DETAILED ACTION
CONTINUED EXAMINATION UNDER 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, filed on April 9, 2026, regarding rejection of claims 1-6 and 9-20, as amended, under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any combination of the references being used in the current rejection. Examiner has applied Zhou ‘739 (US 2023/0199739) and Awad ‘884 (US 2024/0430884) to clearly teach the amended limitations in claims 1-6 and 9-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 6, 9-16, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘916 (US 2022/0417916, “Kim ‘916”), in view of Zhou ‘739 (US 2023/0199739, “Zhou ‘739”; Zhou ‘739 was filed on February 15, 2023, claiming priority to US provisional application 63/092,137 filed on October 15, 2020, and thus Zhou ‘739 was effectively filed before the claimed invention; further, the US provisional application 63/092,137 fully supports all citations made in the rejection from the Zhou ‘739 reference), and further in view of Awad ‘884 (US 2024/0430884, “Awad ‘884”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim ‘916 discloses a method performed by a first device (FIG. 17, para 24 and 144-145; base station (BS) reads on a first device), the method comprising:
determining, for a symbol in a time slot, that the first device can communicate at the symbol in an uplink direction within one or more first subbands and in a downlink direction within one or more second subbands using cell-specific configuration data that indicates, for each of multiple symbols across time including the symbol, a symbol type from multiple different symbol types (FIGS. 2, 10, and 11, para 24, 47-48, and 102-114; in a hybrid TDD-FDD system (XDD system), UL and DL resources are flexibly divided and allocated in both time domain and frequency domain; BS performs DL-UL configuration in time domain for each bandwidth part (BWP) in frequency domain, by flexibly allocating a combination of UL and DL symbols to individual BWPs; the BS performs the DL-UL configuration for communication with a UE, via cell-specific configuration information; the symbols are part of time slots; thus, the BS determines, for a symbol in a time slot of a XDD link between the BS and the UE, that the BS can use a combination of multiple UL and DL symbols across BWPs in frequency domain to communicate with the UE at the symbol, where the BS uses the cell-specific configuration information that indicates, for each of the symbols in time domain including the symbol, various combination of two or more UL and DL symbol types to use for the communication; BS reads on the first device and UE reads on the second device; UL and DL symbols read on multiple different symbol type; BWPs read on subbands); and
communicating, in the symbol in the time slot, with the second device within at least one of the one or more first subbands or the one or more second subbands (FIGS. 2, 10, and 11, para 24, 47-48, and 102-114; the BS communicates with UEs using XDD transmission; as seen in FIG. 10, UE4’s DL-UL configuration is such that DL symbols and UL symbols are configured for different BWPs).
However, Kim ‘916 does not specifically disclose sending, to a second device data comprising a bitmap, wherein each bit of the bitmap (i) corresponds to one or more bandwidth units.
Zhou ‘739 teaches sending, to a second device data comprising a bitmap, wherein each bit of the bitmap (i) corresponds to one or more bandwidth units (FIGS. 27A and 32B, para 268 and 313-314; base station transmits to a wireless device configuration parameters of a MBS session, where the configuration parameters include a frequency resource indication bitmap; each bit of the bitmap corresponds a respective BWP of a plurality of BWPs of a cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim ‘916’s first device that determines it can use a combination of multiple different symbol types across frequency to communicate with a second device, to include Zhou ‘739’s message each bit of a bitmap that corresponds to a respective BWP of a plurality of BWPs of a cell. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve power and radio resource efficiency for MBS transmission on a BWP (Zhou ‘739, para 323).
However, Kim ‘916 in combination with Zhou ‘739 does not specifically disclose (ii) indicates, for the symbol in the time slot, whether the one or more bandwidth units are used for downlink communication or uplink communication.
Awad ‘884 teaches (ii) indicates, for the symbol in the time slot, whether the one or more bandwidth units are used for downlink communication or uplink communication (para 147; indication of whether OFDM symbols in a bandwidth part are configured as uplink symbols reserved for uplink transmission or downlink symbols reserved for downlink transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined first device of Kim ‘916 and Zhou ‘739, to include Awad ‘884’s indication of whether OFDM symbols in a bandwidth part are configured as uplink symbols reserved for uplink transmission or downlink symbols reserved for downlink transmission. The motivation for doing so would have been to address challenges for efficiently handling wireless communications (Awad ‘884, para 7).
