DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Application Status
Applicant does not have Support for the amendments within the instant application specification.
The Examiner of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to SPE Manjunath Rao or Examiner Jones-Foster.
Applicant’s amendment to the claims filed on 12/9/2025 in response to the Final Rejection mailed on 9/18/2025 is acknowledged. This listing of claims replaces all prior listings of claims in the application.
Claim 11 is canceled.
Claims 1-10, 12-46 are pending.
Applicant’s remarks filed on 12/9/2025 in response to the Final Rejection mailed on 9/18/2025 have been fully considered and are deemed persuasive to overcome at least one of the rejections and/or objections as previously applied.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejection of claims 1-2, 4-7, 9, 12-14, 18, 20, 25-29, and 32 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Consalo et al. in view of Khatibi et al. (published 07/10/2014, cited on PTO-892) is withdrawn in view of the application being transferred to a new Examiner.
The rejection of claims 3, 8, 10, 15-17, 19, 21-24, 30-31, and 33-46 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Consalo et al. and Khatibi et al. as applied to claims 1-2, 4-7, 9, 12-14, 18, 20, 25-29, and 32 above, and further in view of Davidson et al. (published 07/10/2014, cited in PTO-892) is withdrawn in view of the application being transferred to a new Examiner.
New Claim Objections
Claims 22 and 43 are objected to because of the following informalities: use of the numbers ‘0.95 Aw, 90 Aw, or 85 Aw,’ and in the interest of improving claim form, it is suggested that applicants amend the claims to recite ‘0.95 Aw, 85 Aw or 90 Aw.’ Appropriate correction is suggested.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-10, 12-46 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 8-10 (claims 3-7, 12-27 dependent thereof), 28 (claims 29-46 dependent thereof), the recitation of the phrase ‘an effective amount of live non-pathogenic yeast’ is indefinite because it is unclear what the scope of the phrase is intended to encompass structurally and functionally. It is unclear what the phrase ‘an effective amount of live non-pathogenic yeast’ is intended to encompass. Accordingly, the metes and bounds upon which patent protection is sought cannot be ascertained from this phrase.
Regarding claim 10, the recitation of the phrase ‘a plurality of discrete doses’ is indefinite because it is unclear what the scope of the phrase is intended to encompass structurally. It is unclear what the phrase ‘a plurality of discrete doses’ is intended to encompass. It is unclear from the claims and specification what the phrase ‘a plurality of discrete doses’ is referring to structurally and functionally. Accordingly, the metes and bounds upon which patent protection is sought cannot be ascertained from this phrase.
Regarding claim 15 (claims 16-17 dependent thereof), 36 (claims 37-38 dependent thereof), the recitation of the phrase ‘at least a portion’ is indefinite because it is unclear what the scope of the phrase is intended to encompass structurally. It is unclear what the phrase ‘at least a portion’ is intended to encompass. It is unclear from the claims and specification what the phrase ‘at least a portion’ is referring to structurally and functionally. Accordingly, the metes and bounds upon which patent protection is sought cannot be ascertained from this phrase.
Claim 16 recites the limitation the “elevated pressure " in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no prior recitation of elevated pressure in claim 15. Appropriate correction is suggested.
Claim 35 recites the limitation “the temperature" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no prior recitation of temperature in claim 32. Appropriate correction is suggested.
Claim 37 recites the limitation the “elevated pressure" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no prior recitation of elevated pressure in claim 36. Appropriate correction is suggested.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-14, 25-29, 32-35 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Cheung et al (WO 02/070436 A2, Date Published: 12 September 2002, cited on IDS dated 1/26/2024) as evidenced by Riffo et al (2021, Journal of Fungi, Examiner cited) {herein Riffo}. See MPEP 2131.01 regarding multiple reference 102 rejections. The new rejection is necessitated by review of the claims.
As amended, claims 1-10, 12-14, 25-27 are drawn to a method of inhibiting pathogenic microbial growth in a biomass, comprising: contacting the biomass with an effective amount of live non-pathogenic yeast; agitating the biomass to distribute the yeast within the biomass to provide a yeast-stabilized biomass slurry; adding a micro-nutrient consisting of yeast lysate residue to the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry; and maintaining aerobic conditions in the slurry to permit yeast to grow aerobically.
