DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims Status
Claims 1-5, 10, 11, 20-23, 31-33, 58, & 59 filed on 04/20/2026 are pending. Claims 26-28 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention. Claims 3, 10, 22, & 23 are currently under examination directed to the elected species of tumor in claim 3, of 10 particular genes (LRP1, FTL, CKB, ACTG1, HSP90AB1, CTSB, PKM, FN1, ACTB, & EEF1A1) in claim 10, of the particular SEQ ID NOs. (SEQ ID NOS. 9, 10, 13, 14, 19, 20, 21, 22, 27, 28, 37, 38, 41, 42, 49, 50, 57, 58, 61, & 62) in claim 22, and of the method for calculating the cancer progression risk of a subject from claim 23 (see response dated 02/28/2025). The cancellation of claims 6-9, 12-19, 24, 25, 29, 30, & 34-57 without disclaimer, waiver, or prejudice and the addition of new claim 59 in the response dated 04/20/2026 are acknowledged. All the amendments and arguments have been thoroughly reviewed but are deemed insufficient to place this application in condition for allowance. The following rejections are either newly applied, as necessitated by amendment, or are reiterated. They constitute the complete set being presently applied to the instant application. Response to Applicant’s argument follow. This action is Non-FINAL.
Any rejection not reiterated is hereby withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 59 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 59, claim 59 recites “wherein the treatment regimen is selected without reliance on histopathological tumor grading, recurrence status, or both” in lines 1-2 of the claim. The specification of the instant application has been thoroughly reviewed by support for this newly added limitation was not found. While there is no in haec verba requirement, newly added claims or claim limitations must be supported in the specification through express, implicit, or inherent disclosure. In this instant situation, the limitation of “wherein the treatment regimen is selected without reliance on histopathological tumor grading, recurrence status, or both” is not expressly recited in the specification of the instant application. Additionally, there does not appear to be implicit or inherent support for this limitation of without reliance on histopathological tumor grading, recurrence status, or both because the specification of the instant application asserts that high risk progression indicates a patient may be more resistant to treatment and a more aggressive or non-standard treatment regiment should be considered (see paragraph [0008] of instant specification). Since it is not clear how the newly added limitations are implicitly or inherently disclosed, the claim is rejected under 35 USC 112(a). In response, the applicant may cancel the new matter, or provide explanations as to where the limitations find express, implicit, or inherent support.
Claims 1-5, 10, 11, 20-23, 31-33, 58, & 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding amended claim 1, the recitation of “administering to the subject a therapeutic regimen based on the determined glioblastoma progression risk score” in lines 15-16 of the claim is unclear as to what the relationship is between a therapeutic regiment and determined glioblastoma risk score. Do particular determined glioblastoma risk score indicate administering specific therapeutic regimens? What glioblastoma risk scores indicate a need for administering a therapeutic regimen?
Regarding new claim 59, the claim recites the limitation “the method of claim wherein” in line 1 of the claim and there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation and it is unclear what claim is meant to be further limited by new claim 59.
Claims 2-5, 10, 11, 20-23, 31-33, & 58 are rejected due to their dependence on claim 1.
Claim 59 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 59 does not recite a claim that is depends from and therefore new claim 59 does not further limit a pending claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5, 10, 11, 20, 21, 23, 31-33, 58, & 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural correlation/law of nature and an abstract idea without significantly more. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application and the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons set forth below.
35 U.S.C. § 101 requires that to be patent-eligible, an invention (1) must be directed to one of the four statutory categories, and (2) must not be wholly directed to subject matter encompassing a judicially recognized exception. M.P.E.P. § 2106. Regarding judicial exceptions, “[p]henomena of nature, though just discovered, mental processes, and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work.” Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 67 (1972); see also M.P.E.P. § 2106. The unpatentability of abstract ideas was confirmed by the U.S. Supreme court in Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 601 (June 28, 2010) and Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2354 (2014). See also Myriad v Ambry, CAFC 2014-1361, -1366, December 17, 2014. The unpatentability of laws of nature was confirmed by the U.S. Supreme Court in Mayo Collaborative Services v. Prometheus Laboratories, Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71 (2012). “[L]aws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas” are not patentable. Dia-mond v. Diehr, 450 U. S. 175, 185 (1981); see also Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U. S. at 601 (2010).