Regarding claim 6, Kim ‘916 in combination with Zhou ‘739 and Awad ‘884 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘916 teaches wherein the data indicates, for the symbol, a first quantity of downlink symbols at a first extreme of a bandwidth unit range for the symbol and a second quantity of uplink symbols adjacent to the first quantity of downlink symbols in the bandwidth unit range for the symbol (FIGS. 10 and 11, para 24 and 102-114; BS sends to the UE DL-UL configuration information that indicates, for a symbol, UL and DL symbols for different BWPs in the overall bandwidth in frequency domain; as shown in FIG 10, for the first symbol in the system DL-UL configuration, a DL symbol resource is allocated to the top portion of the overall bandwidth, and an UL symbol resource is allocated to the lower portion of the overall bandwidth, adjacent to the top portion of the overall bandwidth, with a guard band in between; thus, the DL-UL configuration information indicates that the symbol is one DL symbol at the top extreme of the overall bandwidth, and that the symbol is one UL symbol adjacent in frequency domain to the top extreme bandwidth for the symbol).
Regarding claim 9, Kim ‘916 in combination with Zhou ‘739 and Awad ‘884 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘916 teaches wherein the cell-specific configuration data comprises a tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon that identifies one or more symbols for which the first device can communicate using the multiple different symbol types across frequency and using the multiple different symbol types across time (FIGS. 10 and 11, Table 4, para 24 and 98-114; BS sends to the UE DL-UL configuration information that indicates, for a symbol, UL and DL symbols for different BWPs in the overall bandwidth in frequency domain; further, the DL-UL configuration includes a parameter tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon that indicates the symbol types in a slot in time domain).
Regarding claim 10, Kim ‘916 in combination with Zhou ‘739 and Awad ‘884 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 9, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘916 teaches wherein determining that the first device can communicate at the symbol in the uplink direction within the one or more first subbands and in the downlink direction within the one or more second subbands comprises determining that the cell-specific configuration data identifies the symbol as a cross-division flexible symbol that the first device can use to communicate using a combination of a first symbol type from the multiple different symbol types and a second, different symbol type from the multiple different symbol types (FIGS. 10 and 11, para 24 and 102-114; in a hybrid TDD-FDD system (XDD system), BS sends to the UE a cell-specific DL-UL configuration information that indicates, for a symbol, UL, DL, and flexible symbols for different BWPs in the overall bandwidth in frequency domain; flexible symbols are indicated by not indicating a symbol as an UL or DL symbol; thus, the BS determines that it can use a combination of XDD UL, DL, and flexible symbols according to the cell-specific DL-UL configuration information for different BWPs).
Regarding claim 11, Kim ‘916 in combination with Zhou ‘739 and Awad ‘884 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 9, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘916 teaches wherein determining that the first device can communicate at the symbol in the uplink direction within the one or more first subbands and in the downlink direction within the one or more second subbands comprises:
determining that the cell-specific configuration data identifies the symbol as a flexible symbol that the first device can use to communicate using a first symbol type from the multiple different symbol types or a second, different symbol type from the multiple different symbol types but not both (FIGS. 10 and 11, Method 1 in para 110-114; cell-specific DL-UL configuration indicates symbols corresponding to different BWPs, where flexible symbols are indicated by not indicating a symbol as an UL or DL symbol; further, user-specific configuration communicated via higher layer signaling indicates that all flexible symbols in an flexible symbol slot are either UL symbols in a full UL slot or DL symbols in a full DL slot); and
in response to determining that the cell-specific configuration data identifies the symbol as the flexible symbol, determining, by the first device, that the first device can use a combination of the multiple different symbol types across frequency to communicate with the second device at the symbol based on a cross-division duplex transmission link between the first device and the second device (FIGS. 10 and 11, para 24 and 102-114; in a hybrid TDD-FDD system (XDD system), BS sends to the UE a cell-specific DL-UL configuration information that indicates, for a symbol, UL, DL, and flexible symbols for different BWPs in the overall bandwidth in frequency domain; flexible symbols are indicated by not indicating a symbol as an UL or DL symbol; thus, the BS determines that it can use a combination of XDD UL, DL, and flexible symbols according to the cell-specific DL-UL configuration information for different BWPs).
