DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 02/25/2026, has been entered. Claims 17-23, 25, 26, 28-30, 32, and 33 are currently pending. Claims 17, 23, and 25 are amended. Support is found in paragraphs 0028, 0030, 0092, and 0093 of the present specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-23, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittel et al. (US 20200227709 A1) in view of Dai et al. (US 20180123112 A1) and Karulkar et al. (US 20180287117 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Dittel discloses a battery for storing electrical energy on an electrochemical basis (paragraph 0011), the battery comprising: a housing sealed hermetically (paragraph 0043, figure 4, casing 52) and comprising a hardcase (paragraph 0048); and at least one electrochemical cell contained within the housing and comprising an organic electrolyte (paragraph 0011, battery cell 40); wherein a point in a wall of the housing is provided for creation of an access to a housing interior (paragraph 0043, figure 4, opening 53), wherein the point for the creation of the access to the housing interior is configured to create the access to the housing interior and to hermetically close again the access created to the housing interior; and wherein the access to the housing interior is configured in an opened state to vent the electrochemical cell (paragraphs 0043-0052, figures 4-6, opening 53, patch 60, aperture 72 vents the cell, auxiliary patch 90 reseals the opening), wherein the point for the creation of the access to the housing interior comprises an opening in a wall of the housing (opening 53), the opening being sealed hermetically with a closure disposed in an opening section of the opening (patch 60 and auxiliary patch 90), the closure having a surface side facing the housing interior (paragraph 0045, figures 4-5). Dittel further discloses that the patch may seal the opening by any form of affixation (paragraph 0045). Dittel does not explicitly disclose wherein the opening section has a cross-section substantially perpendicular to a depth direction of the opening, the opening section having a side wall extending along the depth direction and surrounding the closure, wherein a shape of the opening section substantially matches a shape of an external side edge of the closure, the external side edge of the closure being joined hermetically to the surrounding side wall of the opening section.
Dai discloses an electrochemical cell having an electrolyte filling port opening comprising a discontinuous opening with at least two welded sealing members positioned at differing depths within the fill port (Dai paragraph 0011, figures 6A-9B). Dai further discloses that the opening comprises a cross-section perpendicular to a depth direction of the opening (Dai figures 6 and 9). The sealing members have an external side edge with a shape substantially matching the surrounding side wall of the opening, and are hermetically sealed to the wall through welding (Dai paragraphs 0044-0049, figures 9A-9D, welds 112 and 116 hermetically seal the sealing members to the opening). The reference teaches that the seals prevent the flow of electrolyte out of the casing, and the opening configuration minimalizes local heating (Dai paragraphs 0011, 0046). Dai and Dittel are analogous because they both disclose sealing means for battery cells.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the opening disclosed by Dittel to include the opening shape sealed to the closure as disclosed by Dai. Doing so would prevent the flow of electrolyte out of the casing and minimize local heating.
Dittel in view of Dai is silent regarding the surface side having a polymer layer thereon, wherein the polymer layer and the wall of the housing are not in contact with each other.
Karulkar discloses a battery cell including a header opening for filling the battery cell with electrolyte, and a plug for venting the cell (Karulkar paragraph 0003). Karulkar further discloses that the plug may be formed integrally with a layer of material with a surface of the head, and a vent cover which may be plastic may be at the opening of the end of the shaft of the plug (Karulkar paragraphs 0033, 0038, 0040, figures 5 and 8, covers 314 and 414, equivalent to the claimed polymer layer at the surface side, do not extend to the edges of the plug, and therefore do not contact the housing wall). The reference teaches that the additional layer prevents contaminants from entering the battery cell (Karulkar paragraph 0040). Karulkar and Dittel are analogous because they both disclose battery venting closures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the closure of Dittel to include the cover layer disclosed by Karulkar on the bottom surface. Doing so would prevent contaminants from entering the battery cell.