As amended, claims 28-29, 32-35 are drawn to a method of inhibiting putrefaction in biomass, comprising: processing a biomass to produce a homogenized liquid slurry; contacting the homogenized liquid slurry with an effective amount of live non-pathogenic yeast; agitating the homogenized liquid slurry continuously to distribute the yeast within the homogenized liquid slurry in aerobic conditions to provide a yeast-stabilized biomass slurry 'adding a micro-nutrient consisting of yeast lysate residue to the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry; filtering the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry to remove macroparticles to produce a yeast-stabilized biomass slurry filtrate; and aerating the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry filtrate.
With respect to claims 1-2, 4-7, 12-13, 14, 25, Cheung teaches a method of inhibiting microbial growth within organic material by utilizing at least seven and up to nine yeast cell components (page 3, lines 29-33). The organic material may include sludge (abstract). Cheung further teaches mixing an organic substrate component, in a continuous process, with yeast cell components (page 3, lines 31-32; page 10, line 34). Absent evidence otherwise, it is the Examiner’s position that mixing of the yeast components with the organic material would necessarily create a slurry as it would be comprised of solid and liquid materials. Additionally, absent evidence otherwise, it is the Examiner’s position that the addition of the yeast components into the organic material would provide a yeast-stabilized biomass slurry since the yeast cell components maintain a balance of phosphorus components (page 3, lines 34-35), which is an indication of said yeast being metabolically active and stable. The organic material may also include manure or garbage (page 3, lines 29). Furthermore, absent evidence otherwise, it is the Examiner’s position that a homogenized liquid slurry would be produced as the mixing taught by Cheung would create a uniform, stable mixture of solid particles that are suspended evenly throughout the medium. Additionally, it is the Examiner’s position that mixing is the same as agitating continuously or periodically as mixing involved stirring and shaking which agitates the medium. Cheung further teaches that the yeast of the invention includes, but is not limited to living Saccharomyces cerevisiae (page 4, line 8 and page 7, line 13). Cheung further teaches that yeast cell components are provided by culturing a plurality of yeast cells in alternating electromagnetic fields over a period of time (page 10, lines 28-31). Evidentiary reference of Riffo is cited to demonstrate that yeast cells that are emitted with 1-5.9 GHz of EMF exhibited increased cellular permeability (page 9 para 1). As such, absent evidence otherwise, it is the Examiner’s position that Cheung emitting a plurality of yeast cell components with EMF 3,000 MHz (3 GHz) would effectively rupture the cells membrane, causing the lysate to be within the slurry, thereby effectively adding the yeast lysate residue to the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry. Cheung further teaches that fermentation takes place under semi-aerobic conditions of which Examiner is interpreting to be the same as aerobic as both include oxygen. Macronutrients such as phosphorus and/or potassium may be added to the biomass (page 7, line 9). The optimal temperature is between 5°C to 45 ° C , which is 41 F to 113 F (page 19, line 31). It is noted that the recitation of ‘the temperature is elevated to at least 100F’ in claim 14 falls within the recited claimed range of ‘50F to 120°F’ in claim 13, upon which claim 14 depends. As such, one cannot ascertain how 100F, recited in claim 14, is an elevate temperature from 120F, recited in claim 13. Clarification is requestion. Additionally, it is noted that the recitation of “to produce a refined slurry filtrate” is a “product-by-process” claim limitation. MPEP 2113 states “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).” As such, the product obtained by the combination of the teachings of the above references would result in the same product as claimed.
With respect to claims 8, 10, Cheung teaches the process can be initiated by inoculating 100ml of medium with 1ml of an inoculum of the selected yeast strain(s) at a cell density of 10^2-10^5 cell/ml (page 54, lines 14-15). The process can be scaled up or down according to needs (page 54, lines 16). Absent evidence otherwise, it is the Examiner’s position that a cell density of 10^2-10^5 cell/ml of S. cerevisiae, taught by Cheung, is a plurality of discrete doses as said doses (10^2-10^5) are countable and quantifiable.
With respect to claim 9, Cheung teaches mixing an organic substrate component with yeast cell components (page 3, lines 31-32). Absent evidence otherwise, it is the Examiner’s position that mixing an organic substrate (biomass) with yeast is the same as continuously agitating the biomass as the act of mixing the biomass with the yeast with necessarily agitate the biomass/yeast composition. Said process is continuous (page 10, line 33). Since the art teaches the structure of an effective amount of live non-pathogenic yeast in contacted with a plurality of discrete doses over time, it is the Examiners interpretation that the population of live non-pathogenic yeast would necessarily create the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry.
