DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
The amendments and arguments filed on 01/15/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Claims 1-10 and 16-25 are now pending. Claims 11-15 are canceled; claim 1 is amended; claims 7-10 and 17-20 are withdrawn; claims 21-25 are new.
Claims 1-6, 16, and 21-25 will be examined on the merits herein.
Objections/Rejections Withdrawn
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous Office Actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied, and constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 01/15/2026 and 02/19/2026 have been considered here.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 16, 21, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (2019) in view of Zaaboul (2018).
In regards to claims 1-4, Guo teaches a method of roasting sunflower seeds at 125, 135, and 145°C for 15, 30, 45, and 16 minutes followed by an extraction process of the volatile compounds in the seeds (i.e., the pyrazines) (see Guo, page 9, Roasting process; Flavor extraction).
In regards to claim 6, the amount of 2,5 dimethylpyrazine is taught to be 0.99, 0.98, 0.49, 0.81 µg/g (i.e., ppm) when the seeds are roasted at 125°C for 30 and 45 minutes and at 135°C for 15 and 45 minutes respectively, among other amounts that overlap with the instant claim (see Guo, Table 1). There are also multiple overlapping amounts of 2-ethyl-3-methylpyrazine, such as 125°C for 15-45 minutes, and 2-ethy-3,5-dimethylpryazine, such as 125°C for 30-45 minutes (see Guo, Table 1). MPEP 2144.05 states that "[i]n the case where the claimed ranges 'overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists" quoting In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
In regards to claim 16, it is taught that the roasting process is used to develop a more desirable aroma and taste (see Guo, page 1, paragraph after abstract).
Guo is silent on the isolation of oleosomes from the oleosome source.
Zaaboul teaches a method of extracting oil bodies (i.e., oleosomes) from peanuts (see Zaaboul, abstract). The oil bodies are shown to be intact (see Zaaboul, figure 5).
In regards to claim 24, It is taught that the oil bodies are washed in a sodium phosphate buffer (i.e., an aqueous solution) (see Zaaboul, figure 1; page 3, column 1, second paragraph).
In regards to claim 25, it is taught that pasteurization can enhance the stability of the oil bodies (see Zaaboul, conclusion; abstract).
Further, in regards to claims 1, 21, and 23, it is taught in the specification as filed that the method of isolating oleosomes is first grinding/crushing the seeds, filtering the slurry, and centrifuging the product into a watery phase and an oily oleosome containing phase (see instant specification as filed, paragraphs 0037-0039). The method of Zaaboul teaches these steps as well (see Zaaboul, figure 1; 2. Experimental section as a whole). MPEP §2112.01(I) states that “[w]here the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” As the prior art renders obvious the instant method, a person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the same composition to have the same properties as instantly claimed.
In regards to claims 1-4, 6, 16, 21, and 23-25, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Guo with Zaaboul as Guo teaches a method of enhancing the aroma and taste of sunflower seed extracts and Zaaboul teaches a known method of extracting oils from peanuts (i.e., seeds) in an efficient manner. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the methods of Guo and Zaaboul according to the method of extraction as taught by Zaaboul to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Further in regards to the limitations of oleosome behavior or properties, such as having a D50 diameter, MPEP §2112.01(I) states that “[w]here the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In the instant case, the combination of Guo and Zaaboul an identical method of roasting and isolating oleosomes, it would be understood by one with ordinary skill in the art that the average globule diameter of the intact oleosomes would behave identically as instantly claimed as well. A person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the same composition to have the same properties as instantly claimed.
Claims 5 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (2019) in view of Zaaboul (2018) as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 16, 21, and 23-25 above, and further in view of Shrestha (2016).
The teachings of Guo and Zaaboul have been described supra.
The teachings of Guo and Zaaboul are silent on the relative humidity of the roasting step or the injection of steam during roasting.
Shrestha teaches that when baking sesame seeds the humidity is an important factor in eliminating pathogens such as Salmonella (see Shrestha, abstract). Further, Shrestha teaches baking sesame seeds at a relative humidity of 20% (see Shrestha, page 117, baking temperature, time, and relative humidity). It is taught that the target humidity is reached by injecting steam during baking (see Shrestha, page 117, baking temperature, time, and relative humidity).
In regards to claim 5, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Guo and Zaaboul with Shrestha in order to best manage the growth of dangerous pathogens in the seeds of Guo and Zaaboul. It is noted that 20% relative humidity is not optimal for this, it is sufficient to reduce the Salmonella population (see Shrestha, page 123, column 1, paragraphs 1-3). As such, it would be within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to envisage a roasting step done at the relative humidity as instantly claimed. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings of Guo and Zaaboul with Shrestha according to the known method of using relative humidity to control pathogen on oleosome seeds (see Shrestha, Baking temperature, time, and relative humidity) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in view of the modified grounds of rejection as necessitated by amendment.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to reference Xu have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. As the arguments presented all are based on the teachings of Xu and the modified rejections do not rely on Xu, the claims are maintained as being rendered obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 16, and 21-25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of copending Application No. 18834679 in view of Guo (2019), Zaaboul (2018), and Shrestha (2016).
