is completely silent towards the scaffold structure of the claimed compounds, or the benefits thereof.
Takeuchi at the minimum is ‘analogous art’.
In this regard, Applicant ignores Chiodi, (J. Med. Chem. 2023, 66, 5305−5331) and Atzrodt, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2018, 57, 1758 – 1784 Review articles placed on record in the office action filed 01/29/2026. While Applicant overlooks these Review articles, because these citations were not entered in the ‘rejection statement’. That said, Applicant is reminded of the following.
Review papers are generally considered secondary research publications that sum up already existing works on a particular research topic or question and relate them to the current status of the topic.
For example, Kaschula, J. Med. Chem. 2002, 45, 3531−3539 cited in this action is found in the Chiodi.
Substituting H on the periphery of ring system of known structural core (pharmacophore) is routinely practiced in the medicinal chemistry art to arrive at alternate optimized versions of prior art compound.
H, alkyl, halogen, isotopes etc. are obvious variants of each other and are used interchangeably, as result effective variables, to optimize desired physical and biological properties. The argued upon ‘unexpected activity’ is limited to chloro substituted compounds (claim 109) The claims are not limited to chloro.
This is not hind sight analysis. Veiseh provides the template/pharmacophore. Takeuchi provides the fundamentals of the medicinal chemistry exercise of why and how. The multiple citations of Takeuchi is not presented here to avoid redundancy. Why and how of the above routine optimization is/re the subject matter of previously presented Takeuchi teaching.
With respect to the specific D replacement for H, in the above pointed out Applicant’s argument: See Atzrodt.
Double Patenting
A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s).
See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 106-110 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11945786 further in view of Veiseh WO2018067615; Takeuchi, (2021). R-group Replacement Database for Medicinal Chemistry. Future Science OA, 7(8); Kaschula, J. Med. Chem. 2002, 45, 3531−3539; Bissantz, J. Med. Chem. 2010, 53, 5061–5084 5061 and Atzrodt, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2018, 57, 1758 – 1784.
The difference in the conflicting claims is the substituents (instant claims) on the triazole rings. Replacement of H with other groups such as halogen, alkyl etc. is part of routine optimization exercise in the art.
The redundancy below is as per Examination guidelines
Veiseh teach
The difference between the above compound and that of claims 106-110 (see compound No.304) is the triazole heterocycle H of Veiseh is replace with substituents in the instant claims.
Substituents are routinely used in the medicinal chemistry art to arrive at alternate versions of previously known structural templates (pharmacophores).
H, alkyl, halogen, isotopes etc. are obvious variants of each other and used interchangeably, as result effective variables, in the art to optimize desired physical and biological properties.
According to Takeuchi, to optimize the biological activity of small molecules in medicinal chemistry, series of analogues are generated by introducing substituents on the core template of the small molecule lead compound. (See for more on Takeuchi)
Employing well-established ‘click chemistry. using alkyne substituted (at the terminal C of the alkyne) with routinely used groups,
in the place of the Veiseh
one of skill in the art would arrive at the instantly pictured compounds.
it would have been within the routine practice of one of skill in the art to make the compounds of the instant formula. Similarly, making amide bonds to install the acrylate would be elementary to one of skill in the art.
Veiseh teaches the method of making the compounds as follows:
Bottom of page 218
Top of page 222
Bissantz teaches titled
“A Medicinal Chemist’s Guide to Molecular Interactions’
for rationale underlying routine substitution of H for other groups. For specific C-halogen bond for C-H bond replacement, see page 5070 column B onto page 5071, with specific examples.
Similarly, see Kaschula Table at page 3352 for Cl substitution for H:
(see below for more on the above Cl for H).
According to Atzrodt, in medicinal chemistry, the replacement of a hydrogen by a deuterium atom has recently received much attention as a way to alter the absorption, distribution, metabolism, and excretion (ADME) properties of drug candidates. See multiple examples in Schemes 1-10. (see below for more on Atzrodt).
/NIZAL S CHANDRAKUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1625