With respect to claim 26, Cheung teaches the structure of a method of inhibiting pathogenic microbial growth in a biomass, as such Examiner is interpreting the pathogenic microbial growth would necessarily be reduced as the claimed biomass.
With respect to claim 27, Cheung teaches a method wherein pathogenic microorganisms, such as Escherichia coli, Salmonella spp., Shigella spp., and Campylobacter jejuni are used in the invention (page 2, lines 19-20).
With respect to claims 28, 32-35 Cheung teaches a method of inhibiting microbial growth within organic material by utilizing at least seven and up to nine yeast cell components (page 3, lines 29-33). It is the Examiner’s position that inhibit microbial growth within the organic material would necessarily inhibit putrefaction (rotting) as it is well-known in the art that rotting of organic material is most commonly due to microbial contamination. Cheung further teaches the organic material may include sludge (abstract). In addition, Cheung teaches mixing an organic substrate component, in a continuous process, with yeast cell components (page 3, lines 31-32; page 10, line 34). Absent evidence otherwise, it is the Examiner’s position that mixing of the yeast components with the organic material would necessarily create a slurry as it would be comprised of solid and liquid materials. Additionally, absent evidence otherwise, it is the Examiner’s position that the addition of the yeast components into the organic material would provide a yeast-stabilized biomass slurry since the yeast cell components maintain a balance of phosphorus components (page 3, lines 34-35), which is an indication of said yeast being metabolically active and stable. The organic material may also include manure or garbage (page 3, lines 29). Additionally, absent evidence otherwise, it is the Examiner’s position that a homogenized liquid slurry would be produced as the mixing taught by Cheung would create a uniform, stable mixture of solid particles that are suspended evenly throughout the medium. It is the Examiner’s position that mixing is the same as agitating continuously or periodically as mixing involved stirring and shaking which agitates the medium. Cheung further teaches that the yeast of the invention include, but are not limited to living Saccharomyces cerevisiae (page 4, line 8 and page 7, line 13). Cheung further teaches that yeast cell components are provided by culturing a plurality of yeast cells in alternating electromagnetic fields over a period of time (page 10, lines 28-31). Evidentiary reference of Riffo is cited to demonstrate that yeast cells that are emitted with 1-5.9 GHz of EMF exhibited increased cellular permeability (page 9 para 1). As such, absent evidence otherwise, it is the Examiner’s position that Cheung emitting a plurality of yeast cell components with EMF 3,000 MHz (3 GHz) would effectively rupture the cells membrane, causing the lysate to be within the slurry, thereby effectively adding the yeast lysate residue to the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry. Cheung further teaches that fermentation takes place under semi-aerobic conditions of which Examiner is interpreting to be the same as aerobic as both include oxygen. Macronutrients such as phosphorus and/or potassium may be added to the biomass (page 7, line 9). The optimal temperature is between 5°C to 45 ° C , which is 41 F to 113 F (page 19, line 31). Furthermore, Cheung teaches the biomass from the culture medium is filtered to remove particulate matters (page 44, lines 12-13). The yeasts are allowed to mix for about 10-20 minutes (page 63, lines 32-33). Absent evidence otherwise, it is the Examiner’s position that mixing the yeast with the sludge will necessarily aerate the biomass as the process of mixing with introduced oxygen into the mixture. Additionally, it is noted that the recitation of “to produce a refined slurry filtrate” is a “product-by-process” claim limitation. MPEP 2113 states “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).” As such, the product obtained by the combination of the teachings of the above references would result in the same product as claimed.
With respect to claim 29, Cheung teaches the biological fertilizer composition can then be covered with soil and watered thoroughly (page 19, lines 22-23).
For the reasons stated herein, the teachings of Cheung anticipate claims 1-10, 12-14, 25-29, 32-35.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 18-24, 30-31, 39-46 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheung et al (WO 02/070436 A2, Date Published: 12 September 2002, cited on IDS dated 1/26/2024) as evidenced by Riffo et al (2021, Journal of Fungi, Examiner cited) {herein Riffo} as applied to claims 1-10, 12-14, 25-29, 32-35. The new rejection is necessitated by review of the claims.
As amended, claim 3 is drawn to the method of Claim 2, wherein the processing comprises crushing or grinding the biomass to provide the homogenized liquid slurry with at least 80% of biomass being particles with a diameter less than 2 mm.
