DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 8, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overly III et al. US 2006/0257549 as further evidenced by Bartz et al. US 2017/0367368 in view of Bakker et al. US 2017/0119011 and Yan et al. US 2011/0117180 as further evidenced by Srnak et al. US 2014/0220188 or alternatively Claims 1, 4-5, 8, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overly III et al. US 2006/0257549 as further evidenced by Bartz et al. US 2017/0367368 in view of Bakker et al. US 2017/0119011, Yan et al. US 2011/0117180, and Oxfood “Making Pistachio Nougat” <https://oxfoodblog.wordpress.com/2012/06/15/making-pistachio-nougat/> (published June 15, 2012) (herein referred to as “Oxfood”) as further evidenced by Bakker et al. US 2017/0119011 and Varvil et al. US 4,491,597.
Regarding Claim 1, Overly III et al. discloses a confectionery product (confectionary product 12) (‘549, Paragraph [0013]) including a gelatine free chewy center (center 20) (‘549, Paragraphs [0014] and [0019]) comprising sugar (‘549, Paragraph [0027]), and dextrin (‘549, Paragraph [0026]), and a layer of at least partially amorphous candy material (amorphous portion 16) surrounding the chewy center (center 20) (‘549, Paragraph [0014]). Overly III et al. also discloses the chewy center (center 20) comprising sucrose and corn syrup (‘549, Paragraphs [0016] and [0026]). Bartz et al. provides evidence that it was known in the confection art that corn syrup is a type of glucose syrup (‘368, Paragraph [0024]) and is useful in making a gelatin free chewy confectionery product (‘368, Paragraph [0035]).
Overly III et al. as further evidenced by Bartz et al. is silent regarding the confectionery product comprising gellan and the ratio of sugar/glucose syrup in the chewy center ranging from 70:30 to 99:1 on a dry weight basis.
Bakker et al. discloses a plant based gelling agent that can fully replace animal derived products like gelatin (‘011, Paragraph [0012]) wherein highly branched starch (HBS) is used as a versatile gelling agent for food products wherein HBS fully replaces conventional gelators including Arabic gum and gelatin without sacrificing the semisoft, non-sticky and chewy properties of the product (‘011, Paragraph [0013]) wherein the chewy candy is essentially free of gelatin or other animal derived ingredients (‘011, Paragraph [0024]) and that gelatin is animal derived and therefore vegan and vegetarians cannot eat products made with it and gelatin usually cannot be eaten by certain religious groups and the price of gelatin has risen due to a shortage of certain gelatin types and increased demand in tight supply situations (“011, Paragraph [0007]) wherein the confection contains hydrocolloids (‘011, Paragraph [0036]). Yan et al. discloses a confection (candy) (‘180, Paragraph [0117]) comprising a gelatin replacement (‘180, Paragraph [0040]) wherein gellan gum is a gelling agent and a polysaccharide and a vegetarian gelatin substitute used as a thicker emulsifier and stabilizer suitable for vegan and vegetarian diets (‘180, Paragraph [0037]).
Overly et al. III, Bakker et al., and Yan et al. are all directed towards the same field of endeavor of gelatin free confections. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the confectionery product of Overly et al. III and make the gelatin free chewy center with gellan since Bakker et al. teaches that plant based gelling agents can fully replace gelatin animal derived products and since Yan et al. teaches that gellan gum is a type of gelling agent that serves as a vegetarian gelatin substitute. One of ordinary skill in the art would utilize ingredients free from animal derived materials such as gellan gum as taught by Yan et al. in order to make vegetarian friendly confections as desired by the consumer. Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination in view of Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP § 2144.07). Bakker et al. teaches that there was known utility in the confection art to utilize plant based gelling agents to replace gelatin and Yan et al. teaches that there was known utility in the confection art that gellan gum is a gelling agent that serves as a vegetarian gelatin substitute.
Further regarding Claim 1, Overly III et al. as further evidenced by Bartz et al. in view of Bakker et al. and Yan et al. is silent regarding the ratio of sugar/glucose syrup in the chewy center ranging from 80:20 to 99:1 on a dry weight basis. However, Overly III et al. discloses controlling the crystallinity of the chewy material by adjusting the sweeteners in the chewy material wherein increasing the amount of corn syrup relative to the amount of sugar in the chewy material decreases crystallization (‘549, Paragraph [0025]) and that the chewy material includes sweeteners including corn syrup and sucrose (‘549, Paragraph [0026]). Srnak et al. provides evidence that it was known in the food art that corn syrup is a type of glucose syrup (‘188, Paragraph [0011]) useful as an ingredient in a gelatin free chewy confectionery product containing no animal derived components (‘188, Paragraph [0008]) wherein the chewy confectionery product comprises sucrose and an additional sweetener of glucose syrups including corn syrup (‘188, Paragraph [0011]). Therefore, the corn syrup that is used in combination with sugar disclosed by Overly III et al. is a type of glucose syrup as evidenced by Srnak et al. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the ratio of sugar to glucose syrup in the chewy center of Overly III et al. since differences in the concentration ratio of sugar to glucose syrup in the chewy center will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration ratio of sugar to glucose syrup in the chewy center is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the concentration ratio of the sugar to glucose syrup in the chewy center of Overly III et al. based upon the desired crystallinity of the chewy material (‘549, Paragraph [0025]).
Further regarding Claim 1, in the event that it can be shown with objective evidence that the claimed concentration ratio of sugar to glucose syrup in the gelatin free chewy center ranging from 80:20 to 99:1 on a dry weight basis is critical, Oxfood discloses a confectionery product comprising a chewy center (pistachio nougat) comprising sugar and glucose syrup (liquid glucose). Bakker et al. provides evidence that it was known in the food art that nougat is a type of chewy confection (‘011, Paragraph [0033]). Varvil et al. also provides evidence that it was known in the food art that chewy nougat is known to be formed as a core of a chocolate coated candy bar confectionery product (‘597, Column 1, lines 46-56). Therefore, the nougat disclosed by Oxfood reads on the claimed chewy center of a confectionery product as further evidenced by Bakker et al. and Varvil et al. Oxfood also discloses a nougat recipe comprising 375 g caster sugar and 25 g liquid glucose, which indicates a concentration ratio of sugar/sucrose to glucose syrup/liquid glucose of 375 g sugar / 400 g solution : 25g liquid glucose / 400 g solution, which converts to a ratio of sugar to glucose syrup concentration ratio of 93.75:6.25, which falls within the claimed ratio of sugar to glucose syrup in the chewy center of 80:20 to 99:1 on a dry weight basis.
Both modified Overly III et al. and Oxfood are directed towards the same field of endeavor of chewy centers for confectionery food products comprising sugars. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the chewy center of modified Overly III et al. and incorporate the claimed concentration ratio of sugar to glucose syrup in the chewy center as taught by Oxfood since where the claimed concentration ratio of sugar to glucose syrup in the chewy center encompasses concentration ratio of sugar to glucose syrup in the chewy center disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, Oxfood discloses liquid glucose incorporated into a chewy center of nougat prevents larger crystals from forming by bonding temporarily to the crystal surface and blocking the way of sucrose molecules wherein smaller crystals form making for a smoother, finer, more desirable nougat. One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the ratio of sugar to glucose syrup in a chewy center of a confectionery product based upon the desired smoothness of the chewy center nougat.
