DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to Request for Reconsideration filed on 01/20/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1 – 20 are pending, no claims were cancelled, no claims have been added & claims 1, 10 & 13 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 2, filed 01/20/2026, with respect to Abstract objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the abstract has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 01/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues claims 1 & 13 not disclose the amendment included, however, these amendments were not considered in the previous office action as it is a new limitation.
Applicant's arguments filed 01/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues claim 1, 3, 6 – 12 & 14 – 20 are allowable based on the amendments made to claims 1 & 13, however, the rejection of claims 1 & 13 continues making all depended claims rejected as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7 - 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashihara et al. (WO 2006070505 A1) in view of Liu et al. (CN 209059884 U), Sun et al. (CN 201687818 U), Zhang et al. (CN 108245380 A), Han et al. (CN 106901947 A) & Shimada et al. (JP 2010035899 A)
Regarding claim 1, A length-adjustable lower limb structure applied to a lower limb of a robot, comprising:
a hip joint assembly 21 comprising a hip joint support 13, a hip joint driver 21a fixed to the hip joint support 13 (Page 12, lines 23 – 25)
Ashihara does not disclose a hip joint transmission handle driven by the hip joint driver; a hip joint connecting plate connected to the hip joint transmission handle, so as to be driven by the hip joint driver.
Liu discloses a hip joint transmission handle 702 driven by the hip joint driver 703;
a hip joint connecting plate 602 connected to the hip joint transmission handle 702, so as to be driven by the hip joint driver (Figure 7 / Page 8 Second to last paragraph).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Ashihara to include a hip joint transmission handle driven by the hip joint driver; a hip joint connecting plate connected to the hip joint transmission handle, so as to be driven by the hip joint driver as it would allow to make the structure compact, driving high matching degree with the joint rotation, small turning error. (Page 4 / Second to last paragraph)
Ashihara discloses an upper thigh link part 22L/22R (Figure 2 / Page 25, last paragraph – Page 26, first paragraph)
However, Ashihara does not specifically disclose the upper thigh link part 22L/22R (thigh part) is a rod.
Han discloses a thigh adjusting rod 28. (Figure 5 / Page 5, Second to last paragraph)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Ashihara to modify the link parts with a rod as they both would complete the same function of allowing the thigh rod to be connected to the hip joint transmission handle, so as to be driven by the hip joint driver. Changing the connecting plate to the thigh rod would not alter the function of the device meaning it would have been obvious to conduct the modification. Also, the rod is able to connect to the sleeve and allows them to rotate relative based on movement. (Figure 5 / Page 5, Second to last paragraph)
Ashihara discloses a knee joint assembly 23 comprising a knee joint fixing base (Note: the examiner considers the fixing base to be the connection with 22 & 24), a knee joint driver 23a fixed on the knee joint fixing base (Page 16, Paragraph 2 & 3).
Ashihara does not disclose a knee joint transmission handle driven by the knee joint driver.
Liu further discloses a knee joint transmission handle 502 driven by the knee joint driver 504 (Figure 5 / Page 8, Paragraph 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Ashihara to include a knee joint assembly comprising a knee joint fixing base, a knee joint driver fixed on the knee joint fixing base, and a knee joint transmission handle driven by the knee joint driver as it would limit the range of the motion of the hip joint flexion and extension direction. (Figure 7 / Page 8, Second to last paragraph)
Modified Ashihara discloses the knee joint fixing base 501 and the thigh rod (Han).
Modified Ashihara does not disclose a sleeve and a connector connected to the knee joint driver, the sleeve is slidably fixed on the thigh rod along an extension direction of the thigh rod.
Sun discloses a sleeve 1, the sleeve 1 is slidably fixed on the thigh rod 3 along an extension direction of the thigh rod 3 (Figure 1 & 3 / Abstract discloses the use of groves which the examiner considers is used to allow the sleeve to slide to a different location of the rod comfortably)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Liu to include disclose a sleeve, the sleeve is slidably fixed on the thigh rod along an extension direction of the thigh rod as it would allow the possibility of locking the sleeve in a specific way in the rod with a simple rotation. (Paragraph 0007) This would be done by modifying the rod of Liu with the rod of Sun as it includes grooves that are able to allow the sleeve to move freely and lock with rotation. (Figure 1 & 2)
Zhang discloses a connector 15 connected to the knee joint driver 12 (Figure 2)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Liu to include a connector connected to the knee joint driver. This would be connected to the as it would allow the length adjusting rod to be connected to the knee joint connecting plate of Liu as it is a commonly known way to connect different parts of a device together. By including this connecting piece, it would allow the connection to be fixed between the knee joint driver and ensure any free rotation needed to complete the movement of the user. (Page 7, Paragraph 3)
Modified Ashihara discloses a knee joint transmission handle 502 and a knee joint driver 504 (Liu). (as disclosed previously)
Modified Ashihara does not discloses a log knee joint connection plate.
