DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claim 3 is canceled. Claims 16 and 17 are newly added. Claims 1, 2 and 4-17 are pending where claim 1 has been amended. Claims 9-15 are withdrawn from consideration and claims 1, 2, 4-8, 16 and 17 remain for examination on the merits.
Status of Previous Rejections
The previous 35 USC § 102/103 rejections of the claims over JP 2004197217 A to Kubota et al and 35 USC § 103 rejections of the claims over JP 2017036491 A to Kataoka have been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over JP 2004197217 A to Kubota et al (cited by applicant in IDS, an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes).
Regarding claim 1, Kubota discloses a non-oriented electrical steel sheet comprising the following composition (Kubota, abstract, Example 4, Para [0050-0051], Table 12, Steel D), which lies within the instantly claimed composition as follows:
Element
Claimed wt%
Kubota D wt%
Lies within?
C
0-0.005
0.0013
Yes
Si
2.5-4.0
2.96
Yes
P
0-0.1
≤impurities
Yes
Al
0.1-2.0
0.31
Yes
Mn
0.2-2.5
0.30
Yes
N
0-0.003
0.0012
Yes
Ti or Nb
0-0.005
Ti: 0.0005
Nb: 0.0021
Yes
S
0-0.003
0.0009
Yes
V
0.005-0.025
0.0051
Yes
Cu
0-0.02
≤impurities
Yes
Fe
Balance
Balance
Yes
51C/12 – V*
-0.002-0.002
0.000425
Yes
*Expression 1 rewritten as a range
Kubota further discloses that the steel is manufactured by a method comprising hot rolling, cold rolling, and final annealing (Kubota, abstract, para [0050]).
Regarding the limitation “wherein, in the non-oriented electrical steel sheet, a density of VC precipitates is 4*1015 to 1*1019 number/m3, wherein in the non-oriented electrical steel sheet, a density of one or more precipitates of NbC and TiC is 15 × 10-15 number/m3 or less” when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01 [R-3].) In the instant case, the non-oriented steel sheet of Kubota would be expected to have the same or similar density of VC, NbC and TiC precipitates as the instantly claimed non-oriented steel sheet because the non-oriented steel sheet of Kubota has the same or similar composition, structure, and method of manufacturing. Therefore, a rejection based alternatively on either 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 is eminently fair and acceptable.
Regarding claims 2, 4-8, 16 and 17, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01 [R-3].) In the instant case, the non-oriented steel sheet of Kubota would be expected to have the same or similar precipitate size and density, grain diameter and iron loss as the instantly claimed non-oriented steel sheet because the non-oriented steel sheet of Kubota has the same or similar composition, structure, and method of manufacturing. Therefore, a rejection based alternatively on either 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 is eminently fair and acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over JP 2017036491 A to Kataoka et al (an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes).
Regarding claim 1, Kataoka discloses a non-oriented electrical steel sheet comprising the following composition (Kataoka, abstract, para [0001, 0020-0033]) which overlaps the instantly claimed composition range as well as a specific example A13 (Kataoka, para [0061], Table 1A, Example A13) which lies close to the instantly claimed composition as follows:
Element
Claimed wt%
Kataoka wt%
Kataoka A13 wt%
Overlaps/Lies within?
C
0-0.005
0.0001-0.01
0.0034
Yes/Yes
Si
2.5-4.0
0.05-3.5
2.56
Yes/Yes
P
0-0.1
0.001-0.20
0.142
Yes/No
Al
0.1-2.0
0.002-2.0
1.54
Yes/Yes
Mn
0.2-2.5
0.01-2.0
1.61
Yes/Yes
N
0-0.003
0.0005-0.02
0.0007
Yes/Yes
Ti or Nb
0-0.005
Ti: 0.002-0.10
Nb: 0.002-0.20
Ti: 0.003
Nb: 0.007
Yes/No
S
0-0.003
0.0010-0.05
0.0017
Yes/Yes
V
0.005-0.025
0.002-0.20
0.014
Yes/Yes
Cu
0-0.02
0.01-3.00
0.06
Yes/No
Fe
Balance
Balance
Balance
Yes/Yes
51C/12 – V*
-0.002-0.002
-0.199575-0.0405
0.00045
Yes/Yes
*Expression 1 rewritten as a range
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select any portion of the disclosed ranges of each element including the instantly claimed because Kataoka discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
Regarding the limitation “wherein, in the non-oriented electrical steel sheet, a density of VC precipitates is 4*1015 to 1*1019 number/m3, wherein in the non-oriented electrical steel sheet, a density of one or more precipitates of NbC and TiC is 15 × 10-15 number/m3 or less” Kataoka further discloses that the steel is manufactured by a method comprising hot rolling, cold rolling, and final annealing (Kataoka, abstract, para [0061]). When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01 [R-3].) In the instant case, the non-oriented steel sheet of Kataoka would be expected to have the same or similar density of VC, NbC and TiC precipitates as the instantly claimed non-oriented steel sheet because the non-oriented steel sheet of Kubota has the same or similar composition, structure, and method of manufacturing.
Regarding claims 2, 4-8, 16 and 17, Kataoka further discloses that the steel is manufactured by a method comprising hot rolling, cold rolling, and final annealing (Kataoka, abstract, para [0061]). When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01 [R-3].) In the instant case, the non-oriented steel sheet of Kataoka would be expected to have the same or similar precipitate size and density, grain diameter and iron loss as the instantly claimed non-oriented steel sheet because the non-oriented steel sheet of Kubota has the same or similar composition, structure, and method of manufacturing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Kubota and Kataoka fails to disclose the limitation “wherein, in the non-oriented electrical steel sheet, a density of VC precipitates is 4*1015 to 1*1019 number/m3, wherein in the non-oriented electrical steel sheet, a density of one or more precipitates of NbC and TiC is 15 × 10-15 number/m3 or less.” This is not found persuasive because regarding the limitation “wherein, in the non-oriented electrical steel sheet, a density of VC precipitates is 4*1015 to 1*1019 number/m3,” when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01 [R-3].) In the instant case, the non-oriented steel sheet of Kubota and Kataoka would be expected to have the same or similar density of VC, NbC and TiC precipitates as the instantly claimed non-oriented steel sheet because the non-oriented steel sheet of Kubota and Kataoka has the same or similar composition, structure, and method of manufacturing.
Applicant argues that Kataoka does not disclose 0.02% or less of Cu. This is not found persuasive because Kataoka discloses a Cu content of 0.01-3.00 wt% (Kataoka, abstract, para [0001, 0020-0033]) which overlaps the instantly claimed composition range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select any portion of the disclosed ranges of each element including the instantly claimed because Kataoka discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
Applicant argues that Kubota does not disclose 0.02% or less of Cu. This is not found persuasive because Kubota example D contains no more than impurity amounts of Cu (Kubota, abstract, Example 4, Para [0050-0051], Table 12, Steel D), lying within the instantly claimed ranges.
Applicant argues that an embodiment of Kubota contains 0.22 wt% Cu, which is outside of the instantly claimed range. This is not found persuasive because the claims were not rejected over the emobidment of Kubota Table 8 which contains 0.22 wt% Cu, but rather the claims were rejected over Kubota example D, which has no Cu intentionally added and thus no more than impurity amounts of Cu (Kubota, abstract, Example 4, Para [0050-0051], Table 12, Steel D).
Conclusion
/BRIAN D WALCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738