Regarding Claim 4, Overly III et al. discloses the moisture content in the gelatin free (‘549, Paragraph [0019]) chewy center ranging from 6% to 7% by weight (‘549, Paragraph [0037]), which falls within the claimed moisture content in the gelatin free chewy center ranging from 6% to 10% by weight compared to the total weight of the gelatin free chewy center. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the moisture content in the gelatin free chewy center of modified Overly III et al. and incorporate a moisture content in the gelatine free chewy center in the claimed moisture concentration as since where the claimed moisture content in the gelatine free chewy center ranges overlaps moisture content in the gelatine free chewy center ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, differences in the moisture levels of the chewy center will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such moisture levels in the gelatine free chewy center is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). Overly III et al. teaches that the moisture content of the respective layers influences the chewiness and crunchiness of the confection (‘549, Paragraph [0022]). One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the moisture content of the gelatine free chewy center based upon the desired chewiness and/or crunchiness of the gelatine free chewy center.
Regarding Claim 5, Bakker et al. discloses the gelatine free chewy center not containing gum Arabic (highly branched starch is a gelling agent that fully replaces Arabic gum and gelatin without sacrificing the chewy properties of the product) (‘011, Paragraph [0013]).
Regarding Claim 8, Overly III et al. discloses the moisture content of the at least partially amorphous candy layer being 4% (‘549, Paragraph [0028]), which falls within the claimed moisture content in the at least partially amorphous candy layer ranging from 4% to 8% by weight compared to the total weight of the at least partially amorphous candy layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the moisture content in the at least partially amorphous candy layer of modified Overly III et al. and incorporate a moisture content in the at least partially amorphous candy layer in the claimed moisture concentration as since where the claimed moisture content in the at least partially amorphous candy layer ranges overlaps moisture content in the at least partially amorphous candy layer ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, differences in the moisture levels of the at least partially amorphous candy layer will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such moisture levels in the at least partially amorphous candy layer is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). Overly III et al. teaches that the moisture content of the respective layers influences the chewiness and crunchiness of the confection (‘549, Paragraph [0022]). One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the moisture content of the at least partially amorphous candy layer based upon the desired chewiness and/or crunchiness of the at least partially amorphous candy layer.
Regarding Claim 20, Overly III et al. discloses at least one coating layer (outer layer 22) (‘549, FIG. 3) (‘549, Paragraphs [0005]-[0006] and [0014]).
Claims 3 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overly III et al. US 2006/0257549 as further evidenced by Bartz et al. US 2017/0367368 in view of Bakker et al. US 2017/0119011 and Yan et al. US 2011/0117180 as further evidenced by Srnak et al. US 2014/0220188 as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Havranek et al. WO 2019/055626 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed June 15, 2022) or alternatively Claims 3 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overly III et al. US 2006/0257549 as further evidenced by Bartz et al. US 2017/0367368 in view of Bakker et al. US 2017/0119011, Yan et al. US 2011/0117180, and Oxfood “Making Pistachio Nougat” <https://oxfoodblog.wordpress.com/2012/06/15/making-pistachio-nougat/> (published June 15, 2012) (herein referred to as “Oxfood”) as further evidenced by Bakker et al. US 2017/0119011 and Varvil et al. US 4,491,597 as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Havranek et al. WO 2019/055626 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed June 15, 2022).
Regarding Claim 3, Overly III et al. as further evidenced by Bartz et al. in view of Bakker et al. and Yan et al. as further evidenced by Srnak et al. or alternatively Overly III et al. as further evidenced by Bartz et al. in view of Bakker et al., Yan et al., and Oxfood as further evidenced by Bakker et al. and Varvil et al. is silent regarding the amount of gellan gum in the gelatin free chewy center ranging from 0.02% to 1% by weight compared to the total weight of the gelatine free chewy center.
Havranek et al. discloses Havranek et al. discloses a chewy confectionery product comprising sugar (sucrose), glucose syrup (‘626, Paragraph [0005]) and gellan (‘626, Paragraphs [0031] and [0043]). Havranek et al. also discloses an embodiment wherein the chewy confectionery product is gelatin free (starch replaces gelatin) (‘626, Paragraphs [0033]-[0034]). Havranek et al. also discloses the amount of gellan gum being between from about 0.5% to about 1% by weight on a dry basis of the chewy confectionery product (‘626, Paragraph [0037]), which falls within the claimed amount of gellan gum of from 0.02% to 1% by weight.
Both modified Overly III et al. and Havranek et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of gelatin free chewy confectionery products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the gelatin free chewy confectionery product of modified Overly III et al. and incorporate gellan gum in the chewy center in the claimed amounts as taught by Havranek et al. since where the claimed gellan gum ranges overlaps gellan gum ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, differences in the concentration of the gellan gum in the chewy center will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration of gellan gum in the chewy center is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). Furthermore, Havranek et al. discloses the amount of gellan hydrocolloid helping with the desired final consistency and texture of the product (‘626, Paragraph [0037]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the gelatin free chewy confectionery product of modified Overly III et al. and adjust the amount of gellan gum in the gelatin free (‘626, Paragraph [0019]) chewy center based upon the desired final consistency and texture of the product (‘626, Paragraph [0037]).
Regarding Claims 18-19, Havranek et al. discloses the chewy confectionery product optionally comprising flavors (‘626, Paragraph [0040]). Since the chewy confection optionally contains flavors, Havranek et al. suggests an embodiment wherein the chewy confection, i.e. the chewy center and the amorphous candy material, do not contain flavor. Havranek et al. also discloses the flavor being present in the chewy confection in an amount of from about 0% to about 10% by weight on a dry basis of the chewy confectionery product (‘626, Paragraph [0041]). In the embodiment wherein the chewy confection contains about 0% by weight flavor on a dry basis of the chewy confectionery product, the chewy center and the amorphous candy material do not contain flavor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the confectionery product of modified Overly III et al. to be flavorless as taught by Havranek et al. based upon the desire flavor or lack of flavor for a particular consumer.
Claims 6 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overly III et al. US 2006/0257549 as further evidenced by Bartz et al. US 2017/0367368 in view of Bakker et al. US 2017/0119011 and Yan et al. US 2011/0117180 as further evidenced by Srnak et al. US 2014/0220188 as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Ashokan et al. US 2011/0129563 and Montaigne et al. US 2010/0330247 or alternatively Claims 6 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overly III et al. US 2006/0257549 as further evidenced by Bartz et al. US 2017/0367368 in view of Bakker et al. US 2017/0119011, Yan et al. US 2011/0117180, and Oxfood “Making Pistachio Nougat” <https://oxfoodblog.wordpress.com/2012/06/15/making-pistachio-nougat/> (published June 15, 2012) (herein referred to as “Oxfood”) as further evidenced by Bakker et al. US 2017/0119011 and Varvil et al. US 4,491,597 as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Ashokan et al. US 2011/0129563 and Montaigne et al. US 2010/0330247.
Regarding Claim 6, Overly III et al. discloses the chewy center comprising dextrin (‘549, Paragraph [0014]) and the at least partially amorphous candy material (amorphous portion 16) including a sweetener (‘549, Paragraph [0014]) of sugars (‘549, Paragraphs [0016] and [0030]). However, modified Overly III et al. is silent regarding the layer of the at least partially amorphous candy material comprising dextrin.