Liu further discloses log knee joint connection plate 401 connected to the knee joint transmission handle 502 and driven by the knee joint driver 504 (Figure 5 /Page 8, Paragraph 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Ashihara to include log knee joint connection plate connected to the knee joint transmission handle and driven by the knee joint driver as it would allow the function of adjusting the length of bone outside the leg and the thigh external skeleton. (Page 3, Paragraph 5 & 7)
Modified Ashihara discloses a lower leg 24R/25L. (Figure 1)
However, modified Ashihara does not disclose that the lower leg is a rod.
Han discloses a thigh adjusting rod 28. (Figure 5 / Page 5, Second to last paragraph)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Ashihara to modify the lower leg with a rod as they both would complete the same function of allowing the thigh rod to be connected to the knee joint transmission handle, so as to be driven by the knee joint driver. Changing the connecting plate to the thigh rod would not alter the function of the device meaning it would have been obvious to conduct the modification. Also, the rod is able to connect to the sleeve and allows them to rotate relative based on movement. (Figure 5 / Page 5, Second to last paragraph)
the lower leg rod extends along the said line connecting the centers; (Figure 2) wherein when the lower limb structure is in an upright state (Figure 1 – 3).
Modified Ashihara does not discloses the thigh rod is laterally offset by a distance from the line connecting the centers of the hip joint driver and the knee joint driver.
Furthermore, since applicants have not disclosed that these modifications solve any stated problem or are for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs, these modifications are a matter of design choice. Absent a teaching as to criticality of the laterally offset thigh rod, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). MPEP 2144.05. Ashihara already discloses the use of the knee joint as the sole way of adjusting the length of the device in order to ensure the knee joint is always on a bent state. This means the function of the thigh rod will not be changed if it is moved laterally. (Page 16, Paragraph 2 & 3)
Regarding claim 7, Modified Ashihara discloses a lower limb structure as claimed in claim 1.
Modified Ashihara discloses further comprising a sole assembly 30R/L & 31R/L connected to a lower end of the lower leg rod (as claimed in claim 1). (Figure 1)
Regarding claim 8, Modified Ashihara discloses a lower limb structure as claimed in claim 1.
Modified Ashihara discloses a lower leg rod (as claimed in claim 1).
Sun further discloses a hollow lower leg fixing rod (as claimed in claim 1) having an upper end connected to the knee joint transmission handle (Note: the examiner considers the rod is already disclosed to be connected to the transmission handle as claimed in claim 1); and
a lower leg adjusting rod 3 slidably fitted into the lower leg fixing rod 2.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashihara et al. (WO 2006070505 A1) in view of Liu et al. (CN 209059884 U), Sun et al. (CN 201687818 U), Zhang et al. (CN 108245380 A), Han et al. (CN 106901947 A) & Shimada et al. (JP 2010035899 A)as claimed in claim 8, in further view of Yeager et al. (US 7373942 B1)
Regarding claim 9, Modified Ashihara discloses a lower limb structure as claimed in claim 8.
Modified Ashihara discloses a lower leg rod (as claimed in claim 1).
Modified Ashihara does not expressly disclose wherein, the lower leg rod further comprises a lower leg rod limit assembly comprising a second limit post, wherein, the lower leg adjusting rod is provided with a plurality of second limit holes along an extension direction of the lower leg adjusting rod, and the lower leg fixing rod is formed with a second limit opening aligned with one of the plurality of second limit holes; and
the second limit post passes through the second limit opening to be clamped in one of the plurality of second limit holes.
