Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 32 be found allowable, claim 41 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28-38 and 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the depolymerizing agent." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28-38 and 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desrousseaux (WO 2017/198786; paragraph number to corresponding US 2019/0218360) in view of Pawloski (US 2017/0100861).
Claim 28: Desrousseaux discloses a process for degrading a plastic product including at least one polymer (abstract). The process includes a) a pretreatment step to physically change the structure of the plastic so as to increase the surface area of the plastic product (¶¶ 92-93); and b) depolymerizing at least one target polymer of the pretreated plastic product (¶¶ 74-75); wherein the pretreatment step a) is performed at a temperature at which the plastic product is in a partially or totally molten state (¶¶ 46-47); and wherein depolymerizing step b) is performed by contacting the plastic product with a depolymerase able to degrade at least one polymer of the plastic product in a liquid medium including the depolymerizing agent (¶ 94).
Desrousseaux is silent as to the pretreatment being foaming. However, Pawloski discloses a process for degrading a plastic product including at least one polymer (abstract), including a) foaming the plastic product (¶¶ 75-83); and b) depolymerizing a target polymer of the foamed product (¶¶ 39-44), wherein the step of foaming is performed at a temperature at which the plastic product is in a molten state (¶¶ 71, 75-83), and wherein the depolymerizing is performed by contacting the plastic product with a depolymerase able to degrade at least one polymer of the plastic product (¶ 39). As taught by Pawloski, foaming and depolymerizing the plastic breaks the plastic down into a useful substance (¶¶ 39-41). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have chosen foaming as the pretreatment step in Desrousseaux because: i. Desrousseaux expressly teaches that the pretreatment step should increase the surface of contact between the polymers and the enzymes (¶ 93) and foaming, as taught by Pawloski, was a known technique for producing plastics having a large surface area, and ii. foaming and depolymerizing the plastic breaks the plastic down into a useful substance, also taught by Pawloski (¶¶ 39-41).
Claim 29: Desrousseaux discloses the amorphization step being performed at a temperature above the Tc of the target polymer (claim 17); Pawloski discloses the foaming step being performed at a temperature above the Tc of the target polymer (¶¶ 71, 75-83).
Claims 30-31: Pawloski discloses the foaming being implemented with CO2 (¶¶ 71, 75-83).
Claims 32-33: Pawloski discloses the foaming being implemented with citric acid (¶ 51).
Claim 34: Pawloski discloses the foamed plastic product including a blowing agent at 0.05 to 90 % blowing agent, which would be expected to result in the product exhibiting a porosity rate above 20%, or overlapping the claimed range.
Claims 35-37: Pawloski discloses cooling the product to a temperature below the Tc of the target polymer rapidly by skipping the annealing step, to induce rapid crystallization (¶ 71).
Claim 38: Pawloski discloses the foaming being performed in an extruder (¶¶ 75-83).
Claim 41: Pawloski discloses foaming being implemented with a chemical foaming agent (¶ 51).
Claim 42: Pawloski discloses the plastic product including PLA (¶ 48).
Double Patenting
Claims 28-33, 38 and 41-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,767,026 (‘026) in view of Pawloski (US 2017/0100861).
