DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 are currently pending. Claims 1, 3, 4, 6 and 12 have been amended by Applicants’ amendment filed 08-17-2026. No claims have been added or canceled by Applicants’ amendment filed 08-17-2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-6, directed to a method for analyzing a target nucleic acid; and Applicant’s election of Species without traverse as follows:
Species (A): the method of claim 1, further comprising determining a property dependent on the target nucleic acid other than its sequence is determined (claim 3); and
Species (B): wherein the nucleotides of the mutation sites of one, two, or more libraries (claim 6), in the reply filed December 10, 2025 was previously acknowledged.
Claims 7-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely
traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on December 10, 2025.
Claims 2 and 5 were previously withdrawn, and claims 4 and 12 are newly withdrawn, from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Please Note: in the reply filed December 10, 2025, Applicant elected for Species (A), the method of claim 1, further comprising determining a property dependent on the target nucleic acid other than its sequence (claim 3). Thus, amended claims 4 and 12 are withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected species.
The restriction requirement was deemed proper and was made FINAL.
The claims will be examined insofar as they read on the elected species.
Therefore, claims 1, 3 and 6 are under consideration to which the following grounds of rejection are applicable.
Priority
The present application filed June 15, 2022, is a 35 U.S.C. 371 national stage filing of
International Application No. PCT/EP2020/086800, filed December 17, 2020, which claims the benefit of European Patent Application EP19217297.1, filed December 18, 2019.
Acknowledgment was made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Germany on March 26, 2020 including the certified copy of the European Patent Application EP19217297.1, filed December 18, 2019.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
Applicants’ amendment and arguments filed August 18, 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below are herein withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
The rejection of claims 3 and 6 is withdrawn under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Amended claims 3 and 6 are proper dependent claims to amended claim 1.
In view of the withdrawn rejection, Applicant’s arguments are rendered moot.
Maintained Objections/Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
The rejection of claims 1, 3 and 6 is maintained under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 6 are indefinite for the recitation of the term “the two or more site mutagenesis libraries” such as recited in claim 1, lines 4, 6-7 and 9-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the two or more site mutagenesis libraries” in the claim because claim 1, line 3 recites the term “a set of two or more site mutagenesis libraries”. The Examiner suggests that Applicant amend the claims to recite, for example, “the isolated member of each set of two or more site mutagenesis libraries”.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “adjacent” in claim 1, line 14 because the term “adjacent” is a relative term that renders the claim indefinite. The term “adjacent” is not defined by the claim, and the Specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite location as compared to some other value that qualifies a nucleotide to be “adjacent” to one or more library-specific mutation sites (e.g., directly adjacent, bound to, near, separated by a linker, etc.), such that one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably appraised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “sufficient length” in claim 1, line 15 because the term “sufficient length” is a relative term that renders the claim indefinite. The term “sufficient” is not defined by the claim, and the Specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite location as compared to some other value that qualifies a length as being “sufficient” to allow for identification, such that one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably appraised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the recitation of the terms “the selected isolated member” and “one selected isolated member” such as recited in claim 1, lines 15-16 and 19-20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the terms “the selected isolated member” and “one selected isolated member” in the claim because claim 1, lines 8-9 recite the term “each isolated member that is selected”.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “each sequence obtained in v)” such as recited in claim 1, line 19 because claim 1(v) does not recite obtaining a sequence and, thus, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claim 3 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “at least one of the isolated member selected in ii)” such as recited in claim 3, line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis in the claim for the term “at least one of the isolated member selected in ii)” because claim 1, line 9 recites the term “selecting one of the isolated members”. Moreover, it is unclear whether the term is also referring to the “selected isolated member” recited in claim 1, or whether the term refers to some other member and, thus, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Please Note: the references were modified slightly in view of Applicant’s amendments and arguments, in the reply filed 08-17-2026.
The rejection of claims 1, 3 and 6 is maintained under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1)/102(a2) as being anticipated by Cozens et al. (hereinafter “Cozens”) (Nucleic Acids Research, 2018, 46(8), 1-13; of record; and Supplementary Information, 2018, 1-27; of record) as evidenced by Shokralla et al. (hereinafter “Shokralla”) (Scientific Reports, 2015, 5(9687), 1-7).