Ashokan et al. discloses a confectionery product including a chewy center (second region including a chewable matrix) (‘563, Paragraphs [0006]-[0007]) comprising sugar, glucose syrup, dextrin (‘563, Paragraphs [0113]-[0118]), and gellan (‘563, Paragraphs [0120]-[0121]) and a layer of at least partially amorphous candy material (coating composition in amorphous form) surrounding the chewy center (‘563, Paragraphs [0157] and [0167]). Ashokan et al. further discloses the chewable matrix and/or shell composition including sugar or sugarless bulk sweeteners including dextrin (‘563, Paragraphs [0113]-[0114]) and the coating composition being in amorphous form (‘563, Paragraph [0157]). Montaigne et al. discloses a low calorie foamed candy comprising one or more alternative sugars or a sugar substitute alone or in combination with intense sweeteners wherein the sugar substitutes are low calorie sugar replacers of dextrin and also includes intense sweeteners in combination with the sugar substitutes to deliver an acceptable sweetness intensity (‘247, Paragraph [0016])
Modified Overly III et al., Ashokan et al. and Montaigne et al. are all directed towards the same field of endeavor of confectionery products comprising dextrin sweeteners. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the confection of modified Overly III et al. and make the layer of the at least partially amorphous candy material with dextrin as taught by Ashokan et al. since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination in view of Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP § 2144.07). Ashokan et al. teaches that there was known utility in the confection art to utilize dextrin as a sweetening agent in an amorphous layer of a confection. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the dextrin containing confection of modified Overly III et al. and use the sweetening agent dextrin in the layer of the at least partially amorphous candy material since Montaigne et al. teaches that dextrin is a type of low calorie sugar replacer for low calorie candies. One of ordinary skill in the art would utilize dextrin sweetener in the layer of the at least partially amorphous candy material to provide sweetness to the confection while minimizing the caloric levels of the confection.
Regarding Claims 9-10, Overly III et al. discloses the gelatine free (‘549, Paragraph [0019]) chewy center containing dextrin (‘549, Paragraphs [0006] and [0014]). Bakker et al. discloses the chewy candy containing a gelatinizing agent of maltodextrin (‘011, Paragraph [0005]) in an amount of between 0.5 and 15% w/w (‘011, Paragraph [0011]), which overlaps the claimed dextrin amount accounting for more than 10% of the chewy center of for from 15% to 70% of the chewy center. Overly et al. III and Bakker et al. are both directed towards the same field of endeavor of gelatin free confections. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the confectionery product of Overly et al. III and make the gelatine free chewy center with the claimed amount of dextrin as taught by Bakker et al. since where the claimed amount of dextrin in the gelatine free chewy center ranges overlaps amounts of dextrin in the chewy center ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, Ashokan et al. discloses a confectionery product including a chewy center (second region including a chewable matrix) (‘563, Paragraphs [0006]-[0007]) comprising sugar, glucose syrup, dextrin (‘563, Paragraphs [0113]-[0118]), and gellan (‘563, Paragraphs [0120]-[0121]) and a layer of at least partially amorphous candy material (coating composition in amorphous form) surrounding the chewy center (‘563, Paragraphs [0157] and [0167]). Ashokan et al. further discloses the chewable matrix and/or shell composition including sugar or sugarless bulk sweeteners including dextrin (‘563, Paragraphs [0113]-[0114]). Montaigne et al. discloses a low calorie foamed candy comprising one or more alternative sugars or a sugar substitute alone or in combination with intense sweeteners wherein the sugar substitutes are low calorie sugar replacers of dextrin and also includes intense sweeteners in combination with the sugar substitutes to deliver an acceptable sweetness intensity (‘247, Paragraph [0016]).
Modified Overly III et al., Ashokan et al. and Montaigne et al. are all directed towards the same field of endeavor of confectionery products comprising dextrin sweeteners. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the confection of modified Overly III et al. and make the gelatine free chewy center with dextrin as taught by Ashokan et al. since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination in view of Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP § 2144.07). Ashokan et al. teaches that there was known utility in the confection art to utilize dextrin as a sweetening agent in chewy center of a confection. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the dextrin containing confection of modified Overly III et al. and use the sweetening agent dextrin in the chewy center since Montaigne et al. teaches that dextrin is a type of low calorie sugar replacer for low calorie candies. Differences in the concentration of the dextrin in the chewy center will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration of dextrin in the chewy center is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the amount of dextrin sweetener in the chewy center to provide sweetness to the confection while minimizing the caloric levels of the confection as taught by Montaigne et al. (‘247, Paragraph [0016]).
Regarding Claims 11-12, Overly III et al. discloses the chewy center containing dextrin (‘549, Paragraphs [0006] and [0014]). Bakker et al. discloses the chewy candy containing a gelatinizing agent of maltodextrin (‘011, Paragraph [0005]) in an amount of between 0.5 and 15% w/w (‘011, Paragraph [0011]), which overlaps the claimed dextrin amount accounting for more than 10% of the chewy center of for from 15% to 70% of the chewy center and the chewy candy being amorphous (‘011, Paragraph [0034]). Overly et al. III and Bakker et al. are both directed towards the same field of endeavor of gelatin free confections. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the confectionery product of Overly et al. III and make the amorphous candy material with the claimed amount of dextrin as taught by Bakker et al. since where the claimed amount of dextrin in the amorphous candy material ranges overlaps amounts of dextrin in the amorphous candy material ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, Ashokan et al. discloses a confectionery product including a chewy center (second region including a chewable matrix) (‘563, Paragraphs [0006]-[0007]) comprising sugar, glucose syrup, dextrin (‘563, Paragraphs [0113]-[0118]), and gellan (‘563, Paragraphs [0120]-[0121]) and a layer of at least partially amorphous candy material (coating composition in amorphous form) surrounding the chewy center (‘563, Paragraphs [0157] and [0167]). Ashokan et al. further discloses the chewable matrix and/or shell composition including sugar or sugarless bulk sweeteners including dextrin (‘563, Paragraphs [0113]-[0114]) wherein a coating composition is in amorphous form (‘563, Paragraph [0157]) that includes sweeteners (‘563, Paragraph [0177]). Montaigne et al. discloses a low calorie foamed candy comprising one or more alternative sugars or a sugar substitute alone or in combination with intense sweeteners wherein the sugar substitutes are low calorie sugar replacers of dextrin and also includes intense sweeteners in combination with the sugar substitutes to deliver an acceptable sweetness intensity (‘247, Paragraph [0016])
Modified Overly III et al., Ashokan et al. and Montaigne et al. are all directed towards the same field of endeavor of confectionery products comprising dextrin sweeteners. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the confection of modified Overly III et al. and make the amorphous candy material with dextrin as taught by Ashokan et al. since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination in view of Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP § 2144.07). Ashokan et al. teaches that there was known utility in the confection art to utilize dextrin as a sweetening agent in an amorphous candy material of a confection. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the dextrin containing confection of modified Overly III et al. and use the sweetening agent dextrin in the amorphous candy material since Montaigne et al. teaches that dextrin is a type of low calorie sugar replacer for low calorie candies. Differences in the concentration of the dextrin in the amorphous candy material will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration of dextrin in the amorphous candy material is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the amount of dextrin sweetener in the amorphous candy material to provide sweetness to the confection while minimizing the caloric levels of the confection as taught by Montaigne et al. (‘247, Paragraph [0016]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overly III et al. US 2006/0257549 as further evidenced by Bartz et al. US 2017/0367368 in view of Bakker et al. US 2017/0119011 and Yan et al. US 2011/0117180 as further evidenced by Srnak et al. US 2014/0220188 in further view of Ashokan et al. US 2011/0129563 and Montaigne et al. US 2010/0330247 as applied to claim 6 above in further view of Havranek et al. WO 2019/055626 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed June 15, 2022) or alternatively Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overly III et al. US 2006/0257549 as further evidenced by Bartz et al. US 2017/0367368 in view of Bakker et al. US 2017/0119011, Yan et al. US 2011/0117180, and Oxfood “Making Pistachio Nougat” <https://oxfoodblog.wordpress.com/2012/06/15/making-pistachio-nougat/> (published June 15, 2012) (herein referred to as “Oxfood”) as further evidenced by Bakker et al. US 2017/0119011 and Varvil et al. US 4,491,597 in further view of Ashokan et al. US 2011/0129563 and Montaigne et al. US 2010/0330247 as applied to claim 6 above in further view of Havranek et al. WO 2019/055626 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed June 15, 2022).