Claims Analysis:
As set forth in MPEP 2106, the claims have been analyzed to determine whether they are directed to one of the four statutory categories (STEP 1).
The instant claims are directed to methods and therefore are directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention.
The claims are then analyzed to determine if they recite a judicial exception (JE) (STEP 2A, prong 1) [Mayo Collaborative Services v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 132 S. Ct. 1289, 1293 (2012), Alice Corp. Pry. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134 S. Ct. 2347 (2014)].
The claimed invention recites a method determining a glioblastoma progression risk score as high risk progression risk score when the subject has an aggressive glioblastoma through detecting expression levels of genes. This recitation is a natural correlation between expression levels of genes and high risk of glioblastoma progression and aggressive glioblastoma. With regard to the natural correlation, as in Mayo, the relationship is itself a natural process that exists apart from any human action. The claimed invention also recites “calculating the glioblastoma progression risk score of the subject” through obtaining a cancer progression risk score model (claim 23) which is the recitation of an abstract idea because it encompasses mathematical concepts and calculations. It is therefore determined that the claims are directed to judicial exceptions.
The claims are then analyzed to determine whether they recite an element or step that integrates the JE into a practical application (STEP 2A, prong 2) [Vanda Pharmaceuticals Inc., v. West-Ward Pharmaceuticals, 887 F.3d 1117 (Fed. Cir. 2018)].
The claims recite steps of measuring or having measured expression levels of genes, calculating the cancer progression risk of the subject, and using the glioblastoma progression gene signature to determine the glioblastoma progression risk score of the subject, however this does not integrate the JE into a practical application because it is a mere data gathering step to use the correlation and does not add a meaningful limitation to the method.
Although the claims recite “administering to the subject a therapeutic regimen based on the determined glioblastoma progression risk score”, this step is conditional as it is “based on” the determined glioblastoma progression risk score of a subject. Accordingly, these generally recited elements are considered nothing more than instructions to apply the law of nature because no particular conditions are required by the step of detecting gene expression or calculating the cancer progression risk score. Additionally, the “administering” step is merely a generalized “treat” limitation with no particularity that integrates the judicial exception into a practical application. The Supreme Court does acknowledge that it is possible to transform an unpatentable law of nature, but one must do more than simply state the law of nature while adding the words "apply it.” CLS BankInt’l, 134 S.Ct. at 2358; Prometheus, 132 S. Cl, at 1294.
In the absence of steps or elements that integrate the JE into a practical application, the additional elements/steps are considered to determine whether they add significantly more to the JE either individually or as an ordered combination, to “’transform the nature of the claim’ into a patent eligible application” [Mayo Collaborative Services v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 132 S. Ct. 1289, 1293 (2012), Alice Corp. Pry. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134 S. Ct. 2347 (2014)] (STEP 2B).
The steps of detecting gene expression are generally recited and do not provide any particular reagents that might be considered elements that transform the nature of the claims into a patent eligible application because no specific elements/steps are recited. In addition, the steps of calculating the cancer progression risk score are generally recited and incorporates the use of mathematical calculations (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C)). This step is not only a mere data gathering step, but the general recitation of detection of known nucleic acids is well understood, routine, and conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)). Applicant is reminded that in Mayo, the Court found that “[i]f a law of nature is not patentable, then neither is a process reciting a law of nature, unless that process has additional features that provide practical assurance that the process is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the law of nature itself." Further "conventional or obvious" "[pre]solution activity" is normally not sufficient to transform an unpatentable law of nature into a patent-eligible application of such a law”. Flook, 437 U. S., at 590; see also Bilski, 561 U. S., at ___ (slip op., at 14) (“[T]he prohibition against patenting abstract ideas ‘cannot be circumvented by’ . . . adding ‘insignificant post-solution activity’” (quoting Diehr, supra, at 191–192)). The Court also summarized their holding by stating “[t]o put the matter more succinctly, the claims inform a relevant audience about certain laws of nature; any additional steps consist of well understood, routine, conventional activity already engaged in by the scientific community; and those steps, when viewed as a whole, add nothing significant beyond the sum of their parts taken separately.” Therefore these limitations/steps do not “‘transform the nature of the claim’ into a patent-eligible application.’” Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2355 (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1297).