Regarding claim 1, Cozens teaches a new library assembly method to uncompromisingly address all four quality bottlenecks of simultaneous multiple site saturation mutagenesis, wherein Darwin Assembly is a simple, fast, low-cost and flexible platform capable of delivering large (>108 transformations), user-defined libraries with any desired combinations of mutations anywhere in a gene of interest, or in multiple genes/features in a plasmid, which takes a single working day and is both highly effective and efficient (all clones mutated at all positions targeted) (pg. 2, col 1, first full paragraph). Cozens teaches that the Darwin Assembly was applied to different genes, including chloramphenicol acetyl transferase (CAT), Saccharomyces cerevisiae tryptohanyl tRNA synthetase (ScWRS), Thermococcus gorgonarius DNA polymerase (TgoT), Thermococcus kodakaraenis DNA polymerase (KOD) and T7 RNA polymerase (T7RSS), which differ in length as well as composition (interpreted as two or more sites mutagenesis libraries, claim 1(i)) (pg. 7, col 1, last partial paragraph). Cozens teaches that scanning libraries introduce a single point mutation at different sites in a target gene, where alanine scanning is a traditional approach to identify functionally important residues in enzymes but scanning libraries can also be used to map the local functional neighborhood of an enzyme or even to generate datasets for deep mutational scanning-guided rational protein design, wherein mutant generation can be laborious when mutations are introduced individually by site-directed mutagenesis (interpreted as site mutagenesis; interpreting scanning libraries as a set of two or more libraries; and providing isolated library members, claim 1(i) (pg. 8, col 1, second full paragraph). Cozens teaches that Darwin Assembly can efficiently generate scanning libraries by combining oligo-nucleotides targeting the same binding site, but each introducing a different mutation, such that using the CAT gene as the model, an alanine scan library was assembled around residues Thr101 and Ser104, using Leu105 (CTC→CTG) recording as an assembly control, such that five inner oligonucleotides were designed: four introducing an alanine mutation (Thr101Ala, Phe102Ala, Ser103Ala, or Ser104Ala) and one wild-type, such that all five oligonucleotides introduced the CTC→CTG control mutation at the Leu105 codon (interpreted as selecting one member of each site mutagenesis library; and obtaining a probe nucleic acid of the target mutated nucleic acid, claim 1(ii) and 1(iii)) (pg. 8, col 1, third full paragraph). Cozens teaches that the five oligonucleotides were mixed in a 1:1:1:1:1 ratio in the assembly reaction to create a library where each variant was expected to be 20% of the final population, wherein assembly was successful and over 103 transformants were isolated, pooled, their plasmid DNA purified and deep sequenced––generating nearly 80,000 reads, such that the control Leu105 (CTC→CTG) mutation was present in 99.7% of the samples, a frequency comparable to sites that had not been targeted for mutagenesis (see Table 2) (interpreted as isolating and mixing probe nucleic acids; and sequencing the probe nucleic acids of the mixture obtained in step iv in parallel, claim 1(iv) and 1(v)) (pg. 8, col 1, fourth full paragraph). Cozens teaches Illumina sequencing and data analysis, wherein deep sequencing was carried out on an Illumina MiSeq at the UCL Genomics Center using an 150 cycle MiSeq Reagent Kit v3, wherein barcodes and sequencing primers are appended to libraries, oligonucleotides and/or transformants (interpreted as sequencing in parallel, claim 1(v)) (pg. 6, col 2, second full paragraph), wherein MiSeq platform is a massively parallel multiplex DNA sequencing platform that sequences nucleic acids in parallel; and which allows specimen identification through the use of species-specific barcodes as evidenced by Shokralla (pg. 1, Title; Abstract; and pg. 5, col 2, first full paragraph, lines 1-2). Cozens teaches that single-stranded plasmid DNA was mixed with mutagenic oligonucleotides and boundary assembly oligonucleotides, the plasmid and oligonucleotide mixtures were annealed, treated with Darwin Assembly enzyme mix, incubated, and purified with streptavidin-coated paramagnetic beads; followed by PCR amplification and purification of assembled