Regarding Claim 7, Overly III et al. as further evidenced by Bartz et al. in view of Bakker et al. and Yan et al. as further evidenced by Srnak et al. in further view of Ashokan et al. and Montaigne et al. or alternatively Overly III et al. as further evidenced by Bartz et al. in view of Bakker et al., Yan et al., and Oxfood as further evidenced by Bakker et al. and Varvil et al. in further view of Ashokan et al. and Montaigne et al. is silent regarding the layer of the at least partially amorphous candy material comprising glucose and a ratio of sugar to glucose syrup of the at least partially amorphous candy material ranging from 70:30 to 99:1 on a dry weight basis or wherein the layer of the at least partially amorphous candy material does not comprise glucose.
Havranek et al. discloses Havranek et al. discloses a chewy confectionery product comprising sugar (sucrose), glucose syrup (‘626, Paragraph [0005]) and gellan (‘626, Paragraphs [0031] and [0043]). Havranek et al. also discloses an embodiment wherein the chewy confectionery product is gelatin free (starch replaces gelatin) (‘626, Paragraphs [0033]-[0034]). Havranek et al. also discloses chewy confectionery products being in a semi-amorphous phase when formed (‘626, Paragraph [0003]) and the ratio of sugar/glucose syrup in the chewy material ranges from 75:25 to about 55:45 on a dry weight basis (‘626, Paragraphs [0005]-[0006]), which overlaps the claimed ratio of sugar/glucose syrup in the layer of the at least partially amorphous candy material of from 70:30 to 100:0 on a dry weight basis.
Both modified Overly III et al. and Havranek et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of gelatin free chewy confectionery products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the gelatin free chewy confectionery product of modified Overly III et al. and incorporate a ratio of sugar/glucose syrup in the chewy material that is at least partially amorphous candy material in the claimed ratios as taught by Havranek et al. since where the claimed sugar/glucose syrup ranges overlaps sugar/glucose syrup ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, differences in the concentration of the ratio of sugar/glucose syrup in the chewy material that is at least partially amorphous candy material will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such ratio of sugar/glucose syrup in the chewy material that is at least partially amorphous candy material is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overly III et al. US 2006/0257549 as further evidenced by Bartz et al. US 2017/0367368 in view of Bakker et al. US 2017/0119011 and Yan et al. US 2011/0117180 as further evidenced by Srnak et al. US 2014/0220188 as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Dekker et al. US 2006/0088628 or alternatively Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overly III et al. US 2006/0257549 as further evidenced by Bartz et al. US 2017/0367368 in view of Bakker et al. US 2017/0119011, Yan et al. US 2011/0117180, and Oxfood “Making Pistachio Nougat” <https://oxfoodblog.wordpress.com/2012/06/15/making-pistachio-nougat/> (published June 15, 2012) (herein referred to as “Oxfood”) as further evidenced by Bakker et al. US 2017/0119011 and Varvil et al. US 4,491,597 as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Dekker et al. US 2006/0088628.
Regarding Claim 13, Overly III et al. discloses the confection comprising dextrin (‘549, Paragraph [0006]).
Modified Overly III et al. is silent regarding the dextrin containing less than 5% of total mono and disaccharides.
Dekker et al. discloses a food bar comprising a fibrous compound of dextrin comprising sugar solids (‘628, Paragraph [0025]) and 0.5-5 wt% mono and disaccharide solids sweeteners (‘628, Paragraphs [0026], [0039], and [0063]), which falls within the claimed total mono and disaccharides of dextrin.
Both modified Overly III et al. and Dekker et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of food products comprising dextrin sweeteners. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the confectionery product of modified Overly III et al. and incorporate dextrin that contains total mono and disaccharides in the claimed amount as taught by Dekker et al. since where the claimed total mono and disaccharide of the dextrin ranges overlaps total mono and disaccharide of the dextrin ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, differences in the total mono and disaccharide of the dextrin will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such total mono and disaccharide of the dextrin is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.).
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overly III et al. US 2006/0257549 as further evidenced by Bartz et al. US 2017/0367368 in view of Bakker et al. US 2017/0119011 and Yan et al. US 2011/0117180 as further evidenced by Srnak et al. US 2014/0220188 as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Ashokan et al. US 2011/0129563 and Perlman US 2009/0280231 or alternatively Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overly III et al. US 2006/0257549 as further evidenced by Bartz et al. US 2017/0367368 in view of Bakker et al. US 2017/0119011, Yan et al. US 2011/0117180, and Oxfood “Making Pistachio Nougat” <https://oxfoodblog.wordpress.com/2012/06/15/making-pistachio-nougat/> (published June 15, 2012) (herein referred to as “Oxfood”) as further evidenced by Bakker et al. US 2017/0119011 and Varvil et al. US 4,491,597 as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Ashokan et al. US 2011/0129563 and Perlman US 2009/0280231.
Regarding Claim 14, Overly III et al. discloses the confectionery product including a combination of sweeteners of sugars and polyols (‘549, Paragraph [0016]). However, modified Overly III et al. is silent regarding the chewy center containing the polyol sorbitol for more than 2% by weight of the chewy material.
Ashokan et al. discloses a confectionery product including a chewy center (second region including a chewable matrix) (‘563, Paragraphs [0006]-[0007]) comprising sugar, glucose syrup, dextrin (‘563, Paragraphs [0113]-[0118]), and gellan (‘563, Paragraphs [0120]-[0121]) and a layer of at least partially amorphous candy material (coating composition in amorphous form) surrounding the chewy center (‘563, Paragraphs [0157] and [0167]). Ashokan et al. further discloses the chewy center containing sorbitol polyols (‘563, Paragraphs [0173]-[0174]) wherein the chewable matrix includes sugar or sugarless bulk sweeteners present in amounts of from about 40% w/w to about 95% w/w by weight of the chewable matrix (‘563, Paragraph [0113]) wherein the sugarless bulk sweetener includes polyols such as sorbitol (‘563, Paragraph [0116]). The disclosure of the sugarless bulk sweetener of sorbitol polyols falls within the claimed amount of the chewy center containing sorbitol of more than 2% by weight of the chewy material.