When viewed as an ordered combination, the claimed limitations are directed to nothing more than the determination that a natural correlation/phenomena exists. Any additional element consists of using well understood, routine and conventional activity, and those steps, when viewed as a whole, add nothing significant beyond the sum of their parts taken separately.
Accordingly, it is determined that the instant claims are not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Response to Arguments
The response traverses the rejection. The response asserts that the claim is patent eligible under Step 2A, Ping Two because it integrates any such exception into a practical application as the claim integrates a specific glioblastoma risk score to not only stratify subjects with glioblastomas that are more aggressive than others by also informs treatment selection. Further, the response asserts that claim 1 can be distinguished from ineligible claim 1 of Example 49 of the Patent Eligibility guidance as claim 1 of Example 49 is purely diagnostic methos that ends with classification of a patients risk and merely requires administering an “appropriate treatment” without specifying any particular treatment or linking treatment selection with the calculated result and, in contrast, instant claim 1 does not end with risk stratification and does not recite a generic treatment step. Further, the response asserts that instant claim 1 requires determining the subject has aggressive glioblastoma based on a 5-gene expression signature and a calculated progression risk score, and administering a therapeutic regimen based on that determination wherein a subject identified as high-risk must receive a more aggressive or non-standard glioblastoma therapy. Further, the response asserts that the treatment limitation cannot be dismissed as insignificant post-solution activity as a treatment limitation that requires selection among materially different therapeutic approaches based on a calculated patient-specific risk score is not a generic instruction to “apply it” but a meaningful limitation that defines how the method is performed in practice. This argument has been thoroughly reviewed but was not found persuasive. First, it is reiterated that although the claims recite “administering to the subject a therapeutic regimen based on the determined glioblastoma progression risk score”, this step is conditional as it is “based on” the determined glioblastoma progression risk score of a subject. Accordingly, these generally recited elements are considered nothing more than instructions to apply the law of nature because no particular conditions are required by the step of detecting gene expression or calculating the cancer progression risk score. Additionally, the “administering” step is merely a generalized “treat” limitation with no particularity that integrates the judicial exception into a practical application. Further, the administration of a glioblastoma therapeutic that is more aggressive or non-standard in scenario where the subject is identified as high-risk is broad and encompasses a wide range of possible treatments and therefore are not meaningful constraints on the administration step such that the particular treatment consideration would apply because it is not limited to a particular glioblastoma therapeutic or modality (see example 49 of 2024 Guidance Update on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility).
The response also asserts that the specification describes deriving the glioblastoma progression risk score using a multi-step computational framework and this distinction further underscore that the present claims are not directed to the simple type of mathematical formation contemplated by Example 49. This argument has been thoroughly reviewed but was not found persuasive as the steps of calculating the cancer progression risk score are generally recited and incorporates the use of mathematical calculations (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C)).
The response also asserts that the Office has not identified any reference that discloses or suggests measuring the combination of HSP90AB1, FTL, CKB, ACTG1, and LRP1 together in a glioblastoma tumor sample for purposes of determining tumor aggressiveness or guiding treatment selection and as such the claimed methodology cannot be fairly viewed as well-understood, routine, or conventional. This argument has been thoroughly reviewed but was not found persuasive as The steps of detecting gene expression are generally recited and do not provide any particular reagents that might be considered elements that transform the nature of the claims into a patent eligible application because no specific elements/steps are recited. In addition, the steps of calculating the cancer progression risk score are generally recited and incorporates the use of mathematical calculations (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C)). This step is not only a mere data gathering step, but the general recitation of detection of known nucleic acids is well understood, routine, and conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)).
For these reasons, and the reasons already made of record and modified to address the claims as currently amended, the rejections are maintained and applied to the newly amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 10, 11, 20, 31-33, & 58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fatai (Fatai & Gamieldien; BMC Cancer, Vol. 18, pages 1-13, April 2018), in view of Davis (Davis; Clinical Journal Oncology Nurse, Vol.20, pages 1-14, October 2016).