Yeager discloses wherein, the lower leg rod 20 further comprises a lower leg rod limit assembly comprising a second limit post (Note: element 27 discloses a stop) (Figure 1), wherein, the lower leg adjusting rod 27 is provided with a plurality of second limit holes along an extension direction of the lower leg adjusting rod 27 (Abstract), and the lower leg fixing rod 20 is formed with a second limit opening aligned with one of the plurality of second limit holes (Column 3, Paragraph 2); and
the second limit post passes through the second limit opening to be clamped in one of the plurality of second limit holes. (Column 3, Paragraph 2);
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date to further modify Ashihara to include wherein, the lower leg rod further comprises a lower leg rod limit assembly comprising a second limit post, wherein, the lower leg adjusting rod is provided with a plurality of second limit holes along an extension direction of the lower leg adjusting rod, and the lower leg fixing rod is formed with a second limit opening aligned with one of the plurality of second limit holes; and the second limit post passes through the second limit opening to be clamped in one of the plurality of second limit holes as it would allow the leg extensions to increase the length of each of the side support vertical legs according to the height of the patient. (Column 3, Paragraph 2)
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashihara et al. (WO 2006070505 A1) in view of Liu et al. (CN 209059884 U), Sun et al. (CN 201687818 U), Zhang et al. (CN 108245380 A), Han et al. (CN 106901947 A) & Shimada et al. (JP 2010035899 A) as claimed in claim 9, in further view of Chen et al. (CN 105798881 A)
Regarding claim 10, Modified Ashihara discloses a lower limb structure as claimed in claim 9.
Modified Ashihara does not expressly disclose wherein the lower leg rod limit assembly further comprises a limit sleeve and an adjusting nut fixed to an inner surface of the limit sleeve, wherein, the limit sleeve surrounds a lower end of the lower leg fixing rod, such that the lower end of the lower leg fixing rod abuts against the adjusting nut, and the limit sleeve is rotatable relative to the lower leg fixing rod; the adjusting nut surrounds an outer surface of the lower leg adjusting rod and in thread engagement with the lower leg adjusting rod, such that the lower leg adjusting rod retracts into or extends out of the lower leg fixing rod.
However, it does disclose this limitation being modified for the thigh rod (as claimed in 2) meaning it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Liu to include the same modifications made to the thigh rod to be done to the lower leg rod as both include the same limitations and would be able to complete the same function of adjustment.
Also, Chen discloses having two leg adjustments on the same rod, including a screw nut adjusting mechanism connected to the foot plate. (Claim 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the at prior to the effective filing date to further modify Ashihara to include the possibility of two leg adjustments on the same rod and include a screw nut adjusting mechanism connected to the foot plate as it would allow the height of thigh assembly and shank component can be regulated where freely switching of walking, stair activity and different modes such as standing up of squatting down can be realized. (Chen, Page 2, Paragraph 10)
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashihara et al. (WO 2006070505 A1) in view of Liu et al. (CN 209059884 U), Sun et al. (CN 201687818 U), Zhang et al. (CN 108245380 A), Han et al. (CN 106901947 A) & Shimada et al. (JP 2010035899 A)& Chen et al. (CN 105798881 A) as claimed in claim 10, in further view of Singh et al. (US 20190282274 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Modified Ashihara discloses the lower limb structure according to claim 3.
Modified Ashihara discloses the thigh rod limit assembly.
Modified Ashihara does not disclose a plurality of roll balls between the upper end surface of the adjusting sleeve and the lower end surface of the sleeve, such that the upper end surface of the adjusting sleeve and the lower end surface of the sleeve are in rolling contact via the plurality of roll balls.
Singh discloses a plurality of roll balls 92 between the upper end surface of the adjusting sleeve 5 and the lower end surface of the sleeve 5 (Figure 3), such that the upper end surface of the adjusting sleeve 5 and the lower end surface of the sleeve 5 are in rolling contact via the plurality of roll balls 92. (Figure 3 / Paragraph 0052 – 0053)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Ashihara to include a plurality of roll balls between the upper end surface of the adjusting sleeve and the lower end surface of the sleeve, such that the upper end surface of the adjusting sleeve and the lower end surface of the sleeve are in rolling contact via the plurality of roll balls in order to ensure the actuation element of the device to be borne in the sleeve. (Paragraph 0052 - 0053)
Regarding claim 5, Modified Ashihara the lower limb structure according to claim 4.
