DETAILED ACTION
The claims filed 10/8/2025 are under consideration.
The amendments and arguments presented in the papers filed 10/8/2025 ("Remarks”) have been thoroughly considered. The issues raised in the Office action dated 4/23/2025 listed below have been reconsidered as indicated.
a) Any objection and/or rejection of claims 2, 3, 10, 12, 13 and 16-18 are withdrawn as being moot in view of the cancellation of the claims.
b) The rejections of claims 1-3, 8, 10, 12-13 and 16-18 under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract ideas without significantly more are withdrawn in view of the amendments.
c) The rejections of claims 1-3, 8, 10, 12-13 and 16-18 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
d) The rejections of claims 1-3, 8, 10, 12-13 and 16-17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
e) The rejection of claim 16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, is withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
f) The rejections of claim(s) 1-3, 8, 10, 12-13 and 16-18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voora (Journal of the American College of Cardiology. 2013. 62(14):1267-1276 and Appendices) in view of Bray (BMC Genomics. 2013. 14:1, 15 pages) are withdrawn because Voora is silent regarding the analysis of splice variants in platelets.
The Examiner’s responses to the Remarks regarding issues not listed above are detailed below in this Office action.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment are detailed below and this action is made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification or the citation of references throughout the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892 or cited on a submitted IDS, they have not been considered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 limits the biological sample to consisting of isolated platelets, meaning that the platelets have been altered or removed from the natural state (p. 17, lines 5-9). For example, the platelets may be partially or completely separated from the coexisting material of its natural state (p. 17, lines 6-8).
Claim 1 requires “RNA sequencing of the transcriptome of isolated platelets” as part of “measuring alternative splicing events” in a plurality of genes present in a plurality of biological samples from a plurality of healthy subjects. The claim requires at a minimum the RNA sequencing of at 2 genes from 2 samples from 2 healthy subjects. The claim further requires “analyzing the alternative splicing events of the plurality of genes from the RNA sequencing of the transcriptome of the isolated platelets. The amount of data to be analyzed from RNA sequencing the transcriptome of at least 4 samples of isolated platelets cannot practically be performed in the human mind, even with the aid of pen and paper. The human mind is not practically equipped to analyze sequencing data representing the entire transcriptome of isolated platelets.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nassa (Scientific Reports. 2018. 8:498 and Supplementary Information; cited on the 1/18/2023 IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Nassa teaches determining the presence of alternative splicing events of a plurality of genes in the transcriptome of samples using RNA-seq (Figure 4; and p. 10, RNA sequencing and data analysis). The samples used by Nassa are a plurality of “isolated” or purified platelets from 15 healthy volunteers (p. 9, Platelet purification and activation). The biological samples are obtained at two different time points: a first aliquot immediately processed and used as control (baseline: T0); and one of two aliquots treated with Collagen (COLL, 60 μg/mL) or Thrombin Receptor Activating Peptide (TRAP 25 μM) under continuous stirring for 120 minutes at 37 °C before processing (p. 9, Platelet purification and activation).
Nassa teaches analyzing for alternative splice events of genes from the transcriptome of the isolated platelets using FASTQC and a IRFinder tool (Figure 4; and p. 10, RNA sequencing and data analysis).
Nassa teaches identifying one or more genes with the lowest number of alternative splice events (e.g., “most stable genes” that were not spliced before and after activation) and those with the highest number of alternative splice events (e.g., “least stable genes” that were spliced after activation) (Figure 4).
Nassa further teaches calculating a repeatability for the “stable genes” by calculating and reporting an IR ratio (p. 10, RNA sequencing and data analysis; and Figure 4). For example, Nassa teaches “Most of the [IR] values fall near to 0 (orange-red), indicating intron reduction (loss) after platelet activation”. The values falling around >0.8 (Figure 4), represent the repeatability for the “stable genes”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 10, 12-13 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nassa (Scientific Reports. 2018. 8:498 and Supplementary Information) in view of Simon (Blood. 2014. 123(16):e37-e45; cited on the 1/18/2023 IDS).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Nassa teaches determining the presence of alternative splicing events of a plurality of genes in the transcriptome of samples using RNA-seq (Figure 4; and p. 10, RNA sequencing and data analysis). The samples used by Nassa are a plurality of “isolated” or purified platelets from 15 healthy volunteers (p. 9, Platelet purification and activation). The biological samples are obtained at two different time points: a first aliquot immediately processed and used as control (baseline: T0); and one of two aliquots treated with Collagen (COLL, 60 μg/mL) or Thrombin Receptor Activating Peptide (TRAP 25 μM) under continuous stirring for 120 minutes at 37 °C before processing (p. 9, Platelet purification and activation).
Nassa teaches analyzing for alternative splice events of genes from the transcriptome of the isolated platelets using FASTQC and a IRFinder tool (Figure 4; and p. 10, RNA sequencing and data analysis).
Nassa teaches identifying one or more genes with the lowest number of alternative splice events (e.g., “most stable genes” that were not spliced before and after activation) and those with the highest number of alternative splice events (e.g., “least stable genes” that were spliced after activation) (Figure 4).
Nassa further teaches calculating a repeatability for the “stable genes” by calculating and reporting an IR ratio (p. 10, RNA sequencing and data analysis; and Figure 4). For example, Nassa teaches “Most of the [IR] values fall near to 0 (orange-red), indicating intron reduction (loss) after platelet activation”. The values falling around >0.8 (Figure 4), represent the repeatability for the “stable genes”.
Nassa does not teach the additional elements specific to claim 8 or claim 19.
However, Simon provides for an analysis of mRNA in platelets associated with age (Title; and Abstract).
Regarding claim 8, Simon teaches repeating a process with more samples to validate a finding (Abstract; and p. e39, Validation of mRNA and miRNA ranks).
It would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan to have repeated the process of Nassa with additional samples in order to validate the observations.
Regarding claim 19, Simon teaches evaluating samples based on age and observed differences in mRNA in platelets (p. e39, mRNAs and miRNAs DE by age; and Figure 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan at the time of filing to have modified the method of Nassa by repeating the analysis with samples that are “aged” relative to the original sample. For example, Simon teaches ages of samples from 18 y to 46 years. One would be motivated to make such a modification as it would allow one to see if the splice variants observed by Nassa are stable with age.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH G. DAUNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682