Regarding amended claim 1, Fatai teaches a method of assessing the prognostic value of a gene expression signature in glioblastoma patients to discriminate between rapidly-progressing (high risk progression) and slowly-progressing (low risk progression) patients (glioblastoma progression gene signature) (calculating a glioblastoma progression risk score of a subject using expression levels of genes of the glioblastoma gene signature) through profiling the expression of genes on the Affymetrix HT HG-U133A platform, in which the Affymetrix U133 platform comprises oligonucleotides that measure the gene expression of genes comprising the five genes of HSP90AB1, FTL, CKB, ACTG1, and LRP1 (measuring or having measured gene expression levels of a glioblastoma risk gene expression signature comprising HSP90AB1, FTL, CKB, ACTG1, and LRP1 in a glioblastoma tumor) (abstract background paragraph lines 1-4; abstract methods paragraph lines 1-4; pg. 2 paragraph bridging column 1 & 2 lines 1-12; pg. 3 column 2 1st full paragraph lines 14-16; pg. 6 column 2 1st full paragraph lines 1-14). This corresponds with the teachings of the specification of the instant application, which teaches the use of the Affymetrix U133 assay for profiling the expression of genes in glioblastoma patients (paragraph [0161] of the specification of the instant application). Further, Fatai teaches that signature genes can further be assessed as drug targets for designing novel combinatorial therapies for GBM (pg. 10 paragraph bridging column 1 & 2 lines 1-27).
Fatai does not teach administering a glioblastoma therapeutic regimen selected based on the determined glioblastoma progression risk score.
Davis teaches new therapies can be provided to glioblastoma (GBM) patients with recurrent or newly diagnosed GBM, in which patients with newly diagnosed GBM (low risk of progression) are typically treated with a less aggressive approach with maximal safe surgical resection followed by concurrent radiation and a chemotherapy agent whereas in recurrent GBM (high risk of progression) can be further treated with a more aggressive approach of additional surgery with a greater extent of resection, additional radiation, and chemotherapy (administering a glioblastoma therapeutic regimen selected based on the determined glioblastoma risk wherein the therapeutic regimen for a subject having a high-risk glioblastoma risk (risk of progression) comprises a more aggressive therapy) (abstract background paragraph lines 1-6; pg. 3-4 paragraph bridging pg. 3 & pg. 4 lines 1-5; pg. 4 1st full paragraph lines 1-6; pg. 6 2nd full paragraph lines 1-10; pg. 6 3rd full paragraph lines 1-4; pg. 6-7 paragraph bridging pg. 6 & pg. 7 lines 1-12). Davis also teaches that new therapies developed for recurrent GBM (high risk of progression) and for newly diagnosed GBM (low risk for progression) can provide hope for enhanced survival (abstract background paragraph lines 1-6).
Fatai and Davis are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the same field of analysis of glioblastoma. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of measuring the glioblastoma progression risk score of a subject as high or low risk of progression as taught in Fatai to use the determined risk progression of glioblastoma and administer a therapeutic regimen based on determined glioblastoma risk progression wherein the determined high risk comprises a more aggressive therapy as taught in Davis because Davis teaches that doing so provides hope for enhanced survival.
Regarding claims 4 & 5, Fatai teaches the samples were obtained from GMB (glioblastoma) patients (subject is human and is diagnosed with a cancer) (pg. 2 paragraph bridging column 1 & 2 lines 5-7).
Regarding claim 10 & 11, Fatai teaches profiling the expression of genes on the Affymetrix HT HG-U133A platform, in which the Affymetrix U133 platform comprises oligonucleotides that measure the gene expression of genes including all of the genes listed in claims 10 & 11 of the instant application (pg. 2 paragraph bridging column 1 & 2 lines 1-12), corresponding with the teachings of the specification of the instant application, which teaches the use of the Affymetrix U133 assay for profiling the expression of genes in glioblastoma patients (paragraph [0161] of the specification of the instant application).
Regarding claim 20, Fatai teaches using the Cancer Genome Atlas (TCGA) (detecting using an RNAseq method) to obtain the expression profiles of the GBM patients (pg. 2 paragraph bridging column 1 & 2 lines 1-12).
