DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the amendments in the RCE on 09/10/2026. Claims 4, 14 and 17 are canceled. Claims 1, 11, 13 and 15-16 are amended. Claims 1-3, 5-13, 15-16, 18-21, 25-27 are pending in the instant application. The previous rejections are withdrawn as necessitated by amendment. However, new rejections are made below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-13, 15-16, 18-21, 25-27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “data integrity mechanism” in claims 25-27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 8, 13, 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finke (U.S 2016/0346489 A1) in view of Thomas (U.S 5,151,899 A) and Fischer (U.S 5,371,734 A).
Regarding claim 1, Finke discloses a control device for controlling an operation of an aerosol nebulizer system (Claim 1 and Paragraph 0010), said aerosol nebulizer system comprising an aerosol generator for nebulizing a liquid or an aerosol source for dispensing aerosol (Fig. 1-2 and Paragraph 0010, the aerosol nebulizer 30 includes an aerosol generator 31),
said control device comprising:
a communication unit, configured to establish a first wireless communication connection and to perform a first data transmission with the aerosol nebulizer system (Paragraph 0013 and Fig. 1-2, communication unit 100 establishes wireless communication with the nebulizer 30), and
a control unit (Paragraph 0013, the control device includes a control unit 200), configured to evaluate a progression of identifications received via the first data transmission and received in association with aerosol nebulizer data units respectively related to a usage of the aerosol nebulizer system (Fig. 6 and Paragraph 0077, inhalation data may be communicated via the wireless communication; The data can be transmitted including controlling bytes, such as a check sum, hash sum, etc. and with redundancy checks for verification of the receipt of the complete data; The communication is met with ACK or NAK protocols depending on if the check matches, such as when check sums do or do not confirm with what is sent; also see Paragraph 0015, the inhalation data is measurement data obtained during the use of the aerosol nebulizer and thus is related to usage).
Finke is silent regarding wherein the progression of identifications includes a sequence of identifications received in association with nebulizer data units and wherein the control unit is configured to evaluate whether an identification in the received sequence of identifications is missing and determine which identification and associated nebulizer data unit is missing.
However, Thomas teaches a method of data integrity verification wherein the progression of identifications includes a sequence of identifications received in association with data units and wherein the control unit is configured to evaluate whether an identification in the received sequence of identifications is missing and determine which identification and associated data unit is missing (Abstract; Sequence numbering involves labeling/assigning packets a number in order to track their receipt, ordering, and to identify lost/duplicated entries; The sequence numbering is a linear set of numbers and thus is a sequence of identifications; also see Col. 2 lines 5-24, Col 4 lines 1-29; A control unit of the transmitter determines the sequence numbers to be applied to the packets, which is received/interpreted by the receiver to determine completeness; also see Col. 4 line 63 – Col. 5 line 11 and Abstract regarding detection of lost/duplicated packets using sequence numbers).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Finke to include a progression of identifications which includes a sequence of identifications received in association with data units and wherein the control unit is configured to evaluate whether an identification in the received sequence of identifications is missing and determine which identification and associated data unit is missing, such as that taught by Thomas, in order to use a known method of data transmission to ensure data completeness and data ordering (Abstract, Col. 1 lines 1-64, Col. 2 lines 5-24, Col 4 lines 1-29).
Finke is silent regarding specifically wherein the control unit is further configured to request a re-transmission of a specific aerosol nebulizer data unit associated with the identification determined to be missing.
However, Fischer teaches a protocol for wireless communication and data transmission wherein a request for re-transmission is made when packets or data are missing based on indexing of sequence numbers associated with said packets (Col. 22 line 56 – Col. 23 line 11 and Col. 23 lines 31-51; Sequence numbers are assigned to packets to be delivered, which allows for verification and checking of data completeness; Gaps in the sequence numbering allows for determination of which packets need to be retransmitted and prompts a request for retransmission of the packets).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Finke to include the control unit prompting a request for retransmission of data when the sequence numbering indicates loss of data, such as that taught by Fischer, in order to use a known method to provide efficient recouperation of the complete data to be transmitted (Col. 22 line 56 – Col. 23 line 11 and Col. 23 lines 31-51).
Regarding claim 2, the modified device of Finke discloses the device of claim 1.