Both modified Overly III et al. and Ashokan et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of multilayered chewy confectionery products comprising polyol sweeteners. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the chewy center of the confection of modified Overly III et al. that contains generic polyol sweeteners and make the chewy center with sorbitol as taught by Ashokan et al. since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination in view of Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP § 2144.07). Ashokan et al. teaches that there was known utility in the confection art to utilize polyols in the form of sorbitol as a sweetening ingredient in chewy confections. Additionally, Perlman discloses sorbitol is about 60 percent as sweet as sucrose and provides about the same number of calories per gram as sucrose but is a low glycemic index sweetener and therefore only minimally stimulates insulin production wherein sorbitol is used in candies and chewing gums (‘231, Paragraph [0007]). One of ordinary skill in the art would utilize sorbitol in the confection of modified Overly III et al. as one of the sweetening agents in the chewy center in order to minimally stimulate insulin product as taught by Perlman. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the confection of modified Overly III et al. and provide sorbitol in chewy center in the claimed amounts as taught by Ashokan et al. since where the claimed sorbitol in the chewy center ranges overlaps sorbitol in the chewy center ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, differences in the concentration of the sorbitol in the chewy center will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration of sorbitol in the chewy center is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the amount of polyol sweetener of Overly III et al. (‘549, Paragraph [0016]) such as sorbitol polyol sweetener (‘563, Paragraphs [0115]-[0116]) based upon the desired sweetness level of the chewy center.
Regarding Claim 16, Overly III et al. discloses the confectionery product including a combination of sweeteners of sugars and polyols (‘549, Paragraph [0016]). However, modified Overly III et al. is silent regarding the amorphous candy material containing the polyol sorbitol for more than 2% by weight of the chewy material.
Ashokan et al. discloses a confectionery product including a chewy center (second region including a chewable matrix) (‘563, Paragraphs [0006]-[0007]) comprising sugar, glucose syrup, dextrin (‘563, Paragraphs [0113]-[0118]), and gellan (‘563, Paragraphs [0120]-[0121]) and a layer of at least partially amorphous candy material (coating composition in amorphous form) surrounding the chewy center (‘563, Paragraphs [0157] and [0167]). Ashokan et al. further discloses the amorphous candy material containing sorbitol polyols (‘563, Paragraphs [0113]-[0116]) wherein the amorphous candy material (shell composition) includes sugar or sugarless bulk sweeteners present in amounts of from about 40% w/w to about 95% w/w by weight of the chewable matrix (‘563, Paragraph [0113]) wherein the sugarless bulk sweetener includes polyols such as sorbitol (‘563, Paragraph [0116]). The disclosure of the sugarless bulk sweetener of sorbitol polyols falls within the claimed amount of the amorphous candy material containing sorbitol of more than 2% by weight of the chewy material.
Both modified Overly III et al. and Ashokan et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of multilayered chewy confectionery products comprising polyol sweeteners. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the amorphous candy material of the confection of modified Overly III et al. that contains generic polyol sweeteners and make the amorphous candy material with sorbitol as taught by Ashokan et al. since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination in view of Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP § 2144.07). Ashokan et al. teaches that there was known utility in the confection art to utilize polyols in the form of sorbitol as a sweetening ingredient in chewy confections. Additionally, Perlman discloses sorbitol is about 60 percent as sweet as sucrose and provides about the same number of calories per gram as sucrose but is a low glycemic index sweetener and therefore only minimally stimulates insulin production wherein sorbitol is used in candies and chewing gums (‘231, Paragraph [0007]). One of ordinary skill in the art would utilize sorbitol in the confection of modified Overly III et al. as one of the sweetening agents in the amorphous candy material in order to minimally stimulate insulin product as taught by Perlman. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the confection of modified Overly III et al. and provide sorbitol in the amorphous candy material in the claimed amounts as taught by Ashokan et al. since where the claimed sorbitol in the amorphous candy material ranges overlaps sorbitol in the amorphous candy material ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, differences in the concentration of the sorbitol in the amorphous candy material will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration of sorbitol in the amorphous candy material is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the amount of polyol sweetener of Overly III et al. (‘549, Paragraph [0016]) such as sorbitol polyol sweetener (‘563, Paragraphs [0115]-[0116]) based upon the desired sweetness level of the amorphous candy material.
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overly III et al. US 2006/0257549 as further evidenced by Bartz et al. US 2017/0367368 in view of Bakker et al. US 2017/0119011 and Yan et al. US 2011/0117180 as further evidenced by Srnak et al. US 2014/0220188 in further view of Ashokan et al. US 2011/0129563 and Perlman US 2009/0280231 as applied to claim 14 above in further view of Barkalow et al. US 2006/0159802 or alternatively Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overly III et al. US 2006/0257549 as further evidenced by Bartz et al. US 2017/0367368 in view of Bakker et al. US 2017/0119011, Yan et al. US 2011/0117180, and Oxfood “Making Pistachio Nougat” <https://oxfoodblog.wordpress.com/2012/06/15/making-pistachio-nougat/> (published June 15, 2012) (herein referred to as “Oxfood”) as further evidenced by Bakker et al. US 2017/0119011 and Varvil et al. US 4,491,597 in further view of Ashokan et al. US 2011/0129563 and Perlman US 2009/0280231 as applied to claim 14 above in further view of Barkalow et al. US 2006/0159802.