Regarding claim 18, modified Dittel discloses the limitations of claim 17. Dittel further discloses that the access to the housing interior is further configured in the opened state for filling the electrochemical cell with additional electrolyte (paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 19, Dittel discloses the limitations of claim 17. Dittel further discloses wherein the point for the creation of the access to the housing interior comprises an opening in the wall of the housing, the opening being sealed hermetically with a closure and further being configured to create the access to the housing interior by puncturing of the closure (paragraphs 0043-0046, figure 6, piercing tool 70 creates aperture 72).
Regarding claim 20, modified Dittel discloses the limitations of claim 19. Dittel is silent regarding wherein an opening cross section of the opening in the wall of the housing widens incrementally from a housing interior outward; wherein the opening comprises at least two opening sections having different-sized opening cross sections; and wherein the closure is recessed relative to a housing-outside end of the opening.
Dai discloses an electrochemical cell having an electrolyte filling port opening comprising a discontinuous opening with at least two welded sealing members positioned at differing depths within the fill port (Dai paragraph 0011, figures 6A-9B). Dai further discloses that the opening the opening comprises at least two opening sections having different-sized opening cross sections; and wherein the closure is recessed relative to a housing-outside end of the opening (Dai paragraphs 0012, 0040-0041, 0044, figures 6A-C, 9A-D). The reference teaches that the sealing members and change in diameter of the opening sections further minimizes localized heating and reduces the possibility of electrolyte expulsion (Dai paragraphs 0011-0014). Dai and Dittel are analogous because they both disclose sealing means for battery cells.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the opening disclosed by Dittel to include the opening shape and closure position disclosed by Dai. Doing so would minimize localized heating and reduce the possibility of electrolyte expulsion.
Regarding claim 21, modified Dittel discloses the limitations of claim 19. Dittel is silent regarding wherein a limit of the opening formed in the wall of the housing is staircase-shaped.
Dai discloses an electrochemical cell having an electrolyte filling port opening comprising a discontinuous opening with at least two welded sealing members positioned at differing depths within the fill port (Dai paragraph 0011, figures 6A-9B). Dai further discloses that a limit of the opening formed in the wall of the housing is staircase-shaped (Dai paragraphs 0040-0041, figures 6A-C, 9A-D). The reference teaches that the change in diameter of the opening sections further minimizes localized heating and reduces the possibility of electrolyte expulsion (Dai paragraph 0011). Dai and Dittel are analogous because they both disclose sealing means for battery cells.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the opening disclosed by Dittel to include the opening shape disclosed by Dai. Doing so would minimize localized heating and reduce the possibility of electrolyte expulsion.
Regarding claim 22, modified Dittel discloses the limitations of claim 19. Dittel is silent regarding wherein the closure is disposed in an opening section of the opening having a shape substantially matching a shape of an external edge of the closure, and wherein the external edge of the closure is joined hermetically to a surrounding housing wall.
Dai discloses an electrochemical cell having an electrolyte filling port opening comprising a discontinuous opening with at least two welded sealing members positioned at differing depths within the fill port (Dai paragraph 0011, figures 6A-9B). Dai further discloses that the opening comprises a cross-section perpendicular to a depth direction of the opening (Dai figures 6 and 9). The sealing members have an external side edge with a shape substantially matching the surrounding side wall of the opening, and are hermetically sealed to the wall through welding (Dai paragraphs 0044-0049, figures 9A-9D, welds 112 and 116 hermetically seal the sealing members to the opening). The reference teaches that the seals prevent the flow of electrolyte out of the casing, and the opening configuration minimalizes local heating (Dai paragraphs 0011, 0046). Dai and Dittel are analogous because they both disclose sealing means for battery cells.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the opening disclosed by Dittel to include the opening shape sealed to the closure as disclosed by Dai. Doing so would prevent the flow of electrolyte out of the casing and minimize local heating.
Regarding claim 23, modified Dittel discloses the limitations of claim 19. Dittel further discloses that the closure is embodied as a planar disk or plate (paragraph 0045). Dittel is silent regarding the surface side with the polymer layer thereon.
