DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2 and 4 are examined in this office action as claims 5-7 are withdrawn as directed to a non-elected invention and claim 1 was amended in the reply dated 7/23/25.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites the limitation “A stainless steel” and goes on to recite that the “stainless steel contains 15 wt% or more of Cr”. As steel is an alloy where iron is alloyed with carbon this claim will be interpreted as requiring at least some carbon, 15 wt% or more of chromium, and the balance being iron where the iron makes up at least 50 wt% of the alloy otherwise the claimed material would not be a steel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2018/0219201 A1 of Kim.
As to claims 1-2 and 4, the claim preamble must be read in the context of the entire claim. The determination of whether preamble recitations are structural limitations or mere statements of purpose or use "can be resolved only on review of the entirety of the [record] to gain an understanding of what the inventors actually invented and intended to encompass by the claim" as drafted without importing "'extraneous' limitations from the specification." Corning Glass Works, 868 F.2d at 1257, 9 USPQ2d at 1966. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999), see MPEP § 2111.02(II). In the instant case, the claim fully sets forth the structure of the stainless steel having a surface oxide and therefore the recitation “for a fuel cell separator” is merely a statement of intended use and does not further limit the claim. Nevertheless, Kim discloses a stainless steel for a fuel cell separator plate (Kim, abstract).
Kim discloses where the composition of the stainless steel comprises 0 to 0.02 wt% C, 25 to 34 wt% Cr, and balance Fe (Kim, claim 2), meeting the claim limitations of including some carbon, balance Fe to make a steel and more than 15 wt% Cr. Kim discloses where a passive film is formed on the stainless steel base material which includes Cr—Fe oxide, a Mn oxide, a Si oxide, a Nb oxide, and the like (Kim, paragraph [0060]), meeting the claim limitations of where there are chromium and other metal oxides on the surface. However, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the steel has surface electrical conductivity nor a value of the following surface oxide atomic ratio (1) is 0.08 or more, as measured on a surface of the stainless steel containing 15 wt % or more of Cr by X-ray angle-resolved photoemission spectroscopy using an Al-Kα X-ray source under the condition where a take-off angle of photoelectrons is from 12° to 85°: Sum of atomic concentrations (at%)of Cr in Cr hydroxide / sum of atomic concentrations (at %) of metal elements in total oxides and hydroxides (1) wherein the Cr hydroxide represents CrOOH, Cr(OH)2, or Cr(OH)3, and the total oxides and hydroxides include a Cr oxide, the Cr hydroxide, an Fe oxide, an Fe hydroxide, and a metal oxide (MO), and the metal oxide (MO) includes a mixed oxide, wherein M represents an alloying element other than Cr and Fe or a combination thereof in a matrix, and O represents oxygen nor where a bandgap energy of a surface oxide layer of the stainless steel is 2 eV or less. Also, Kim does not explicitly disclose the properties claimed in claims 2 and 4 of a value of the surface oxide atomic ratio (1) is 0.2 or more and wherein the surface oxide layer of the stainless steel forms an ohmic contact with the matrix.
Nevertheless, as Kim discloses the same chemical composition of stainless steel with greater than 15 wt% Cr and with the same structure of oxides on the surface, the steel in Kim would have the same surface oxide atomic ratio (1) is 0.08 or more and 0.2 or more, where it has excellent surface electrical conductivity, a bandgap energy of a surface oxide layer of the stainless steel is 2 eV or less, wherein the surface oxide layer of the stainless steel forms an ohmic contact with the matrix, and a bandgap energy of a surface oxide layer of the stainless steel is 2 eV or less. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)), see MPEP § 2112.01(II).
In the alternative, Kim also discloses a substantially identical method of manufacture of this stainless steel where the steel with a composition of comprises 0 to 0.02 wt% C, 25 to 34 wt% Cr, and balance Fe (Kim, claim 2) is cold rolled using a cold rolling mill (Kim, paragraph [0060]). Kim discloses where the cold rolled sheet is dipped in a sulfuring acid solution followed by a mixed acid solution of nitric and hydrofluoric acid (Kim, paragraph [0023]), where a sulfuric acid solution reads upon a nonoxidizing acid solution and a nitric acid solution reads upon an oxidizing acid solution, and thereby matching the method of forming the claimed stainless steel as disclosed in paragraph [00019], [00022], and [00023] and claim 5 of cold rolling followed by a primary surface treatment in an nonoxidizing acid solution and a secondary surface treatment performed by immersing the sheet in an oxidizing acid solution. As Kim discloses the same starting material, stainless steel sheet with greater than 15 wt% Cr and applies the same method of cold rolling, followed by use of a nonoxidizing and oxidizing acid solution immersion, the same method applied to the same material would necessarily produce the same properties of a surface oxide atomic ratio (1) is 0.08 or more and 0.2 or more, where it has surface electrical conductivity, a bandgap energy of a surface oxide layer of the stainless steel is 2 eV or less, and wherein the surface oxide layer of the stainless steel forms an ohmic contact with the matrix.. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) (emphasis added), see MPEP § 2112.01(I).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 17/786509 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘509 application claims a substantially identical stainless steel with an identical composition with surface oxides and overlapping ratio of oxides. Further, it also claims an identical method of manufacture for the stainless steel sheet. Claims 2-4 of the ‘509 application are also substantially identical to the instant dependent claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2 and 4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 18/038389 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘389 application claims a substantially identical stainless steel with an identical composition with surface oxides and overlapping ratio of oxides. Further, it also claims an identical method of manufacture for the stainless steel sheet. Claims 2-3 of the ‘509 application are also substantially identical to the instant dependent claims..