Regarding Claim 15, Overly III et al. discloses the chewy center containing glycerine (glyceride) (‘549, Paragraph [0019]). Bakker et al. discloses the confectionery product comprising glycerine (glycerol humectant) in an amount of from 0.2-2.0% by weight based on the weight of the chewy confectionery product (‘011, Paragraph [0035]), which overlaps the claimed glycerine concentration of the chewy center of from 0.04% to 5% by weight of the chewy material. Additionally, Barkalow et al. discloses polyol based syrups containing hydrogenated dextrins and low molecular weight polyols used to make chewing gum, hard, or soft candies (‘802, Paragraph [0027]) wherein softeners/plasticizers and plasticizing agents constitute between approximately 0.5 to about 15% by weight of the chewing gum wherein the softeners include glycerin, corn syrup, and sorbitol polyols or sugars (‘802, Paragraph [0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the glycerin concentration of the chewy center of modified Overly et al. and incorporate glycerine in the claimed amounts within the chewy center as taught by Bakker et al. and Barkalow et al. since where the claimed glycerine concentration of the chewy center ranges overlaps glycerine concentration of the chewy center ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, differences in the concentration of the glycerine in the chewy center will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such glycerine concentration in the chewy center is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). Barkalow et al. discloses a plasticizer and humectant for use in gum to give longer lasting shelf life and stability (‘802, Paragraph [0021]) wherein the plasticizer is glycerol (‘802, Paragraph [0052]). One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the amount of glycerol plasticizer in the confection of modified Overly III et al. based upon the desired shelf life and stability as taught by Barkalow et al. (‘802, Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding Claim 17, Overly III et al. discloses the chewy center containing glycerine (glyceride) (‘549, Paragraph [0019]). Bakker et al. discloses the confectionery product comprising glycerine (glycerol humectant) in an amount of from 0.2-2.0% by weight based on the weight of the chewy confectionery product (‘011, Paragraph [0035]), which overlaps the claimed glycerine concentration of the chewy center of from 0.04% to 5% by weight of the amorphous candy material, wherein the chewy candy is amorphous (‘011, Paragraph [0034]). Additionally, Barkalow et al. discloses polyol based syrups containing hydrogenated dextrins and low molecular weight polyols used to make chewing gum, hard, or soft candies (‘802, Paragraph [0027]) wherein softeners/plasticizers and plasticizing agents constitute between approximately 0.5 to about 15% by weight of the chewing gum wherein the softeners include glycerin, corn syrup, and sorbitol polyols or sugars (‘802, Paragraph [0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the glycerin concentration of the amorphous candy material of modified Overly et al. and incorporate glycerine in the claimed amounts within the amorphous candy material as taught by Bakker et al. and Barkalow et al. since where the claimed glycerine concentration of the amorphous candy material ranges overlaps glycerine concentration of the amorphous candy material ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, differences in the concentration of the glycerine in the amorphous candy material will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such glycerine concentration in the amorphous candy material is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). Barkalow et al. discloses a plasticizer and humectant for use in gum to give longer lasting shelf life and stability (‘802, Paragraph [0021]) wherein the plasticizer is glycerol (‘802, Paragraph [0052]). One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the amount of glycerol plasticizer in the confection of modified Overly III et al. based upon the desired shelf life and stability as taught by Barkalow et al. (‘802, Paragraph [0021]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-10 and 12-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,285,027. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because although the copending ‘336 application contains several additional limitations and is more limited in scope than the instant claims, the ‘336 application reads on the limitations of the broader claims of the instant claims.
Response to Arguments
Examiner notes that the previous Double Patenting rejections have been maintained herein.
Applicant's arguments filed December 18, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner notes that applicant’s comments on Page 5 of the Remarks merely summarizes applicant’s disclosure from the specification at the time of filing and does not provide specific and distinct arguments pointing out the supposed errors of the Office Action.
Applicant argues on Page 6 of the Remarks that Overly III discloses a confectionary product having a chewy center comprising an indigestible dextrin, a sweetener, water, and flavor and an intermediate layer that is at least partially crystalline (‘549, Paragraph [0014]) and that the sweetener in the chewy center includes sucrose and corn syrup (‘549, Paragraph [0016]). Applicant contends that Overly III does not disclose or suggest using gellan gum in the chewy center or the claimed sugar/glucose syrup ratio. Applicant contends that even though Overly teaches that the crystallinity is important to get the desired chewiness, Overly does not use gellan in the chewy center. Applicant points to Paragraph [0004] of Overly teaching that water is allowed to migrate from the chewy center to the surrounding hard shell while the application states that the hydrgorsocpicity of gellan gum reduces the water migration from the chewy center to the surrounding center layer. Applicant also points to Paragraph [0022] of Overly that teaches the relative chewiness and crunchiness of the layers of the confectionary product are determined in part by the crystallinity and moisture content of the respective layers. Applicant concludes that Overly teaches forming a candy where the moisture is allowed to migrate from the chewy center to the surrounding shell to achieve the desired chewiness and that Overly would teach away from using gellan gum which reduces water migration.
Examiner argues the obviousness rejections is over a combination of the primary reference of Overly III modified with the secondary references of Bakker et al. and Yan et al. or Bakker et al., Yan et al., and Oxfood. The secondary reference of Bakker et al. teaches a plant based gelling agent that can fully replace animal derived products like gelatin (‘011, Paragraph [0012]) wherein highly branched starch (HBS) is used as a versatile gelling agent for food products wherein HBS fully replaces conventional gelators including Arabic gum and gelatin without sacrificing the semisoft, non-sticky and chewy properties of the product (‘011, Paragraph [0013]) wherein the chewy candy is essentially free of gelatin or other animal derived ingredients (‘011, Paragraph [0024]) and that gelatin is animal derived and therefore vegan and vegetarians cannot eat products made with it and gelatin usually cannot be eaten by certain religious groups and the price of gelatin has risen due to a shortage of certain gelatin types and increased demand in tight supply situations (“011, Paragraph [0007]) wherein the confection contains hydrocolloids (‘011, Paragraph [0036]). The secondary reference of Yan et al. teaches a confection (candy) (‘180, Paragraph [0117]) comprising a gelatin replacement (‘180, Paragraph [0040]) wherein gellan gum is a gelling agent and a polysaccharide and a vegetarian gelatin substitute used as a thicker emulsifier and stabilizer suitable for vegan and vegetarian diets (‘180, Paragraph [0037]). Overly et al. III, Bakker et al., and Yan et al. are all directed towards the same field of endeavor of gelatin free confections. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the confectionery product of Overly et al. III and make the gelatin free chewy center with gellan since Bakker et al. teaches that plant based gelling agents can fully replace gelatin animal derived products and since Yan et al. teaches that gellan gum is a type of gelling agent that serves as a vegetarian gelatin substitute. One of ordinary skill in the art would utilize ingredients free from animal derived materials such as gellan gum as taught by Yan et al. in order to make vegetarian friendly confections as desired by the consumer. Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination in view of Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP § 2144.07). Bakker et al. teaches that there was known utility in the confection art to utilize plant based gelling agents to replace gelatin and Yan et al. teaches that there was known utility in the confection art that gellan gum is a gelling agent that serves as a vegetarian gelatin substitute. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). With respect to applicant’s arguments pertaining to water migration from the chewy center to the surrounding shell to achieve the desired chewiness, it is noted that Claim 1 does not recite any particular properties with respect to diffusion between the chewy center and the surrounding shell layer. Applicant argues limitations that are not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. Claim 1 also does not recite any particular chewiness and/or crunchiness properties of any of the claimed layers and also does not recite any crystallinity and/or moisture content of any of the claimed layers. Again, applicant argues limitations that are not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. Therefore, these arguments are not found persuasive.
Applicant argues on Pages 6-7 of the Remarks that Yan discloses gellan gum as a vegetarian gelatin substitute used as an alternative to agar as a gelling agent (‘180, Paragraph [0037] and shows that gellan sum is used as an outer shell in a microcapsule as a replacement for gelatin (‘180, Paragraph [0002]) wherein these microcapsules are used in candy (‘180, Paragraph [0117]). Applicant contends it is not indicated how in what measure or in addition to what else to make the candy referenced in Yan. Applicant continues that Yan does not teach using gellan gum together with dextrin in a chewy center or teaches any specific sugar/glucose syrup ratio. Applicant continues on Page 7 of the Remarks that Bakker mentions gellan only once in Paragraph [0058] as a possible alternative to gelatine. Applicant continues that no examples study whether gellan is suitable and what the remaining ingredients and/or parameters need to be to form a chewy candy containing gellan, dextrin, and sugar/glucose and Bakker does not teach gellan gum or the claimed sugar/glucose syrup ratio in a chewy center.
