DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in DE on 2019-12-18. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the English translation of the Foreign Priority Application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 04/08/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4 and 6-20 remain pending. Claims 13 and 14 remain withdrawn from consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 15, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The Examiner has applied a new rejection below, interpreting the liner to be the inside surface of component 763, and the outside surface of component 763 to be the “inner wall”. The component 750 remains to be interpreted as the socket. The Examiner would like to make it clear that the limitations “socket” and “liner” are being given the broadest reasonable interpretation, to mean “an opening or hollow that forms a holder for something” (see Merriam Webster online definition for socket, noun), and “one that lines or is used to line or back something” (see Merriam Webster definition 1 for liner, noun).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “liner” must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Nowhere in the specification . Dependent claims 2-12, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected for the same reason as they are dependent on claims 1, 15, or 18.
Claims 1-12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the claim is unclear as in lines 7-8, the claim states that “internal element as is a single piece with the inner wall and/or the outer wall,” but then states in lines 8-9 that the “internal element comprises at least one partition element that divides the at least one cavity into at least two partial cavities and is only attached to the outer wall.” These two portions of the claim are contradictory, as if the internal element is a single piece with inner wall, it would contradict the last line of the claim stating that the internal element comprises a partition attached only to the outer wall. Furthermore, the last line of the claim is contradicted again in claim 2, as claim 2 requires the internal element to be “attached to” the inner wall (the limitation “extends from the inner wall to the outer wall” requires the internal element to extend from the inner wall to the outer wall, and therefore the internal element would need to be “attached to” the inner wall as well). Claims 2-12 are rejected for the same reason as well, as they are dependent on claim 1. Further clarification is required.
Regarding Claim 15, the claim is unclear as in lines 7-8, the claim states that “internal element as is a single piece with the inner wall and/or the outer wall,” but then states in lines 8-9 that the “internal element comprises at least one partition element that divides the at least one cavity into at least two partial cavities and is only attached to the outer wall.” These two portions of the claim are contradictory, as if the internal element is a single piece with inner wall, it would contradict lines 8-10 of the claim stating that the internal element comprises a partition only attached to the outer wall. Furthermore, the lines 11-12 of claim 15 further contradict lines 8-10 of the claim, as lines 11-12 requires the internal element to be “attached to” the inner wall (the limitation “extends from the inner wall to the outer wall” requires the internal element to extend from the inner wall to the outer wall, and therefore the internal element would need to be “attached to” the inner wall as well). Claims 16-17 are rejected for the same reason as well, as they are dependent on claim 15. Further clarification is required.
Furthermore, regarding claims 1, 15, and 18 and therefore also dependent claims 2-12, 16-17, and 19-20, the limitation “liner”, is not shown or described in the drawings or specification, and therefore it is unclear what structure is encompassed by this term. Further clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20100274364 A1 (hereafter --Pacanowsky--).
Regarding Claim 1, Pacanowsky discloses a prosthesis (see annotated socket 750 in Figure 31 below) comprising: a liner (see annotated liner in Figure 31 below, being the inside surface of 763); and a prosthesis socket (750), wherein the liner is configuration to be positioned between the prosthesis socket and an amputation stump of a wearer of the prosthesis (see annotated liner and socket in Figure 31, the liner being the inside surface of 763 being shaped to receive in a residual limb of a user as mentioned in paragraphs [0022]-[0024]), the prosthesis socket comprising:
an open proximal end for accommodating an amputation stump (see annotated open proximal end in Figure 31 below);
an inner wall;
an outer wall (see annotated inner and outer walls in Figure 31 below), wherein at least one cavity is arranged between the inner wall and the outer wall (see annotated cavity in Figures 31 below);
and at least one internal element extending through the at least one cavity, wherein, the at least one internal element is a single piece with the inner wall and/or outer wall (see annotated internal elements in Figure 31 below), wherein the at least one internal element is a partition element that divides the at least one cavity into at least two partial cavities and is only attached to the outer wall (see annotated partial cavities in Figure 31 below, see annotated internal elements, being partition elements, arranged along the outer wall 762).
Regarding Claim 2, Pacanowsky discloses the prosthesis according to claim 1, wherein the at least one internal element further comprises at least one support element (see internal elements (squares between channels 765) in Figure 31 above being the portion of the outer wall that connects to the inner wall, the portions being supportive to the connection of the two components), wherein the at least one support element extends from the inner wall to the outer wall (see annotated internal element in Figure 31 above, extending to and from the inner and outer walls).
Regarding Claim 3, Pacanowsky discloses the prosthesis according to claim 2, wherein the at least one support element comprises at least 25 support elements extending in at least one partial cavity of the at least two partial cavities from the inner wall to the outer wall (see Figure 31 above illustrating more than 25 support elements).
