DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and the sequence combination of SEQ ID Nos 1,56,61,81,86,141,146 in the reply filed on 10/24/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 3-7 and 17 are pending. Claims 2, 8-16 and 18 have been cancelled.
An action on the merits is set forth below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-7 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 includes SEQ ID Numbers. SEQ ID No. 1 includes the gene name in parentheses. The applicant should include the gene name for each of the recited sequences so that the nomenclature in the claim is constant. claims 3-7 and 17 are objected as being dependent on an objected claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 3-7 and 17 are indefinite over “genomic DNA may comprise DNA derived from colorectal cancer cells”. This phrase is indefinite as it is not clear the metes and bounds of this phrase. In particular it is not clear if this intends to be optional language or if the claims are requiring particular limitations of the genomic DNA that has not been recited.
Claim 7 is indefinite over the phrase “”suspected of having CRC”. In particular it is not clear the metes and bounds of the term “suspected”. In particular it is not clear if the term is intending a particular symptom or symptoms of CRC. In other words, it is not clear how the term “suspected” changes the genus of the subject from any subject as this term is not defined by the specification or by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3,4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carrell et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0112659 April 18, 2019)
With regard to claim 1, Carrell et al. teaches a method of detecting methylation within genomic DNA (para 46). Carrell et al.. teaches detection of methylation in ANKRD13B, EYA4, RASSF2, SEPT9 (Table 2). Although Carrell et al. does not specifically recite SEQ ID Numbers 1, 56, 61,81,86,141,146, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim is detection of methylation of a genomic region that encompasses these sequences. As Carrell et al. teaches genome wide methylation of the genes that encompass these sequences (para 36), Carrell anticipates the step. Carrell et al. teaches genomic DNA (para 37). The limitation of “may comprise DNA derived from CRC cells” is interpreted as an optional limitation that is not required by the claim language.
With regard to claim 3, Carrell et al. teaches the use of bisulfite steps of converting cytosine unmethylated in the 5’ position to uracil and detecting DNA methylation within the genomic DNA by detecting unconverted cytosine (para 46-50).
With regard to claim 4, Carrell et al. teaches detecting the amount of methylated genomic DNA (para 40-41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carrell et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0112659 April 18, 2019) in view of Chittenden et al. (WO 2019/079647 April 25, 2019)
Carrell et al. teaches a method of detecting methylation within genomic DNA (para 46). Carrell et al.. teaches detection of methylation in ANKRD13B, EYA4, RASSF2, SEPT9 (Table 2). Although Carrell et al. does not specifically recite SEQ ID Numbers 1, 56, 61,81,86,141,146, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim is detection of methylation of a genomic region that encompasses these sequences. As Carrell et al. teaches genome wide methylation of the genes that encompass these sequences (para 36), Carrell anticipates the step. Carrell et al. teaches genomic DNA (para 37). The limitation of “may comprise DNA derived from CRC cells” is interpreted as an optional limitation that is not required by the claim language.
Carrell et al. is intending to screen semen samples. Therefore Carrell et al. does not teach that the subjects is related to CRC.
With regard to claim 7, Chittenden et al. suggests that the recited gene areas are associated with colorectal cancer and as such teaches subjects that are suspected of having CRC (para 117 and Appendix A)
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method of Carrell et al to further screen using the method of Carrell methylation to determine associations of these genes with other known phenotypes including colorectal cancer as taught by Chittenden et al. The ordinary artisan would be motivated to modify the method of Carrell to further screen additional subject types and further phenotype relationships using a method of detecting methylation amounts in known genes.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carrell et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0112659 April 18, 2019) and Chittenden et al. (WO 2019/079647 April 25, 2019) as applied to claim 7 and further in view of An et al. (US Patent 10266900 April 23, 2019)
Carrell et al. teaches a method of detecting methylation within genomic DNA (para 46). Carrell et al.. teaches detection of methylation in ANKRD13B, EYA4, RASSF2, SEPT9 (Table 2). Although Carrell et al. does not specifically recite SEQ ID Numbers 1, 56, 61,81,86,141,146, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim is detection of methylation of a genomic region that encompasses these sequences. As Carrell et al. teaches genome wide methylation of the genes that encompass these sequences (para 36), Carrell anticipates the step. Carrell et al. teaches genomic DNA (para 37). The limitation of “may comprise DNA derived from CRC cells” is interpreted as an optional limitation that is not required by the claim language. Chittenden et al. suggests that the recited gene areas are associated with colorectal cancer and as such teaches subjects that are suspected of having CRC (para 117 and Appendix A)
However, Carrell and Chittenden do not teaches that the samples are cell free or from blood.
With regard to claims 5,6,17, An et al. teaches methods of detecting colorectal cancer associations with methylated genes in cell free tumor DNA from blood (para 12).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to use a known sample type that can measure methylation amounts using known assay methods from Carrell and Chittenden as taught by An et al. The ordinary artisan would be motivated to use cfDNA as the ordinary artisan would be aware that cfDNA extraction from a subject is less invasive than tumor selection. Therefore it would be obvious to the ordinary artisan to use the sample type of An et al. to detect the methylation amounts of Carrell and Chittenden et al.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHERINE D SALMON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682