DETAILED ACTION
Formal Matters
Claims 1-106 are cancelled. Claims 148 and 149 are new. Claims 115,117-118,120-123,125-126,138-142,144-145 and 147 are withdrawn. Claims 107-114,116,119,124,127-137,143, 146, 148-149 are under examination.
Priority
The instant application is a continuation of PCT/IB2020/001058 filed on 12/15/2020, which claims priority from US provisional application 62/948,982 filed on 12/17/2019.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Objections and Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection under USC 103 over Benson US20180125767A1, Blin EP1457193A1 and Baydar US 4857310 is withdrawn per applicant’s arguments and amendments.
As these rejections are withdrawn, applicant’s arguments toward these rejections are now moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 108-111, 128-132 and 148-149 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 107 and 127, on which claims 108 and 128, respectively, depend on, now have their formula I or Ia compound limited to III or IIIa respectively, which have r+s=3 and r=1 or 2. Claims 108 and 128 allow r+s to be 2 to 55 and r= 0 to 54, which broadens these options. Thus, claims 108 and 128 are not further limiting of claims 107 and 127, respectively. As claims 109-111, 129-132 and 148-149 are dependent on claims 108 and 128, they also carry these limitations that are not further limiting.
Additionally, note that claims 107 and 127 after amendment provide that “R4 contains one or more internal ester groups derived from a dicarboxylic acid and one or two hydroxy carboxylic acids by cross-condensation” while claims 108 and 128 provide for a definition of R4 without this limitation and claims 148-149 provide this same limitation, which is exactly as indicated in claims 107 and 127, which claims 148 and 149 indirectly depend on. Thus, it appears that there is no further limitation presented to the R4 definition by each of these claims when considering what is presented in claims 107 and 127.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 107-114,116,119,124,127-137,143, 146 and 148-149 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Blin EP1457193A1, Lawate US5427704A and Isbell (Grasa y aceites, 2011, volume 62, pages 8-20).
Although applicant amends the claims, they are in broad form to the number of structures that can be covered.
Blin teaches “a cosmetic care or make-up composition containing a) at least one polyester resulting from the esterification of at least one triglyceride of carboxylic acid (s) hydroxylated (s) with a monocarboxylic acid aliphatic and with an aliphatic dicarboxylic acid, and b) at least one pasty compound. This composition makes it possible to obtain a deposit on the slippery, shiny, comfortable, clean contoured keratin materials, which does not migrate, whose color intensity is improved and / or whose color resistance after proofs is improved” (abstract). Blin teaches
pages 14-15 and paragraphs 27-29). R is a chain of 5 to 33 carbon atoms. Blin teaches ricinoleic acid as the preferred triglyceride that is found in natural castor oil (English translation of claims and disclosure). Blin teaches triglyceride being esterified with aliphatic monocarboxylic acid molecules (English translation, hydroxy hydroxylated aliphatic acid (triglyceride) polyester section). Benson teaches “Preferably, the hydroxylated carboxylic acid (s) are chosen from: 12-hydroxy stearic acid; α-hydroxy octadecanoic acid; 14-eicosenoic hydroxy acid, leucinic acid or 2-ethyl 3-hydroxy caprylic acid; ricinoleic acid; 3-hydroxy 4-hexanoic acid or oxynervonic acid; 16-hydroxy 6-hexadecenoic acid; 9,10-dihydroxy octadecanoic acid, 9,12-dihydroxy octadecanoic acid, aleuritic acid, 9,10,12-trihydroxy octadecanoic acid, hexahydroxy octadecanoic acid or octahydroxy octadecanoic acid (English translation). Thus, the fatty acid groups do not all have to be ricinoleic acid in an estolide ester compound. Blin teaches aliphatic dicarboxylic acids like succinic acid for the compounds. Blin teaches providing condensates of dicarboxylic acid and diols/polyols (English translation of Blin, claims of Blin). Blin provides for hair care and cosmetic products (claims of Blin).