Examiner again notes that the rejection is based on a combination of the primary reference of Overly III modified with the secondary references of Bakker et al. and Yan et al. or Bakker et al., Yan et al., and Oxfood. The primary reference of Overly III already teaches a confectionery product (confectionary product 12) (‘549, Paragraph [0013]) including a gelatine free chewy center (center 20) (‘549, Paragraphs [0014] and [0019]) comprising sugar (‘549, Paragraph [0027]), and dextrin (‘549, Paragraph [0026]) and the chewy center (center 20) comprising sucrose and corn syrup (‘549, Paragraphs [0016] and [0026]). Bartz et al. provides evidence that it was known in the confection art that corn syrup is a type of glucose syrup (‘368, Paragraph [0024]) and is useful in making a gelatin free chewy confectionery product (‘368, Paragraph [0035]). Overly III does not teach the gelatine free chewy center comprising gellan gum. Overly III, Bakker et al., and Yan et al. all are directed towards confectionery products made of gelatin free materials. The secondary references of Bakker et al. and Yan et al. are being relied upon since Yan et al. teaches a confection (candy) (‘180, Paragraph [0117]) comprising a gelatin replacement (‘180, Paragraph [0040]) wherein gellan gum is a gelling agent and a polysaccharide and a vegetarian gelatin substitute used as a thicker emulsifier and stabilizer suitable for vegan and vegetarian diets (‘180, Paragraph [0037]). Overly et al. III, Bakker et al., and Yan et al. are all directed towards the same field of endeavor of gelatin free confections. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the confectionery product of Overly et al. III and make the gelatin free chewy center with gellan since Bakker et al. teaches that plant based gelling agents can fully replace gelatin animal derived products and since Yan et al. teaches that gellan gum is a type of gelling agent that serves as a vegetarian gelatin substitute. One of ordinary skill in the art would utilize ingredients free from animal derived materials such as gellan gum as taught by Yan et al. in order to make vegetarian friendly confections as desired by the consumer. Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination in view of Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP § 2144.07). Bakker et al. teaches that there was known utility in the confection art to utilize plant based gelling agents to replace gelatin and Yan et al. teaches that there was known utility in the confection art that gellan gum is a gelling agent that serves as a vegetarian gelatin substitute. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The secondary references of Yan et al. and Bakker et al. are not being relied upon to teach the other ingredients of the gelatine free chewy center including sugar, glucose syrup, and dextrin since these ingredients are already disclosed in the primary reference of Overly III. Therefore, these arguments are not found persuasive.
Applicant argues on Page 7 of the Remarks that Paragraphs [0003]-[0004] and [0010] of Srnak teaches using pectin instead of gelatin and does not hint to a combination of gellan gum, dextrin, or a specific sucrose/glucose ratio.
Examiner argues Srnak is being relied upon as an evidentiary reference indicating that it was known in the food art that corn syrup is a type of glucose syrup (‘188, Paragraph [0011]) useful as an ingredient in a gelatin free chewy confectionery product containing no animal derived components (‘188, Paragraph [0008]) wherein the chewy confectionery product comprises sucrose and an additional sweetener of glucose syrups including corn syrup (‘188, Paragraph [0011]). Therefore, the corn syrup that is used in combination with sugar disclosed by Overly III et al. is a type of glucose syrup as evidenced by Srnak et al. It is unclear what applicant is arguing with respect to Srnak et al. using pectin instead of gelatin since Claim 1 requires a gelatin free chewy center. Applicant admits that Srnak et al. teaches using gelatine free ingredients. Additionally, Srnak et al. is not being relied upon to teach the limitations regarding the combination of ingredients of gellan gum, dextrin or a specific sucrose/glucose ratio. Other references are being relied upon to teach those limitations as discussed above. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore, this argument is not found persuasive.
Applicant alleges on Page 7 of the Remarks that a very specific ratio of sucrose/glucose is required to overcome the difficulties of using gellan gum and the very specific ratio of sucrose/glucose is allegedly critical to the confectionary product of Claim 1. Applicant asserts that since Overly does not use gellan there is no need or incentive to adapt the sucrose/glucose ratio to compensate from the deficient properties of gellan when used in candy.
Examiner again notes that the obviousness rejections is over a combination of the primary reference of Overly III modified with the secondary references of Bakker et al. and Yan et al. or Bakker et al., Yan et al., and Oxfood. The secondary reference of Bakker et al. teaches a plant based gelling agent that can fully replace animal derived products like gelatin (‘011, Paragraph [0012]) wherein highly branched starch (HBS) is used as a versatile gelling agent for food products wherein HBS fully replaces conventional gelators including Arabic gum and gelatin without sacrificing the semisoft, non-sticky and chewy properties of the product (‘011, Paragraph [0013]) wherein the chewy candy is essentially free of gelatin or other animal derived ingredients (‘011, Paragraph [0024]) and that gelatin is animal derived and therefore vegan and vegetarians cannot eat products made with it and gelatin usually cannot be eaten by certain religious groups and the price of gelatin has risen due to a shortage of certain gelatin types and increased demand in tight supply situations (“011, Paragraph [0007]) wherein the confection contains hydrocolloids (‘011, Paragraph [0036]). The secondary reference of Yan et al. teaches a confection (candy) (‘180, Paragraph [0117]) comprising a gelatin replacement (‘180, Paragraph [0040]) wherein gellan gum is a gelling agent and a polysaccharide and a vegetarian gelatin substitute used as a thicker emulsifier and stabilizer suitable for vegan and vegetarian diets (‘180, Paragraph [0037]). Overly et al. III, Bakker et al., and Yan et al. are all directed towards the same field of endeavor of gelatin free confections. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the confectionery product of Overly et al. III and make the gelatin free chewy center with gellan since Bakker et al. teaches that plant based gelling agents can fully replace gelatin animal derived products and since Yan et al. teaches that gellan gum is a type of gelling agent that serves as a vegetarian gelatin substitute. One of ordinary skill in the art would utilize ingredients free from animal derived materials such as gellan gum as taught by Yan et al. in order to make vegetarian friendly confections as desired by the consumer. Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination in view of Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP § 2144.07). Bakker et al. teaches that there was known utility in the confection art to utilize plant based gelling agents to replace gelatin and Yan et al. teaches that there was known utility in the confection art that gellan gum is a gelling agent that serves as a vegetarian gelatin substitute. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). With respect to applicant’s allegations that the sucrose/glucose ratio compensates from deficient properties of gellan gum when used in candy, arguments presented by the applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record in view of In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965) and In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984). Examples of statements which are not evidence and which must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration includes statements regarding unexpected results, commercial success, solution of a long felt need, inoperability of the prior art, invention before the date of the reference, and allegations that the author of the prior art derived the disclosed subject matter from the inventor or at least one joint inventor (MPEP § 716.01(c).II.). Furthermore, conclusory statements that results were “unexpected,” unsupported by objective factual evidence, are considered but not found to be of substantial evidentiary value in view of Ex parte George, 21 USPQ2d 1058 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1991) (MPEP § 716.01(c).III.). Therefore, this argument is not found persuasive.