Finke further discloses wherein the communication unit is further configured to establish a second wireless communication connection and to perform second data transmission with an external device (see Fig. 1 and Paragraph 0018-0021, the control unit 10 may establish communication with a second communication device 20, which may be a hub, smartphone, tablet, etc.).
Regarding claim 3, the modified device of Finke discloses the device of claim 2.
Finke is silent regarding wherein the control unit is further configured to forward the received identifications and aerosol nebulizer data units to the external device.
However, Finke teaches that error correction functionalities such as checksums or controlling bytes should be used during data transmission to ensure data integrity (Paragraph 0033; also see rejection of claim 1 above). Checksums are beneficial for any wireless communication and thus are equally beneficial between the external device and the control unit. The progression of identifications would equally be beneficially shared as taught above in Thomas.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Finke to have forwarded checksums to the external device during the wireless communication, such as that taught by Finke ‘473, in order to check for and ensure data transmission integrity (Paragraph 0013).
Furthermore, Thomas teaches wherein the control unit forwards the sequence numbering assigned to the packets to the receiving device (Abstract, Col. 1 lines 1-64).
Regarding claim 5, the modified device of Finke discloses the device of claim 1.
Finke further discloses wherein the control unit is further configured to use the received usage data units for adherence evaluation without awaiting re-transmission of a missing usage data unit (see Fig. 2 and Paragraph 0047; An operation unit 500 of the control unit can monitor and evaluate adherence based on the received nebulizer information and configuration data; The configurations for duration, number, date/time, etc. may be compared to the usage data to assess compliance with the set therapy; The adherence evaluation can be provided to the user via visual/audible indications when in agreement with the therapy; The adherence can be assessed without waiting for a particular missing data, for example, if data is complete, the adherence can be evaluated without the waiting).
Regarding claim 8, the modified device of Finke discloses the device of claim 1.
Finke further discloses wherein the control unit is further configured to provide a plurality of specific report generating functionalities respectively related to a specific recipient (see Paragraph 0047-0048, the control unit may provide an adherence report based on a specific drug and the user for visualization; The report may be audible or visual if the nebulization agrees with the preset protocol and thus encompasses a plurality of report generating functionalities).
Regarding claim 13, Finke discloses an aerosol nebulizer system (Fig. 1-2), comprising:
an aerosol generator for nebulizing a liquid or an aerosol source for dispensing aerosol (Fig. 1-2 and Paragraph 0015, the nebulizer system comprises aerosol generator 31);
a storage unit for storing a plurality of aerosol nebulizer data units respectively related to a usage of the aerosol nebulizer system (storage unit 300, see Fig. 1-2 and Paragraph 0023, the storage unit can store wireless communication identification codes and also received configuration data and inhalation/measurement data from the aerosol delivery device for data transfer to an external device), wherein each of the aerosol nebulizer data units being stored in association with a corresponding identification so that a progression of identifications is stored in association with the plurality of aerosol nebulizer data units (see Paragraph 0033-0034 and 0059; The inhalation/measurement data may be sent with check sums or other control bytes to verify data integrity during transmission, the checksums being associated/stored with the inhalation/measurement data at least before transmission); and
an aerosol nebulizer communication interface configured to establish a wireless communication connection with a control device (Paragraph 0013 and Fig. 1-2, communication unit 100 establishes wireless communication with the nebulizer 30; the control device includes a control unit 200).
Finke is silent regarding a sequence of identifications received in association with nebulizer data units and wherein the identifications identify a sequence in which the aerosol nebulizer data units have been generated and/or stored and wherein the progression of identifications is configured to indicate whether there is a missing identification in the sequence of identifications.
However, Thomas teaches a method of data integrity verification wherein the progression of identifications includes a sequence of identifications received in association with data units and wherein the control unit is configured to evaluate whether an identification in the received sequence of identifications is missing and determine which identification and associated data unit is missing (Abstract, Col. 1 lines 10-64; Sequence numbering involves labeling/assigning packets a number in order to track their receipt, ordering, and to identify lost/duplicated entries; The sequence numbering is a linear set of numbers and thus is a sequence of identifications; also see Col. 2 lines 5-24, Col 4 lines 1-29; A control unit of the transmitter determines the sequence numbers to be applied to the packets, which is received/interpreted by the receiver to determine completeness; also see Col. 4 line 63 – Col. 5 line 11 and Abstract regarding detection of lost/duplicated packets using sequence numbers).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Finke to include a progression of identifications which includes a sequence of identifications received in association with data units which are used to evaluate whether an identification in the received sequence of identifications is missing and determine which identification and associated data unit is missing, such as that taught by Thomas, in order to use a known method of data transmission to ensure data completeness and data ordering (Abstract, Col. 1 lines 1-64, Col. 2 lines 5-24, Col 4 lines 1-29).
