DETAILED ACTION
CONTINUING DATA
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2020/086385 12/16/2020
FOREIGN APPLICATIONS
EP 19216405.1 12/16/2019
This application is in response to Applicant’s amendment submitted October 16, 2025. Claims 37-41 and 43-56 are pending.
Applicant’s amendment is sufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 37-56 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
The following new rejections were necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 38 depends from claim 37 and recites “the suitable conditions in step a).” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claim 37 does not recite “suitable conditions.” The recitation “suitable conditions” in claim 37 was removed by Applicant’s amendment submitted October 16, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 37-41, 43-46, and 52-56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brimert in view of Kay (Factors that Affect the Rate of Reactions, in Chapter 17 of Introductory Chemistry – 1st Canadian Edition, 2014).
Brimert teaches a process where the following compound (1.29 mmol)
was reacted in 15 mL DMF (a polar aprotic solvent) with trimethyl-[2-(3,4,5-trifluorophenyl)ethynyl]silane (1.94 mmol*), iodocopper (0.39 mmol), CsF, and N,N-diethanamine. The meaning of a solvent “in surplus” is unclear as set forth above, but 15 mL would be approximately 200 mmol, which is much greater than the mmols of reagents used. The vessel was purged 3 times with nitrogen (inert atmosphere). The reaction mixture was stirred at room temperature for 2 hours. This starting material is a compound of formula IX where each of R1, R2, and R3 are acetyl. See pages 146-148.
The resulting compound is a compound of formula X where each of R1, R2, and R3 are acetyl.
Then the protected compound was dissolved in methanol followed by addition of sodium methoxide and the mixture was stirred at room temperature for 1 hour to give the following compound, which is claimed formula I. The product was washed with methanol and concentrated in vacuo. Page 136.
Brimert also teaches the reaction where 5-bromopyridine-3-thiol is reacted with NaH (base) in DMF at room temperature for 30 minutes. Then 2,4,6-tri-O-acetyl-3-azido-1-chloro-3-deoxy-beta-D-galactopyranoside was added and the reaction mixture was stirred at 50°C for two hours. The starting compound was a compound of formula IX where R1, R2 and R3 are all acetyl (protecting groups).
*Brimert recites that trimethyl-[2-(3,4,5-trifluorophenyl)ethynyl]silane was present at 194 mmol, which is clearly a typographical error. The molecular weight of the compound is 228.28 g/mol and the amount used was 442.22 mg, which is 1.94 mmol.
Brimert does not teach heating the reaction mixture to raise the temperature at least 15°C above the suitable temperature.
Kay teaches that an increase in temperature increases the rate of reaction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to increase the temperature of the Brimert reaction in order to increase the rate of reaction. MPEP 2144 states ‘Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”’ The skilled artisan would have increased the temperature in order to increase the rate of reaction, and would have optimized the temperature using routine experimentation to provide an acceptable rate of reaction versus formation of side products.
Claim(s) 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brimert in view of Kay.
Brimert teaches as set forth above, the use of diethanamine for step b. Diethanamine is not a tertiary amine base. Kay teaches as set forth above.
Brimert also teaches the same reaction for production of a compound which differs from (I) only because it contains F instead of Br attached to phenyl. Page 124. The base used in that example was triethylamine.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to substitute triethylamine for diethanamine in Brimert’s reaction because both are amine bases used in the same reaction for substrates which differ only in a choice of halogen. The Supreme Court in KSR reaffirmed the familiar framework for determining obviousness as set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. (383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966)), but stated that the Federal Circuit had erred by applying the teaching- suggestion-motivation (TSM) test in an overly rigid and formalistic way. KSR, 82 USPQ2d 1385. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Simple substitution of triethylamine for diethanamine would have resulted in the claimed invention, and the results would have been predictable because triethylamine has been used to carry out the same reaction on a compound which differs only in the choice of halogen at a position which was not the reaction site. The skilled artisan would have optimized the temperature of the reaction using routine experimentation to provide an acceptable rate of reaction versus formation of side products, as set forth above.
Claim(s) 48-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brimert in view of Kay.
Brimert teaches as set forth above, the deprotection reaction which was done in one step (one addition of base instead of two consecutive additions). Kay teaches as set forth above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to carry out Brimert’s deprotection reaction and to add a second aliquot of base followed by additional stirring. The skilled artisan would have checked to see if the deprotection was complete, and if not, the skilled artisan would have added more reagent and allowed more time to achieve a complete reaction. The skilled artisan would have used an inert atmosphere for the reaction because sodium methoxide is a sensitive reagent which reacts vigorously with water and can ignite spontaneously in moist air. The skilled artisan would have optimized the temperature of the reaction using routine experimentation to provide an acceptable rate of reaction versus formation of side products, as set forth above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Brimert does not suggest making the reaction take place at elevated temperature, and Kay also fails to teach the temperature conditions. This argument is not persuasive because, as set forth above, the skilled artisan would have optimized the temperature of the reaction using routine experimentation to provide an acceptable rate of reaction versus formation of side products.
Applicant argues that the present inventors tried and failed to arrive at an upscalable process until arriving at the instantly claimed process. This argument is not persuasive because establishing long-felt need requires objective evidence that an art recognized problem existed in the art for a long period of time without solution. MPEP 716.04. Long-felt need is analyzed as of the date the problem is identified and articulated, and there is evidence of efforts to solve that problem. In this instance, there is no objective evidence on the record that an art recognized problem existed in the art for a long period of time without solution. Arguments presented by the applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. MPEP 716.01(c).
Applicant argues that the prior art does not suggest obtaining the claimed suitable process for upscaling, which produces the product in high yield and high purity. This argument is not persuasive because the claims do not require any particular yield or purity. To the extent that Applicant is arguing that scalability is an unexpected result of the claimed process, the burden is on applicant to establish that results are unexpected and significant. MPEP 716.02(b). The evidence relied upon should establish “that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance.” There is no evidence on the record that the claimed process is unexpectedly and significantly better than the prior art process. Furthermore, Applicants have the burden of explaining the data in any declaration they proffer as evidence of non-obviousness. There is no declaration in this instance. Finally, evidence of unexpected properties may be in the form a direct or indirect comparison of the claimed invention with the closest prior art which is commensurate in scope with the claims. Applicant must identify the cause of the unexpectedly superior property (compared to the prior art) and establish a nexus for that cause. There is no comparison with the closest prior art on the record in this instance.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAYLA D BERRY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693