DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 1, Figures 1-1B, claims 14, 16, 17 and 26, in the reply filed on November 6, 2024 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-25 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on November 6, 2024.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “during the pressing together at the two spot welds, one of the components [being] tilted in the direction of the other component” as claimed in claims 14 and 26 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14, 16, 17 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 (lines 8-9) and claim 26 (11-12) each recite “during the pressing together at the two spot welds, one of the components is tilted in the direction of the other component”.
It is unclear as to what is structurally defined by such limitations. It is unclear as whether such “tilting” of one component in the direction of the other component “during the pressing together at the two spot welds” defines an angularly tilted positioning between respective planar main body portions of the components; or whether such “tilting” is defined by flexing of a portion of a respective one of the flange section, component edge or protrusion of one of the components during the pressing together of the components; or whether such “tilting” is merely defined by an angular portion of a respective one of the flange section, component edge or protrusion of one of the components being angled toward the other component. Accordingly, one is unable to properly determine the metes and bounds or such claims. Claims 16 and 17 depend from claim 14 and are likewise rejected as being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 16, 17 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayerische Motoren Werke (WO 2017/167466) in view of Daimler (DE 10 2015 004 496) and Kanaguchi (US 2007/0245541).
As to claim 14 as best understood, Bayerische Motoren Werke discloses a component arrangement, comprising:
a first component 20 having a flange section 24; and
a second component 30 having a component edge, which are arranged in an overlapping arrangement and are connected via a laser fillet weld 42, and are connected at two fixing positions arranged laterally offset with respect to the laser fillet weld (two laterally offset fixing positions are constituted by laterally offset clamping positions A; Figure 3 reprinted with annotations below), wherein:
at least one protrusion 28 is provided on one of the components, which protrudes in a direction of the other component and is arranged and configured in such a way that, during the pressing together at the two fixing positions, one of the components is tilted in the direction of the other component (pressed oblique portions B,C of flange section 24 of first component 20 are angled toward second component 30, and flex during the pressing together of the components; thus the first component is tilted in the direction of the second component during the pressing together at fixing positions A; Figure 3), and when the first and second components are positioned correctly relative to one another and pressed together at the two fixing positions, the flange section of the first component is pressed obliquely in the region of the laser fillet weld (flange section 24 comprises pressed oblique portions B,C in the region of laser fillet weld 42; Figure 3), with a component edge 44 of the first component onto the second component, and
relative to the laser fillet weld in the overlap region, the two fixing positions are both set back on opposite sides thereto (Figures 1-4).
[AltContent: textbox (C)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A)]
Bayerische Motoren Werke fails to disclose a component arrangement wherein the first and the second component are respectively connected to one another by a resistance spot weld at the two fixing positions; and wherein a continuous adhesive bonding region, in which the first and second components are adhesively bonded to one another, is formed at least between the two spot welds.
Daimler teaches a component arrangement wherein first and second components 12,14 are respectively connected to one another by a pulsed laser spot weld 22,A at two fixing positions (Figure 2 reprinted below with annotations); and wherein a continuous adhesive bonding region 26, in which the first and second components are adhesively bonded to one another, is formed at least between the two spot welds; the spot welds and adhesive bonding providing for a more secure connection between the components prior to applying a laser seam weld 22,B between the component edge of the first component and the second component (Figures 2-3). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the component arrangement disclosed by Bayerische Motoren Werke wherein the two fixing positions comprise spot welds with adhesive bonding extending therebetween, as taught by Daimler, in order to provide for a more secure connection between the components prior to applying the laser seam weld between the component edge of the first component and the second component.
[AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow]
Bayerische Motoren Werke as modified by Daimler fails to explicitly disclose a component arrangement wherein the first and second components are connected by a resistance spot weld at the two fixing positions. Daimler teaches a component arrangement wherein first and second components are connected by pulsed laser spot welds; instead of resistance spot welds.
Kanaguchi teaches a component arrangement wherein first and second components 1,2 are respectively connected to one another by a resistance spot weld N at two fixing positions; and wherein a continuous adhesive bonding region 4, in which the first and second components are adhesively bonded to one another, is formed at least between the two fixing positions; the resistance spot welds providing for a quick secure connection between the components (Figures 4A-4D). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the component arrangement disclosed by Bayerische Motoren Werke as modified by Daimler wherein the two fixing positions comprise resistance spot welds, as taught by Kanaguchi, in order to provide for a quick secure connection between the components.
Moreover, inasmuch as the references disclose pulsed laser spot welds and resistance spot welds as art recognized structural and functional equivalents, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the exercise art to substitute one for the other. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 301, 213 USPQ 532, 536 (CCPA 1982).