Modified Ashihara discloses the thigh rod limit assembly. (as claimed in claim 2)
Modified Ashihara does not disclose a roll ball holding frame for holding the plurality of roll balls.
Singh discloses a roll ball holding frame 90/91 for holding the plurality of roll balls 92 (Paragraph 0053)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Ashihara to include a roll ball holding frame for holding the plurality of roll balls as it would allow the plurality of balls to be arranged in the sleeve. (Paragraph 0052 – 0053)
Regarding claim 11, Modified Ashihara discloses a lower limb structure as claimed in claim 10.
Modified Ashihara discloses a lower end of the lower leg rod. (as claimed in claim 1)
Modified Ashihara does not disclose a flange, the inner surface of the limit sleeve is formed with a retracted step, and the flange is positioned between the retracted step and the adjusting nut.
Singh discloses a flange 55, the inner surface of the limit sleeve 5 is formed with a retracted step 50, and the flange 55 is positioned between the retracted step 50 and the adjusting nut 56. (Paragraph 0047)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Ashihara wherein a lower end of the lower leg rod is formed with a flange, the inner surface of the limit sleeve is formed with a retracted step, and the flange is positioned between the retracted step and the adjusting nut. Including a retractable step would be obvious at it would serve to provide a bearing for the sleeve of the device, while the flange is able to distinctly separate the clamping section of the device from the bearing section. (Paragraph 0047)
Regarding claim 12, Modified Ashihara discloses the lower limb structure according to claim 11.
Modified Ashihara discloses the lower leg rod limit assembly further comprises: a flange and the retracted step (as claimed in claim 11)
Modified Ashihara does not disclose a roll ball holding frame for holding the plurality of roll balls.
Singh discloses a roll ball holding frame 90/91 for holding the plurality of roll balls 92 (Paragraph 0053)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Ashihara to include a roll ball holding frame for holding the plurality of roll balls as it would allow the plurality of balls to be arranged in the sleeve. (Paragraph 0052 – 0053)
Claim(s) 2 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashihara et al. (WO 2006070505 A1) in view of Liu et al. (CN 209059884 U), Sun et al. (CN 201687818 U), Zhang et al. (CN 108245380 A), Han et al. (CN 106901947 A) & Shimada et al. (JP 2010035899 A)as claimed in claim 1, in further view of Gao et al. (CN 103610569 A) & Yeager et al. (US 7373942 B1)
Regarding claim 2, Modified Ashihara discloses a lower limb structure as claimed in claim 1.
Sun further discloses wherein, the thigh rod 3 further comprises a thigh rod limit assembly comprising a first limit post (Note: the examiner considers the first limit post to be the area where the grooves stop in the rod).
Modified Ashihara does not disclose that the thigh rod is provided with a plurality of first limit holes along an extension direction of the thigh rod.
Yeager discloses the rod 20 is provided with a plurality of first limit holes 27 along an extension direction of the rod 20.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Ashihara to modify the thigh rod of modified Ashihara and include the mechanism of the use of a plurality of holes as it will allow to increase the length of each of the side support vertical legs according to the height of the patient. (Column 3, Paragraph 3)
Modified Ashihara discloses the sleeve is formed with a first limit opening having a position aligned with one of the plurality of first limit holes. (Note: the examiner considers, based on the modifications done, the sleeve included has grooves that allow the sleeve to go done the first limit post and would be able to be aligned with one of the plurality of first limit holes)
the first limit post (grooves claimed in claim 1) passes through the first limit opening (grooves found in the sleeve of Sun) to be clamped in one of the plurality of first limit holes 13 (Gao).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Liu discloses a lower limb structure as claimed in claim 2.
Modified Liu wherein, the thigh rod 22L/22R (Ashihara) is formed with a groove 201 (SUN) along the extension direction of the thigh rod 22L/22R, the plurality of first limit holes (as claimed in claim 1) are provided in the groove 201 (SUN); a boss 202 (SUN) is formed on an inner surface of the sleeve 1 (SUN), and the boss 202 (SUN) is clamped in the groove 201 (SUN) when the thigh rod 22L/22R (Ashihara) passes through the sleeve 1. (SUN, Figure 1 & 2)
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 209059884 U) in view of Liu et al. (CN 209059884 U), Sun et al. (CN 201687818 U), Zhang et al. (CN 108245380 A), Han et al. (CN 106901947 A) & Shimada et al. (JP 2010035899 A)claim 2, in view of Lenihan et al. (GB 2533649 A)
Regarding claim 3, Modified Liu discloses a lower limb structure as claimed in claim 2.