Finke is silent regarding specifically wherein the communication interface is further configured to request a re-transmission of a specific aerosol nebulizer data unit associated with the identification determined to be missing based on evaluation of the progression of the received sequence of identifications.
However, Fischer teaches a protocol for wireless communication and data transmission wherein a request for re-transmission is made when packets or data are missing based on indexing of sequence numbers associated with said packets, based on evaluation of the progression of the received sequence of identifications (Col. 22 line 56 – Col. 23 line 11 and Col. 23 lines 31-51; Sequence numbers are assigned to packets to be delivered, which allows for verification and checking of data completeness; Gaps in the sequence numbering allows for determination of which packets need to be retransmitted and prompts a request for retransmission of the packets).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Finke to include the communication interface prompting a request for retransmission of data when the sequence numbering indicates loss of data, such as that taught by Fischer, in order to use a known method to provide efficient recouperation of the complete data to be transmitted (Col. 22 line 56 – Col. 23 line 11 and Col. 23 lines 31-51).
Regarding claim 15, the modified device of Finke discloses the device of claim 14.
Finke further teaches wherein the aerosol nebulizer communication interface is further configured to re-transmit the specific aerosol nebulizer data unit (see rejection of claim 14 above; Per the modification, the device receiving the NAK message would re-transmit the information in order for the control device to have the complete data; also see Fig. 6, where the NAK message prompts a re-transmission upon next communication establishment).
Regarding claim 16, Fink further discloses a server (Paragraph 0019, the communication device 20 may be connected to a server which provides feedback according to the obtained measurement/inhalation data), comprising a server communication interface configured to establish a wireless communication connection with one or more control devices according to claim 1 and to perform data transmission with the one or more control devices (see Fig. 1-2 and Paragraph 0019, the server can be connected wirelessly with the control device 10 and the aerosol device and thus must have a server communication interface to send/receive the signals), and a server control unit (see Paragraph 0019, 0032; The server can provide feedback and can establish communication with the control device 10 and thus must have a server control unit or processor).
Finke is silent regarding server control unit configured to evaluate a progression of identifications received via the data transmission and received in association with aerosol nebulizer data units respectively related to a usage of the nebulizer system.
However, Finke teaches evaluation of a progression of identifications received via the data transmission and received in association with aerosol nebulizer data units respectively related to a usage of the nebulizer system (Fig. 6 and Paragraph 0077, inhalation data may be communicated via the wireless communication; The data can be transmitted including controlling bytes, such as a check sum, hash sum, etc. and with redundancy checks for verification of the receipt of the complete data; The communication is met with ACK or NAK protocols depending on if the check matches, such as when check sums do or do not confirm with what is sent; also see Paragraph 0015, the inhalation data is measurement data obtained during the use of the aerosol nebulizer and thus is related to usage).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Finke to include the server evaluating the progression of identifications associated with aerosol nebulizer data, such as that taught by Finke, in order to ensure complete data transfer (Fig. 6 and Paragraph 0077).
Finke is silent regarding wherein the progression of identifications includes a sequence of identifications received in association with nebulizer data units and wherein the control unit is configured to evaluate whether an identification in the received sequence of identifications is missing and determine which identification and associated nebulizer data unit is missing.
