Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/229757 A1, for the reasons given in the last Office Action. Applicant’s argument, that the only detailed example of WO 2018/229757 A1 employs potash (KCl) - -not potassium sulfate – and does so without binder, is not convincing, since WO 2018/229757 A1 discloses in the sentence bridging pages 8 and 9, as well as claims 2 and 3, that potassium sulfate can be employed as the potassium source and with the addition of binder.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument, that WO 2018/229757 A1 provides no teaching or expectations that polyhalite and potassium sulfate could be successively compacted together, let alone at the claimed ratio, is not convincing, since is only necessary that the reference fairly teach or suggestsdoing what applicant has done. Applicant’s argument, that the specific ratio of 1.1:0.9 between polyhalite and potassium sulfate was found to be critical for achieving mechanical stability, and that ratios outside this narrow range produce weak, friable granules, is not convincing, since there is no evidence on record to support such contention. Applicant’s argument, that WO 2018/229757 A1 provides no teaching or guidance as to selecting potassium silicate for compacting two specific materials – potassium sulfate and polyhalite – nor any indication of a critical narrow range of 1-2 % w/w, is not convincing, since WO 2018/229757 A1 discloses potassium silicate as a binder in the paragraph bridging pages 5 and 6, and further teaches on page 7, lines 16-18 that the binder is preferably present in a concentration between 1-5% w/w. Applicant’s argument, that WO 2018/229757 A1 discloses granule strength exceeding 2kgF per granule only after drying or curing, whereas applicant’s granules reach at least 2 kgF per granules immediately after production, is not convincing, since there is no evidence on record to support such contention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 8 and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 10,934,225. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims would be obvious variants of the claims of US 10,934,225.
Claims 1-4, 8 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1-8 of copending Application No. 17/785098. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would be obvious to determine suitable amounts of the potassium sulfate and polyhalite in the composition and method recited in the claims of 17/785098.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WAYNE A LANGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736 /WAYNE A LANGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736