Previously presented claim 18 is drawn to the method of Claim 1, further comprising maintaining the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at a pH less than 5 for at least 30 minutes.
Previously presented claim 19 is drawn to the method of Claim 18, wherein the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry is maintained at a pH of 4.2±0.5 for at least 30 minutes.
Previously presented claim 20 is drawn to the method of Claim 18, wherein maintaining the pH comprises adding one or more acids.
Previously presented claim 21 is drawn to the method of Claim 1, further comprising maintaining the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at a water activity less than 0.97 Aw for at least 30 minutes.
Previously presented claim 22 is drawn to the method of Claim 21, wherein the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry is maintained at a water activity selected from less than 0.95 Aw, 90 Aw, or 85 Aw for at least 30 minutes.
Previously presented claim 23 is drawn to the method of Claim 1, further comprising maintaining the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at an electrical conductivity (EC) of 20.0±5 mS/cm for at least 30 minutes.
Previously presented claim 24 is drawn to the method of Claim 1, further comprising maintaining the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at a redox potential (Eh) selected from 0 mV to -200 mV for at least 30 minutes.
Previously presented claim 30 is drawn to the method of Claim 28, wherein the processing comprises crushing or grinding the biomass to provide homogenized liquid slurry with at least 80% of biomass particles having a diameter less than 2mm.
Previously presented claim 31 is drawn to the method of Claim 28, further comprising re-homogenizing and re-filtering the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry filtrate one or more times prior to the aerating step.
Previously presented claim 39 is drawn to the method of Claim 32, further comprising maintaining the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at a pH of less than 5 for at least 30 minutes.
Previously presented claim 40 is drawn to the method of Claim 39, wherein the pH in the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry is maintained at 4.2±0.5 for at least 30 minutes.
Previously presented claim 41 is drawn to the method of Claim 39, wherein the pH is maintained by addition of one or more acids.
Previously presented claim 42 is drawn to the method of Claim 32, further comprising maintaining the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at a water activity less than 0.97 Aw for at least 30 minutes.
Previously presented claim 43 is drawn to the method of Claim 42, wherein the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry is maintained at water activity selected from less than 0.95 Aw, 90 Aw, or 85 Aw for at least 30 minutes.
Previously presented claim 44 is drawn to the method of Claim 32, further comprising maintaining the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at an electrical conductivity (EC) of 20.0±5 mS/cm for at least 30 minutes.
Previously presented claim 45 is drawn to the method of Claim 32, further comprising maintaining the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at a redox potential (Eh) selected from 0 mV to -200 mV for at least 30 minutes.
Previously presented claim 46 is drawn to the method of Claim 32, further comprising re-homogenizing the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at a temperature of 75°F to 90°F for at least 6 hours, followed by filtering the heated slurry one or more times to produce a refined slurry filtrate.
The teachings of Cheung as applied to claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-14, 25-29, 32-35 are set forth in the 102a1 rejection above.
However, Cheung does not teach the method of claim 3, wherein the processing comprises crushing or grinding the biomass to provide the homogenized liquid slurry with at least 80% of biomass being particles with a diameter less than 2 mm (claim 3). Cheung does not teach the method of claim 18 is drawn to the method of Claim 1, further comprising maintaining the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at a pH less than 5 for at least 30 minutes (claim 18). Cheung does not teach the method of claim 19 is drawn to the method of Claim 18, wherein the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry is maintained at a pH of 4.2±0.5 for at least 30 minutes (claim 19). Cheung does not teach the method of claim 20 is drawn to the method of Claim 18, wherein maintaining the pH comprises adding one or more acids (claim 20). Cheung does not teach the method of claim 21 is drawn to the method of Claim 1, further comprising maintaining the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at a water activity less than 0.97 Aw for at least 30 minutes (claim 21). Cheung does not teach the method of claim 22 is drawn to the method of Claim 21, wherein the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry is maintained at a water activity selected from less than 0.95 Aw, 90 Aw, or 85 Aw for at least 30 minutes (claim 22). Cheung does not teach the method of claim 23 is drawn to the method of Claim 1, further comprising maintaining the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at an electrical conductivity (EC) of 20.0±5 mS/cm for at least 30 minutes (claim 23). Cheung does not teach the method of claim 24 is drawn to the method of Claim 1, further comprising maintaining the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at a redox potential (Eh) selected from 0 mV to -200 mV for at least 30 minutes (claim 24). Cheung does not teach the method of claim 30 is drawn to the method of Claim 28, wherein the processing comprises crushing or grinding the biomass to provide homogenized liquid slurry with at least 80% of biomass particles having a diameter less than 2mm (claim 30). Cheung does not teach the method of claim 31 is drawn to the method of Claim 28, further comprising re-homogenizing and re-filtering the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry filtrate one or more times prior to the aerating step (claim 31). Cheung does not teach the method of claim 39 is drawn to the method of Claim 32, further comprising maintaining the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at a pH of less than 5 for at least 30 minutes (claim 39). Cheung does not teach the method of claim 40 is drawn to the method of Claim 39, wherein the pH in the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry is maintained at 4.2±0.5 for at least 30 minutes (claim 40).