However, Thomas teaches a method of data integrity verification wherein the progression of identifications includes a sequence of identifications received in association with data units and wherein the control unit is configured to evaluate whether an identification in the received sequence of identifications is missing and determine which identification and associated data unit is missing (Abstract, Col. 1 lines 10-64; Sequence numbering involves labeling/assigning packets a number in order to track their receipt, ordering, and to identify lost/duplicated entries; The sequence numbering is a linear set of numbers and thus is a sequence of identifications; also see Col. 2 lines 5-24, Col 4 lines 1-29; A control unit of the transmitter determines the sequence numbers to be applied to the packets, which is received/interpreted by the receiver to determine completeness).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Finke to include a progression of identifications which includes a sequence of identifications received in association with nebulizer data units and wherein the control unit is configured to evaluate whether an identification in the received sequence of identifications is missing and determine which identification and associated nebulizer data unit is missing, such as that taught by Thomas, in order to use a known method of data transmission to ensure data completeness and data ordering (Abstract, Col. 1 lines 1-64, Col. 2 lines 5-24, Col 4 lines 1-29).
Finke is silent regarding specifically wherein the server control unit is further configured to request a re-transmission of a specific aerosol nebulizer data unit which has been determined to be missing in the progression of identifications based on evaluation of the progression of the received sequence of identifications.
However, Fischer teaches a protocol for wireless communication and data transmission wherein a request for re-transmission is made when packets or data are missing based on indexing of sequence numbers associated with said packets, based on evaluation of the progression of the received sequence of identifications (Col. 22 line 56 – Col. 23 line 11 and Col. 23 lines 31-51; Sequence numbers are assigned to packets to be delivered, which allows for verification and checking of data completeness; Gaps in the sequence numbering allows for determination of which packets need to be retransmitted and prompts a request for retransmission of the packets).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Finke to include the server control unit prompting a request for retransmission of data when the sequence numbering indicates loss of data, such as that taught by Fischer, in order to use a known method to provide efficient recouperation of the complete data to be transmitted (Col. 22 line 56 – Col. 23 line 11 and Col. 23 lines 31-51).
Regarding claim 25, the modified device of Finke discloses the device of claim 1.
Thomas further teaches wherein the first data transmission further includes a first data integrity mechanism, wherein the first data integrity mechanism is configured to ensure that data within a single data unit is correctly transmitted (Abstract, Col. 1 lines 1-64, Col. 2 lines 5-24, Col 4 lines 1-29; also see Figs. 4-7A; The data transmission includes a check for data integrity wherein individual data units are verified as being correctly transmitted according to sequence numbering; If certain sequence numbers within the provided range are not received, then those individual data units are known to be lost).
Regarding claim 26, the modified device of Finke discloses the device of claim 13.
Thomas further teaches wherein each individual single data unit further includes a first data integrity mechanism, wherein the first data integrity mechanism is configured to ensure that data within a single data unit is correctly transmitted (Abstract, Col. 1 lines 1-64, Col. 2 lines 5-24, Col 4 lines 1-29; also see Figs. 4-7A, the data transmission includes a check for individual data unit integrity based on the individual sequence numbers within the entire sequence number range).
Regarding claim 27, the modified device of Finke discloses the device of claim 16.
Thomas further teaches wherein each individual single data unit further includes a first data integrity mechanism, wherein the first data integrity mechanism is configured to ensure that data within a single data unit is correctly transmitted (Abstract, Col. 1 lines 1-64, Col. 2 lines 5-24, Col 4 lines 1-29; also see Figs. 4-7A, the data transmission includes a check for individual data unit integrity based on the individual sequence numbers within the entire sequence number range).
Claims 6-7, 11-12, 18, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finke (U.S 2016/0346489 A1) in view of Thomas (U.S 5,151,899 A) and Fischer (U.S 5,371,734 A), as applied to claims 1 and 16, in view of Hogg (U.S 2017/0140125 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the modified device of Finke discloses the device of claim 1.
Finke is silent regarding wherein the control unit is further configured to trigger an issuance of a notification to the user of the control device and/or to an external terminal device to switch on the aerosol nebulizer system when a specific time period is expired.
Hogg teaches a control unit for a respiratory inhaler device wherein the control unit is further configured to trigger an issuance of a notification to the user of the control device and/or to an external terminal device to switch on the aerosol nebulizer system when a specific time period is expired (Paragraphs 0115-0121; When an application supporting server does not receive the inhalation events set by a protocol or within a certain window and there is a lack of data over a set time period, notifications may be sent to the user to reactivate or reconnect any hardware, such as the sensor of the inhaler device, or the client device, etc. to reestablish communication for the server to receive the dose data).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Finke to have included issuing a notification to the user to switch on the aerosol nebulizer system when a specific time period is expired, such as that taught by Hogg, in order to allow for reconnection and data recording when data has not been able to be received for evaluation (Paragraph 0117-0121).