Regarding claims 31 & 32, Davis teaches new therapies can be provided to glioblastoma (GBM) patients with recurrent or newly diagnosed GBM, in which patients with newly diagnosed GBM are typically treated with a less aggressive approach with maximal safe surgical resection followed by concurrent radiation and a chemotherapy agent, including chemotherapeutic treatment with TMZ, whereas in recurrent GBM (high risk of progression) can be further treated with a more aggressive approach of additional surgery with a greater extent of resection, additional radiation, and chemotherapy (high-risk (aggressive) recurrent GBM is resistant to original radiation and chemotherapeutic agent treatment), may be further treated with TMZ but other chemotherapeutic agents such as carboplatin may be used, (TMZ chemotherapeutic resistant glioblastoma) (abstract background paragraph lines 1-6; pg. 3-4 paragraph bridging pg. 3 & pg. 4 lines 1-5; pg. 4 1st full paragraph lines 1-6; pg. 6 2nd full paragraph lines 1-10; pg. 6 3rd full paragraph lines 1-4; pg. 6 4th full paragraph lines 1-6; pg. 6-7 paragraph bridging pg. 6 & pg. 7 lines 1-12).
Regarding claim 33, Davis teaches the recurrent (more aggressive) GBM (high risk of progression) can be further treated with a more aggressive approach of additional surgery with a greater extent of resection, additional radiation, and chemotherapy compared to treatment with a less aggressive approach with maximal safe surgical resection followed by concurrent radiation and a chemotherapy agent in newly diagnosed GBM (glioblastoma therapeutic or modality is more aggressive than a current glioblastoma therapeutic or modality that the subject is receiving or has received) (abstract background paragraph lines 1-6; pg. 3-4 paragraph bridging pg. 3 & pg. 4 lines 1-5; pg. 4 1st full paragraph lines 1-6; pg. 6 2nd full paragraph lines 1-10; pg. 6 3rd full paragraph lines 1-4; pg. 6 4th full paragraph lines 1-6; pg. 6-7 paragraph bridging pg. 6 & pg. 7 lines 1-12).
Regarding claim 58, Davis recurrent GBM may be further treated with TMZ but other chemotherapeutic agents such as carboplatin may be used instead as single agents or in regimens (glioblastoma therapeutic or modality is not TMZ) (pg. 6 4th full paragraph lines 1-6).
Claim(s) 2 & 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fatai (Fatai & Gamieldien; BMC Cancer, Vol. 18, pages 1-13, April 2018) and Davis (Davis; Clinical Journal Oncology Nurse, Vol.20, pages 1-14, October 2016), as applied to claims 1, 4, 5, 10, 11, 20, 31-33, & 58 above, and further in view of Liu (Liu et al.; Scientific Reports, Vol. 3, pages 1-10, December 2013).
Regarding claim 2, Fatai teaches profiling the expression of genes on the Affymetrix HT HG-U133A platform, in which the Affymetrix U133 platform comprises oligonucleotides that measure the gene expression of genes including the APP and MME genes (pg. 2 paragraph bridging column 1 & 2 lines 1-12), corresponding with the teachings of the specification of the instant application, which teaches the use of the Affymetrix U133 assay for profiling the expression of genes in glioblastoma patients (paragraph [0161] of the specification of the instant application).
Fatai and Davis does not teach detecting a gene mutation in APP, MME, or both in the biological sample.
Liu teaches a methos for analyzing shared genes in pathways linking Alzheimer’s Disease and GBM in which significant genes were identified including cells transfected with the APP mutation in human glioblastoma cell lines (detecting gene mutation in APP) (abstract lines 3-9, pg. 9 column 1 1st full paragraph lines 1-7). Liu also teaches that this method may be used to offer insights into alternative therapeutic strategies (pg. 8 column 2 2nd full paragraph lines 6-8).
Fatai, Davis, and Liu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the same field of analysis of glioblastoma. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method the method of measuring the glioblastoma progression risk score of a subject in Fatai followed by the administration of a glioblastoma therapeutic regimen comprising a more aggressive therapy in subject identified as high-risk in Davis to incorporate the detection of APP mutation as taught in Liu because Liu teaches that doing so would provide a method to offer insights into alternative therapeutic strategies.
Regarding claim 3, Fatai teaches the samples from the GBM patients were obtained from tumor (pg. 2 paragraph bridging column 1 & 2 lines 5-7).
Claim(s) 20 & 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fatai (Fatai & Gamieldien; BMC Cancer, Vol. 18, pages 1-13, April 2018) and Davis (Davis; Clinical Journal Oncology Nurse, Vol.20, pages 1-14, October 2016), as applied to claims 1, 4, 5, 10, 11, 20, 31-33, & 58 above, and further in view of Ming (Ming et al.; Applied Immunohistochemistry & Molecular Morphology, Vol. 26, pages 101-107, February 2018), Wu (Wu et al.; PLOS One, Vol. 11, pages 1-11, February 2016), Koch (Koch et al.; OncoTarget, Vol. 7, pages 73414-73431, September 2016), Huang (Huang et al.; Asian Pacific Journal of Cancer Prevention, Vol. 12, pages 4793-4799, 2012), and Song (Song et al.; Cancer Research, Vol. 69, pages 879-886, February 2009).
