DETAILED ACTION
Remark
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on April 16, 2026, which has been entered into the file.
By this amendment, the applicant has amended claims 1, 19 and 20 and has canceled claim 13.
Claims 4, 5, 9-12, and 14-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 23, 2025.
Claims 1-2, 7-8,19 and 20 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 7-8 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claim 1 has been amended to include the phrase “a linear shield provided between the two side wall members and along the horizontal plane” and claim 19 has been amended to include the phrases “a linear shield” and the phrase “the linear shield is provided between the two side wall members and along the first horizontal plane” and claim 20 has been amended to include the phrase “a linear shield provided between the two side wall member and along the horizontal plane”. The specification and the claims fail to provide what exactly is this linear shield. Specifically, the instant application fail to disclose how the linear shield is made or is made of what material. Further, the specification fails to teach how could a linear shield that is along the horizontal plane is capable of allowing the displayed image to be seen without being blocked by the linear shield. Also, specification fails to explicitly disclose how the linear shield is cooperated with the rest the elements of the display to make the display an operable device.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to include the phrase “a linear shield provided between the two side wall members and along the horizontal plane” and claim 19 has been amended to include the phrases “a linear shield” and the phrase “the linear shield is provided between the two side wall members and along the first horizontal plane” and claim 20 has been amended to include the phrase “a linear shield provided between the two side wall member and along the horizontal plane” that is confusing and indefinite. The specification and the claims fail to disclose what considered to be this linear shield, it can only be examined in the broadest interpretation. It is noted that if the linear shield that shields light then the image will be blocked by the light shield. So, this light shield cannot be interpreted as actually “shielding light”.
Claims 1, and 19 have been amended to include the phrase “a member (or a shielding member) that comprises an eaves shape … such that a lower surface of the member is along the horizontal plane and at the same height as the edge of the display surface of the first display unit” and claim 20 has been amended to include the phrase “a lower surface of the member is along the horizontal plane and at the same height as the edge of the display surface of the display unit”, that are confusing and indefinite. The claims fail to provide a logical relationship between the member or shielding member with respect to the display unit to make the display an operable device. The member seems to be an arbitrary member that contributes no physical meaning to the claims. The scopes of the claims therefore are confusing and indefinite.
The amended phrase “side wall member” and “sidewall member” recited in claim 19 are confusing and indefinite since it is not clear if they are the same or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent issued to Sheiman (PN. 4,588,259) in view of the patent issued to Provitola et al (PN. 7,086,735).
Claim 1 has been significantly amended to necessitate the new ground of rejection.
Sheiman teaches, with regard to claim l, a stereoscopic optical system that is comprised of screen that serves as the display unit that displays a stereo image pair (12 and 14, please see Figure 6) including displaying a right-eye image and a left-eye image that are respectively received by a right eye and a left eye through an eyeglasses (30, Figure 6) wherein the eyeglasses comprises lenses (26 and 28, Figure 6) with orthogonal polarization states.
Claim 1 has been amended to include the phrase “a linear shield provided between the two side wall members along the horizontal plane”. This phrase has been rejected under 35 USC 112, first and second paragraphs, for the reasons set forth above. This reference can only be examined in the broadest interpretation. Sheiman teaches a Fresnel prism that comprises at least a linear shield provided along a horizontal plane that directs the left eye image and right eye image to the left eye and right eye respectively.
This reference has met all the limitations of the claims.
Claim 1 has been amended to include the phrase “two side wall members that are along a vertical plane in real space the vertical plane containing left and right ends of a display surface of the first display. Claim 1 also has been amended to include the phrase “a member in contact with the two side wall member the member comprising an eaves shape and being along a horizontal plane”.
Sheiman does not teach these explicitly. Provitola, in the same field of endeavor teaches a device for enhancing visual perception in a two-dimensional image to provide stereoscopic image display, (please see column 3, lines 50-55, column 6, lines 9-13) wherein the system comprises a VIO/frame (2) serves as the member that is along a horizontal plane in real space that the plane containing an edge (i.e. the upper edge) of a display surface (3) of the first display unit, (please see Figure 2). The VIO/frame may comprise an caves shape. Provitola also teaches that the VIO/frame has a lower surface along the horizontal plane and at the same height as the edge of the display surface of the first display unit, (please see Figure 2). Furthermore, Provitola teaches that the VIO/frame (2, Figure 2) comprises two side wall members that are along a vertical plane in real space the vertical plane containing left and right ends of a display surface of the first display unit.
It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Provitola to modify the display system to have a VIO/frame having an eaves shape and two side wall members for the benefit of enhancing the depth perception of the image displayed. In light of the Provitola the Fresnel prism or the linear shield may be provided between the two side wall members.