Regarding claim 7, the modified device of Finke discloses the device of claim 2.
Finke is silent regarding wherein the control unit (22a) is further configured to allow a user to select a specific report generating functionality and wherein the control unit (22) is further configured to request a transmission of report-related aerosol nebulizer data units stored at the external device (40).
However, Hogg teaches wherein a control unit of medicament delivery device is configured to allow a user to select a specific report generating functionality and wherein the control unit is configured to request a transmission of report-related aerosol nebulizer data units stored at an external device (see Paragraph 0081, the user may select to view a report of adherence over a set time period including data about the individual inhalation events; also see Paragraph 0084-0085, where the application server receives and stores the information regarding inhalation events or other events; also see Paragraph 0026, 0041, the application server receives the use data for generation of analysis and notifications).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Finke to include allowing the user to select a specific report generating functionality and requesting transmission of report-related nebulizer data stored at an external server, such as that taught by Hogg, in order to allow the user to see the logged events and edit details or include additional information (Paragraph 0081) for improved analysis or evaluation.
Regarding claim 11, the modified device of Finke discloses the device of claim 1.
Finke is silent regarding wherein the control unit is further configured to trigger an escalation chain if the user/patient does not transmit aerosol nebulizer data units and/or if the user/patient does not adhere to a therapy protocol or if an evaluation of the aerosol nebulizer data units indicates a change in the patient status or a change in the nebulizer status.
However, Hogg teaches wherein the control unit is further configured to trigger an escalation chain if the user/patient does not transmit aerosol nebulizer data units and/or if the user/patient does not adhere to a therapy protocol or if an evaluation of the aerosol nebulizer data units indicates a change in the patient status or a change in the nebulizer status (Examiner is interpreting escalation chain as a process involving higher-level authority to resolve issues; see Paragraph 0008, 0030 where the analytics system may alert patient and healthcare providers when a patient does not adhere to a medication plan or from other respiratory events).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Finke to have included triggering an escalation chain if the user does not report or adhere to the therapy protocol, such as that taught by Hogg, in order to alert healthcare providers when a patient is at risk or isn’t medicating properly (Paragraph 0008).
Regarding claim 12, the modified device of Finke discloses the device of claim 1.
Finke is silent regarding wherein the control device (20, 20a) is a mobile device or a server.
However, Hogg teaches wherein the control device connected to the medical inhaler is a mobile device (see Fig. 1 and Paragraph 0034, 0067; The control device connected to the inhaler may be a client device 110 which may be a smart phone to enable viewing of adherence data and control signals to adjust therapy or other parameters related to inhaler usage).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Finke to have included the control device being a mobile device, such as that taught by Hogg, in order to leverage the input interfaces and displays suitable for user input of data and receipt/display/interaction with notifications provided by the adherence analyzing server (Paragraph 0067).
Regarding claim 18, the modified device of Finke discloses the device of claim 16.
Finke is silent regarding wherein the server control unit is further configured to trigger an issuance of a request to transmit further aerosol nebulizer data units when a predetermined time period is expired.
Hogg teaches a control unit for a respiratory inhaler device wherein the control unit is further configured to trigger an issuance of a notification of a request to the user of the control device to switch on/reset the aerosol nebulizer system when a specific time period is expired to communicate the aerosol nebulizer usage data (Paragraphs 0115-0121; When an application supporting server does not receive the inhalation events set by a protocol or within a certain window and there is a lack of data over a set time period, notifications may be sent to the user to reactivate or reconnect any hardware, such as the sensor of the inhaler device, or the client device, etc. to reestablish communication for the server to receive the dose data).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Finke to have included issuing a notification to the user to switch on the aerosol nebulizer system when a specific time period is expired for transmission of the aerosol nebulizer units, such as that taught by Hogg, in order to allow for reconnection and data recording when data has not been able to be received for evaluation (Paragraph 0117-0121).
Regarding claim 21, the modified device of Finke discloses the device of claim 16.