Regarding Claim 4, Pacanowsky discloses the prosthesis according to claim 2, wherein the at least one support element, is arranged perpendicular to the inner wall and/or perpendicular to the outer wall (see support elements in Figure 31 above being perpendicular to the inner and outer wall).
Regarding Claim 6, Pacanowsky discloses the prosthesis according to claim 1, wherein the at least one partition element has at least one opening that connects the at least two partial cavities (see annotated opening in Figure 31 below).
Regarding Claim 8, Pacanowsky discloses the prosthesis to claim 1, wherein the at least one internal element comprises a plurality of internal elements comprising a plurality of partition elements that run parallel to each other (see partition elements in Figure 31 above being parallel to one another).
Regarding Claim 15, Pacanowsky discloses a lower leg prosthesis comprising: a liner (see annotated liner in Figure 31 below, being the inside surface of 763); and a prosthesis socket (750), wherein the liner is configuration to be positioned between the prosthesis socket and an amputation stump of a wearer of the prosthesis (see annotated liner and socket in Figure 31, the liner being the inside surface of 763 being shaped to receive in a residual limb of a user as mentioned in paragraphs [0022]-[0024]), the prosthesis socket comprising: an open proximal end to accommodate an amputation stump (see annotated open proximal end in Figure 31 above), an inner wall, and an outer wall (see annotated inner and outer walls in Figure 31 above); at least one cavity arranged between the inner wall and the outer wall (see annotated cavity in Figure 31 above); a plurality of internal elements; wherein the plurality of internal elements are support elements which extend through the at least one cavity, each internal element is a single piece with the inner wall and/or outer wall (see annotated internal elements in Figure 31 above), wherein the plurality of internal elements comprises a partition element that divides the at least one cavity into two partial cavities and is arranged only on the outer wall (see annotated partial cavities in Figure 31 above, see annotated internal elements, being partition elements, arranged along the outer wall 762); and wherein a plurality of the support elements extend through the at least one cavity from the inner wall to the outer wall (see annotated internal element in Figure 31 above, extending to and from the inner and outer walls).
Regarding Claim 16, Pacanowsky discloses the lower leg prosthesis of claim 15, wherein the plurality of support elements comprises at least 25 support elements extending in the at least one partial cavity of the at least two partial cavities from the inner wall to the outer wall (see Figure 31 above illustrating more than 25 support elements).
Regarding Claim 17, Pacanowsky discloses the lower leg prosthesis of claim 15, wherein the plurality of support elements arranged is perpendicular to the inner wall and/or perpendicular to the outer wall (see support elements in Figure 31 above being perpendicular to the inner and outer wall).
Regarding Claim 18, Pacanowsky discloses a lower leg prosthesis (see annotated socket 750 in Figure 31 above) comprising: a liner (see annotated liner in Figure 31 below, being the inside surface of 763); and a prosthesis socket (750), wherein the liner is configuration to be positioned between the prosthesis socket and an amputation stump of a wearer of the prosthesis (see annotated liner and socket in Figure 31, the liner being the inside surface of 763 being shaped to receive in a residual limb of a user as mentioned in paragraphs [0022]-[0024]), the prosthesis socket comprising: an open proximal end for accommodating an amputation stump (see annotated open proximal end in Figure 31 above), an inner wall and an outer wall (see annotated inner and outer walls in Figure 31 above), wherein at least one cavity is arranged between the inner wall and the outer wall (see annotated cavity in Figures 31 above), and at least one internal element comprising at least one partition element (see annotated internal elements in Figure 31 above), the at least one partition element dividing the at least one cavity into two partial cavities (see annotated partial cavities in Figure 31 above); wherein the at least one partition element is arranged only on the outer wall of the prosthesis socket (see annotated partial cavities in Figure 31 above, see annotated internal elements, being partition elements, arranged along the outer wall 762).
Regarding Claim 19, Pacanowsky discloses the lower leg prosthesis of claim 18, wherein the at least one partition element has at least one opening that connects the two partial cavities (see annotated openings in Figure 31 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 9, 10, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100274364 A1 (hereafter --Pacanowsky--).
Regarding Claim 7, the embodiment of the socket of 750 of Pacanowsky discloses the prosthesis according to claim 6.
Pacanowsky fails to disclose wherein at least one support element extends through the at least one opening of the at least one partition element.