Blin does not particularly indicate the elected compound of applicant, but provides compound structures that would be estolides based on how the triglycerides are reacted from hydroxyl groups off the fatty chain.
Lawate teaches triglyceride oils thickened with estolides of hydroxy-containing triglycerides (abstract and field of invention). Lawate provides general structures in column 2 and those with hydroxyl groups in the fatty chains in column 5 (also see claim 1 of Lawate). Column 3 notes that the estolide would continue to crosslink at the unreacted -OH and -COOH sites to form a polyestolide (column 3, lines 15-51). Lawate indicates that triglyceride oils are environmentally friendly (biodegradable) base fluids in industrial applications and increasing their viscosity making them thicker helps take more advantage of their biodegradability for industrial use (column 1, lines 16-25). Lawate teaches “The carboxylic acid RZCOOH reacted with the hydroxy-containing triglyceride desirably contains from 2 to 24 carbon atoms (acetic acid to tetracosanoic acid) including isomers and unsaturation. Preferred carboxylic acids are the acids of butyric, caproic, caprylic, capric, lauric, myristic, palmitic, stearic, oleic, linoleic, and li- nolenic.” (column 5). Example A-6 allows for “In an even further embodiment, acids other than aliphatic monocarboxylic acids may be reacted with the hydroxy containing triglyceride to form an estolide. These may be aliphatic dicarboxylic acids or aryl mono-, di- or tri- carboxylic acids”.
Isbell teaches “Estolides are a developing class of natural and synthetic compounds that have been synthesized from hydroxy oils like castor and lesquerella or by the condensation of fatty acids across the olefin of a second fatty acid” (Summary). Figure 6 of Isbell shows how an estolide linkage is formed between a hydroxyl of a fatty chain (oleic acid) and a carboxylic acid (also see section 3.1 for estolides from hydroxy fatty acids). Table 3 of Isbell provides for castor triglyceride estolides and synthetic glyceride estolides (section 2.2). Isbell indicates that estolides are used in cosmetics and industrial applications (introduction and summary).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing was able to make estolide esters of different carboxylic acid compounds such as fatty acids (e.g. ricinoleic acid and others) and link them together by esterification or to other compounds to make useful compounds for cosmetic products through the combined teachings of the combined prior art that teach esterized estolide compounds with glycerol/polyol and various fatty acids including hydroxy fatty acids. The estolide esters are provided to be advantageous for performance and being eco-friendly and biodegradable products in teachings of Lawate and Isbell provides for producing estolides from triglycerides and carboxylic acids. Therefore, there was a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining ester compounds by combining known triglycerides, fatty acids, carboxylic acids and alcohols along with an esterification process and oligomerization into structures like those of Blin similar of those of applicant’s claims and using them for cosmetic and hair care purposes by the teachings of the prior art due to uses for cosmetic performance/benefit and being environmentally friendly while using teachings of Lawate and Isbell to provide such estolide compounds with triglycerides.
Applicant should also consider MPEP 2144.09 where close structural and functional similarity is considered for obviousness of compounds. In this case, the prior art notes cosmetic utility including hair as well as estolides of fatty acid triglyceride compounds. The prior art teaches the groups/components, structures and processes relevant to making such estolide compounds.
Non-Statutory Double Patenting
Claims 107-114,116,119,124,127-137,143, 146, 148 and 149 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 42-46, 49-54, 56-66 of copending Application No. 17/786,081 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘081 provide for structures that have similar formula, components and compositions.
in claims of ‘081.
in applicant’s current claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 107-114,116,119,124,127-137,143, 146 and 148-149 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 60, 62-63, 65-67, 69-71, 74-89, 90, 97-99, 105, 107-110 of copending Application No. 17/840,922 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘922 provide for structures that have similar formula, components and compositions.
in claims of ‘922. in applicant’s current claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues that it is premature to file terminal disclaimers at this time and does not argue these rejections at this time. Therefore, the rejections over non-statutory double patenting are maintained.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/MARK V STEVENS/
Examiner, Art Unit 1613