DETAILED ACTION
Claims 9-11, and 16 have been amended. Claims 1-16 are pending in the instant application. Claims 1-8 remain withdrawn. Claims 9-16 are under examination on the merits.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment by Applicant’s representative Dr. Keisha Hylton-Rodic filed 06/09/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Claim rejection under 35 U.S.C.§102(a)(1)
Applicant’s amendment of claim 9 by further including the step “separating the buoyant hollow particles with the mammalian cells attached from the media” overcomes the rejection because cited the `377 patent does not specifically disclose the step. The rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Claim rejection under 35 U.S.C.§103(a)
Applicant amended claim 9 by further including the step “separating the buoyant hollow particles with the mammalian cells attached from the media”. In addition, Applicant argued that the Office has not shown that the cited references (i.e., '377, Cell Culturem and Falipou), taken individually or in combination, discloses or suggests the invention of claims 9-15, and neither Cell Culture nor Falipou teach or suggest a method for culturing cells, said method comprising particles that are less dense than a media and separating the buoyant hollow particles with the mammalian cells attached from the media, as disclosed in independent claim 9. Applicant’s amendment and argent have been fully considered, but are not sufficient to overcome the rejection further in view the new prior art Weigun et al., Journal of Chromatography A, (2016), v.1466, p.29-36, necessitated by the amendment. The rejection is maintained and revised.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (revised)
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB2112377B (“the `377 patent”) to Downs et al. in view of Fundamental Techniques in Cell Culture, Lab Handbook, 4th Ed., (2018), Millipore Sigma (“Cell Culture”), Falipou et al., Sensors and Actuators, (1999), v.74, p.81-85, and Weigun et al., Journal of Chromatography A, (2016), v.1466, p.29-36.
In terms of claims 9-11, the `377 patent does not specifically disclose the buoyant hollow particles are less dense than a media. Instead, the `377 patent (claim 4) discloses the spherical shells have an average density substantially equal to said predetermined density such that said microcarrier is buoyantly suspended in said medium. The '377 patent discloses spherical shells of silicate glass with a density substantially equal to the predetermined density of the cell culture media, such that the microcarriers may be suspended in said medium. See e.g., '377, page 3, lines 1-15. One ordinary skilled in the art would have known that in order to make microcarriers to be suspended in a medium, the density of the microcarriers should be equal or less than the media, which is consistent with the term “a density substantially equal to the predetermined density of the cell culture media”. Furthermore, the `377 patent (claim 4) and present claim 9 are both drawn to a method for culturing cells using buoyant hollow particles.
The `377 patent (claim 4) discloses a method of growing anchorage-dependent cells using microcarriers in a cell culture medium of predetermined density, in which the microcarriers are comprised of spherical shells of essentially homogenous silicate glass composition and have an average density substantially equal to said predetermined density such that said microcarrier is buoyantly suspended in said medium. In addition, the `377 patent (claim 5) discloses the microcarriers comprises a multiplicity of hollow spherical shells of essentially isotropic silicate glass composition. The `377 patent (Abstract, p. 1, lns. 6-12, and p. 4, lns. 23-26) discloses hollow glass shell microcarrier for growth of cell cultures. The `377 patent (page 8) discloses the cultured cells are mammalian cells of human foreskin fibroblast cultured in DMEM media with 5% fetal bovine serum, and murine fibro-sarcoma and Walker carcinosarcoma in RPMI media with 10% fetal calf serum. The '377 patent (p.3, lns. 4-7) specifically teaches “The microcarrier shells are substantially buoyant in the culture medium and may be readily maintained in suspended state by mild agitation, such as by mild aeration using carbon dioxide bubbles which are otherwise useful to control medium pH”.
In terms of the limitation “separating the buoyant hollow particles with the mammalian cells attached from the media”, it is also taught and/or suggested by the `377 patent because the prior art teaches using microcarriers for growing anchorage-dependent mammalian cells in a cell culture medium. It is well-understood that the obtained anchorage-dependent mammalian cells must be separated from the medium after cell culture, according to the passaging cells procedure of “cell culture” described in Wikipedia. In addition, separating buoyant hollow particles with the mammalian cells attached from the media is a common experimental procedure, which is well-known to one ordinary skilled in the art such as through centrifugation and resuspension as being described by Weigun et al. in Fig. 1 at p. 30, and “2.4. Capture of Cryptosporidium parvum oocycts” at p.31. Therefore, the `377 patent in view of Weigun et al. would have rendered claims 9-11 obvious.
In terms of claims 12-14, the further cited step of “detaching the mammalian cells from the siliceous surface of the buoyant hollow particles”, “collecting the detached mammalian cells by sedimentation or centrifugation”, and “adding additional cell culture media or additional buoyant hollow particles” are routine cell culture procedures and at grasp of one skilled in the art. These experimental protocols are disclosed in Fundamental Techniques in Cell Culture Lab Handbook, 4th Ed., (2018), Millipore Sigma. (e.g. 14.4 Protocol 3- Subculture of Adherent Cell Lines” at page 39-40). In addition, Falipou et al. teaches a simple method of fix biological species (e.g., mammalian cells of CD45 rat cells) to silica-based surface including glass slides and silica beads, which are hollow, low-density silica microbeads (see Abstract at p.81).
In terms of claim 15 where in the average seeding density is 3-50 adherent cells/buoyant hollow particle, is a routine experimental optimization further in view of the disclosure by Fundamental Techniques in Cell Culture Lab Handbook, 4th Ed., (2018), Millipore Sigma. (e.g. 14.4 Protocol 3- Subculture of Adherent Cell Lines” at page 39-40). Optimization of the range of each active agents in the combined composition is a routine practice, not inventive practice. It has been well established that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233,235 (CCPA 1955). The rationale for determining the optimal parameters for prior art result effective variables "flows from the 'normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known.'" Id. (quoting In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003)). "Only if the results of optimizing a variable are unexpectedly good can a patent be obtained for the claimed critical range." In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (quotations omitted).
In terms of claim 16 wherein said buoyant hollow particles with the mammalian cells attached separate from said media in less than about 2 minutes, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art because Rapid Separation Techniques (< 2 Minutes) such as Gravity Sedimentation (Settling), Filtration (Cell Strainers), Acoustic Separation (Enzyme-Free), and using Microcarrier Separation Bags are the most common techniques for separating mammalian cells attached carriers from their cell culture medium.
Conclusions
Claims 9-16 are rejected.
Claims 1-8 remain withdrawn.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 10/17/2022 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Telephone Inquiry
Status Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/YONG L CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731