Modified Liu does not disclose wherein the thigh rod limit assembly further comprises an adjusting sleeve and a locking nut, wherein, the thigh rod passes through the adjusting sleeve to be in thread engagement with the adjusting sleeve, such that a position of the adjusting sleeve along the extension direction of the thigh rod is variable, and the adjusting sleeve is located below the sleeve, such that an upper end surface of the adjusting sleeve is in contact with a lower end surface of the sleeve;
the locking nut surrounds the upper end surface of the adjusting sleeve and the lower end surface of the sleeve, to maintain the contact between the upper end surface of the adjusting sleeve and the lower end surface of the sleeve or maintain a constant axial distance between the upper end surface of the adjusting sleeve and the lower end surface of the sleeve.
Lenihan discloses wherein the thigh rod limit assembly further comprises an adjusting sleeve 50 and a locking nut 70, wherein, the thigh rod 10 passes through the adjusting sleeve 50 to be in thread engagement 60 with the adjusting sleeve 50 (Figure 6), such that a position of the adjusting sleeve 50 along the extension direction of the thigh rod 10 is variable, and the adjusting sleeve 50 is located below the sleeve 40, such that an upper end surface of the adjusting sleeve 50 is in contact with a lower end surface of the sleeve 40.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Liu to include an adjusting sleeve and a locking nut, wherein, the thigh rod passes through the adjusting sleeve to be in thread engagement with the adjusting sleeve, such that a position of the adjusting sleeve along the extension direction of the thigh rod is variable, and the adjusting sleeve is located below the sleeve, such that an upper end surface of the adjusting sleeve is in contact with a lower end surface of the sleeve in order to ensure the threaded member is able to keep the lock nut firm in place so that the sleeve is only able to be taken out of the rod with a use of a tool to ensure safety. (Page 15, lines 5 – 32)
Lenihan discloses the locking nut 70 surrounds the upper end surface of the adjusting sleeve 50 and the lower end surface of the sleeve 40, to maintain the contact between the upper end surface of the adjusting sleeve 50 and the lower end surface of the sleeve 40 or maintain a constant axial distance between the upper end surface of the adjusting sleeve 50 and the lower end surface of the sleeve 40.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Liu to have the locking nut surround the upper end surface of the adjusting sleeve and the lower end surface of the sleeve, to maintain the contact between the upper end surface of the adjusting sleeve and the lower end surface of the sleeve or maintain a constant axial distance between the upper end surface of the adjusting sleeve and the lower end surface of the sleeve to ensure the threaded member is able to keep the lock nut firm in place so that the sleeve is only able to be taken out of the rod with a use of a tool to ensure safety. (Page 15, lines 5 – 32)
Claim(s) 13 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashihara et al. (WO 2006070505 A1) in view of Liu et al. (CN 209059884 U), Sun et al. (CN 201687818 U), Zhang et al. (CN 108245380 A), Han et al. (CN 106901947 A), Shimada et al. (JP 2010035899 A) & Shuai et al. (CN 206761898 U).
Regarding claim 13, An exoskeleton robot, comprising:
lower limbs each having a lower limb structure, the lower limb structure comprises:
a hip joint assembly 21 comprising a hip joint support 13, a hip joint driver 21a fixed to the hip joint support 13 (Page 12, lines 23 – 25)
Ashihara does not disclose a hip joint transmission handle driven by the hip joint driver; a hip joint connecting plate connected to the hip joint transmission handle, so as to be driven by the hip joint driver.
Liu discloses a hip joint transmission handle 702 driven by the hip joint driver 703;
a hip joint connecting plate 602 connected to the hip joint transmission handle 702, so as to be driven by the hip joint driver (Figure 7 / Page 8 Second to last paragraph).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Ashihara to include a hip joint transmission handle driven by the hip joint driver; a hip joint connecting plate connected to the hip joint transmission handle, so as to be driven by the hip joint driver as it would allow to make the structure compact, driving high matching degree with the joint rotation, small turning error. (Page 4 / Second to last paragraph)
Ashihara discloses an upper thigh link part 22L/22R (Figure 2 / Page 25, last paragraph – Page 26, first paragraph)
However, Ashihara does not disclose a thigh rod.