An alternate embodiment of Pacanowsky teaches support elements (785) (see Figure 32 below, see also paragraph [0132]) extending through openings/gaps (see annotated openings) between cavities (783).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the openings of the socket embodiment 750 to further include at least one support element extending through the at least one opening of the at least one partition element, as by doing so would prevent deformation (e.g., collapsing) of the cavities, as well as would increase the structural strength of the material forming the socket as taught by Pacanowsky (see paragraph [0132]).
Regarding Claim 9, the embodiment of the socket of 750 of Pacanowsky discloses the prosthesis according to claim 1.
An alternate embodiment of Pacanowsky teaches a connection means for a distal prosthesis component is arranged on a distal end of the prosthesis socket (as interpreted under 112f, see instant specification disclosing the connection means designed as an adapter; see annotated connection means 618 in Figure 17 below interpreted as an adapter since it connects to a distal prosthesis 104, see also paragraph [0073] and Figure 2 denoting and illustrating that 104 is a distal prosthesis component that connects the socket to the foot 102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the openings of the socket embodiment 750 to further include a connection means for a distal prosthesis component is arranged on a distal end of the prosthesis socket, as it is taught by Pacanowsky, that the various embodiments described in the specification can be combined to provide further embodiments, including couplers, mandrels, fasteners and other components and features disclosed being able to be mixed and matched based on the desired installation (see paragraph [0140]).
Regarding Claim 10, Pacanowsky discloses the prosthesis according to claim 1.
Pacanowsky fails to disclose wherein the prosthesis socket is a prosthesis socket for a prosthesis for treating a lower limb, preferably a lower leg prosthesis. However, this is implied as Pacanowsky, wherein the prosthesis socket is a prosthesis socket for a prosthesis for treating a lower limb, preferably a lower leg prosthesis, for embodiment 600 (see Abstract, see also paragraph [0073]), the embodiment of Figure 31 being a different embodiment of this type of device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the prosthesis socket 750 be a prosthesis socket for a prosthesis for treating a lower limb, preferably a lower leg prosthesis, as it is taught by Pacanowsky that the various embodiments described in the specification can be combined to provide further embodiments, including couplers, mandrels, fasteners and other components and features disclosed being able to be mixed and matched based on the desired installation (see paragraph [0140]).
Regarding Claim 20, the embodiment of the socket of 750 of Pacanowsky discloses the lower leg prosthesis according to claim 19.
Pacanowsky fails to disclose further comprising at least one support element extending through the at least one opening of the at least one partition element.
An alternate embodiment of Pacanowsky teaches support elements (785) (see Figure 32 above, see also paragraph [0132]) extending through openings/gaps (see annotated openings) between cavities (783).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the openings of the socket embodiment 750 to further comprise at least one support element extending through the at least one opening of the at least one partition element, as by doing so would prevent deformation (e.g., collapsing) of the cavities, as well as would increase the structural strength of the material forming the socket as taught by Pacanowsky (see paragraph [0132]).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100274364 A1 (hereafter --Pacanowsky--), as applied to claim 1 above, and further view of US 20110118854 A1 (hereafter-- Halldorsson--).
Regarding Claim 11, Pacanowsky discloses the prosthesis according to claim 1.
Pacanowsky fails to disclose wherein the prosthesis comprises at least a first insert element that has a contact surface which is configured to correspond to the inner wall of the prosthesis socket.
Halldorsson discloses a socket liner comprising of an open proximal end, and an outer layer (12) with an outer and inner wall (see annotated inner and outer walls in Figure 6 below). Halldorsson teaches a first insert element (16) that has a contact surface which is designed to correspond to the inner wall of the prosthesis socket (see annotated contact surface in Figure 6 below), as well as a second insert element (14) that features a contact surface (see annotated contact surface of insert 14 in Figure 6 below), which is designed to correspond to a surface of the first insert element that is opposite the contact surface (see inserts 14 and 16 in Figure 6 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the prosthesis of Pacanowsky to further include two inserts inside of inner wall 763, one having a contact surface which is designed to correspond to the inner wall of the prosthesis socket, and the other having a contact surface, which is designed to correspond to a surface of the first insert element that is opposite the contact surface, as by doing so would provide cushioning for at least the anterior of the liner, particularly for the tibia of a trans-tibial amputee, as well as would provide a soft pad over bony areas of a residual limb, to improve skin condition or mitigate issues due to a breakdown of the skin at such areas as taught by Halldorsson (see paragraph [0013]).
Regarding Claim 12, Pacanowsky as modified discloses the prosthesis according to claim 11, wherein the prosthesis socket has at least a second insert element that features a contact surface, which is configured to correspond to the inner wall of the prosthesis socket and/or a surface of the first insert element that is opposite the contact surface (see claim 11 rejection above).
Conclusion
/PARIS MARIE BLASS/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/SARAH W ALEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774