DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 22-43 are new.
Claims 1-21 are cancelled.
Claims 22-43 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-25, 27-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holm (US 20090201765 A1) in view of Bosch (US 20040095258 A1) or Chen (17/785307) or Hau (US 9689538 B2) or Smith (US 20140187681 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Holm teaches :a trigger module, configured to generate a sensing signal corresponding to one or more properties of an object attached by the sensing device[Fig 1 has #110, #130,#160; 0029 has motion detector; 0033 has activation of ultrasound transducer when motion is detected meaning trigger with sensing signal when object moves namely it detects object property that it is in motion and activates ultrasound transducer #170, #190], …..
and a sound module, configured to generate and transmit a wide-frequency sound signal according to the sensing signal [Fig 1 has transmitter #170 and transducer #190; 0033 has activation of ultrasound signal based on detection of motion ie sensing signal from motion detector; 0055 has transmission on various different frequencies ie wide-frequency sound; 0012 has ultrasonic and audible alerts]; and
Holm does explicitly teach wherein the trigger module comprises either (i) a roll ball located inside a combination of a conductive tube and an insulated tube so that the sensing signal is decided by whether the roll ball enters the conductive tube or the insulated tube,[However Holm with applicants admission for the trigger module contains a Hall effect switch and the claim only requires one of the triggers to be found] or (ii) a magnetic-field switch configured to change the sensing signal according to a magnetic field variation caused by relative movement between the magnetic-field switch and a magnet[Based on para 0026 of applicants specification this is the basic functioning of a Hall Effect switch which is well known in the art and does not have any patentable weight];
Hau[Fig 2 and Col 3, Lines 55-65 has ball with various conductive contacts] and Smith[Fig 3 has roll ball with various conductive contacts] teaches wherein the trigger module comprises either (i) a roll ball located inside a combination of a conductive tube and an insulated tube so that the sensing signal is decided by whether the roll ball enters the conductive tube or the insulated tube
Bosch teaches or (ii) a magnetic-field switch configured to change the sensing signal according to a magnetic field variation caused by relative movement between the magnetic-field switch and a magnet[0019 has hall effect sensors being used as a trigger being common in the art and so this combined with para 0026 of applicants specification has this claim being a description of the basic functioning of a Hall Effect switch which is well known in the art and does not have any patentable weight];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified trigger of Holm with the admission of Chen or Hall effect trigger of Bosch or the roll ball of Hau or Smith to have the respective trigger mechanism in the prior art. Moreover It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). Moreover the use of certain triggers are common and well known components in the art based admission in applicant's specification.
Regarding claim 30, Holm teaches one or more sensing devices, wherein each sensing device is configured to transmit a wide-frequency sound signal corresponding to one or more properties of an object attached by the sensing device, each sensing device having[Fig 1 has #110, #130,#160; 0029 has motion detector; 0033 has activation of ultrasound transducer when motion is detected meaning trigger with sensing signal when object moves namely it detects object property that it is in motion and activates ultrasound transducer #170, #190]:
a trigger module configured to generate a sensing signal corresponding to the one or more properties of the object attached by the sensing device[Fig 1 has #110, #130,#160; 0029 has motion detector; 0033 has activation of ultrasound transducer when motion is detected meaning trigger with sensing signal when object moves namely it detects object property that it is in motion and activates ultrasound transducer #170, #190], …..
And a sound module configured to generate and transmit the wide-frequency sound signal according to the sensing signal; [Fig 1 has transmitter #170 and transducer #190; 0033 has activation of ultrasound signal based on detection of motion ie sensing signal from motion detector; 0055 has transmission on various different frequencies ie wide-frequency sound; 0012 has ultrasonic and audible alerts]
And an analyzing device, wherein the analyzing device is configured to receive and analyze one or more wide-frequency sound signals transmitted from the one or more sensing devices.[#410 in Fig 4 has analyzer receiving input from Sensor. See 0034 and 0040. 0059 has processing of signals to determine position of transmitters, Claim 12 has processing of signals to estimate positions].