Finke is silent regarding wherein the server control unit is further configured to trigger an escalation chain if the user/patient does not transmit aerosol nebulizer data units and/or if the user/patient does not adhere to a therapy protocol or if an evaluation of the aerosol nebulizer data units indicates a change in the patient status or a change in the nebulizer status.
However, Hogg teaches wherein the server control unit is further configured to trigger an escalation chain if the user/patient does not transmit aerosol nebulizer data units and/or if the user/patient does not adhere to a therapy protocol or if an evaluation of the aerosol nebulizer data units indicates a change in the patient status or a change in the nebulizer status (Examiner is interpreting escalation chain as a process involving higher-level authority to resolve issues; see Paragraph 0008, 0030 where the analytics system may alert patient and healthcare providers when a patient does not adhere to a medication plan or from other respiratory events).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Finke to have included triggering an escalation chain if the user does not report or adhere to the therapy protocol, such as that taught by Hogg, in order to alert healthcare providers when a patient is at risk or isn’t medicating properly (Paragraph 0008).
Claims 9-10, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finke (U.S 2016/0346489 A1) in view of Thomas (U.S 5,151,899 A) and Fischer (U.S 5,371,734 A), as applied to claims 1 and 16, in view of Tunnell (U.S 8,807,131 B1).
Regarding claim 9, the modified device of Finke discloses the device of claim 1.
Finke is silent regarding wherein the control unit is further configured to determine an adherence-related patient type based on one or more machine-learning algorithms.
However, Tunnell teaches a compliance monitor for an inhaler and wherein the control unit is further configured to determine an adherence-related patient type based on one or more machine-learning algorithms (Col. 34 lines 37 - Col. 35 line 60; A neural network may categorize a patient according to their location, local weather, medical history, altitude, genetics, etc. that may be risk factors and thus will change the provided or recommended dosage regime to improve efficacy; It is noted that such risk factors can be a determination for a change in adherence to a protocol and thus high-risk or genetically predisposed to sickness/allergens are an adherence-related patient type).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Finke to have included determining an adherence-related patient type based on one or more machine-learning algorithms, such as that taught by Tunnell, in order to adjust patient dosage regimens for specific patients based on predicative markers or patient categorization (Col. 34 lines 37 - Col. 35 line 60).
Regarding claim 10, the modified device of Finke discloses the device of claim 9.
Tunnell further teaches wherein the control unit is further configured to determine an appropriate adherence stimulus, in particular with regard to the determined adherence-related patient type, based on the one or more machine-learning algorithms (Col. 34 lines 37 - Col. 35 line 60; The patient may be shown their risk factors in a report which is determined by the neural network; Alternatively, the dosage regimen may be modified according to known risk factors identified by the neural network, such as location, local weather, medical history, altitude, genetics, etc.).
Regarding claim 19, the modified device of Finke discloses the device of claim 16.
Finke is silent regarding wherein the server control unit is further configured to determine an adherence-related patient type based on one or more machine-learning algorithms.
However, Tunnell teaches a compliance monitor for an inhaler and wherein the server control unit is further configured to determine an adherence-related patient type based on one or more machine-learning algorithms (Col. 34 lines 37 - Col. 35 line 60; A neural network may categorize a patient according to their location, local weather, medical history, altitude, genetics, etc. that may be risk factors and thus will change the provided or recommended dosage regime to improve efficacy; It is noted that such risk factors can be a determination for a change in adherence to a protocol and thus high-risk or genetically predisposed to sickness/allergens are an adherence-related patient type).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Finke to have included determining an adherence-related patient type based on one or more machine-learning algorithms, such as that taught by Tunnell, in order to adjust patient dosage regimens for specific patients based on predicative markers or patient categorization (Col. 34 lines 37 - Col. 35 line 60).
Regarding claim 20, Finke discloses the device of claim 16.
Tunnell further teaches wherein the server control unit is further configured to determine an appropriate adherence stimulus, in particular with regard to the determined adherence-related patient type, based on the one or more machine-learning algorithms (Col. 34 lines 37 - Col. 35 line 60; The patient may be shown their risk factors in a report which is determined by the neural network; Alternatively, the dosage regimen may be modified according to known risk factors identified by the neural network, such as location, local weather, medical history, altitude, genetics, etc.).
Conclusion
/THOMAS W GREIG/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/JOSEPH D. BOECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785