DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-14 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathur (US 2013/0253237), in view of JP H0192560 A (hereafter the ‘560 patent).
Regarding claims 1-2, 12-13 and 18
Mathur discloses a liquid rocket propellant comprising a hydrocarbon mixture with a hydrogen content of 15.06 wt %, a viscosity of 6.886 cSt at -30 C and a sulfur content of less than 1 mg/kg (table 1, blend H).
It is noted that about -33 C is seen to read on -30 C.
It is noted that he 15.06 wt % hydrogen content of the reference is seen to read on or make obvious the claimed about 15.3 mass %, as the use of the term about allows for some leeway.
As the content of sulfur overlaps with the claimed amount, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q. 549.
Mathur also discloses that liquid oxygen can be used as the oxidizer (para 0003). Which would require providing both materials.
Mathur discloses that the composition has a flash point of 149 C (Table 1, Blend G).
Mathur discloses a distillation initial boiling point of 354.2 C (Table 1, Blend G).
Mathur discloses that the composition comprises fuels having a C12-C20 isoparaffin content of at least 40 % by mass (abstract), as this amount overlaps with the claimed amount, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q. 549.
Although Mathur does not explicitly disclose the claimed mass ratio of oxidizer to fuel, Mathur does disclose or make obvious the other limitations of the claim. However, the ‘560patent discloses that in liquid rocket engines using liquid oxygen and kerosene (i.e., a hydrocarbon) that the mass ratio of liquid oxygen to hydrocarbon can be 2.6:0.9 (i.e., 2.88:1) and that such a ratio provides stable combustion with a combustion efficiency of 98 % or higher (examples). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add to the teachings of Mathur by using a liquid oxygen to hydrocarbon mass ratio of 2.88:1 with a reasonable expectation of success in forming a useful rocket and the expected benefit of providing a stable combustion with high efficiency as suggested by the ‘560 patent.
Regarding claims 3 and 14
The 2.88 ratio of the ‘560 patent is seen to read on or make obvious the claimed about 2.75, as the use of the term about allows for some leeway.
Regarding claim 5
Mathur discloses that the liquid hydrocarbon includes isoparaffin (i.e., a branched paraffin) (abstract).
Regarding claims 8 and 19
Mathur discloses a specific gravity of 0.7600 (Table 1, Blend H), and room temperature is seen to read on or make obvious about 15 C.
Regarding claim 9
Mathur discloses a freezing point of less than -81 C (Table 1, Blend H).
Regarding claims 10 and 20
This is a product-by-process limitation which does not serve to further limit a composition claim unless it can be shown that the processed used results in a materially different product.
Regarding claims 11 and 21
The c* value of the composition is a property of the composition, and Mathur discloses or makes obvious the other limitations of the claims. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathur (US 2013/0253237), in view of JP H0192560 A (hereafter the ‘560 patent), as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 8-14 and 18-21 above, in view of Bratukin et al. (RU 2429370 C1).
Regarding claim 15
Although, Mathur does not teach the use of a burner plate, Mathur does disclose or make obvious the rocket fuel and oxidizer. However, Bratukin discloses that a liquid-propellant rocket can have a burner plate in the combustion chamber of the rocket engine (abstract). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add to the teachings of Mathur by using a rocket motor having a burner plate in the combustion chamber where the fuel and oxidizer are combined, with a reasonable expectation of success in forming a useful rocket motor, as suggested by Bratukin.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue against the prior art rejections.
Applicants argue that they use a different method to measure the hydrogen content. This is not persuasive as applicants have failed to show that the hydrogen content of the reference4 would not be within the claimed amount, and a reference is good for all that it teaches.
Applicants argue that Mathur does not disclose a hydrocarbon mixture having less than 50 % isoparaffins having 12 to 20 carbon atoms. This is not persuasive as the reference discloses at least 40 % by mass, which is less than and/or overlaps the claimed amount. Further, Applicants have failed to presented any evidence of new or unexpected results.
The remaining arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive for the same reasons given above, and in further consideration of their additional limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734