Han discloses a thigh adjusting rod 28. (Figure 5)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Ashihara to modify the link parts with a rod as they both would complete the same function of allowing the thigh rod to be connected to the hip joint transmission handle, so as to be driven by the hip joint driver. Changing the connecting plate to the thigh rod would not alter the function of the device meaning it would have been obvious to conduct the modification. Also, the rod is able to connect to the sleeve and allows them to rotate relative based on movement. (Figure 5)
Ashihara discloses a knee joint assembly 23 comprising a knee joint fixing base (Note: the examiner considers the fixing base to be the connection with 22 & 24), a knee joint driver 23a fixed on the knee joint fixing base (Page 16, Paragraph 2 & 3).
Ashihara does not disclose a knee joint transmission handle driven by the knee joint driver.
Liu further discloses a knee joint transmission handle 502 driven by the knee joint driver 504 (Figure 5 / Page 8, Paragraph 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Ashihara to include a knee joint assembly comprising a knee joint fixing base, a knee joint driver fixed on the knee joint fixing base, and a knee joint transmission handle driven by the knee joint driver as it would limit the range of the motion of the hip joint flexion and extension direction. (Figure 7 / Page 8, Second to last paragraph)
Modified Ashihara discloses a knee joint transmission handle 502 and a knee joint driver 504 (Liu). (as disclosed previously)
Modified Ashihara does not discloses a log knee joint connection plate.
Liu further discloses log knee joint connection plate 401 connected to the knee joint transmission handle 502 and driven by the knee joint driver 504 (Figure 5 /Page 8, Paragraph 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Ashihara to include log knee joint connection plate connected to the knee joint transmission handle and driven by the knee joint driver as it would allow the function of adjusting the length of bone outside the leg and the thigh external skeleton. (Page 3, Paragraph 5 & 7)
Modified Ashihara discloses the knee joint fixing base 501 and the thigh rod (Han).
Modified Ashihara does not disclose a sleeve and a connector connected to the knee joint driver, the sleeve is slidably fixed on the thigh rod along an extension direction of the thigh rod.
Sun discloses a sleeve 1, the sleeve 1 is slidably fixed on the thigh rod 3 along an extension direction of the thigh rod 3 (Figure 1 & 3 / Abstract discloses the use of groves which the examiner considers is used to allow the sleeve to slide to a different location of the rod comfortably)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Liu to include disclose a sleeve, the sleeve is slidably fixed on the thigh rod along an extension direction of the thigh rod as it would allow the possibility of locking the sleeve in a specific way in the rod with a simple rotation. (Paragraph 0007) This would be done by modifying the rod of Liu with the rod of Sun as it includes grooves that are able to allow the sleeve to move freely and lock with rotation. (Figure 1 & 2)
Zhang discloses a connector 15 connected to the knee joint driver 12 (Figure 2)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Liu to include a connector connected to the knee joint driver. This would be connected to the as it would allow the length adjusting rod to be connected to the knee joint connecting plate of Liu as it is a commonly known way to connect different parts of a device together. By including this connecting piece, it would allow the connection to be fixed between the knee joint driver and ensure any free rotation needed to complete the movement of the user. (Page 7, Paragraph 3)
Liu further discloses log knee joint connection plate 401 connected to the knee joint transmission handle 502 and driven by the knee joint driver 504 (Figure 5 /Page 8, Paragraph 4).
Modified Ashihara discloses a lower leg 24R/25L. (Figure 1)
However, modified Ashihara does not disclose that the lower leg is a rod.
Han discloses a thigh adjusting rod 28. (Figure 5 / Page 5, Second to last paragraph)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Ashihara to modify the lower leg with a rod as they both would complete the same function of allowing the thigh rod to be connected to the knee joint transmission handle, so as to be driven by the knee joint driver. Changing the connecting plate to the thigh rod would not alter the function of the device meaning it would have been obvious to conduct the modification. Also, the rod is able to connect to the sleeve and allows them to rotate relative based on movement. (Figure 5 / Page 5, Second to last paragraph)
Modified Ashihara discloses a waist support device 10 mounted with the lower limbs (Note: the examiner considers this to be anything under 10) (Figure 1 – 4); and
Modified Ashihara does not disclose a suspension device on which the waist support device is mounted.