Holm does explicitly teach wherein the trigger module comprises either (i) a roll ball located inside a combination of a conductive tube and an insulated tube so that the sensing signal is decided by whether the roll ball enters the conductive tube or the insulated tube, or,[However Holm with applicants admission for the trigger module contains a Hall effect switch and the claim only requires one of the triggers to be found]
(ii) a magnetic-field switch configured to change the sensing signal according to a magnetic field variation caused by relative movement between the magnetic-field switch and a magnet[Based on para 0026 of applicants specification this is the basic functioning of a Hall Effect switch which is well known in the art and does not have any patentable weight];
Hau[Fig 2 and Col 3, Lines 55-65 has ball with various conductive contacts] and Smith[Fig 3 has roll ball with various conductive contacts] teaches wherein the trigger module comprises either (i) a roll ball located inside a combination of a conductive tube and an insulated tube so that the sensing signal is decided by whether the roll ball enters the conductive tube or the insulated tube,
Bosch teaches or (ii) a magnetic-field switch configured to change the sensing signal according to a magnetic field variation caused by relative movement between the magnetic-field switch and a magnet [0019 has hall effect sensors being used as a trigger being common in the art and so this combined with para 0026 of applicants specification has this claim being a description of the basic functioning of a Hall Effect switch which is well known in the art and does not have any patentable weight];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified trigger of Holm with the admission of Chen or Hall effect trigger of Bosch or the roll ball of Hau or Smith to have the respective trigger mechanism in the prior art. Moreover It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). Moreover the use of certain triggers are common and well known components in the art based admission in applicant's specification.
Regarding claim 23, Holm, as modified, teaches comprising one of the following: the frequency of the wide-frequency sound signal is fixed[0030-0032 has base and adjustable frequencies];
or the frequency of the wide-frequency sound signal is adjustable according to the operation of the trigger [0030-0032 has base and adjustable frequencies; 0035 -0039 has frequency shift keying when in motion meaning the motion has FSK for adjusting frequencies and calculating doppler and identifying the chip by its ID code when the chip is in motion]
Regarding claim 24, Holm teaches wherein the magnetic field switch contains a Hall effect switch[However based on admission at 0026 of applicant's specification this limitation is well known in the art and does not have patentable weight]
Regarding claim 25, Holm teaches wherein the sound module contains an ultrasonic sensor[Fig 1 has #110, #130,#160; 0029 has motion detector; 0033 has activation of ultrasound transducer meaning its an ultrasonic sensor]
Regarding claims 27, Holm teaches wherein wide frequency sound is an ultrasonic signal[Fig 1 has transmitter #170 and transducer #190; 0033 has activation of ultrasound signal based on detection of motion ie sensing signal from motion detector; 0055 has transmission on various different frequencies ie wide-frequency sound; 0012 has ultrasonic and audible alerts]
Regarding claim 28, Holm, as modified, teaches wherein the trigger module is configured to cause the sound module to transmit the wide-frequency sound signal when the one or more properties has a predetermined value.[Fig 1 has transmitter #170 and transducer #190; 0033 has activation of ultrasound signal based on detection of motion ie sensing signal from motion detector namely predetermined value or threshold or trigger condition; 0055 has transmission on various different frequencies ie wide-frequency sound; 0012 has ultrasonic and audible alerts]
Regarding claim 29, Holm as modified, teaches wherein the trigger module is configured to cause different wide-frequency sound signals to be transmitted when different values of the one or more properties are measured at different times.[Fig 1 has transmitter #170 and transducer #190; 0033 has activation of ultrasound signal based on detection of motion ie sensing signal from motion detector namely predetermined value or threshold or trigger condition; 0055 has transmission on various different frequencies namely different values based on triggers. ie wide-frequency sound; 0012 has ultrasonic and audible alerts]
Regarding claim 31, Holm as modified, teaches wherein the analyzing device is configured to analyze the one or more wide-frequency sound signals by performing a Fast Fourier Transform.[0046, 0051-0052 and 0066 have fourier transformation for processing signals]
Regarding claim 32, Holm as modified, teaches, wherein different sensing devices transmit different wide-frequency sound signals having different frequencies.[0019, 0036, 0039, 0055 and 0062 have the various devices having different frequencies]