Karulkar discloses a battery cell including a header opening for filling the battery cell with electrolyte, and a plug for venting the cell (Karulkar paragraph 0003). Karulkar further discloses that the plug may be formed integrally with a layer of material with a surface of the head, and a vent cover which may be plastic may be at the opening of the end of the shaft of the plug (Karulkar paragraphs 0033, 0038, 0040, figures 5 and 8, covers 314 and 414, equivalent to the claimed polymer layer at the surface side, do not extend to the edges of the plug, and therefore do not contact the housing wall). The reference teaches that the additional layer prevents contaminants from entering the battery cell (Karulkar paragraph 0040). Karulkar and Dittel are analogous because they both disclose battery venting closures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the closure of Dittel to include the cover layer disclosed by Karulkar on the bottom surface. Doing so would prevent contaminants from entering the battery cell.
Regarding claim 33, modified Dittel discloses the limitations of claim 17. Dittel further discloses that the opening section has a cylindrical form (figure 4, opening 53).
Claims 17-23, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittel et al. (US 20200227709 A1) in view Karulkar et al. (US 20180287117 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Dittel discloses a method for operating a battery (paragraph 0011) having a housing which is sealed hermetically (paragraph 0043, figure 4, casing 52) and embodied as a hardcase (paragraph 0048) and in which at least one electrochemical cell based on an organic electrolyte is contained (paragraph 0011, battery cell 40), the method comprising: opening the housing at a point thereon configured for creation of an access to the housing interior, so as to vent the at least one electrochemical cell by puncturing a first closure previously closing the access to create a through-hole in the first closure, the through-hole remaining after the puncturing (paragraphs 0043-0047, figures 4-6, opening 53, patch 60, aperture 72), the first closure being made of metal (paragraph 0045); and hermetically reclosing the access to the housing interior resulting from the opening of the housing (paragraphs 0049-0052, figure 7, auxiliary patch 90). Dittel is silent regarding the first closure comprising, on a surface side facing the housing interior, a polymer layer, wherein the polymer layer and a housing wall are not in contact with each other.
Karulkar discloses a battery cell including a header opening for filling the battery cell with electrolyte, and a plug for venting the cell (Karulkar paragraph 0003). Karulkar further discloses that the plug may be formed integrally with a layer of material with a surface of the head, and a vent cover which may be plastic may be at the opening of the end of the shaft of the plug (Karulkar paragraphs 0033, 0038, 0040, figures 5 and 8, covers 314 and 414, equivalent to the claimed polymer layer at the surface side, do not extend to the edges of the plug, and therefore do not contact the housing wall). The reference teaches that the additional layer prevents contaminants from entering the battery cell (Karulkar paragraph 0040). Karulkar and Dittel are analogous because they both disclose battery venting closures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the closure of Dittel to include the cover layer disclosed by Karulkar on the bottom surface. Doing so would prevent contaminants from entering the battery cell.
Regarding claim 29, modified Dittel discloses the limitations of claim 25. Dittel further discloses that the second closure is placed into an opening section of the opening (paragraphs 0049-0052, figure 7, auxiliary patch 90), the opening section having a shape substantially matching a shape of an external edge of the second closure (figure 7, auxiliary patch 90 seals aperture 72), and wherein the external edge of the second closure is joined hermetically to a surrounding housing (paragraphs 0049-0052, figure 7, auxiliary patch 90).
Claims 26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittel et al. (US 20200227709 A1) in view of Karulkar et al. (US 20180287117 A1) as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Giroud (US 20110171503 A1).
Regarding claim 26, modified Dittel discloses the limitations of claim 25. Dittel is silent regarding introducing additional electrolyte through the access to the housing interior resulting from the opening of the housing so as to fill up the cell with the additional electrolyte (paragraph 0031).
Giroud discloses a method of filling a lithium ion storage battery with electrolyte (Giroud paragraphs 0014-0022). Giroud further discloses that liquid electrolyte is injected using a needle through a sealing cap, equivalent to introducing additional electrolyte resulting from opening of the housing (Giroud paragraph 0045, figure 7). The reference teaches that the process allows for easy administering of the exact quantity of liquid and enhanced impregnation of electrolyte (Giroud paragraph 0045). Giroud and Dittel are analogous because they both disclose methods of piercing an electrolyte filling hole for lithium ion batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process disclosed by Dittel to include introducing additional electrolyte as disclosed by Giroud. Doing so would allow for easy administering of the exact quantity of liquid and enhanced impregnation of electrolyte.