With regard to claim 2, Provitola teaches that the member or VIO/frame (2) comprises a
first shielding member that is along a first horizontal plane in the real space wherein the first horizontal plane containing an upper end of the display surface, (please see Figure 2).
With regard to claim 7, Provitola teaches that the shielding member has a shape cut out to a predetermined shape, (please see Figure 3).
With regard to claim 8, Provitola teaches that the member or VIO/frame (2, Figure 2)
further comprises an extension member that is along a second horizontal plane in the real space that the second horizontal plane is containing a lower end of the display surface, (please see
Figure 2).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the
patent issued to Sheiman et al (PN. 4,588,259) in view of the patent issued to Provitola (PN.
7,086,735).
Claim 19 has been significantly amended to necessitate the new grounds of rejection.
Sheiman teaches, with regard to claim 19, a stereoscopic display system that is comprised of a screen (10, Figure 6) serves as the display unit that displays a right eye image and a left eye image (12 and 14, Figure 6).
Claim 19 has been amended to include the phrase “a linear shield provided between the two side wall members along the horizontal plane”. This phrase has been rejected under 35 USC 112, first and second paragraphs, for the reasons set forth above. This reference can only be examined in the broadest interpretation. Sheiman teaches a Fresnel prism that comprises at least a linear shield provided along a horizontal plane that directs the left eye image and right eye image to the left eye and right eye respectively.
This reference has met all the limitations of the claims. This reference does not teach to include a shield member, an extension member. Claim 19 has been amended to include the phrase “two sidewall members” and the phrase of “the two side wall members that are along a vertical plane in real space the vertical plane containing left and right ends of display surface of the display unit. Claim 19 has also been amended to include the phrase “the shield member … is in contact with the two side wall members”.
Provitola, in the same field of endeavor teaches a device for enhancing visual perception in a two-dimensional image to provide stereoscopic image display, (please see column 3, lines 50-55, column 6, lines 9-13) wherein the system comprises a VIO/frame (2) serves as the member that is along a horizontal plane in real space that the plane containing an edge (i.e. the upper edge) of a display surface (3) of the first display unit, (please see Figure 2). The VIO/frame may comprise an caves shape.
Provitola further teaches the VIO/frame (2, Figure 2) comprises the shielding member (i.e. the upper portion containing the upper end of the display surface (3)), with a lower surface of the shielding member that is along the first horizontal plane and at the same height as then upper end of the display surface of the display unit, (please see Figure 2). Provitola teaches that the VIO/frame (2) further comprises an extension member (i.e. the lower portion containing the lower end of the display surface), and a side wall member. The shielding member is installed along a first horizontal plane in a real space, the first horizontal plane containing an upper end of the display surface of the display unit. The extension member is installed along a second horizontal plane in a real space the second horizontal plane containing a lower end of the display surface of the display unit. The side wall member is installed along a vertical plane in the real space the vertical plane containing a left or right end of the display surface of the display unit, (please see Figure 2). Furthermore, Provitola teaches that the VIO/frame (2, Figure 2) comprises two side wall members that are along a vertical plane in real space the vertical plane containing left and right ends of a display surface of the first display unit.
It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Provitola to modify the display system to have a VIO/frame having an eaves shape and two side wall members for the benefit of enhancing the depth perception of the image displayed. In light of the Provitola the Fresnel prism or the linear shield may be provided between the two side wall members.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the patent issued to Provitola (PN. 7,086,735) in view of the patent issued to Sheiman (PN. 4,588,259).
Claim 20 has been significantly amended to necessitate the new ground of rejection.
Provitola teaches, with regard to claim 20, a VIO/frame (2, Figure 2) serves as the member comprising an eaves shape and is installed along a horizontal plane in real space, the plane containing an edge (i.e. an upper edge) of a display surface (3) of a display unit that display a two dimensional image. Provitola teaches that a lower surface of the member is along the horizontal plane and at the same height as the edge of the display surface of the display unit.
This reference has met all the limitations of the claim. It however does not teach explicitly that the display unit displays a right-eye image and a left-eye image. However, this is considered obvious modification to one skilled in the art since using display unit to display right-eye image and left-eye image for the purpose to providing different image display choices. Furthermore, it is known in the art as explicitly taught by Sheiman that a right-eye image and a left-eye image may (12 and 14, Figure 6) displayed on a display unit (10) for purpose of allowing different image content may be viewed.
Claim 20 has been amended to include the phrase “the member being in contact with two side wall members the two side wall members being along a vertical plane in the real space the vertical plane containing left and right ends of the display surface with a linear shield provided between the two side wall members and along the horizontal plane”.