Regarding claim 33, Holm as modified, teaches, wherein the analyzing device is configured to determine an indication of a state of the object based on receipt or non- receipt of the wide-frequency sound signal, a frequency of the wide-frequency sound signal, an amplitude of the wide-frequency sound signal, or a combination thereof.[ Fig 1 has #110, #130,#160; 0029 has motion detector; 0033 has activation of ultrasound transducer when motion is detected meaning trigger with sensing signal meaning trigger condition with receipt or non-receipt of signal, 0055 has transmission on various different frequencies; 0060; Claim 1 measures signal strength namely amplitude at detector to determine position]
Regarding claim 34, Holm as modified, teaches, wherein: the analyzing device decides[0060, claim 1 has #410 detecting signal strength] a variation on the relative distance between itself and an object[0034-0035 has chips transmitting while moving to estimate doppler shift; 0071 has comparison of signals to determine positions of transmitters and receivers; Claim 1 has comparison of signal strength to calculate object positions] attached by a sensing device[Abstract has multiple detector units] by analyzing the variation of the amplitude of the received wide-frequency sound signal transmitted from the sensing device[0060; Claim 1 measures signal strength at detector to determine position];or
the analyzing device decides the relative distance between the analyzing device and a sensing device by comparing the internal amplitude of the wide-frequency sound signal when the signal is just transmitted by the sensing device and the practical amplitude of the wide -frequency sound signal when the signal is just received by the analyzing device. [0060; Claim 1 measures signal strength at detector to determine position namely distance].
Regarding claim 35, Holm as modified, teaches: the analyzing device decides[0060, claim 1 has #410 detecting signal strength] a variation on the relative motion between itself and an object [0035 has use of doppler shift to detect motion]attached by a sensing device[Abstract has multiple detector units] by analyzing the variation of the frequency of the received wide-frequency sound signal transmitted from the sensing device[ Abstract; 0035 has doppler and frequency shift analysis while object is in motion];
or the analyzing device decides the relative motion between the analyzing device and the sensing device by comparing an initial frequency of the wide-frequency sound signal when the wide-frequency sound signal is transmitted by the sensing device and an actual frequency of the wide-frequency sound signal when the wide-frequency sound signal is received by the analyzing device.[Abstract; 0035 has doppler and frequency shift analysis while object is in motion].
Additionally, based on admission at 0036 of applicant's specification this limitation is well known in the art and does not have patentable weight.
Regarding claim 36, Holm as modified, teaches, wherein the analyzing device is configured to monitor the one or more sensing devices simultaneously by distinguishing the one or more wide-frequency sound signals from one another.[0019, 0036, 0039, 0055 and 0062 have the various devices having different frequencies]
Moreover it have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have multiple devices, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. V. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holm (US 20090201765 A1) in view of Bosch (US 20040095258 A1) or Chen (17/785307) or Hau (US 9689538 B2) or Smith (US 20140187681 A1) as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Durley (US 4413629 A).
Regarding claim 26, Holm does not explicitly teach a wherein the sound module is configured to generate the wide- frequency sound by converting an oscillation signal.
Durley teaches that does not explicitly teach a wherein the sound module is configured to generate the wide- frequency sound by converting an oscillation signal. [Col 7; Lines 1-15 have crystal oscillator to ensure stable frequency with ability to vary it]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the sensing device in Holm with the oscillators of Durley in order to boost gain and have stable frequencies. Moreover the use of oscillators are common and well known components in the art based on the age of the Durley reference.
Claims 37-38 and 40-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holm (US 20090201765 A1) in view of Dowling (US 6548967 B2).
Regarding claim 37, Holm teaches a trigger module configured to generate a sensing signal corresponding to the one or more properties of the object attached by the sensing device or a location at which the sensing device is paced[Fig 1 has #110, #130,#160; 0029 has motion detector; 0033 has activation of ultrasound transducer when motion is detected meaning trigger with sensing signal when object moves namely it detects object property that it is in motion and activates ultrasound transducer #170, #190], …..
