DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of the International Application PCT/KR2020/018476. A Notice of Acceptance of Application under 35 U.S.C. 371 and 37 CFR 1.495 was mailed 22 November 2022.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on the applications filed in Korea on 17 December 2019 and 26 February 2020.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 03 April 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the subject matter of each invention is sufficiently related. This is not found persuasive because the elected invention is compositional distinct from the non-elected inventions and are classified separately.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 9-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction requirement in the reply filed on 3 April 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted 16 June 2022, 11 July 2022, 26 June 2023, and 26 February 2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The original drawings received on 11 July 2022 are accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities: minor typographical errors.
Claim 1, line 5, recites “20 o 35%”, it is believed it should read “20 to 35%”.
Claim 5, line 9, recites “Cuo”, it is believed if should read “CuO”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) or second paragraph
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the antimicrobial glass" in lines 1 and 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 from which claim 2 depends recites “An antibacterial glass”.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the antimicrobial glass" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 from which claim 2 depends recites “An antibacterial glass”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the antimicrobial glass" in lines 1 and 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 from which claim 2 depends recites “An antibacterial glass”.
Claim 5 recites a method of making “an antibacterial glass composite” and refers to the “antibacterial glass composite” in lines 1-2, 3, 11, and 13. The term “antibacterial glass composite” is confusing and renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear from the claim or the specification that the manufacturing method results in a composite glass material, where the glass is combined with a different material such as a fiber or metal. But rather is appears that the manufacturing method relates to the making of a glass having the antibacterial glass composition. For the purposes of examination, the Examiner will read the claim such that product being made is the glass of the antibacterial glass composition.
Claims 6-8 are also rejected as indefinite since they refer to the “antibacterial glass composite” recited in claim 5.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the antimicrobial glass" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 5 from which claim 6 depends recites “an antibacterial glass”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the antimicrobial glass" in lines 1 and 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 8 from which claim 5 depends recites “an antibacterial glass”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo et al., Japanese Patent Publication JP H 06-219771 A in view of Seneschal et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2005/0233888 A1.
A machine-generated translation of JP h 06-219771 A accompanies this action. In reciting this rejection, the examiner will cite this translation.
Kondo et al. teach an antibacterial glass composition (see paragraph [0001]). Kondo et al. teach that antibacterial glasses comprise ions like Ag+ and Cu+ since they are toxic to microorganisms (see paragraph [0002]). Kondo et al. teach a antibacterial glass composition comprising in terms of weight %, 25-60% of SiO2, 18-60% of B2O3, 0-20% of Al2O3,8-30% of Li2O+Na2O+K2O, 0-20% of MgO+CaO+BaO+ZnO, 0.05-2% of Ag2O, 0.01-0.1% of SO3, and 0-0.1% of Fe2O3 (see paragraphs [0008]-[0017]).
The weight percent ranges of SiO2, B2O3, Li2O, Na2O, K2O, MgO, CaO, ZnO, and Ag2O taught by Kondo et al. have overlapping compositional ranges with the antibacterial glass comprising 20-60 wt% of SiO2, 5-20 wt% of B2O3, 10-20 wt% of Li2O+Na2O+K2O, 20-35wt% of ZnO+CaO+MgO, and 0.01-0.1 wt% of Ag2O as recited in instant claim 1. Overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
However, Kondo et al. fail to teach that the antibacterial glass comprises the recited weight percentages of CuO and Fe2O3.
Seneschal et al. teach a similar antimicrobial (antibacterial) glass composition comprising 0-15 wt% of CuO and 0-5 wt% of Fe2O3 (see paragraphs [0037] and [0047]). Seneschal et al. teach that antimicrobial activity includes biocidal activity against bacterial (see paragraph [0054]). Seneschal et al. teach that the addition of metals such as Fe to compensate for the coloration due to Ag2O (see paragraph [0058]). Seneschal et al. teach that the addition of CuO to an antibacterial glass comprising Ag2O results in synergistic antimicrobial action (see paragraphs [0060]-[0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have an antibacterial glass of Kondo et al. as suggested by Seneschal et al. because the resultant antibacterial glass would have the superior melting and forming properties while having the color compensating and added antimicrobial action of the glass composition of Seneschal et al. See paragraphs [0054], [0058], and [0060]-[0063] of Seneschal et al.
As to claim 2, Kondo et al. teach an antibacterial glass that comprises 25-60 wt% of SiO2 and 18-60 wt% of B2O3 (see paragraphs [0010] and [0011]), which reads on an antibacterial glass comprising a content of SiO2 greater than the content of B2O3 as recited in instant claim 2.
The weight percent ranges taught by Kondo et al. have overlapping compositional ranges with instant claim 2 and overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Kondo et al. because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional ranges taught by Kondo et al. overlap the instantly claimed ranges and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, particularly in view of the fact that;
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Also, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976); In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
As to claim 3, Kondo et al. in view of Seneschal et al. teach an antibacterial glass comprising 0-15 wt% of CuO and 0-5 wt% of Fe2O3 ( see paragraphs [0037] and [0047] of Seneschal et al.), which read on the antibacterial glass having a weight ratio of Fe2O3/CuO in the range of 1.5-4.5 as recited in instant claim 3.