Cheung does not teach the method of claim 41 is drawn to the method of Claim 39, wherein the pH is maintained by addition of one or more acids (claim 41). Cheung does not teach the method of claim 42 is drawn to the method of Claim 32, further comprising maintaining the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at a water activity less than 0.97 Aw for at least 30 minutes (claim 42). Cheung does not teach the method of claim 43 is drawn to the method of Claim 42, wherein the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry is maintained at water activity selected from less than 0.95 Aw, 90 Aw, or 85 Aw for at least 30 minutes (claim 43). Cheung does not teach the method of claim 44 is drawn to the method of Claim 32, further comprising maintaining the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at an electrical conductivity (EC) of 20.0±5 mS/cm for at least 30 minutes (claim 44). Cheung does not teach the method of claim 45 is drawn to the method of Claim 32, further comprising maintaining the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at a redox potential (Eh) selected from 0 mV to -200 mV for at least 30 minutes (claim 45).
With respect to claim 3, Cheung teaches the biomass is ground up to powder form (page 4, lines 34-35). MPEP 2144.05 states"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05 IIA)." One of ordinary skill would desire to optimize the grinding of the biomass to produce particles with a diameter less than 2 mm depending on the particular application. It would be routine for one to arrive at a diameter less than 2 mm for the application they intend on using the biomass. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With respect to claims 18-19, although Cheung does not explicitly teach ‘maintaining the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at a pH less than 5 for at least 30 minutes,’ MPEP 2144.05 states"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05 IIA)." One of ordinary skill would desire to optimize the pH and time at which it is at said pH depending on the particular application. It would be routine for one to arrive at a pH and time for the application they intend on using the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 20, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in that art that one would add one or more acids to maintain a low pH of the biomass as acids are routinely utilized in the art to maintain and/or lower the pH of compositions. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With respect to claims 21-22, although Cheung does not explicitly ‘maintaining the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at a water activity less than 0.97 Aw for at least 30 minutes,’ MPEP 2144.05 states"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05 IIA)." One of ordinary skill would desire to optimize the time at which the biomass is at a water activity depending on the particular application. It would be routine for one to arrive at a water activity for a period of time for the application they intend on using the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 23, Cheung teaches the application of an electromagnetic field to a biomass with yeast components (page 10 lines 34-35 and page 11, lines 1-5). Absent evidence otherwise, it is the Examiner’s position that the EMF applied by Cheung would necessarily generate electrical conductivity as it is known by those of ordinary skill in that art that EMF generates electrical conductivity through electromagnetic induction. Regarding the recitation ‘an electrical conductivity (EC) of 20.0±5 mS/cm for at least 30 minutes,’ MPEP 2144.05 states"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05 IIA)." One of ordinary skill would desire to optimize the time at which the electroconductivity is applied to the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry depending on the particular application. It would be routine for one to arrive at the electrical conductivity and time at which it is applied for the application they intend on using the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 24, although Cheung does not explicitly ‘maintaining the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at a redox potential (Eh) selected from 0 mV to -200 mV for at least 30 minutes,’ MPEP 2144.05 states"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05 IIA)." One of ordinary skill would desire to optimize the time at which the biomass is at a redox potential depending on the particular application. It would be routine for one to arrive at a redox potential for a period of time for the application they intend on using the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 30, Cheung teaches the biomass is ground up to powder form (page 4, lines 34-35). MPEP 2144.05 states"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05 IIA)." One of ordinary skill would desire to optimize the grinding of the biomass to produce particles with a diameter less than 2 mm depending on the particular application. It would be routine for one to arrive at a diameter less than 2 mm for the application they intend on using the biomass. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 31, one of ordinary skill in the art would desire to re-homogenize and re- to improve consistency, efficiency, and product quality filter the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry filtrate one or more times prior to aerating to improve the consistency, efficiency, and production quality. Said process is well-known in the art and routinely performed on compositions containing particulate matter to remove artifacts. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With respect to claims 39-40, although Cheung does not explicitly ‘maintaining the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at a pH less than 5 for at least 30 minutes,’ MPEP 2144.05 states"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05 IIA)." One of ordinary skill would desire to optimize the pH and time at which it is at said pH depending on the particular application. It would be routine for one to arrive at a pH and time for the application they intend on using the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 41, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in that art that one would add one or more acids to maintain a low pH of the biomass as acids are routinely utilized in the art to maintain and/or lower the pH of compositions. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With respect to claims 42-43, although Cheung does not explicitly ‘maintaining the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at a water activity less than 0.97 Aw for at least 30 minutes,’ MPEP 2144.05 states"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05 IIA)." One of ordinary skill would desire to optimize the time at which the biomass is at a water activity depending on the particular application. It would be routine for one to arrive at a water activity for a period of time for the application they intend on using the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 44, Cheung teaches the application of an electromagnetic field to a biomass with yeast components (page 10 lines 34-35 and page 11, lines 1-5). Absent evidence otherwise, it is the Examiner’s position that the EMF applied by Cheung would necessarily generate electrical conductivity as it is known by those of ordinary skill in that art that EMF generates electrical conductivity through electromagnetic induction. Regarding the recitation ‘an electrical conductivity (EC) of 20.0±5 mS/cm for at least 30 minutes,’ MPEP 2144.05 states"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05 IIA)." One of ordinary skill would desire to optimize the time at which the electroconductivity is applied to the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry depending on the particular application. It would be routine for one to arrive at the electrical conductivity and time at which it is applied for the application they intend on using the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 45, although Cheung does not explicitly teach ‘maintaining the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at a redox potential (Eh) selected from 0 mV to -200 mV for at least 30 minutes,’ MPEP 2144.05 states"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05 IIA)." One of ordinary skill would desire to optimize the time at which the biomass is at a redox potential depending on the particular application. It would be routine for one to arrive at a redox potential for a period of time for the application they intend on using the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 46, one of ordinary skill in the art would desire to re-homogenize and refilter the yeast-stabilized biomass to improve consistency, efficiency, and product quality filter the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry filtrate one or more times prior to aerating to improve the consistency, efficiency, and production quality. Said process is well-known in the art and routinely performed on compositions containing particulate matter to remove artifacts. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that the product obtained after re-homogenization and refiltering the biomass would be freer of particulate matter that could negatively impact the performance of the product. Additionally, although Cheung does not explicitly teach ‘at a temperature of 75°F to 90°F for at least 6 hours,’ MPEP 2144.05 states"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05 IIA)." One of ordinary skill would desire to optimize the temperature and time at which it is at said temperature depending on the particular application. It would be routine for one to arrive at a temperate and time for the application they intend on using the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious. Additionally, it is noted that the recitation of “to produce a refined slurry filtrate” is a “product-by-process” claim limitation. MPEP 2113 states “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).” As such, the product obtained by the combination of the teachings of the above references would result in the same product as claimed. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 15-17, 36-38 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheung et al (WO 02/070436 A2, Date Published: 12 September 2002, cited on IDS dated 1/26/2024) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-14, 25-29, 32-35 in view of ikegger (2018, Pressure fermentation, Examiner cited) {herein ikegger} as evidenced by Riffo et al (2021, Journal of Fungi, Examiner cited) {herein Riffo}. The new rejection is necessitated by review of the claims.
Previously presented claim 15 is drawn to the method of Claim 1, further comprising maintaining at least a portion of the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry under a pressure of at least 2 bars for at least 30 seconds.
Previously presented claim 16 is drawn to the method of Claim 15, wherein with mixing the elevated pressure is applied to each portion of the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry for at least 30 seconds.
Previously presented claim 17 is drawn to the method of Claim 15, wherein the pressure is maintained within the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at a pressure selected from 5 bars to 16 bars for at least 30 minutes.
Previously presented claim 36 is drawn to the method of Claim 32, further comprising maintaining at least a portion of the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry under a pressure of at least 2 bars for at least 30 seconds.
