DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-8 and 10-11 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 6/16/22.
Applicant’s election of group I, claims 1-8 without traverse in the reply filed on 7/14/25 has been acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 10-11 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142 (b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim 1-8 are under consideration in the instant application.
3. Applicant’s IDS filed on 12/6/22 has been acknowledged.
4. The oath filed on 8/4/22 has been acknowledged.
6. Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The use of the term “optionally” in claim 1 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following such terms or phrases are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2173.05 (h).
9. Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by WO2011/080209 (IDS reference).
The ‘209 publication teaches EGFR antibody formulations comprising histidine buffer, polysorbate, sucrose and amino acids including methionine at pH about 6 (claims). Given that the ‘209 publication teaches EGFR antibody includes nimotuzumab (p. 2) and meets the limitations of the claimed invention. The concentration of antibody includes 200mg/ml, buffering agent includes about 20mM, stabilizer of 200mM and readable upon claimed invention. The claims include lyophilized formulation of EGFR antibody formulation. In addition, the ‘209 publication teaches addition of methionine at about 25mM (p. 9) and the formulation may be lyophilized (p. 9-13). The formulation improves stability upon physical stress (p. 17).
Given that the claims are identical to the claimed invention, the claims inherently have a viscosity of less than 5cP and claim 8 is included in this rejection. Therefore, the reference teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
11. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over CN107898756 (IDS reference) in view of U.S. Pub 2006/0088523.
The ‘756 publication teaches nimotuzumab formulation comprising 15-150mg/ml antibody, 10-100mM buffer and 0.01-0.1% polysorbate (note abstract).
The disclosure of the ‘756 publication differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of 5-30mM of histidine buffer, 0.02-0.06% polysorbate, methionine at 30-150mM and sucrose 2-6% as in claim 1-8 of the instant application.
The ‘523 teaches the use of about 20mM of histidine at pH 6.5, polysorbate of about 0.02-0.06%, sucrose of about 250mM (claims) and use of methionine (note p. 34) stabilizes antibody and the antibody formulation includes various targets including EGFR antibody (p. 15, 21). The formulations comprising histidine, sucrose and polysorbate improve stability and reduces aggregates (p.7). Given that the combination of the references are identical to the claimed invention, the claims are expected to have a viscosity of less than 5cP and claim 8 is included in this rejection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize formulations taught by the ‘523 publication into nimotuzumab composition taught by the ‘756 publication.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of formulation comprising histidine, polysorbate and sucrose improve stability of antibody by reducing aggregates.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
12. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over CN107898756 (IDS reference) in view of WO2011/080209 (IDS reference).
The ‘756 publication teaches nimotuzumab formulation comprising 15-150mg/ml antibody, 10-100mM buffer and 0.01-0.1% polysorbate (note abstract).
The disclosure of the ‘756 publication differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of 5-30mM of histidine buffer, 0.02-0.06% polysorbate, methionine at 30-150mM and sucrose 2-6% as in claim 1-8 of the instant application.
Teachings of the ‘209 publication have been discussed, supra.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize formulations taught by the ‘209 publication into nimotuzumab composition taught by the ‘756 publication.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of formulation comprising histidine, polysorbate and sucrose improve stability of antibody by reducing aggregates upon physical stress.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
13. No claims are allowable.
Yunsoo Kim
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
August 15, 2025
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641