DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smellie (US 2536776) in view of You (US 2006/0150448).
Regarding claim 1, Smellie teaches an electrical appliance (claims 1 and 6) comprising a main body (fig. 5, base 12’), a handle portion (fig. 1, handle 13), a power cord (fig. 5, cord 15), an engagement part (figs. 4-5, groove 14) is provided around an outer periphery of the main body, an engagement counterpart (fig. 5, tongue 23) is engaged with the engagement part, and the power cord is detachably fastened by the engagement counterpart (fig. 5, the togue is dimensioned to wedge into the groove 14 and secure the plug 18’ against the side of the base structure), the engagement counterpart is arranged to be driven to move around an outer periphery of the engagement part (fig. 5, the tongue is dimensioned to wedge any position of the groove 14) to change a position where the power cord is to be fastened by the engagement counterpart so as to precisely secure a free end of the power cord (fig. 5), wherein the engagement counterpart is located at an outer side of the engagement part and is moveable along a circumferential length of the engagement part to fasten the power cord at any position on the engagement part (figs. 4-5).
Smellie does not teach the electrical appliance is an iron comprising an electrical heater arranged inside the main body, wherein the electric heater is connected with the power cord, and the power cord is arranged to be winded around the handle portion for storage.
However, in the same field of endeavor, You teaches an iron with power cord winded up (fig. 3), the iron comprising an electrical heater arranged inside the main body (para. [0020]), wherein, the electric heater is connected with the power cord (para. [0020]), and the power cord is arranged to be winded around the handle portion for storage (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the power cord storage groove and a counterpart of Smellie with an iron as taught by You for the benefit of securing the power cord of the iron in storage position about the iron appliance when it is not in use (Smellie, col. 1, lines 1-6; You, para. [0006]).
Regarding claim 2, the modified structure Smellie-You teaches the engagement part is a groove that goes around the outer periphery of the main body, and the engagement counterpart is a fastener detachably engaged with the groove at any position. (Smellie, figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 3, the modified structure Smellie-You teaches the groove is horizontally arranged below the handle portion (Smellie, fig. 1, groove 14 is below handle 13).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smellie (US 2536776) and You (US 2006/0150448), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Wadhwa (US 2015/0330015).
Regarding claim 4, the modified structure Smellie-You does not teach the fastener comprises an elastic C-shaped part, two transverse parts, and two snap-fit hooks as in the claim.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wadhwa teaches the fastener comprises an elastic C-shaped part (fig. 3, para. [0039], element 4), two transverse parts (fig. 3, elements 11, 12), and two snap-fit hooks (fig. 3, element 11a), two ends of the elastic C-shaped part are each connected to one of the two snap-fit hooks through one of the two transverse parts (figs. 3, 4A, ends connected 11a by way of the rest of C-shaped part), the elastic C-shaped part can hold a wire part of the power cord (para. [0039]), and a plug-part of the power cord is unable to pass through the elastic C-shaped part after the fastener is engaged with the groove, the two transverse parts respectively abut against an upper sidewall and a lower sidewall of the groove (fig. 3, para. [0041]), and the two snap-fit hooks catch the groove, the fastener can be pressed to be released from the groove (para. [0041], the fastener is resiliently deformable and therefore can be pressed to be released from the groove).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Smellie-You with the teaching that the fastener comprises an elastic C-shaped part, two transverse parts, and two snap-fit hooks as taught by Wadhwa so that the structure can securely and removably retain the cord (via elastic C-shaped part) (Wadhwa, para. [0041]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, dated 04/01/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
/UYEN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3732