18834679 claims a method of grinding sunflower seeds and isolating the oleosome fraction.
The claimed method of 18834679 is silent on roasting the sunflower seeds, the average diameter D50 not increasing more than 20% compared to the initial oleosomes, and pasteurizing the oleosome composition.
The teachings of Guo, Zaaboul, and Shrestha have been described supra.
In regards to claims 1-6, 16, and 21-25, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of 18834679 with Guo and Shrestha as these references teach that the roasting step at the specific relative humidity of 20% allows for a better aroma, taste, and overall lower lethality through the reduction of pathogens (see Guo, page 1, paragraph after abstract; see Shrestha, page 123, column 1, paragraphs 1-3). Further the method of Guo teaches that the seeds are ground up after roasting as a point of similarity. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings of 18834679 with Guo and Shrestha according to the known method of using relative humidity to control pathogen on oleosome seeds by roasting (see Shrestha, Baking temperature, time, and relative humidity) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Further in regards to the limitations of oleosome behavior or properties, such as having a D50 diameter, MPEP §2112.01(I) states that “[w]here the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In the instant case, the combination of 18834679 with Guo, Zaaboul, and Shrestha yeild an identical method of roasting and isolating oleosomes, it would be understood by one with ordinary skill in the art that the average globule diameter of the intact oleosomes would behave identically as instantly claimed as well. A person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the same composition to have the same properties as instantly claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-6, 16, and 21-25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18834675 in view of Guo (2019), Zaaboul (2018), and Shrestha (2016).
18834675 claims a method of grinding sunflower seeds and isolating the oleosome fraction (claims 1-7).
The claimed method of 18834675 is silent on roasting the sunflower seeds, the relative humidity of the roasting step, the average diameter D50 not increasing more than 20% compared to the initial oleosomes, and pasteurizing the oleosome composition.
The teachings of Guo, Zaaboul, and Shrestha have been described supra.
In regards to claims 1-6, 16, and 21-25, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of 18834675 with Guo and Shrestha as these references teach that the roasting step at the specific relative humidity of 20% allows for a better aroma, taste, and overall lower lethality through the reduction of pathogens (see Guo, page 1, paragraph after abstract; see Shrestha, page 123, column 1, paragraphs 1-3). Further the method of Guo teaches that the seeds are ground up after roasting as a point of similarity. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings of 18834675 with Guo and Shrestha according to the known method of using relative humidity to control pathogen on oleosome seeds by roasting (see Shrestha, Baking temperature, time, and relative humidity) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Further in regards to the limitations of oleosome behavior or properties, such as having a D50 diameter, MPEP §2112.01(I) states that “[w]here the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In the instant case, the combination of 18834675 with Guo, Zaaboul, and Shrestha yeild an identical method of roasting and isolating oleosomes, it would be understood by one with ordinary skill in the art that the average globule diameter of the intact oleosomes would behave identically as instantly claimed as well. A person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the same composition to have the same properties as instantly claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-6, 16, and 21-25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18834672 in view of Guo (2019), Zaaboul (2018), and Shrestha (2016).
18834672 claims a method of grinding sunflower seeds and isolating the oleosome fraction (see claims 1-8).
The claimed method of 18834672 is silent on roasting the sunflower seeds, the relative humidity of the roasting step, the average diameter D50 not increasing more than 20% compared to the initial oleosomes, and pasteurizing the oleosome composition.
The teachings of Guo, Zaaboul, and Shrestha have been described supra.
In regards to claims 1-6, 16, and 21-25, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of 18834672 with Guo and Shrestha as these references teach that the roasting step at the specific relative humidity of 20% allows for a better aroma, taste, and overall lower lethality through the reduction of pathogens (see Guo, page 1, paragraph after abstract; see Shrestha, page 123, column 1, paragraphs 1-3). Further the method of Guo teaches that the seeds are ground up after roasting as a point of similarity. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings of 18834672 with Guo and Shrestha according to the known method of using relative humidity to control pathogen on oleosome seeds by roasting (see Shrestha, Baking temperature, time, and relative humidity) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Further in regards to the limitations of oleosome behavior or properties, such as having a D50 diameter, MPEP §2112.01(I) states that “[w]here the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In the instant case, the combination of 18834672 with Guo, Zaaboul, and Shrestha yeild an identical method of roasting and isolating oleosomes, it would be understood by one with ordinary skill in the art that the average globule diameter of the intact oleosomes would behave identically as instantly claimed as well. A person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the same composition to have the same properties as instantly claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/07/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument that an appropriate response will be provided upon indication of allowable subject matter is noted. As such, the rejections are maintained until said response is filed or the claims are amended as needed to overcome the rejections.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/Isis A Ghali/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/A.A.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 1611