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the 112(b) rejections, applicant’s deletion of “excellence” and incorporation of claim 3 into claim 1 cures the previous issues and therefore the rejections are withdrawn.
With respect to the 102/103 rejection over Kim, applicant argues that Kim aims to form a Cr-enriched layer to increase the surface Cr ratio through selective Fe dissolution while the present embodiment controls the surface oxide atomic ratio of Cr hydroxide/total oxide ratio and thereby controlling the bandgap energy to 2eV or less (Applicant’s remarks, pg. 5, 2nd from last paragraph).
In response to applicant's argument that Kim does not disclose controlling the surface oxide atomic ratio of Cr hydroxide/total oxide ratio and thereby controlling the bandgap energy to 2eV or less, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). As Kim discloses the same starting material and applies a substantially identical method thereto, the same properties would naturally flow therefrom.
Applicant also argues that Kim does not disclose a substantially identical method as Kim employs a 3-step modification process where step 1 and step 2 involve treating in sulfuric acid in specific potential conditions and step 3 in a nitric/hydrofluoric acid mixture whereas the present embodiment is a two step process with the first step being hydrochloric or sulfuric acid followed by a second nitric acid solution step with optional electrolytic treatment (Applicant’s remarks, pg. 5 last paragraph – pg. 6 first paragraph).
However, it is not clear how Kim’s 3 step process does not read upon the disclosed method of manufacture in the instant specification. While Kim splits the sulfuric acid treatment into two steps with each step having different electrolysis parameters, this meets the disclosed method for making the claimed invention. Applicant merely requires treatment in hydrochloric or sulfuric acid and allows for electrolysis by current. This is followed by a 3rd step where a mixed acid solution of nitric and hydrofluoric acid is used to treat the stainless steel in Kim, meeting the instant required treatment in a Nitric acid solution. As Kim discloses a process that meets applicant’s disclosed method of manufacture in the instant application, it is not clear how the product in Kim could possess different properties.
Finally, applicant also argues that Kim fails to disclose the surface oxide atomic ratio formula (1) and the bandgap energy as the instant application provides a stainless steel with excellent surface electrical conductivity for fuel cell separators which have semi-conductor characteristics (Applicant’s remarks, pg. 5, 2nd to last paragraphs). Applicant argues that conventional technologies only control the ratio of Cr/Fe in the passivated layer while the instant invention uses formula (1) and Kim only controls the Cr atomic weight to the Fe atomic weight at the interface between the stainless steel matrix, passivated film, and the stainless steel matrix and passivated film thereby having a different approach than the present invention (Applicant’s remarks pg. 6 last paragraph – pg. 7, first two paragraphs). Applicant also argues that as Kim is related to controlling only the ratio of Cr atomic weight to Fe atomic weight, it would not be easy for a person of skill in the art to envisage controlling the atomic ratio formula (1) value to be 0.08 or more and thereby controlling the bandgap energy of the surface oxide layer to be 2 eV or less as this correlation is shown in Figs 1A and 1B (Applicant’s remarks, pg. 7, last two paragraphs).
In response to applicant's argument that Kim fails to disclose the surface oxide atomic ratio formula (1) and the bandgap energy as the instant application provides a stainless steel with excellent surface electrical conductivity for fuel cell separators which have semi-conductor characteristics, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). As noted above, Kim discloses an anticipatory composition and an patentably indistinct method of manufacture. As such, it is not clear how the substantially identical method applied to the identical compositional starting material would not produce the same properties. While applicant may have applied a new way to quantify the product, this does not demonstrate that the product is not obvious in view of the Kim disclosure. Thus applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Finally, applicant addresses the Double Patenting rejections over copending applications 17/786509 and 18/038389 by noting that they will be addressed upon indication that claims in one of the applications is indicated as allowable (Applicant’s remarks, pg. 8, last 3 paragraphs).
However, the instant amendments do not overcome the double patenting rejection and therefore the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA S CARPENTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/JOPHY S. KOSHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733