The teachings of Fatai and Davis with respect to claim 1 are discussed above.
Regarding claims 20 & 21, Fatai and Davis does not teach measuring the expression levels of the specific genes LRP1, FTL, CKB, ACTG1, & HSP90AB1 in a sample with a PCR method.
Ming teaches measuring the expression of various biomarkers for gliomas including the gene HSP90AB1 through measuring the expression of HSP90AB1 in glioma tumors using quantitative real-time PCR (qPCR) (abstract background paragraph lines 1-4; abstract results paragraph lines 1-9; abstract conclusions paragraph lines 1-2).
Wu teaches measuring the expression of FTL in glioblastoma multiforme (GBM) patients as a biomarker for GBM with quantitative real-time PCR (qPCR) (abstract paragraph lines 2-6; pg. 2-3 paragraph bridging pg. 2 & pg. 3 lines 1-2).
Koch teaches measuring the expression level of CKB as a biomarker for GBM through measuring the expression of CKB in GBM cells using quantitative real-time PCR (qPCR) (pg. 73416 paragraph bridging column 1 & 2 lines 26-29; pg. 73426 paragraph bridging column 1 & 2 lines 8-12).
Huang teaches measuring the expression of ACTG1 as a biomarker for GBM through measuring the expression of ACTG1 in glioma cells using quantitative real-time PCR (qPCR) (pg. 4794 paragraph bridging column 1 & 2 lines 1-3).
Song teaches measuring the expression of mRNA levels of LRP1 as a biomarker for GBM in glioblastoma cells using quantitative real-time PCR (qPCR) (pg. 881 paragraph bridging column 1 & 2 lines 1-2 & 12-15).
Fatai, Davis, Ming, Wu, Koch, Huang, and Song are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the same field of analysis of glioblastoma. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of measuring the cancer progression risk score of a subject taught by Fatai to measure the expression levels of HSP90AB1, FTL, CKB, ACTG1, and LRP1 with qPCR as taught in Ming, Wu, Koch, Huang, and Song, respectively, to arrive at an assay that measures the expression levels of specific genes because Ming, Wu, Koch, Huang, and Song teach that the genes are biomarkers for glioblastoma and teaches that quantitative PCR was able to successfully provide the gene expression levels for each gene.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fatai (Fatai & Gamieldien; BMC Cancer, Vol. 18, pages 1-13, April 2018), Davis (Davis; Clinical Journal Oncology Nurse, Vol.20, pages 1-14, October 2016), Ming (Ming et al.; Applied Immunohistochemistry & Molecular Morphology, Vol. 26, pages 101-107, February 2018), Wu (Wu et al.; PLOS One, Vol. 11, pages 1-11, February 2016), Koch (Koch et al.; OncoTarget, Vol. 7, pages 73414-73431, September 2016), Huang (Huang et al.; Asian Pacific Journal of Cancer Prevention, Vol. 12, pages 4793-4799, 2012), and Song (Song et al.; Cancer Research, Vol. 69, pages 879-886, February 2009), as applied to claims 20 & 21 above, and further in view of GenBank Accession Number AB209498 (July 2016).
The teachings of Fatai, Davis, Ming, Wu, Koch, Huang, and Song with respect to claims 1, 20, & 21 are discussed above.
Regarding claim 22, Fatai, Davis, Ming, Wu, Koch, Huang, and Song does not teach a primer comprising SEQ ID NO: 57, however, Song teaches measuring the expression of mRNA levels of LRP1 as a biomarker for GBM in glioblastoma cells using quantitative real-time PCR (qPCR) with sense and antisense primer sequences (pg. 880 column 1 1st full paragraph lines 1-7; pg. 881 paragraph bridging column 1 & 2 lines 1-2 & 12-15). Additionally, GenBank Accession Number AB209498 teaches the nucleic acid sequence of LRP1 which comprises SEQ ID NO. 57 in the instant application (position 9468 to position 9489 from AB209498) and the nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO. 58 in the instant application (position 9619 to position 9601 from AB209498).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Fatai, Davis, Ming, Wu, Koch, Huang, and Song, by constructing additional primers for the measurement of the expression level of LRP1, for example, comprising SEQ ID NOS 57 and/or 58. The routine nature of constructing primers and/or probes for quantitative PCR is illustrated in the prior art cited (see Ming, Wu, Koch, Huang, and Song). Therefore, absent secondary considerations, primers comprising SEQ ID NO: 57 or 58 are considered obvious in view of the prior art cited.