Regarding claim 12, Kim ‘916 in combination with Zhou ‘739 and Awad ‘884 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 11, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘916 teaches wherein determining that the first device can communicate at the symbol in the uplink direction within the one or more first subbands and in the downlink direction within the one or more second subbands comprises
determining that the cell-specific configuration data identifies the symbol as a cross-division flexible symbol and a second symbol as the flexible symbol that the first device can use to communicate using the first symbol type from the multiple different symbol types or a second, different symbol type from the multiple different symbol types but not both (FIGS. 10 and 11, para 24 and 102-114; in a hybrid TDD-FDD system (XDD system), BS sends to the UE a cell-specific DL-UL configuration information that indicates, for a symbol, UL, DL, and flexible symbols for different BWPs in the overall bandwidth in frequency domain; flexible symbols are indicated by not indicating a symbol as an UL or DL symbol; thus, the BS determines that it can use a combination of XDD UL, DL, flexible symbols according to a XDD for different BWPs; user-specific configuration communicated via higher layer signaling indicates that all flexible symbols in an flexible symbol slot are either UL symbols in a full UL slot or DL symbols in a full DL slot).
Regarding claim 13, Kim ‘916 in combination with Zhou ‘739 and Awad ‘884 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘916 teaches wherein determining that the first device can communicate at the symbol in the uplink direction within the one or more first subbands and in the downlink direction within the one or more second subbands comprises
determining, by the first device, that the first device can use a combination of the multiple different symbol types across frequency to communicate with the second device at the symbol using two or more cell-specific configuration data sets that i) each are for a different sets of bandwidth units, and ii) include the cell-specific configuration data (FIGS. 10 and 11, para 24 and 102-114; BS sends to the UE cell-specific DL-UL configuration information that indicates, for a symbol, UL and DL symbols for different BWPs in the overall bandwidth; as shown in FIG. 10, the DL-UL configuration 1000 maps the different symbol types to the different BWPs in overall bandwidth in frequency domain; thus, the BS determines that it can communicate with the UE by using a combination of UL and DL symbol types across frequency; therefore, the cell-specific DL-UL configuration information includes multiple cell-specific DL-UL configuration information subsets that indicate different UL and DL symbols for different BWPs in the overall bandwidth).
Regarding claim 14, Kim ‘916 in combination with Zhou ‘739 and Awad ‘884 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘916 teaches wherein the cell-specific configuration data comprises i) a tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon that identifies one or more symbols for which the first device can communicate using the multiple different symbol types across time and ii) a cross-division flexible symbol cell-specific configuration data that identifies one or more cross-division flexible symbols for which the first device can communicate using the multiple different symbol types across frequency and using the multiple different symbol types across time (FIGS. 10 and 11, Table 4, para 24 and 98-114; BS sends to the UE DL-UL configuration information that indicates, for a symbol, UL and DL symbols for different BWPs in the overall bandwidth in frequency domain; further, the DL-UL configuration includes a parameter tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon that indicates the symbol types in a slot in time domain, including UL, DL, and flexible symbols).
