DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2 and 4-12 are pending, and claims 1-2 and 4-5 are currently under review.
Claims 6-12 are withdrawn.
Claim 3 is cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 10/22/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-2 and 4-12 remain(s) pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda et al. (US 2014/0242416) alone or alternatively in view of Seo et al. (WO2018117711, US 2020/0239976 referred to as English translation).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Matsuda et al. discloses a high strength steel having excellent stretch flangeability (ie. workability) and having a composition as seen in table 1 below [abstract, 0022-0030, 0105-0107]. Matsuda et al. further discloses a microstructure of 5 to 70% martensite (of which at least 25% is tempered), at least 40% bainite, 5 to 40% retained austenite, 10 to 50% ferrite, and a remainder of other phases [abstract, 0090]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the steel composition and microstructure of Matsuda et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Matsuda et al. does not expressly teach a relationship 1 as claimed. However, the examiner submits that overlapping values of relationship 1 would have naturally flowed from the prior art. Specifically, the instant specification teaches meeting this claimed feature by performing an annealing step after cold rolling of heating to Ac1 to Ac3 for at least 50 seconds, cooling to 100 to 300 degrees C at at least 1 degree C per second, and subsequent reheating to 300 to 500 degrees C for 50 to 172,000 seconds [0170-0205]. Matsuda et al. further teaches processing the steel sheet after cold rolling by annealing at up to 1000 degrees C for 60 to 500 seconds, cooling at 8 degrees C per second or faster to the Ms point or lower, and reheating to 350 to 490 degrees C for 40 to 400 seconds [0130-0139]. Since Matsuda et al. discloses an overlapping steel composition, overlapping steel microstructure, and overlapping annealing steps which are essential to achieve the claimed relationship 1 as disclosed by the instant specification, the examiner submits that an overlapping value of relationship 1 would have naturally flowed from the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Alternatively, Matsuda et al. does not teach a ratio of hardness as claimed. Seo et al. discloses that it is known to control a ratio of soft phase hardness to hard phase hardness in general to be 1.4 or less to secure desirable mechanical properties such as yield strength, hold expansion, etc. [0079]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the steel of Matsuda et al. by specifying a ratio of soft phase hardness to hard phase hardness to be 1.4 or less for the aforementioned benefits. The examiner notes that the general teaching of hard phase of Seo et al. overlaps with the claimed hard phases. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 1
Matsuda et al.
C
0.25 – 0.75
0.1 – 0.59
Si
0 – 4
0 – 3
Mn
0.9 – 5
0.5 – 3
Al
0 – 5
0 – 3
P
0 – 0.15
0 – 0.1
S
0 – 0.03
0 – 0.07
N
0 – 0.03
0 – 0.01
Si+Al
3.03 – 6
0.7 – 5
Fe & Impurities
Balance
Balance
Regarding claim 2, Matsuda et al. discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). Matsuda et al. further discloses an inclusion of Cr of up to 0.05 to 5 weight percent, which overlaps with the claimed range [0040]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 5, Matsuda et al. discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). Matsuda et al. further teaches a property of TSxEL of 27,000 or more, as well as a TS value of up to 1400 MPa and a hole expansion ratio of 25% or more [abstract, 0157-0158]. The examiner notes that these ranges overlap with the claimed ranges of relationships 2-3. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Matsuda et al. does not expressly teach relationship 4. However, as stated above, Matsuda et al. discloses an overlapping steel composition, microstructure, and method of manufacture, such that overlapping mechanical properties would have naturally flowed as explained above.
Response to Arguments
The previous 103 rejections over Natsumeda et al., Kaneko et al., and Nakagaito et al. have been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Applicant's arguments 10/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Matsuda et al. requires a sum of Al and Si to be less than 3 percent. The examiner cannot concur. Matsuda et al. expressly teaches a sum of Al and Si to be preferably less than 5 percent as stated above, which overlaps with the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Applicant then argues that the Si and Al amounts of Seo et al. do not meet the claimed ranges. In response, it is noted that the Si and Al amounts of Seo et al. were not relied upon in the previous rejections. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The examiner further notes that an alternative rejection over Matsuda et al. alone was established, which applicant has not addressed. Accordingly, the rejections over Matsuda et al. alone still stand.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734