Response to Arguments
The response traverses the rejection. The response asserts that Fatai fails to disclose or suggest several core limitation and none of the secondary references, including Davis or Liu, remedy those deficiencies. Further, the response asserts that Fatai does not disclose, teach, or suggest, evaluating the gene expression of the specific combination of LRP1, FTL, CKB, ACTG1, and HSP90AB1 collectively as a unified signature for determining glioblastoma aggressiveness. Further, the response asserts that Fatai at least does not disclose or suggest calculating a glioblastoma progression risk score using the claim gene expression data in a manner that stratifies tumor aggressiveness as required by the claims. Further, the response asserts that Fatai at least does not disclose or suggest selecting a therapeutic regimen based on the calculated progression risk score, much less administering a more aggressive or non-standard therapy for subjects identified as high risk. Further, the response asserts that even assuming that the platform used in Fatai is capable of measuring expression levels for HSP90AB1, FTL, CKB, ACTG1, and LRP1, such capability does not constitute a disclosure, teaching, or suggestion of the claim 5-gene signature and that high-throughput microarray platforms, such as the Affymetrix chip allegedly utilized by Fatai, are designed to measure the expression levels for thousands of genes simultaneously and the mere inclusion of a gene (or even 5) on such platform does not teach or suggest its specific selection, combination, or use for any particular purpose. Further, the response asserts that the cited art provides no guidance that would have led a skilled artisan to select the claimed genes from among thousands available on the platform, nor any reasonable expectation that such a selection would yield a clinically meaningful progression risk score. These arguments have been thoroughly reviewed but were not found persuasive. First, In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Second, claim 1 as currently amended is a comprising “open” claim and therefore does not exclude measuring the gene expression of other genes. Therefore, Fatai teaches a method of assessing the prognostic value of a gene expression signature in glioblastoma patients to discriminate between rapidly-progressing (high risk progression) and slowly-progressing (low risk progression) patients (glioblastoma progression gene signature) (calculating a glioblastoma progression risk score of a subject using expression levels of genes of the glioblastoma gene signature) through profiling the expression of genes on the Affymetrix HT HG-U133A platform, in which the Affymetrix U133 platform comprises oligonucleotides that measure the gene expression of genes comprising the five genes of HSP90AB1, FTL, CKB, ACTG1, and LRP1 (measuring or having measured gene expression levels of a glioblastoma risk gene expression signature comprising HSP90AB1, FTL, CKB, ACTG1, and LRP1 in a glioblastoma tumor) (abstract background paragraph lines 1-4; abstract methods paragraph lines 1-4; pg. 2 paragraph bridging column 1 & 2 lines 1-12; pg. 3 column 2 1st full paragraph lines 14-16; pg. 6 column 2 1st full paragraph lines 1-14). Further, Fatai teaches that signature genes can further be assessed as drug targets for designing novel combinatorial therapies for GBM (pg. 10 paragraph bridging column 1 & 2 lines 1-27).