Regarding claim 15, Kim ‘916 in combination with Zhou ‘739 and Awad ‘884 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 14, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘916 teaches wherein: the tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon comprises a flag that indicates that the cell-specific configuration data comprises the cross-division flexible symbol cell-specific configuration data (FIGS. 10 and 11, Table 4, para 24 and 98-114; in a XDD system, the BS sends to the UE cell-specific DL-UL configuration information that indicates, for a symbol, UL and DL symbols for different BWPs in the overall bandwidth in frequency domain; further, the DL-UL configuration includes a parameter tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon that indicates the symbol types in a slot in time domain, including the position of each XDD flexible symbol in a slot; thus, tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon in the cell-specific DL-UL information comprises flags that indicate each XDD flexible symbol in the slot), the method comprising:
detecting, by the first device, an existence of the cross-division flexible symbol cell-specific configuration data using the flag (FIGS. 10 and 11, Table 4, para 24 and 98-114; in accordance with the citation above, the BS sends the cell-specific DL-UL information that includes the tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon, where the tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon comprises flags that indicate each XDD flexible symbol in the slot; thus, the BS detects the existence of XDD flexible symbols using the flags); and
in response to detecting the existence of the cross-division flexible symbol cell-specific configuration data using the flag, determining the one or more cross-division flexible symbols that include the symbol (FIGS. 10 and 11, Table 4, para 24 and 98-114; in accordance with the citation above, the BS sends the cell-specific DL-UL information that includes the tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon, where the tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon comprises flags that indicate each XDD flexible symbol in the slot).
Regarding claim 16, Kim ‘916 in combination with Zhou ‘739 and Awad ‘884 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘916 teaches wherein determining that the first device can communicate at the symbol in the uplink direction within the one or more first subbands and in the downlink direction within the one or more second subbands comprises
determining, by the first device, the cell-specific configuration data that indicates, for the time slot that includes multiple symbols including the symbol, that the first device can use a combination of different symbol types across frequency for each symbol in the multiple symbols (FIGS. 10 and 11, para 24, 47-48, and 102-114; BS sends to the cell-specific UE DL-UL configuration information that indicates, for a symbol, UL and DL symbols for different BWPs in the overall bandwidth in frequency domain; as shown in FIG. 10, the DL-UL configuration 1000 maps the different symbol types to the different BWPs, for individual symbols; a time slot consists of symbols; thus, the BS determines the cell-specific DL-UL configuration that indicates, for a time slot that includes a symbol, that the BS can use a combination of UL and DL symbol types across frequency for each symbol in the time slot).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Kim ‘916 discloses a system comprising one or more processors configured to perform operations (FIG. 17, para 24, 31, and 144-147; a base station (BS) includes a memory and a processor, where the processor executes instructions stored in the memory) comprising:
determining, for a symbol in a time slot, that a first device can communicate at the symbol in an uplink direction within one or more first subbands and in a downlink direction within one or more second subbands using cell-specific configuration data that indicates, for each of multiple symbols across time including the symbol, a symbol type from multiple different symbol types (FIGS. 2, 10, and 11, para 24, 47-48, and 102-114; in a hybrid TDD-FDD system (XDD system), UL and DL resources are flexibly divided and allocated in both time domain and frequency domain; BS performs DL-UL configuration in time domain for each bandwidth part (BWP) in frequency domain, by flexibly allocating a combination of UL and DL symbols to individual BWPs; the BS performs the DL-UL configuration for communication with a UE, via cell-specific configuration information; the symbols are part of time slots; thus, the BS determines, for a symbol in a time slot of a XDD link between the BS and the UE, that the BS can use a combination of multiple UL and DL symbols across BWPs in frequency domain to communicate with the UE at the symbol, where the BS uses the cell-specific configuration information that indicates, for each of the symbols in time domain including the symbol, various combination of two or more UL and DL symbol types to use for the communication; BS reads on the first device and UE reads on the second device; UL and DL symbols read on multiple different symbol type; BWPs read on subbands); and
communicating, in the symbol in the time slot, with the second device within at least one of the one or more first subbands or the one or more second subbands (FIGS. 2, 10, and 11, para 24, 47-48, and 102-114; the BS communicates with UEs using XDD transmission; as seen in FIG. 10, UE4’s DL-UL configuration is such that DL symbols and UL symbols are configured for different BWPs).
However, Kim ‘916 does not specifically disclose a system comprising one or more baseband processors, a first device that includes the one or more baseband processors; sending, to a second device data comprising a bitmap, wherein each bit of the bitmap (i) corresponds to one or more bandwidth units.