DNA (interpreted as mixing and isolating members of mutagenesis libraries by purification, claim 1) (pg. 4, col 2, last partial paragraph; pg. 5, col 1; and pg. 6, col 1, first full paragraph, lines 1-3). Cozens teaches a library targeting residues Arg96, Lys98, Glu207, Glu222, Asn748, Pro759, wherein the 2724 bp assembly, targeting six codons used five inner oligonucleotides introducing degeneracy at each of the target positions, such that assembled libraries were amplified, cloned and transformed, with approximately 1 × 107 transformants isolated, followed by sequencing the pooled transformants, which confirmed that at each position, all possible variants were introduced (See, Figure 4, and Supplementary Table S6) (interpreted as isolating and mixing probe nucleic acids; and one or more degenerate oligonucleotides, claims 1 and 6) (pg. 10, col 1, first and second full paragraphs; pg. 9, Figure 4, and Supp. Info., pg. 15, Supplementary Table S6). Cozens teaches that Darwin assembly of KOD 6G12 transformants were isolated and sequence-verified to confirm the incorporation of all targeted mutations (interpreted as mixing probe nucleic acids, isolating probe nucleic acids, and sequencing, claim 1) (Supplementary Info, pg. 3, Figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Cozens teaches that natural enzymes are optimized to their in vivo setting and are often unsuited for the synthesis of biological or synthetic compounds in vitro, such that expression and functional optimization, or more radical engineering is often required to generate the desired enzymatic activity, whether boosting an existing activity or changing enzyme function altogether, where those needs have led to the flourishing of directed evolution and protein engineering and it has repeatedly proven possible to enhance a number of protein properties, including expression, folding, thermostability, substrate specificity and catalytic efficiency (interpreted as a property of the target nucleic acid selected from expression, activity, etc., claims 3 and 4) (pg. 1, col 1, first partial paragraph; and col 2, first partial paragraph).
Regarding claim 6, Cozens teaches that Darwin Assembly can efficiently generate scanning libraries by combining oligonucleotides targeting the same binding site, but each introducing a different mutation, such that using the CAT gene as the model, an alanine scan library was assembled around residues Thr101 and Ser104, using Leu 105 (CTC→CTG) recording as an assembly control, such that five inner oligonucleotides were designed: four introducing an alanine mutation (Thr101Ala, Phe102Ala, Ser103Ala, or Ser104Ala) and one wild-type, such that all five oligonucleotides introduced the CTC→CTG control mutation at the Leu105 codon (interpreted as differ from the target nucleic acid sequence by one or more arbitrary nucleotides; and are selected from a predefined set of nucleotide sequences, claim 6) (pg. 8, col 1, third full paragraph). Cozens teaches a library targeting residues Arg96, Lys98, Glu207, Glu222, Asn748, Pro759, wherein the 2724 bp assembly, targeting six codons used five inner oligonucleotides introducing degeneracy at each of the target positions, such that assembled libraries were amplified, cloned and transformed, with approximately 1 × 107 transformants isolated, followed by sequencing the pooled transformants, which confirmed that at each position, all possible variants were introduced (See, Figure 4, and Supplementary Table S6) (interpreted as a property of library-specific mutations sites, claim 12) (pg. 10, col 1, first and second full paragraphs; pg. 9, Figure 4, and Supp. Info., pg. 15, Supplementary Table S6). Cozens teaches that Darwin assembly of KOD 6G12 transformants were isolated and sequence-verified to confirm the incorporation of all targeted mutations (interpreted as a property of library-specific mutations sites, claim 12) (Supplementary Info, pg. 3, Figure 2).
Cozens meets all the limitations of the claims and, therefore, anticipates the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed April 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants essentially assert that: (a) Cozens does not conduct parallel sequencing, wherein each sequence obtained is attributable to exactly one selected isolated member (Applicant Remarks, pg. 9, first full paragraph).
