DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on December 23rd, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1 & 18 have been amended. Claims 1-4 and 6-20 are pending, with claims 9-17, 19, and 20 having been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 18 are examined herein.
All previous rejections are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Lu et al. “Effect of carbon blacks on electrical conduction and conductive binder domain of next-generation lithium-ion batteries”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mane et al., US 2019/0341618 A1 (hereinafter “Mane”) in view of Mao et al., CN 104617303 A (hereinafter “Mao”) and Lu, X. et al. “Effect of carbon blacks on electrical conduction and conductive binder domain of next-generation lithium-ion batteries”. NPL reference Cava, R. J. Spinel (hereinafter “Cava”) as captured on 8 Nov. 2010 by the Wayback Machine is relied upon as an evidentiary reference. An English translation of Mao is provided with this Action; any quotations from and references to Mao refer to this provided translation.
Regarding claim 1, Mane discloses a cobalt-free positive electrode active material (i.e. cathode active material) [Mane claim 8] comprising:
a core (i.e., electrode core) [¶ 0013]; and
a shell coating the core (i.e., composite bilayer disposed on an electrode core) [¶ 0012];
wherein the core is a cobalt-free positive electrode material and has a chemical formula of LiNixMnyO2 wherein 0.55 ≤ x ≤ 0.95 and 0.05 ≤ y ≤ 0.45 (i.e., LiNi0.8Mn0.1Ni0.1O2) [Mane claim 5; ¶¶ 0020, 0037]. Mane further discloses that the shell comprises a coating agent (i.e., first layer of the conformally coated electrode core, which may include a metal oxide) [¶ 0005].
Mane is silent regarding the inclusion of carbon in the shell and the content of the coating agent and carbon with reference to the total weight of the core.
In the same field of endeavor, Mao discloses an active material comprising a core material coated with a composite coating layer [¶ 0009], said composite coating layer comprising a metal oxide and carbon [Id.] Mao and Mane are analogous art because both are drawn to cathode materials with metal oxide coatings. It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added carbon to the coating material of Mane with the expectation to produce a coated active material. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do this because the coating layer comprising a metal oxide and carbon is shown to increase the cycle performance and safety [see Mao at ¶ 0005].
Mao further discloses that the mass ratio of the metal oxide to carbon in the coating layer is 1:1-10 [¶ 0010] (this is equivalent to 50 to 9.09 mass% of metal oxide in the coating layer). The instant claim presents the percentages of metal oxide and coating agent relative to the mass of the core. Mao discloses that the mass ratio of the coating layer to the core active material can be 0.005 to 0.03 [Mao 0011], this accounts for a range of 0.04545% metal oxide (minimum, 0.005 × 9.09%) to 1.5% metal oxide (maximum, 0.03 × 50%) in the particle. In addition, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the active material of Mane via routine experimentation with the metal oxide:carbon mass ratio within the range disclosed by Mao to optimize the active material for the device. Therefore, the skilled artisan would have arrived at an optimal value within the claimed range while performing routine experimentation with the metal oxide:carbon mass ratio of the material of Mane within the range disclosed by Mao in order to optimize the active material for the device. See MPEP §§ 2144.05 (I) – (II).
Further, modified Mane discloses that the carbon in the coating layer is carbon black or super-conductive carbon black [Mao 0010], both of which are conductive substances. However, modified Mane is silent as to the specific surface area of the carbon.
Lu discloses that carbon black is an advantageous conductive agent to be used in batteries [Abstract]. Lu discloses that carbon black with a surface area of 130-200m2/g exhibits improved ionic conductivity [Abstract, Page 13 Left Column Par. 3].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to use the carbon black as suggested by Lu as the conductive agent in the coating of modified Mane for the benefit of improved ionic conductivity.
Thus, modified Mane discloses that the carbon is formed by a conductive substance (for example, carbon black) with a specific surface area of 130 m2/g to 200 m2/g, which falls within the claimed range.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, modified Mane teaches the active material of claim 1. Mane is silent regarding a mass ratio of the core to shell material. However, Mao discloses a mass ratio of 0.005 to 0.03:1 (0.5 to 3%) [Mao 0011]. It therefore would have been obvious to a skilled artisan, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the active material of Mane via routine experimentation with the core:shell mass ratio within the range disclosed by Mao to optimize the active material for the device. Therefore, the skilled artisan would have arrived at an optimal value within the claimed range while performing routine experimentation with the core:shell mass ratio of the material of Mane within the range disclosed by Mao in order to optimize the active material for the device. See MPEP §§ 2144.05 (I) – (II).
Regarding claim 4, modified Mane teaches the active material of claim 1. Mane further discloses the use of Al2O3 or ZrO2 as the metal oxide material [Mane claim 3].
Regarding claim 6, modified Mane teaches the active material of claim 1. Mane further discloses that the active material adopts a layered-layered-spinel (LLS) structure [Mane claim 5]; spinel is a type of single crystal in which anions form a ccp lattice with cations occupying octahedral and tetrahedral interstitial sites (see evidentiary reference Cava)
Regarding claims 7-8, modified Mane teaches the active material of claim 1. Mao further discloses that the particle size (i.e., D50) of the core material is 5 to 25 µm [¶ 0019]. It therefore would have been obvious to a skilled artisan, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the active material of Mane via routine experimentation with the core size within the range disclosed by Mao to optimize the active material for the device. Therefore, the skilled artisan would have arrived at an optimal value within the claimed range while performing routine experimentation with the core size of the material of Mane within the range disclosed by Mao in order to optimize the active material for the device. See MPEP §§ 2144.05 (I) – (II).
Regarding claim 18, modified Mane teaches the positive electrode active material as mentioned in Claim 1. In regards to the limitation “prepared by…” in lines 3-8 of Claim 18, the Examiner is treating it as a product by process claim, specifically regarding the phrase “prepared by…”. It has been shown that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (MPEP 2113). Thus, no particular weight was given to the process limitation of claim 18.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 23rd, 2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Mane and Mao both fail to disclose the limitations of amended Claim 1, more specifically that the carbon is formed by a conductive substance having a specific surface area within the claimed range. Examiner respectfully points out, as stated in the rejection above, that Mao discloses that the carbon in the coating layer/shell can be carbon black, among others, thus Mao discloses that the carbon is formed by a conductive substance (carbon black). Additionally, as disclosed by Lu, carbon black with a specific surface area of 130-200 m2/g is an advantageous conductive agent in batteries for the benefit of improved ionic conductivity. Thus, Mane, as modified by the carbon black of Mao and Lu, discloses that the carbon is formed by a conductive substance (carbon black) having a specific surface area that overlaps with the claimed range.
Applicant argues that Mane provides no teachings of the core material LiMnxNiyO2 as claimed. Examiner respectfully points out that Mane does disclose the core material LiMnxNiyO2 in Claim 5. Thus, the selection of this material is obvious given Mane’s disclosure. Accordingly, for the reasons stated above, this argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant further argues that the Mao reference teaches cobalt and aluminum within the coated active material, in contrast to Mane, and therefore Mao lacks an obvious combination basis with Mane. As previously pointed out in the previous response to arguments, this is not persuasive because Mao teaches an advantage to a carbon/metal oxide coating over a pure metal oxide (such as used by Mane) for transition metal oxide active materials (Mao [0005]), specifically improved cycle performance and safety performance. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this advantage to be applicable to the related material of Mane. Accordingly, for the reasons stated above, this argument is unpersuasive.
Conclusion
/A.E.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1726 /DANIEL P MALLEY JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726