And a sound module configured to generate and transmit the wide-frequency sound signal according to the sensing signal, wherein the amplitude of the wide frequency sound signal varies according to a resistance variation of the thermistor; [Fig 1 has transmitter #170 and transducer #190; 0033 has activation of ultrasound signal based on detection of motion ie sensing signal from motion detector; 0055 has transmission on various different frequencies ie wide-frequency sound; 0012 has ultrasonic and audible alerts. Moreover resistance variation based on temperature appers to merely describe the working of a thermistor]
Holm does explicitly teach wherein the trigger module contains a thermistor so that the sensing signal is related to a temperature detected by the thermistor[This appears to be an intended use and would not carry much patentable weight moreover this appears to be describing the normal working of a thermistor]
Dowling teaches wherein the trigger module contains a thermistor so that the sensing signal is related to a temperature detected by the thermistor[Col 6, Line 60- Col 7, Line 10 has use of thermistors for temperature sensing with ultrasonic communication transmitters]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified trigger of Holm with the temperature sensors of Dowling in order to measure and communicate changes in temperature. Moreover it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). Moreover the use of certain triggers are common and well known components in the art based admission in applicant's specification.
Regarding claim 38, Holm as modified, teaches wherein the trigger module is configured to output the sensing signal continuously, and the sensing signal changes continuously according to the temperature detected by the thermistor.[0012 has continuous transmission meaning it reads on the claim, moreover any change that triggers a transmission would read on the claim, moreover applicants admission in their spec at 0023 show the basic normal functioning of a thermistor is one that is necessarily continuous monitoring based on the principles of physics]
Regarding claim 40, Holm as modified, teaches wherein the amplitude of the wide- frequency sound signal is changed proportionally to the change of the temperature detected by the thermistor.[0060; Claim 1 measures signal strength at detector to determine position. Moreover change in amplitude to indicate change such as alerts are also well known as 0012 has ultrasonic and audible alerts]
Regarding claim 41, Holm as modified, teaches wherein wide frequency sound is an ultrasonic signal[Fig 1 has transmitter #170 and transducer #190; 0033 has activation of ultrasound signal based on detection of motion ie sensing signal from motion detector; 0055 has transmission on various different frequencies ie wide-frequency sound; 0012 has ultrasonic and audible alerts]
Regarding claim 42, Holm as modified, teaches wherein the sound module contains an ultrasonic sensor[Fig 1 has #110, #130,#160; 0029 has motion detector; 0033 has activation of ultrasound transducer meaning its an ultrasonic sensor]
Regarding claim 43 Holm as modified, teaches wherein the analyzing device is configured into a Fast Fourier Transform signal strength corresponding to the wide-frequency sound signal [0046, 0051-0052 and 0066 have fourier transformation for processing signals]
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holm (US 20090201765 A1) in view of Dowling (US 6548967 B2) as applied to claim 37 above, and further in view of Durley (US 4413629 A).
Regarding claim 39, Holm does not explicitly teach wherein the sound module has a fixed intrinsic oscillation signal, and the wide-frequency sound signal is generated as a function of the intrinsic oscillation signal and the sensing signal.
Durley teaches that wherein the sound module has a fixed intrinsic oscillation signal, and the wide-frequency sound signal is generated as a function of the intrinsic oscillation signal and the sensing signal. [Col 7; Lines 1-15 have crystal oscillator to ensure stable frequency with ability to vary it]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the sensing device in Holm with the oscillators of Durley in order to boost gain and have stable frequencies. Moreover the use of oscillators are common and well known components in the art based on the age of the Durley reference.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants have cancelled all previously rejected claims and created new claims. These new claims contain multiple 112 issues with the new claims some of which have been addressed above. The claims themselves are appear to be merely descriptive meaning they are merely describing the basic working of well known devices based on the principles of physics and attempting to claim the same. Or the claims are attempting to claim well known devices such as trigger devices in an obvious manner. Or they are an intended use and do not carry much patentable weight especially when considering the applicants own admission in their specification. Either way applicant has not clearly claimed and identified the inventive concept being claimed.
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Rejections are maintained – and no allowable subject matter can be identified at this time.
Conclusion
/VIKAS ATMAKURI/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645