Previously presented claim 37 is drawn to the method of Claim 36, wherein with mixing the elevated pressure is applied to each portion of the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry for at least 30 seconds.
Previously presented claim 38 is drawn to the method of Claim 36, wherein the pressure is maintained within the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at a pressure selected from 5 bars to 16 bars for at least 30 minutes.
The teachings of Cheung as applied to claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-14, 25-29, 32-35 are set forth in the 102a1 rejection above.
However, Cheung does not teach the method of claim 15, further comprising maintaining at least a portion of the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry under a pressure of at least 2 bars for at least 30 seconds (claim 15). Cheung does not teach the method of claim 16 is drawn to the method of Claim 15, wherein with mixing the elevated pressure is applied to each portion of the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry for at least 30 seconds (claim 16). Cheung does not teach the method of claim 17, wherein the pressure is maintained within the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at a pressure selected from 5 bars to 16 bars for at least 30 minutes (claim 17). Cheung does not teach the method of claim 36, further comprising maintaining at least a portion of the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry under a pressure of at least 2 bars for at least 30 seconds. Cheung does not teach the method of claim 37, wherein with mixing the elevated pressure is applied to each portion of the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry for at least 30 seconds (claim 37). Cheung does not teach the method of claim 38, wherein the pressure is maintained within the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry at a pressure selected from 5 bars to 16 bars for at least 30 minutes (claim 38).
With respect to claims 15-16, ikegger teaches a method wherein pressure is utilized in the process of fermentation to inhibit air from contacting the fermentation broth (page 2, para 4). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to split the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry into portions and apply pressure to each portion to optimize conditions for different stages and microorganisms, prevent contamination, and manage the process efficiently. Although Cheung does not explicitly teach ‘a pressure of at least 2 bars for at least 30 seconds,’ MPEP 2144.05 states"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05 IIA)." One of ordinary skill would desire to optimize the time at which the biomass is under pressure depending on the particular application. It would be routine for one to arrive at a pressure for a period of time for the application they intend on using the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious.
With respect to claims 36-38, ikegger teaches a method wherein pressure is utilized in the process of fermentation to inhibit air from contacting the fermentation broth (page 2, para 4). Furthermore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to split the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry into portions and apply pressure to each portion to optimize conditions for different stages and microorganisms, prevent contamination, and manage the process efficiently. Although Cheung does not explicitly teach ‘a pressure of at least 2 bars for at least 30 seconds,’ (claim 36) and ‘a pressure selected from 5 bars to 16 bars for at least 30 minutes’ (claim 38) MPEP 2144.05 states"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05 IIA)." One of ordinary skill would desire to optimize the time at which the biomass is under pressure depending on the particular application. It would be routine for one to arrive at a pressure for a period of time for the application they intend on using the yeast-stabilized biomass slurry. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Cheung et al. of a method of inhibiting microbial growth within organic material by utilizing yeast cell components (page 3, lines 29-33) or combine the teachings of ikegger because ikegger teaches a method wherein pressure is utilized in the process of fermentation to inhibit air from contacting the fermentation broth (page 2, para 4).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to either use the teachings of Cheung et al. by itself or combine the teachings of ikegger because ikegger provides the motivation for Cheung to use pressure during the fermentation process because the application of pressure reduces the amount of air that comes into contact with the fermentation mixtures (ikegger: page 2, para 2), thereby reducing the likelihood of extraneous microbial contamination and spoilage. Additionally, the application of pressure reduces the build-up of esters which reduces the production of undesirable, overpowering flavors and aromas (page 2, para 6) for a biological fertilizer as said aromas could attract unwanted pests resulting in contamination of the biomass. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to try applying pressure to the fermentation mixture as doing so would reduce the likelihood of extraneous microbial contamination and spoilage.
One of skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to make and use the claimed method of inhibiting pathogenic microbial growth in a biomass because Cheung provides the basic method and its uses of making it. Reference of ikegger provides a method wherein pressure is utilized in the process of fermentation to inhibit air from contacting the fermentation broth (page 1, para 4). Therefore, there would be a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the above invention. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Status of the claims:
Claim 11 is canceled.
Claims 1-10, 12-46 are pending.
Claims 1-10, 12-46 are rejected.
No claims are in condition for allowance.
/ERICA NICOLE JONES-FOSTER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1656
/MANJUNATH N RAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1656