The response also asserts that the reliance on Davis does not cure the deficiencies of Fatai and that Davis does not disclose, teach, or suggest any gene expression-based stratification, much less the specific five-gene signature or progression risk score recited in the claims or how to choose these five specific genes. Further, the response asserts that there is no disclosure in Davis suggesting that treatment decisions should be based on a gene expression-derived progression risk score. Further, the response asserts that there is not an articulated reason why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have combined Fatai with Davis in the manner required by the claims or established a reasonable expectation of success as the claimed invention requires not only identifying gene expression patterns of a unified core set of genes, but using those patterns to generate a progression risk score that meaningly informs treatment selection. Further, the response asserts that Fatai not Davis, alone or in combination, teaches or suggests this integrated method of steps. These arguments have been thoroughly reviewed but were not found persuasive. First, as discussed further above, Fatai teaches a method of assessing the prognostic value of a gene expression signature in glioblastoma patients to discriminate between rapidly-progressing (high risk progression) and slowly-progressing (low risk progression) patients (glioblastoma progression gene signature) (calculating a glioblastoma progression risk score of a subject using expression levels of genes of the glioblastoma gene signature) through profiling the expression of genes on the Affymetrix HT HG-U133A platform, in which the Affymetrix U133 platform comprises oligonucleotides that measure the gene expression of genes comprising the five genes of HSP90AB1, FTL, CKB, ACTG1, and LRP1 and Fatai teaches that signature genes can further be assessed as drug targets for designing novel combinatorial therapies for GBM. Further, Davis teaches new therapies can be provided to glioblastoma (GBM) patients with recurrent or newly diagnosed GBM, in which patients with newly diagnosed GBM (low risk of progression) are typically treated with a less aggressive approach whereas in recurrent GBM (high risk of progression) can be further treated with a more aggressive approach (administering a glioblastoma therapeutic regimen selected based on the determined glioblastoma risk wherein the therapeutic regimen for a subject having a high-risk glioblastoma risk (risk of progression) comprises a more aggressive therapy). Further, Fatai and Davis are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the same field of analysis of glioblastoma. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of measuring the glioblastoma progression risk score of a subject as high or low risk of progression as taught in Fatai to use the determined risk progression of glioblastoma and administer a therapeutic regimen based on determined glioblastoma risk progression wherein the determined high risk comprises a more aggressive therapy as taught in Davis because Davis teaches that doing so provides hope for enhanced survival.
The response also asserts that the Office Action fails to point to any specific teaching within any of these references that provides guidance for one of ordinary skill in the art to generate a multi-factor glioblastoma signature and as previously discussed, Fatai and Davis, alone or in combination, fail to disclose or suggest selecting HSP90AB1, FTL, CKB, ACTG1, and LRP1 as a unified gene signature, which is required by claim 1 and from which claims 2-3 depend. Further, the response asserts that Liu does not remedy these deficiencies of Fatai and/or Davis. These arguments have been thoroughly reviewed but were not found persuasive for the reasons set forth above.
The response also asserts that the Office Action fails to point to any specific teaching within any of these references that provides guidance for one of ordinary skill in the art to generate a multi-factor glioblastoma signature and as previously discussed, Fatai and Davis, alone or in combination, fail to disclose or suggest selecting HSP90AB1, FTL, CKB, ACTG1, and LRP1 as a unified gene signature, which is required by claim 1 and from which claims 20-21 depend. Further, the response asserts that none of Ming, Wu, Koch, Huang, and Song does not remedy these deficiencies of Fatai and/or Davis. These arguments have been thoroughly reviewed but were not found persuasive for the reasons set forth above.
The response also asserts that the Office Action fails to point to any specific teaching within any of these references that provides guidance for one of ordinary skill in the art to generate a multi-factor glioblastoma signature and as previously discussed, Fatai and Davis, alone or in combination, fail to disclose or suggest selecting HSP90AB1, FTL, CKB, ACTG1, and LRP1 as a unified gene signature, which is required by claim 1 and from which claim 22 depends. Further, the response asserts that none of Ming, Wu, Koch, Huang, Song, and GenBank Accession Number AB209498 does not remedy these deficiencies of Fatai and/or Davis. These arguments have been thoroughly reviewed but were not found persuasive for the reasons set forth above.
For these reasons, and the reasons already made of record and modified to address the claims as currently amended, the rejections are maintained and applied to the newly amended claims.
Conclusion
It is noted, as noted in previous office action dated 03/26/2025, that a method of determining a glioblastoma progression risk score as recited in claim 1 by detecting expression levels of LRP1, FTL, CKB, ACTG1, HSP90AB1, CTSB, PKM, FN1, ACTB, & EEF1A1 with the primers comprising SEQ ID NOS: 9, 10, 13, 14, 19, 20, 21, 22, 27, 28, 37, 38, 41, 42, 49, 50, 57, 58, 61, & 62 is free of the prior art.
Claims 1-5, 10, 11, 20-23, 31-33, 58, & 59 are rejected.
/BAILEY BUCHANAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1682
/JEHANNE S SITTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682