Zhou ‘739 teaches a system comprising one or more baseband processors (para 55; a base station includes a baseband processing unit),
a first device that includes the one or more baseband processors (para 55; a base station includes a baseband processing unit);
sending, to a second device data comprising a bitmap, wherein each bit of the bitmap (i) corresponds to one or more bandwidth units (FIGS. 27A and 32B, para 268 and 313-314; base station transmits to a wireless device configuration parameters of a MBS session, where the configuration parameters include a frequency resource indication bitmap; each bit of the bitmap corresponds a respective BWP of a plurality of BWPs of a cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim ‘916’s system that determines that a first device can use a combination of multiple different symbol types across frequency to communicate with a second device, to include Zhou ‘739’s message each bit of a bitmap that corresponds to a respective BWP of a plurality of BWPs of a cell. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve power and radio resource efficiency for MBS transmission on a BWP (Zhou ‘739, para 323).
However, Kim ‘916 in combination with Zhou ‘739 does not specifically disclose (ii) indicates, for the symbol in the time slot, whether the one or more bandwidth units are used for downlink communication or uplink communication.
Awad ‘884 teaches (ii) indicates, for the symbol in the time slot, whether the one or more bandwidth units are used for downlink communication or uplink communication (para 147; indication of whether OFDM symbols in a bandwidth part are configured as uplink symbols reserved for uplink transmission or downlink symbols reserved for downlink transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined system of Kim ‘916 and Zhou ‘739, to include Awad ‘884’s indication of whether OFDM symbols in a bandwidth part are configured as uplink symbols reserved for uplink transmission or downlink symbols reserved for downlink transmission. The motivation for doing so would have been to address challenges for efficiently handling wireless communications (Awad ‘884, para 7).
6. Claims 2-5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘916, in view of Zhou ‘739, further in view of Awad ‘884, and further in view of Rastegardoost ‘232 (US 2023/0189232, “Rastegardoost ‘232”).
Regarding claims 2 and 20, Kim ‘916 in combination with Zhou ‘739 and Awad ‘884 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 19, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘916 teaches wherein the data indicates, for the symbol, the one or more first subbands for a first symbol type and the one or more second subbands for the second, different symbol type (FIGS. 10 and 11, para 24 and 102-114; BS sends to the UE DL-UL configuration information that indicates, for a symbol, BWPs for the UL symbol type and different BWPs for the DL symbol type).
However, Kim ‘916 in combination with Zhou ‘739 and Awad ‘884 does not specifically disclose a first channel bandwidth as the one or more first subbands and a second channel bandwidth as the one or more second subbands.
Rastegardoost ‘232 teaches a first channel bandwidth as the one or more first subbands and a second channel bandwidth as the one or more second subbands (FIG. 18, para 297; a BWP includes multiple subbands).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined first device of Kim ‘916, Zhou ‘739, and Awad ‘884, to include Rastegardoost ‘232’s BWP that includes multiple subbands. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve a channel gain and/or frequency diversity by employing frequency/subband hopping (Rastegardoost ‘232, para 281).
Regarding claim 3, Kim ‘916 in combination with Zhou ‘739 and Awad ‘884 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘916 teaches wherein the data indicates, for the symbol, a first symbol type for the one or more first subbands for uplink communications and a second, different symbol type for the one or more second subbands for downlink communications (FIGS. 10 and 11, para 24 and 102-114; BS sends to the UE DL-UL configuration information that indicates, for a symbol, UL and DL symbols for different BWPs; thus, the BS sends to the UE configuration information that indicates, for the symbol, UL symbols for a BWP and DL symbols for another BWP).
However, Kim ‘916 in combination with Zhou ‘739 and Awad ‘884 does not specifically disclose a first bandwidth unit from the one or more first subbands and a second bandwidth unit from the one or more second subbands.
Rastegardoost ‘232 teaches a first bandwidth unit from the one or more first subbands and a second bandwidth unit from the one or more second subbands (FIG. 18, para 297; a BWP includes multiple subbands).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined first device of Kim ‘916, Zhou ‘739, and Awad ‘884, to include Rastegardoost ‘232’s BWP that includes multiple subbands. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve a channel gain and/or frequency diversity by employing frequency/subband hopping (Rastegardoost ‘232, para 281).
Regarding claim 4, Kim ‘916 in combination with Zhou ‘739, Awad ‘884, and Rastegardoost ‘232 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 3, as outlined above.