The weight percent ranges taught by Kondo et al. in view of Seneschal et al. have overlapping compositional ranges with instant claim 3 and overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Kondo et al. in view of Seneschal et al. because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional ranges taught by Kondo et al. in view of Seneschal et al. overlap the instantly claimed ranges and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, particularly in view of the fact that;
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Also, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976); In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
As to claim 4, Kondo et al. in view of Seneschal et al. teach an antibacterial glass comprising 0-15 wt% of CuO and 0-5 wt% of Fe2O3 ( see paragraphs [0037] and [0047] of Seneschal et al.), which read on the antibacterial glass comprising a total amount of Fe2O3 and CuO that is at most 20 wt% as recited in instant claim 4.
The weight percent ranges taught by Kondo et al. in view of Seneschal et al. have overlapping compositional ranges with instant claim 4 and overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Kondo et al. in view of Seneschal et al. because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional ranges taught by Kondo et al. in view of Seneschal et al. overlap the instantly claimed ranges and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, particularly in view of the fact that;
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Also, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976); In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
As to claim 5, Kondo et al. teach an antibacterial glass composition (see paragraph [0001]). Kondo et al. teach that antibacterial glasses comprise ions like Ag+ and Cu+ since they are toxic to microorganisms (see paragraph [0002]). Kondo et al. teach a antibacterial glass composition comprising in terms of weight %, 25-60% of SiO2, 18-60% of B2O3, 0-20% of Al2O3,8-30% of Li2O+Na2O+K2O, 0-20% of MgO+CaO+BaO+ZnO, 0.05-2% of Ag2O, 0.01-0.1% of SO3, and 0-0.1% of Fe2O3 (see paragraphs [0008]-[0017]). Kondo et al. teach that the glass composition is batched and melted (see paragraph [0021].) Kondo et al. further teach that the glass is cooled on a stainless-steel plate (see paragraph [0021]).
Kondo et al. teach a method of manufacturing an antibacterial glass (see paragraph [0021]), which reads on the manufacturing method of an antibacterial glass by preparing the antibacterial glass composition, melting the antibacterial glass composition and cooling the antibacterial glass composition on a quenching roller as recited in instant claim 5. Furthermore, the weight percent ranges of SiO2, B2O3, Li2O, Na2O, K2O, MgO, CaO, ZnO, and Ag2O taught by Kondo et al. have overlapping compositional ranges with the antibacterial glass comprising 20-60 wt% of SiO2, 5-20 wt% of B2O3, 10-20 wt% of Li2O+Na2O+K2O, 20-35wt% of ZnO+CaO+MgO, and 0.01-0.1 wt% of Ag2O as recited in instant claim 5. Overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
However, Kondo et al. fail to teach that the antibacterial glass comprises the recited weight percentages of CuO and Fe2O3.
Seneschal et al. teach a similar antimicrobial (antibacterial) glass composition comprising 0-15 wt% of CuO and 0-5 wt% of Fe2O3 (see paragraphs [0037] and [0047]). Seneschal et al. teach that antimicrobial activity includes biocidal activity against bacterial (see paragraph [0054]). Seneschal et al. teach that the addition of metals such as Fe to compensate for the coloration due to Ag2O (see paragraph [0058]). Seneschal et al. teach that the addition of CuO to an antibacterial glass comprising Ag2O results in synergistic antimicrobial action (see paragraphs [0060]-[0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have an antibacterial glass of Kondo et al. as suggested by Seneschal et al. because the resultant antibacterial glass would have the superior melting and forming properties while having the color compensating and added antimicrobial action of the glass composition of Seneschal et al. See paragraphs [0054], [0058], and [0060]-[0063] of Seneschal et al.
As to claim 6, Kondo et al. teach an antibacterial glass that comprises 25-60 wt% of SiO2 and 18-60 wt% of B2O3 (see paragraphs [0010] and [0011]), which reads on an antibacterial glass comprising a content of SiO2 greater than the content of B2O3 as recited in instant claim 6.
The weight percent ranges taught by Kondo et al. have overlapping compositional ranges with instant claim 6 and overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Kondo et al. because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional ranges taught by Kondo et al. overlap the instantly claimed ranges and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, particularly in view of the fact that;
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Also, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976); In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
As to claim 7, Kondo et al. in view of Seneschal et al. teach an antibacterial glass comprising 0-15 wt% of CuO and 0-5 wt% of Fe2O3 ( see paragraphs [0037] and [0047] of Seneschal et al.), which read on the antibacterial glass having a weight ratio of Fe2O3/CuO in the range of 1.5-4.5 as recited in instant claim 7.
The weight percent ranges taught by Kondo et al. in view of Seneschal et al. have overlapping compositional ranges with instant claim 7 and overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Kondo et al. in view of Seneschal et al. because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional ranges taught by Kondo et al. in view of Seneschal et al. overlap the instantly claimed ranges and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, particularly in view of the fact that;
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Also, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976); In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
As to claim 8, Kondo et al. in view of Seneschal et al. teach an antibacterial glass comprising 0-15 wt% of CuO and 0-5 wt% of Fe2O3 ( see paragraphs [0037] and [0047] of Seneschal et al.), which read on the antibacterial glass comprising a total amount of Fe2O3 and CuO that is at most 20 wt% as recited in instant claim 8.
The weight percent ranges taught by Kondo et al. in view of Seneschal et al. have overlapping compositional ranges with instant claim 8 and overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Kondo et al. in view of Seneschal et al. because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional ranges taught by Kondo et al. in view of Seneschal et al. overlap the instantly claimed ranges and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, particularly in view of the fact that;
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Also, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976); In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
/Elizabeth A. Bolden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
EAB
2 May 2026