Shuai discloses a suspension device 1 on which the waist support device 2 is mounted. (Figure 2 & Claim 7)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Liu to include a suspension device on which the waist support device is mounted as this would allow to provide a power assist to be limb motion and would allow to move the waist support device move up and down based on position of the limb when moving. (Claim 8)
the lower leg rod extends along the said line connecting the centers; (Figure 2) wherein when the lower limb structure is in an upright state (Figure 1 – 3).
Modified Ashihara does not discloses the thigh rod is laterally offset by a distance from the line connecting the centers of the hip joint driver and the knee joint driver.
Furthermore, since applicants have not disclosed that these modifications solve any stated problem or are for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs, these modifications are a matter of design choice. Absent a teaching as to criticality of the laterally offset thigh rod, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). MPEP 2144.05. Ashihara already discloses the use of the knee joint as the sole way of adjusting the length of the device in order to unsure the knee joint is always on a bent state. This means the function of the thigh rod will not be changed if it is moved laterally. (Page 16, Paragraph 2 & 3)
Regarding claim 14, Modified Ashihara discloses the exoskeleton robot as claimed in claim 13.
Shuai further discloses wherein the suspension device 1 comprises:
a suspension frame (Claim 1);
a suspension mechanism 12 mounted on the suspension frame (Abstract), and the waist support device 2 mounted on the suspension mechanism (Claim 7); and
an auxiliary mechanism 13 mounted on the suspension frame (Abstract), and connected to the suspension mechanism (Abstract), the auxiliary mechanism 13 outputs an auxiliary force to assist the suspension mechanism 12 to suspend the waist support device 2 and the lower limbs 3 (Figure 2 & Page 4, Paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 15, Modified Ashihara discloses the exoskeleton robot as claimed in claim 14.
Shuai further discloses wherein, after the waist support device 2 is suspended to a predetermined position (Claim 8), the suspension mechanism 12 is locked (Claim 8), and when the user moves through the lower limbs 3, and drives the waist support device 2 to move up and down relative to the predetermined position, the auxiliary mechanism 13 further outputs the auxiliary force to assist movement of the lower limbs 3 (Claim 8).
Regarding claim 16, Modified Ashihara discloses the exoskeleton robot as claimed in to claim 15.
Shuai further discloses wherein the suspension frame comprises a suspension bearing rod 112 and two longitudinal sliding rods 111 arranged in parallel on both sides of the suspension bearing rod 112 (Figure 1), and the auxiliary suspension mechanism 12 and the auxiliary mechanism 13 are mounted on the suspension bearing rod 112 (Claim 2).
Regarding claim 17, Modified Ashihara discloses the exoskeleton robot as claimed in claim 16.
Shuai further discloses wherein the suspension mechanism 12 comprises:
at least one pulley 121 mounted on the suspension bearing rod 112; and
a rope 122 mounted on the at least one pulley 121, and connected to the auxiliary mechanism 13 at one end, a member to be suspended is mounted on the rope 122, and the member is suspended by pulling the other end of the rope 122 (Claim 3).
Regarding claim 18, Modified Ashihara discloses the exoskeleton robot as claimed in claim 17.
Shuai further discloses wherein the suspension bearing rod 112 is provided with a through hole through which a part of the rope 122 passes, and the member to be suspended is mounted on a part of the rope 122 passing through the through hole. (Claim 4)
Regarding claim 19, Modified Ashihara discloses the exoskeleton robot as claimed in claim 17.
Shuai further discloses wherein the auxiliary mechanism 13 comprises:
a fixing base 131 fixedly connected to an end part of the suspension bearing rod 112; and
a spring 132 having one end connected to the fixing base 131, and the other end connected to one end of the rope 122. (Claim 5)
Regarding claim 20, Modified Ashihara discloses the exoskeleton robot as claimed in claim 17.
Shuai further discloses wherein the suspension device further comprises a winch 14 connected to the other end of the rope 122, the winch 14 is rotated to drive the rope 122 to slide between the at least one pulley 121 to suspend the member to be suspended, and when the member is suspended to the predetermined position, the winch 14 is locked. (Claim 6)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRACIELA NATALIA LEBRON DE JESUS/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785