Further, Awad ‘884 teaches wherein the bitmap includes, for each of the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit, a bit that indicates whether the each of the first bandwidth unit and the second bandwidth unit has a downlink symbol or an uplink symbol in the time slot (FIG. 7, para 81-86 and 147; indication of whether OFDM symbols in a bandwidth part are configured as uplink symbols reserved for uplink transmission or downlink symbols reserved for downlink transmission; the symbols are in a time slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined first device of Kim ‘916, Zhou ‘739, Awad ‘884, and Rastegardoost ‘232, to further include Awad ‘884’s indication of whether OFDM symbols in a bandwidth part are configured as uplink symbols reserved for uplink transmission or downlink symbols reserved for downlink transmission. The motivation for doing so would have been to address challenges for efficiently handling wireless communications (Awad ‘884, para 7).
Regarding claim 5, Kim ‘916 in combination with Zhou ‘739, Awad ‘884, and Rastegardoost ‘232 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 3, as outlined above.
Further, Awad ‘884 teaches wherein the bitmap includes, for each of the one or more groups of multiple bandwidth units, a bit that indicates whether the bandwidth units in the each of the one or more groups have a downlink symbol or an uplink symbol in the time slot (FIG. 7, para 81-86 and 147; indication of whether OFDM symbols in a bandwidth part are configured as uplink symbols reserved for uplink transmission or downlink symbols reserved for downlink transmission; the symbols are in a time slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined first device of Kim ‘916, Zhou ‘739, Awad ‘884, and Rastegardoost ‘232, to further include Awad ‘884’s indication of whether OFDM symbols in a bandwidth part are configured as uplink symbols reserved for uplink transmission or downlink symbols reserved for downlink transmission. The motivation for doing so would have been to address challenges for efficiently handling wireless communications (Awad ‘884, para 7).
7. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘916,in view of Zhou ‘739, further in view of Awad ‘884, and further in view of Li ‘698 (US 2024/0155698, “Li ‘698”).
Regarding claim 17, Kim ‘916 in combination with Zhou ‘739 and Awad ‘884 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 16, as outlined above.
However, Kim ‘916 in combination with Zhou ‘739 and Awad ‘884 does not specifically disclose wherein the cell-specific configuration data comprises one or more of: a cross-division slot field that indicates a quantity of consecutive cross-division flexible slots in a pattern for which the first device can communicate using the multiple different symbol types across frequency and using the multiple different symbol types across time; a cross-division symbol field that indicates a quantity of consecutive cross-division flexible symbols in a cross-division flexible slot; a flexible slots field that indicates a quantity of consecutive flexible slots in a pattern for which the first device can communicate using the multiple different symbol types across time; a flexible symbol field that indicates a quantity of consecutive flexible symbols in a flexible slot; or a flexible symbol frequency field that indicates a quantity of downlink, a quantity of uplink, or both, symbols across frequency.
Li ‘698 teaches wherein the cell-specific configuration data comprises one or more of:
a cross-division slot field that indicates a quantity of consecutive cross-division flexible slots in a pattern for which the first device can communicate using the multiple different symbol types across frequency and using the multiple different symbol types across time;
a cross-division symbol field that indicates a quantity of consecutive cross-division flexible symbols in a cross-division flexible slot;
a flexible slots field that indicates a quantity of consecutive flexible slots in a pattern for which the first device can communicate using the multiple different symbol types across time;
a flexible symbol field that indicates a quantity of consecutive flexible symbols in a flexible slot; or
a flexible symbol frequency field that indicates a quantity of downlink, a quantity of uplink, or both, symbols across frequency (para 81 and 156; a parameter indicates a quantity of uplink symbols, where symbols correspond to frequencies; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined first device of Kim ‘916, Zhou ‘739, and Awad ‘884, to include Li ‘698’s parameter that indicates a quantity of uplink symbols. The motivation for doing so would have been to address a large transmission latency when terminal behavior does not take into account different urgency and priorities of URLLC and eMBB transmission (Li ‘698, para 2).
Conclusion
Internet Communication
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only. (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.0.
/NEVENA ZECEVIC SANDHU/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474