Provitola teaches that the VIO/frame has the member that has an eaves shape that contact with two side wall members that are along vertical plane in the real space. The vertical plane containing left and right ends of the display surface, (please see Figure 2).
As for the “linear shield” it is rejected under 35 USC 112, first and second paragraphs, for the reasons set forth above. Sheiman further teaches to include a Fresnel prism (18) that comprises linear shield that are along the horizontal plane for directing the left eye image and right eye image to the left eye and right eye. In light of Provitola, the Fresnel prism should be provided between the two side wall members.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the patent issued to Izawa (PN. 6,542,698) in view of US patent issued to Sheiman (PN. 4,588,259).
Claims 1, 19 and 20 have been amended to necessitate the new grounds of rejection.
Izawa teaches, with regard to claim 1, a display that is comprised of a first display unit or a liquid crystal screen (Q, Figure 2B) that displays an image and a shading hood (1) serves as the member that is comprised of an eaves shape and is along a horizontal plane in real space, the plane containing an edge (i.e. an upper edge) of a display surface of the display unit such that a lower surface of the member is along the horizontal plane and at the same height as the edge of the display surface of the first display unit, (please see Figure 2B).
Izawa teaches, with regard to claim 19, a display that is comprised of a first display unit or a liquid crystal screen (Q, Figure 2B) that displays an image and a shading hood (1) serves as the shielding member that is comprised of an eaves shape and is installed along a horizontal plane in real space, the plane containing an edge (i.e. an upper edge) of a display surface of the display unit such that a lower surface of the member is along the horizontal plane and at the same height as the edge of the display surface of the first display unit, (please see Figure 2B). Izawa teaches that the shading hood further comprises an extension member that is installed along a second horizontal plane in the real space the second horizontal plane containing a lower end of the display surface of the display unit and a side wall member installed along a vertical plane in the real space the vertical plane containing a left or right end of the display surface of the display unit, (please see Figure 2B).
Izawa teaches, with regard to claim 20, a shading hood (1, Figure 2B), serves as the member comprising an eaves shape and installed along a horizontal plane in real space the plane containing an edge of a display surface of a display unit (1, Figure 2B) such that a lower surface of the member is along the horizontal plane and at the same height as the edge of the display surface of the display unit, (please see Figure 2B).
This reference has met all the limitations of the claims. It however does not teach explicitly that the display unit displays a right-eye image and a left-eye image. But such modification is considered to be obvious matters of choice to one skilled in the art for the purpose of displaying different image contents on the display unit. Furthermore, it is known in the art to display right-eye image and left-eye image (12 and 14) on a display unit (10, Figure 6) as explicitly taught by Sheiman to provide different displayed image property, specifically to allow stereoscopically view for a viewer.
Claims 1, 19 and 20 have been amended to include the phrase “two side wall members that are along vertical plane in real space the vertical plane containing left and right ends of a display surface of the first display unit”.
Izawa teaches that the shading hood further comprises two side wall members that are along a vertical plane in real space the vertical plane containing left and right ends of the display surface of the display unit, (please see Figures 2A and 2B).
Claim 1 has been amended to include the phrase “a linear shield provided between the two side wall members and along the horizontal plane” and claim 19 has been amended to include the phrases “a linear shield” and the phrase “the linear shield is provided between the two side wall members and along the first horizontal plane” and claim 20 has been amended to include the phrase “a linear shield provided between the two side wall member and along the horizontal plane”.
This phrase has been rejected under 35 USC 112, first and second paragraphs, for the reasons set forth above. This reference can only be examined in the broadest interpretation. Sheiman teaches a Fresnel prism that comprises at least a linear shield provided along a horizontal plane that directs the left eye image and right eye image to the left eye and right eye respectively.
With regard to claim 2, Izawa teaches that the member or shading hood comprises a
first shielding member that is along a first horizontal plane in the real space wherein the first horizontal plane containing an upper end of the display surface, (please see Figure 2B).
With regard to claim 7, Izawa teaches that the shading hood or the member has a shape cut out to a predetermined shape, (please see Figure 2B).
With regard to claim 8, Izawa teaches that the member or the shading hood (1, Figure 2B) further comprises an extension member that is along a second horizontal plane in the real space that the second horizontal plane is containing a lower end of the display surface, (please see Figure 2B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on April 16, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The newly amended claims have been fully considered and they are rejected for the reasons set forth above.
Applicant's arguments are mainly drawn to applicant's amendment that have been fully addressed in the reasons for rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AUDREY Y. CHANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/AUDREY Y CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872