Regarding (a), although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Additionally, MPEP § 2112.01(I) states that,
where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Applicant’s assertion that Cozens does not conduct parallel sequencing, wherein each sequence obtained is attributable to exactly one selected isolated member, is not found persuasive. As an initial matter, instant claim 1 is very broadly recited, such that the claim does not recite a specific method of sequencing and/or indicate how one probe nucleic acid is attributable to exactly one selected isolated member.
Cozens teaches:
Deep sequencing and data analysis was carried out on an Illumina MiSeq, wherein barcodes and sequencing primers are appended to libraries, oligonucleotides and/or transformants (interpreted as sequencing in parallel; and interpreting barcodes to attribute a sequence obtained to exactly one isolated member, claim 1(v)) (pg. 6, col 2, second full paragraph),
wherein MiSeq platform is a massively parallel multiplex DNA sequencing platform that sequences nucleic acids in parallel; and which allows specimen identification through the use of species-specific barcodes as evidenced by Shokralla.
Cozens teaches all of the limitations of the claims. Thus, the claims remain rejected.
New Objections/Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for
the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1, 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nyerges et al. (hereinafter “Nyerges”) (US Patent No. 10669537, issued June 2, 2020; WO2018/108987, published June 21, 2018) in view of Hogrefe et. al. (hereinafter “Hogrefe”) (US Patent No. 8067556, issued November 29, 2011).
Regarding claim 1, Nyerges teaches methods for in vivo intracellular DNA mutagenesis and respective libraries which cover a diversity of mutants characterized by nucleobase alterations and combinations of said nucleobase alterations throughout a predetermined region (interpreted as a plurality of mutagenesis libraries, claim 1) (col 3, lines 12-18). Nyerges teaches in vivo mutagenesis of a preselected target region (PTR) of an intracellular DNA within a cell culture, which PTR comprises at least one sequence of interest (SOI), which is at least 60 nucleobases long, the method comprising: (a) providing a pool of partially overlapping single-stranded DNA (ssDNA) oligonucleotides which upon alignment form a continuous sequence that is complementary to the sequence of interest (SOI), wherein the pool contains a diversity of mutagenizing oligonucleotides covering nucleobase mismatches at every position of said SOI and combination of said nucleobase mismatches, wherein each mutagenizing oligonucleotide is hybridizing with the preselected target region (PTR) and comprises at least one mismatching nucleobase and up to 20% mismatching nucleobases, compared to the SOI; and (b) integrating the pool into said intracellular DNA by homologous recombination and inducing in vivo mutagenesis of the intracellular DNA through hybridizing the oligonucleotides to the PTR, thereby producing a cell library comprising a repertoire of variant cells covering point mutations at every position and combinations of said point mutations within said PTR (interpreting the SOI as selecting one of the isolated members; interpreting mutagenesis as a plurality of mutagenesis libraries; isolated members comprising mutated target nucleic acid; comprising mutation sites; a length sufficient; and interpreted as obtaining for each isolated member that is selected an oligonucleotide probe, claim 1) (col 3, lines 20-41). Nyerges teaches that following mutagenesis, the resulting cell libraries were exposed to 200 µg/ml trimethoprim antibiotic stress on solid media, a concentration on which the parental Escherichia coli K-12 MG 1655 cannot grow, such that subsequently, the genotype of around 1000 resistant mutants was determined by High-Throughput (HT) SMRT sequencing, wherein sequence analyses revealed that soft randomized single-stranded DNA (ssDNA) oligonucleotide-mediated mutagenesis resulted in a diverse combination of complex DHFR mutants that are resistant to trimethoprim (interpreted as library-specific mutations sites; mixing probe nucleic acids; and sequencing probe nucleic acids; and an isolated member having a property dependent on the target nucleic acid mutated at the specific mutation sites, claims 1 and 3) (col 21, lines 5-15). Nyerges teaches that libraries can be used to select specific library members that are displaying drug resistance (Figure 12), wherein a genotype of such drug-resistant variants can be determined by any of the mutational analysis methods and such variants can be further characterized by other phenotypic or genotypic assays (interpreted as selecting an isolated member comprising a library-specific mutation site, claim 1) (col 25, lines 24-30). Nyerges teaches that each library member can be individually characterized and marked by a selectable marker or a DNA sequence tag or barcode, to facilitate the selection of a library member in the library or the identification of a library member in the library; alternatively, the genetic mutation can be determined directly by a suitable determination method, e.g. high-throughput sequencing, capillary sequencing or employing specific probes hybridizing with the mutated region, to select the cell line comprising the mutation (interpreted as using barcodes sequencing probe nucleic acids; mixing probes; sequencing probes; and wherein each sequence obtained is attributable to exactly one selected isolated member, claim 1) (col 29, lines 31-39). Nyerges teaches in Example 4, the mutagenesis method described herein can be applied in consecutive rounds of mutagenesis and selection (multi-round in vivo directed evolution), wherein an E. coli K-12 MG 1655 DHFR variant with three mutations (C-58A; G90C (FolA:Trp30Cys); C132G) was mutagenized using the soft-randomized oligo pool which had been previously used to target the wild-type folA (DHFR) gene in Example 3, such that this allelic DHFR variant, three mutations had been fixed in the prior round of overlapping, soft-randomized oligo pool-mediated mutagenesis and subsequent selection on mild trimethoprim concentration described in Example 3 (interpreted as two or more site mutagenesis libraries; selecting one of the isolated members; and mixing the probe nucleic acids in one mixture, claim 1) (col 45, lines 54-64). Nyerges teaches in Example 6, that following mutagenesis, 10 μL of the resulting cell library was subjected to ciprofloxacin stress (5-times of the wild-type MIC) (interpreted as two or more mutagenesis libraries) on ciprofloxacin-containing LBL agar plates, such that from this agar plate 1000 resistant mutants were selected (interpreted as selecting isolated members having specific mutation sites); and selection-experiments were performed in triplicates; High-Fidelity PCR with the corresponding species and sample-specific barcoded primer pairs (SEQ ID NO:168-SEQ ID NO:175) to prepare barcoded amplicon libraries (interpreted as obtaining a probe nucleic acid), wherein PCR reactions were performed, wherein barcoded amplicons were then mixed at an equimolar ratio and sequencing libraries were prepared and sequenced on Pacific Biosciences RSII SMRTcells (interpreted as mixing the probes into one mixture; and sequencing), such that to analyze sequencing data, sequencing reads were imported to CLC Genomics Workbench Tool; and using CLC considering only those alignments that displayed at least 90% sequence similarity over at least 80% of the length of the query read, such that single nucleotide variants for each mapped read were then called together with any associated amino acid change within the protein coding region of the reference (interpreted as providing, selecting, obtaining, mixing and sequencing, claim 1) (col 48, lines 3-8, 14-16, 21-30 and 36-40). Nyerges teaches that within a single screen performed with 10 μl of the mutagenized cell library, the assay performed with the mutagenesis method described herein was able to detect ciprofloxacin resistance mutations that are frequently observed in the clinic and also revealed novel ones (interpreted as where each sequence obtained is attributable to one selected isolated member, claim 1) (col 48, lines 50-55).
Regarding claim 3, Nyerges teaches that following mutagenesis, the resulting cell libraries were exposed to 200 µg/ml trimethoprim antibiotic stress on solid media, a concentration on which the parental Escherichia coli K-12 MG 1655 cannot grow, such that subsequently, the genotype of around 1000 resistant mutants was determined by High-Throughput (HT) SMRT sequencing, wherein sequence analyses revealed that soft randomized single-stranded DNA (ssDNA) oligonucleotide-mediated mutagenesis resulted in a diverse combination of complex DHFR mutants that are resistant to trimethoprim (interpreted as an isolated member having a property dependent on the target nucleic acid mutated at the specific mutation sites, claim 3) (col 21, lines 5-15).