Applicant argues on Pages 7-8 of the Remarks that the second rejection relying upon Oxfood as disclosing the required ratio of sugar/glucose syrup in the gelatine free chewy center shows the recipe not relating to a confectionery product with a gelatine free chewy center and a layer of at least partially amorphous candy material surrounding the center. Applicant argues Oxfood makes a pistachio nougat as a super dense meringue made by heating sugar syrup and whisking into whipped egg whites with nothing surrounding it and that the nougat has no dextrin or gellan gum and other required ingredients of the confectionary product of Claim 1.
Examiner argues the primary reference of Overly III already teaches a confectionary product comprising a gelatin free chewy center comprising sugar, glucose syrup, and dextrin. The secondary references of Bakker et al. and Yan et al. are being relied upon to teach the use of gellan gum in gelatine free confections. The secondary reference of Oxfood is being relied upon to teach the claimed ratio of sugar/glucose syrup. The primary reference of Overly III teaches adjusting the amount of sugar in the chewy material relative to the amount of corn syrup for controlling crystallinity of the grain size in the layers of the confectionary product (“549, Paragraph [0025]). Oxfood discloses a confectionery product comprising a chewy center (pistachio nougat) comprising sugar and glucose syrup (liquid glucose). Bakker et al. provides evidence that it was known in the food art that nougat is a type of chewy confection (‘011, Paragraph [0033]). Varvil et al. also provides evidence that it was known in the food art that chewy nougat is known to be formed as a core of a chocolate coated candy bar confectionery product (‘597, Column 1, lines 46-56). Therefore, the nougat disclosed by Oxfood reads on the claimed chewy center of a confectionery product as further evidenced by Bakker et al. and Varvil et al. Oxfood also discloses a nougat recipe comprising 375 g caster sugar and 25 g liquid glucose, which indicates a concentration ratio of sugar/sucrose to glucose syrup/liquid glucose of 375 g sugar / 400 g solution : 25g liquid glucose / 400 g solution, which converts to a ratio of sugar to glucose syrup concentration ratio of 93.75:6.25, which falls within the claimed ratio of sugar to glucose syrup in the chewy center of 80:20 to 99:1 on a dry weight basis.
Both modified Overly III et al. and Oxfood are directed towards the same field of endeavor of chewy centers for confectionery food products comprising sugars. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the chewy center of modified Overly III et al. and incorporate the claimed concentration ratio of sugar to glucose syrup in the chewy center as taught by Oxfood since where the claimed concentration ratio of sugar to glucose syrup in the chewy center encompasses concentration ratio of sugar to glucose syrup in the chewy center disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, Oxfood discloses liquid glucose incorporated into a chewy center of nougat prevents larger crystals from forming by bonding temporarily to the crystal surface and blocking the way of sucrose molecules wherein smaller crystals form making for a smoother, finer, more desirable nougat. One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the ratio of sugar to glucose syrup in a chewy center of a confectionery product based upon the desired smoothness of the chewy center nougat. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore, this argument is not found persuasive.
Applicant argues on Pages 8-9 of the Remarks that the claimed sugar/glucose syrup ratio of 70:30 to 99:1 is not a matter of routine optimization and serves as the required unexpected improvement in the confectionery product of Claim 1. Applicant alleges the specification demonstrates the criticality of the claimed sugar/glucose ratio range in Examples 11-15 (table 11). Example 13 has a sugar/glucose ratio of 85/15 produced candies with “very good quality” with “all the candy material soft and crystallized” and “chewiness consistent without breaking of the center in pieces.” Example 14 with a sugar/glucose ratio of 100/0 produced candies in which the chewiness tended to be a bit plastic. Example 15 with a sugar/glucose ratio of 71/29 produced candies with only acceptable quality and chewiness difficult to evaluate due to tendency to stick to the teeth. Applicant also points to Example 3 with a sugar/glucose ratio of 85:15 within the claimed range produced a chewy material that is a consistent dough, fully grained, that can be easily transported and joined to the candy material. Applicant alleges that the specification discloses that it has been surprisingly discovered that the addition of dextrin at the specified amounts do not impair sugar crystallization when the ratio of sugar to glucose is as reported and that these results allegedly demonstrate that the claimed sugar/glucose syrup ratio range is not an obvious optimization but produces surprising and superior results when combined with gellan gum and dextrin in a gelatine free chewy center.
Examiner first notes that Oxfood already teaches a nougat that is necessarily a chewy confection as evidenced by Bakker et al. and Varvil et al. wherein Oxfood teaches a ratio of sugar/glucose syrup in the chewy nougat. Both modified Overly III et al. and Oxfood are directed towards the same field of endeavor of chewy centers for confectionery food products comprising sugars. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the chewy center of modified Overly III et al. and incorporate the claimed concentration ratio of sugar to glucose syrup in the chewy center as taught by Oxfood since where the claimed concentration ratio of sugar to glucose syrup in the chewy center encompasses concentration ratio of sugar to glucose syrup in the chewy center disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.).
With respect to applicant’s allegations of unexpected results in Example 3 of applicant’s specification, Examiner argues Example 3 only provides one data point of a sugar/glucose ratio of 85:15 that falls within the claimed ratio of sugar/glucose syrup of 70:30 to 99:1. This example provides no comparisons of candy having a sugar/glucose syrup ratio below 70:30 or a candy having a sugar/glucose syrup ratio above 99:1. To establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range in view of In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960) (MPEP § 716.02.(d).II.). Applicant has provided no such comparison in Example 3. It is also unknown what applicant means by the obtained chewy material in Example 3 is a consistent dough, fully grained that can be easily transported and joined to the candy material. It is unknown what constitutes a “consistent” dough since no properties relating to consistency are tested for in Example 3. It is also noted that Claim 1 does not require the presence of a dough in the chewy center. Applicant points to data that is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention.
With respect to applicant’s allegations of unexpected results in Table 11 and Examples 11-15 of applicant’s specification Examiner argues Examples 11-15 indicate candies with “acceptable quality,” “very good quality,” “good quality,” and “acceptable quality.” However, it is unknown what constitutes “good,” “very good,” and “acceptable” quality. These quality metrics are not attributed to any specific quantitative or qualitative measurements. It is unknown how these subjective quality measurements of Examples 11-15 were ascertained. Table 11 also discloses ratings for “average crack,” “average softness first bite,” and “average chew experience.” However, it is unknown how the qualitative measurements on a scale of 1-10 for each of these parameters was deduced. It is unclear how chewiness was evaluated and how “good crack” of the coating part was evaluated. It is noted that Table 11 labels candy material Ex. 4 and Ex. 9 of the high end of the range of sugar/glucose ratio of 100:00. However, it is noted that Ex. 4 and Ex. 9 of Table 11 is above the claimed ratio of sugar/glucose syrup ranging from 70:30 to 99:1 on a dry weight basis, i.e. Ex. 4 and Ex. 9 of Table 11 falls outside, i.e. above the claimed ratio of sugar/glucose syrup. It is also unclear what applicant alleges are the unexpected results that are purportedly shown in Table 11. Applicant has not provided objective evidence showing the criticality of the claimed ratio of sugar/glucose syrup in the gelatine free chewy center. Therefore, the obviousness rejections have been maintained herein.
Examiner notes that applicant’s comments on Pages 9-11 of the Remarks does not specifically and distinctly point out the supposed errors of the Office Action.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERICSON M LACHICA/Examiner, Art Unit 1792