Regarding claim 30, modified Dittel discloses the limitations of claim 26. Dittel further discloses that the puncturing takes place using a puncturing tool having a tubular part (paragraph 0046, hollow needle). Dittel is silent regarding the additional electrolyte being introduced using the tubular part of the puncturing tool.
Giroud discloses a method of filling a lithium ion storage battery with electrolyte (Giroud paragraphs 0014-0022). Giroud further discloses that liquid electrolyte is injected using a needle through a sealing cap, equivalent to introducing additional electrolyte resulting from opening of the housing (Giroud paragraph 0045, figure 7). The reference teaches that the process allows for easy administering of the exact quantity of liquid and enhanced impregnation of electrolyte (Giroud paragraph 0045). Giroud and Dittel are analogous because they both disclose methods of piercing an electrolyte filling hole for lithium ion batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process disclosed by Dittel to include introducing additional electrolyte as disclosed by Giroud. Doing so would allow for easy administering of the exact quantity of liquid and enhanced impregnation of electrolyte.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittel et al. (US 20200227709 A1) in view of Karulkar et al. (US 20180287117 A1) as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Kim (KR 20000021323 A).
Regarding claim 28, modified Dittel discloses the limitations of claim 25. Dittel further discloses that the point for the creation of the access to the housing interior is embodied before being opened as a hermetically sealed opening in a wall of the housing (paragraphs 0043-0047, figures 4-6, opening 53, patch 60); wherein the hermetically sealed opening is sealed hermetically by the first closure (paragraphs 0043-0047, figures 4-6, opening 53, patch 60). Dittel is silent regarding a cross section of the hermetically sealed opening widening continuously or incrementally from the housing interior outward and the first closure being recessed relative to a housing-outside end of the access.
Kim discloses a sealed structure for a through hole which functions as both an electrolyte injection port and a gas discharge port for a lithium ion battery (Kim paragraphs 0019-0020). Kim further discloses that the through hole widens incrementally by including a step portion, and that the sealing valve is recessed and installed at the inner diameter portion of the step (Kim paragraph 0029, figure 4). The reference teaches that since the valve does not protrude, it makes the appearance of the battery more attractive (Kim paragraph 0029). Kim and Dittel are analogous because they both disclose sealing means for a lithium ion battery.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the seal disclosed by Dittel to be recessed in an incrementally widening opening as disclosed by Kim. Doing so would improve the appearance of the battery.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittel et al. (US 20200227709 A1) in view of Karulkar et al. (US 20180287117 A1) and Giroud (US 20110171503 A1) as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Eo (US 20140079986 A1).
Regarding claim 32, modified Dittel discloses the limitations of claim 26. Dittel is silent with respect to the additional electrolyte being a same type as the electrolyte contained in the cell; wherein the additional electrolyte comprises one or more additives configured to extend a lifetime of the cell and/or to attenuate or inhibit secondary reactions of the electrolyte with electrodes of the electrochemical cell; and/or wherein the additional electrolyte comprises lithium-containing salts for providing additional electrochemically active lithium in a cell cycle following the introduction of the additional electrolyte.
Eo discloses a battery with electrolyte injected through an upper part of the case (Eo paragraph 0071). Eo further discloses that the electrolyte is an organic electrolyte comprising an additive and a lithium salt to improve cycle-life characteristics (Eo paragraph 0032). Eo further discloses that the lithium salt supplies lithium ions in the battery and improves lithium ion transport (Eo paragraph 0053). Dittel and Eo are analogous because they both disclose batteries filled with electrolyte.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Dittel to include the electrolyte disclosed by Eo. Doing so would improve cycle-life characteristics and lithium ion transport.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 17 and 25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claims 17 and 25 are rejected over Dittel in view of Karulkar and Dai, in view of Applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.T.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1727 /Maria Laios/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727