DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group A, figures 1-8 in the reply filed on February 10, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 4, 5, 6, 19, and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) by the Examiner as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 5, 6, 19, and 20 contain limitations directed towards a sleeve and air gap that are only described in the description of figures 13 and 14.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the air gap between the sleeve and the sealing element must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 should read “panel configured to be positioned between…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, and 7-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1: It is unclear if the combination of a firestop assembly includes a sealing element or if it is supposed to be excluded. The preamble is directed towards the firestop assembly but does not appear to positively recite the pipe and sealing element. However, in the body of the claim the heat reduction insulation is intended to be defined in how it relates to the sealing element. It is assumed that the sealing element is not intended to be positively claimed and will be examined accordingly. However, if the sealing element is not to be positively recited the limitations directed to it should be functional in nature such as “configured to extend…”.
Regarding claim 6: It is unclear how there is an air gap defined between the sleeve and the sealing element. As mentioned in the rejection of claim 1, the sealing element is not positively recited.
Regarding claim 15: It is unclear what is required of the structure that is a result of it being subject to pressure. All structures are subject to at least atmospheric pressure.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. It is unclear how being subject to pressure further limits a structural claim. No structural limitations are presented by this claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Additional claims rejected under 35 USC 112 but not addressed are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim and failing to further remedy the issue(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-9, and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamoto (JP 2017-180818).
Referring to claim 1: Iwamoto teaches a tube (item 20) configured to be positioned about the pipe (item 2) and secured relative to the building structure division; an intumescent material (item 6) positioned within the tube; a heat reduction insulation (item 5) supported by the tube such that the heat reduction insulation extends about the sealing element (item 9) and minimizes heating of the sealing element. Iwamoto does not teach the intumescent material. However, item 6 of Iwamoto is a Thermal Expansion Fire Refractory Material. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to recognize that a Thermal Expansion Fire Refractory Material would be a substitute or equivalent to an intumescent material.
Referring to claim 3: Iwamoto teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Iwamoto teaches wherein the heat reduction insulation is in the form of a panel configured to positioned between the tube and the building structure division (figure 7). Under broadest reasonable interpretation item 5 meets the definition of a panel as being “a flat , usually rectangular part, or piece of wood, metal, cloth, etc., that fits into or onto something larger” (dictionary.cambridge.org). Item 5 fits onto larger wall surface.
Referring to claim 7: Iwamoto teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Iwamoto does not specifically teach wherein the firestop assembly maintains water and gas tightness of the passage without being continuously welded to the building structure division. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to recognize that Iwamoto would also serve to prevent water and gas passage as it is designed to prevent smoke movement through the opening as well as fire.
Referring to claim 8: Iwamoto teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Iwamoto does not teach wherein the tube has a circumferentially continuous structure. However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the tube a circumferentially continuous structure, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893). With a continuous structure there is a reduced chance of failure as there are less intrusion points.
Referring to claim 9: Iwamoto teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Iwamoto teaches the tube includes interconnected portions which together define a circumferentially continuous structure (figure 8).
Referring to claim 13: Iwamoto teaches a building structure division (item 10) defining a through passage; a pipe (item 2) extending through the through passage; a sealing element (item 3) sealing the through passage about the pipe; a first fire stop assembly according to claim 1 secured about the pipe on a first side of the building structure division (as indicated in the rejection of claim 1 above). Iwamoto does not teach a second fire stop assembly according to claim 1 secured about the pipe on a second, opposite side of the building structure division. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a second firestop assembly, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involve only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378. A second firestop assembly would provide additional sealing capabilities from both sides of the building structure division.
Referring to claim 14: Iwamoto teaches all the limitations of claim 13 as noted above. Iwamoto does not specifically teach wherein the sealing element is insulated between the heat reduction insulation of the first and second fire stop assemblies. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to recognize that a second fire stop assembly on an adjacent side of a building structure division would perform the function of insulating between the two.
Referring to claim 15: Iwamoto teaches all the limitations of claim 13 as noted above. Iwamoto does not teach wherein the building structure is subject to pressure. However, the functional recitation that the building structure is subject to pressure has not been given patentable weight because it is narrative in form. In order to be given patentable weight, a functional recitation must be expressed as a “means” for performing the specified function, as set forth in 35 USC § 112, 6th paragraph, and must be supported by recitation in the claim of sufficient structure to warrant the presence of the functional language. In re Fuller, 1929 C.D. 172; 388 O.G. 279. Additionally, under broadest reasonable interpretation the building structure of Nagase would be subject to at least atmospheric pressure.
Referring to claim 16: Iwamoto teaches all the limitations of claim 15 as noted above. Iwamoto does not specifically teach wherein the building structure is a ship bulkhead. However, it has been held that the recitation with respect to the matter in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex part Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Referring to claim 17: Iwamoto teaches all the limitations of claim 13 as noted above. Iwamoto does not specifically teach wherein the first and second fire stop assemblies have the same configuration. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that placing a duplicate item on the opposite side of a building structure division would inherently use an identical assembly, meaning having the same configuration.
Claim(s) 2, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamoto in view of Schlytter-Henrichsen (US Patent No 10,571,067).
Referring to claims 2 and 18: Iwamoto teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 13 as noted above. Iwamoto does not teach wherein the heat reduction insulation is an endothermic material configured to release chemically bound water. However, Schlytter-Henrichsen teaches the heat reduction insulation is an endothermic material configured to release chemically bound water (col 1, lines 37-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to create the device taught by Iwamoto with the specific insulation taught by Schlytter-Henrichsen in order to protect the intumescent material for an extended period during a fire event.
Claim(s) 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamoto in view of Gohlke et al. (US Patent No 5,351,448) (“Gohlke”).
Referring to claim 10: Iwamoto teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Iwamoto does not teach wherein the tube has a free end and tabs extend radially inward along the free end to retain materials positioned within the tube. However, Gohlke teaches wherein the tube has a free end and tabs (item 38)extend radially inward along the free end to retain materials positioned within the tube.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to create the device taught by Iwamoto with the tabs taught by Gohlke in order to allow for retention of the materials but expansion upon activation to preserve the seal around the pipe.
Referring to claim 11: Iwamoto teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Iwamoto does not teach wherein the tube has a connected end with a plurality of radially outward extending mounting tabs. However, Gohlke teaches wherein the tube has a connected end with a plurality of radially outward extending mounting tabs (item 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to create the device taught by Iwamoto with the tabs taught by Gohlke in order to easily secure the device to the partition or wall.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PATRICK J MAESTRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635