Regarding claim 6, Nyerges teaches a 'mutagenic primer' of the present invention, also refers to a "degenerate primer", wherein a "degenerated primer" is a primer mixture synthesized with mixed bases where there is more than one nucleotide sequence possibility for at least one codon coding for an amino acid, wherein a degenerate PCR primer designed for an amino acid sequence Trp Asp Thr would be a primer with a sequence 5' TGG GAY CAN 3' (SEQ ID NO: 1), where Y is C or T, R is G or A and N is G, A, Tor C, and wherein one or more degenerate primers are used to generate random mutations at one or more sites (interpreted as differing by one or more degenerate nucleotides, claim 6) (col 11, lines 1-5 and 10-13; and col 17, lines 63-65). Nyerges teaches that these examples show that the in vivo mutagenesis method described herein has the capacity to simultaneously mutagenize multiple predefined DNA sequences with extensive sizes across a variety of bacterial species and in yeasts (interpreted as selected from a predefined set of nucleotide sequences, claim 6) (col 52, lines 21-25). Nyerges teaches that the libraries can be used to select specific library members to study the interaction with a predefined substance, e.g. a chemical or biological, such as a drug, inhibitor (interpreted as selected from a predefined set of nucleotide sequences, claim 6) (col 29, lines 48-50).
Nyerges does not specifically exemplify arbitrary nucleotides; or specific degenerate primers (claim 6, in part).
Regarding claim 6 (in part), Hogrefe teaches that the present invention provides compositions and improved methods for multi-site directed mutagenesis and DNA shuffling including providing increased mutation frequency and increased number of transformants which allow one to sequence only a few clones in order to identify the correct mutants and to obtain the desired mutant by screening large number of transformants in a short time (Abstract). Hogrefe teaches a method that provides high mutation frequencies and large numbers of transformants, which are especially important for constructing random mutant libraries using degenerate primers and for DNA shuffling (interpreted as two or more mutagenesis libraries, claim 1) (col 6, lines 10-13). Hogrefe teaches that mutations are introduced into a target DNA molecule using one or more mutagenic primers in an amplification reaction, such that during the amplification reaction, multiple copies of the strand complementary to the target DNA strand are synthesized by incorporating the mutagenic primer and extending the incorporated primer using the target strand as a template (col 10, lines 15-21). Hogrefe teaches that the term "mutagenic primer" refers to a polynucleotide primer used in an amplification reaction, wherein the primer does not precisely match the target hybridization sequence (e.g., the sequence of a target DNA molecule), such that the mis-matched nucleotides in the mutagenic primer are referred to as “mutation site” or “site” with respect to the target sequence (e.g., the sequence of the target DNA molecule) (col 10, lines 48-54). Hogrefe teaches in Figure 13, denature randomly anneal mutant single-stranded DNA sequences to increase diversity (oligos) point mutations, degenerate codons, random primers, and a pool of homologous genes, and controlling mutation rates (Figure 13). Figure 13 (in part) is shown below:
Hogrefe teaches that although researchers generally don't need more than 10 transformants for most applications, high numbers of transformants are required when constructing site-specific random mutant libraries using degenerate primers (col 38, lines 28-32). Hogrefe teaches that primers used were degenerate at the codons corresponding to amino acids 410 including CCT, CCG, ATG, GGT, CTG, ATT, CAT, CAG, TTG, TCT, ACT, and CGT; and 485 (GCC) (interpreted as one or more degenerate nucleotides of claim, claim 6) (col 38, line 52-53; and Table 8).
“It is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; the court held that, "…a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. ___, ___, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007); Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950)”. Therefore, in view the benefits of multi-site directed mutagenesis as exemplified by Hogrefe, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of generating, identifying and/or characterizing different mutations and/or alterations in mutagenesis libraries that result in mutants that demonstrate a desired property such as resistance to a specific drug as disclosed by Nyerges to include methods of using degenerate primers to introduce two or more mutations to a target DNA molecule including via multi-site directed mutagenesis and DNA shuffling as exemplified by Hogrefe with a reasonable expectation of success in increasing library diversity, increasing mutation frequency, and/or increasing the number of transformants for the generation and selection of library members that demonstrate a desired phenotype and/or in accelerating the evolution of genes of microorganisms, accelerating mutagenesis, accelerating the discovery of mutations that confer resistance to a drug and/or improving the performance of an enzyme.
Thus, in view of the foregoing, the claimed invention, as a whole, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. Therefore, the claims are properly
rejected under 35 USC §103(a) as obvious over the art.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 3 and 6 are rejected.
/AMY M BUNKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1684