As to claim 16, Bayerische Motoren Werke discloses a component arrangement wherein the at least one protrusion 28 is formed by the flange section 24 and the flange section is set obliquely relative to the surrounding first component 20, so that the component edge 44 of the flange section protrudes in the direction of the second component 30 (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 17, Bayerische Motoren Werke discloses a component arrangement wherein the component edge 44 protrudes furthest in a central region of the flange section 24 (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 26 as best understood, Bayerische Motoren Werke discloses a method for producing a component arrangement, comprising:
accurately positioning a first component 20 and a second component 30 in an overlapping arrangement, wherein the first component comprises a flange section 24, and the second component has a component edge;
pressing together and fixing the first and second components at least at two fixing positions (two laterally offset fixing positions are constituted by laterally offset clamping positions A; Figure 3), and wherein a protrusion 28 is provided on one of the components, which protrudes in a direction of the other component and is arranged and configured in such a way that, during the pressing together at the two fixing positions, one of the components is tilted in the direction of the other component (pressed oblique portions B,C of flange section 24 of first component 20 are angled toward second component 30, and flex during the pressing together of the components; thus the first component is tilted in the direction of the second component during the pressing together at fixing positions A; Figure 3), and when the first and second components are positioned correctly relative to one another and pressed together at the two fixing positions; and
forming a laser fillet weld 42 between a component edge 44 of the first component and the second component, the flange section of the first component being pressed obliquely in a region of the laser fillet weld (flange section 24 comprises pressed oblique portions B,C in the region of laser fillet weld 42; Figure 3), with the component edge of the first component onto the second component,
wherein relative to the laser fillet weld, the two fixing positions are both set back and on opposite sides thereto (Figures 1-4).
Bayerische Motoren Werke fails to disclose a component arrangement wherein the first and second components are respectively connected to one another by a resistance spot weld at the two fixing positions, and wherein an adhesive arranged between the two components adhesively bonds the two components to one another in a continuous adhesive bonding region extending between the two fixing positions.
Daimler teaches a component arrangement wherein first and second components 12,14 are respectively connected to one another by a pulsed laser spot weld 22,A at two fixing positions; and wherein a continuous adhesive bonding region 26, in which the first and second components are adhesively bonded to one another, is formed at least between the two fixing positions; the spot welds and adhesive bonding providing for a more secure connection between the components prior to applying a laser seam weld 22,B between the component edge of the first component and the second component (Figures 2-3). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the component arrangement disclosed by Bayerische Motoren Werke wherein the two fixing positions comprise spot welds with adhesive bonding extending therebetween, as taught by Daimler, in order to provide for a more secure connection between the components prior to applying the laser seam weld between the component edge of the first component and the second component.
Bayerische Motoren Werke as modified by Daimler fails to explicitly disclose a component arrangement wherein the first and second components are connected by a resistance spot weld at the two fixing positions. Daimler teaches a component arrangement wherein first and second components are connected by pulsed laser spot welds; instead of resistance spot welds.
Kanaguchi teaches a component arrangement wherein first and second components 1,2 are respectively connected to one another by a resistance spot weld N at two fixing positions; and wherein a continuous adhesive bonding region 4, in which the first and second components are adhesively bonded to one another, is formed at least between the two fixing positions; the resistance spot welds providing for a quick secure connection between the components (Figures 4A-4D). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the component arrangement disclosed by Bayerische Motoren Werke as modified by Daimler wherein the two fixing positions comprise resistance spot welds, as taught by Kanaguchi, in order to provide for a quick secure connection between the components.
Moreover, inasmuch as the references disclose pulsed laser spot welds and resistance spot welds as art recognized structural and functional equivalents, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the exercise art to substitute one for the other. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 301, 213 USPQ 532, 536 (CCPA 1982).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to claims 14 and 26, Attorney argues that:
Bayerische Motoren Werke as modified by Daimler fails to disclose a component arrangement comprising at least one protrusion provided on one of the components, which protrudes in a direction of the other component and is arranged and configured in such a way that, during the pressing together at the two spot welds, one of the components is tilted in the direction of the other component.
Examiner disagrees. As to claims 14 and 26 as best understood, Bayerische Motoren Werke discloses a component arrangement comprising at least one protrusion 28 provided on one of the components 20, which protrudes in a direction of the other component 30 and is arranged and configured in such a way that, during the pressing together at the two fixing positions A (Figure 3 reprinted with annotations above), one of the components is tilted in the direction of the other component (pressed oblique portions B,C of flange section 24 of first component 20 are angled toward second component 30, and flex during the pressing together of the components; thus the first component is tilted in the direction of the second component during the pressing together at fixing positions A; Figure 3).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
01/31/26 /MICHAEL P FERGUSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619