Claim 28: Claim 1 of ‘026 is directed to a process for degrading a plastic product including at least one polymer including amorphization at least partially the plastic product; and depolymerizing a target polymer of the plastic product, wherein the step of amorphization is performed at a temperature at which the plastic product is in a partially or totally molten state, and wherein the depolymerizing is performed by contacting the plastic product with a depolymerase able to degrade at least one polymer of the plastic product. Claim 1 of ‘026 is silent as to foaming and the depolymerizing being in a liquid medium. However, Desrousseaux discloses a process for degrading a plastic product including at least one polymer (abstract). The process includes a) a pretreatment step to physically change the structure of the plastic so as to increase the surface area of the plastic product (¶¶ 92-93); and b) depolymerizing at least one target polymer of the pretreated plastic product (¶¶ 74-75); wherein the pretreatment step a) is performed at a temperature at which the plastic product is in a partially or totally molten state (¶¶ 46-47); and wherein depolymerizing step b) is performed by contacting the plastic product with a depolymerase able to degrade at least one polymer of the plastic product in a liquid medium including the depolymerizing agent (¶ 94). Pawloski discloses a process for degrading a plastic product including at least one polymer (abstract), including a) foaming the plastic product (¶¶ 75-83); and b) depolymerizing a target polymer of the foamed product (¶¶ 39-44), wherein the step of foaming is performed at a temperature at which the plastic product is in a molten state (¶¶ 71, 75-83), and wherein the depolymerizing is performed by contacting the plastic product with a depolymerase able to degrade at least one polymer of the plastic product (¶ 39). As taught by Pawloski, foaming and depolymerizing the plastic breaks the plastic down into a useful substance (¶¶ 39-41). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have chosen foaming as the pretreatment step in claim 1 of ‘026 because: i. Desrousseaux expressly teaches that the pretreatment step should increase the surface of contact between the polymers and the enzymes (¶ 93) and foaming, as taught by Pawloski, was a known technique for producing plastics having a large surface area, and ii. foaming and depolymerizing the plastic breaks the plastic down into a useful substance, also taught by Pawloski (¶¶ 39-41).
Claim 29: Desrousseaux discloses the amorphization step being performed at a temperature above the Tc of the target polymer (claim 17); Pawloski discloses the foaming step being performed at a temperature above the Tc of the target polymer (¶¶ 71, 75-83).
Claims 30-31: Pawloski discloses the foaming being implemented with CO2 (¶¶ 71, 75-83).
Claims 32-33: Pawloski discloses the foaming being implemented with citric acid (¶ 51).
Claim 34: Pawloski discloses the foamed plastic product including a blowing agent at 0.05 to 90 % blowing agent, which would be expected to result in the product exhibiting a porosity rate above 20%, or overlapping the claimed range.
Claims 35-37: Pawloski discloses cooling the product to a temperature below the Tc of the target polymer rapidly by skipping the annealing step, to induce rapid crystallization (¶ 71).
Claim 38: Pawloski discloses the foaming being performed in an extruder (¶¶ 75-83).
Claim 41: Pawloski discloses foaming being implemented with a chemical foaming agent (¶ 51).
Claim 42: Pawloski discloses the plastic product including PLA (¶ 48).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “in the process disclosed in Desrousseaux, the surface area increased, prior to depolymerization, by micronization. In contrast, the claimed method utilizes a foaming step that increases the surface area of the material.” This argument has been considered but is not persuasive. i. Desrousseaux expressly teaches that the pretreatment step should increase the surface of contact between the polymers and the enzymes (¶ 93) and foaming, as taught by Pawloski, was a known technique for producing plastics having a large surface area, and ii. foaming and depolymerizing the plastic breaks the plastic down into a useful substance, also taught by Pawloski (¶¶ 39-41).
Applicant further argues that utilizing the foaming step of Pawloski as the pretreatment step of Desrousseaux “. . . the skilled person would have expected to obtain the same order of magnitude of acceleration in depolymerization.” And that “depolymerization rates are substantially improved when the micronization step is replaced by a foaming step.” This argument has been considered but is not persuasive for two reasons: First, even assuming, arguendo, that Desrousseaux was limited to only micronization, and that foaming achieved the same order of magnitude of acceleration in depolymerization, the combination would still have been obvious as the simple substitution of one known element for another is obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.). Second, the argument is not commensurate in scope with the claims. The instant claims do not require any depolymerization acceleration or rate.
Applicant further argues that “there would have been no motivation to utilize the foaming step disclosed in Pawloski since Desrousseaux does not discuss the ‘composting’ of the plastics materials disclosed within the cited reference.” This argument has been considered but is also not persuasive. As discussed above, Desrousseaux expressly teaches that the pretreatment step should increase the surface of contact between the polymers and the enzymes (¶ 93) and foaming, as taught by Pawloski, was a known technique for producing plastics having a large surface area, and foaming and depolymerizing the plastic breaks the plastic down into a useful substance, also taught by Pawloski (¶¶ 39-41).
Conclusion
/LARRY W THROWER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754