Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ayela et al (US 20190276316; hereinafter Ayela).
As regarding claim 1, Ayela discloses the claimed invention for a method for degassing a fluid (abstract) comprising: supplying, at an inlet (fig. 1) of a reactor, a fluid at least partly in liquid form and comprising at least one dissolved gas; then causing the fluid to flow through the reactor, the reactor comprising at least one microfluidic conduit (fig. 1) comprising a first portion (6), a second portion (2) and a third portion (3), the second portion being disposed between the first portion and the third portion, the second portion having a reduced hydraulic diameter relative to the first portion and the third portion along a direction of main flow of the fluid through the microfluidic conduit, the fluid being at least partly in liquid form while flowing through the first portion, the second portion and the third portion, the reduced hydraulic diameter being less than 1 mm ([0013]), and the flow is set such that bubbles are generated by micro-cavitation, the fluid then comprising a liquid phase and a gas phase, then allowing at least one partial transfer of the at least one dissolved gas present in the liquid phase to the gas phase; separating the liquid phase and the gas phase; and recovering the liquid phase to obtain the degas sed fluid, the method not involving the application of ultrasound to the fluid between the step in which the fluid is supplied at the inlet of the reactor and the step of separating the liquid phase and the gas phase.
As regarding claim 2, Ayela discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ayela discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the reduced hydraulic diameter is less than 300 mm (abstract).
As regarding claim 3, Ayela discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ayela discloses the claimed invention for wherein the liquid phase and the gas phase are separated at an outlet of the reactor, the third portion having a length selected to temporally dissociate the generation of bubbles by cavitation and the separation of the liquid phase and the gas phase (fig. 1).
As regarding claim 4, Ayela discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ayela discloses the claimed invention for wherein at least one conduit comprises one of a diaphragm, or even a micro-diaphragm, a Venturi, or even a micro-Venturi and a step, or even a micro-step (fig. 1).
As regarding claim 5, Ayela discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ayela discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the second portion has a section transverse to a longitudinal axis of the at least one conduit, of an aspect ratio greater than or equal to 3 ([0019]).
As regarding claim 7, Ayela discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ayela discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the fluid has a viscosity less than 5 mPa.s at a method implementation temperature ([0023]).
As regarding claim 8, Ayela discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ayela discloses the claimed invention for wherein thea fluid flow velocity in at least one reactor is set such that the flow is turbulent at least downstream of the second portion (fig. 1).
As regarding claim 9, Ayela discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ayela discloses the claimed invention for wherein, when the fluid flows through the third portion, the fluid is at a pressure less than a pressure of the fluid in the first portion (fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayela et al (US 20190276316; hereinafter Ayela).
As regarding claim 6, Ayela discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ayela discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the first portion has a transverse section of area A1, and the second portion has a transverse section of area A2, the transverse section of area A1 and the transverse section of area A2 being perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the conduit, the ratio A1/A2 being greater than or equal to 3. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the first portion has a transverse section of area A1, and the second portion has a transverse section of area A2, the transverse section of area A1 and the transverse section of area A2 being perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the conduit, the ratio A1/A2 being greater than or equal to 3 in order to enhance reactor performance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
As regarding claim 10, Ayela as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ayela as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the pressure in the third portion is less than thea ambient pressure. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the pressure in the third portion is less than thea ambient pressure in order to enhance reactor performance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayela et al (US 20190276316; hereinafter Ayela), as applied supra, and further in view of Debruin (US 20020137877).
As regarding claim 11, Ayela discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ayela discloses the claimed invention except for wherein, when the fluid flows through the third portion, or even until the liquid phase and the gas phase are separated from each other, the fluid is at a temperature comprised between a fluid solidification temperature and thea fluid boiling temperature, the fluid temperature being controlled by a heating device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the reactor comprises a plurality of conduits in order to enhance reactor performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Debruin (figs. 7B and 7F; [0320]-[0331]).
Claims 12-14 are likewise rejected for reasons similar to those provided for claim 11 above.
As regarding claim 15, Ayela discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ayela discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the reactor comprises a plurality of conduits. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the reactor comprises a plurality of conduits in order to enhance reactor performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Debruin (fig. 7F).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773