DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites “when the peaks of the positive electrode and the negative electrode overlap and are impossible to distinguish and analyze, the deterioration diagnosis circuitry performs second-order differentiation and analyze a second-order derivative voltage curve,” but it is not clear how any analysis can be done, including analyzing a second-order derivative voltage curve by performing second-order differentiation, since the peaks (from the voltage curves) are impossible to analyze in the first place.
Previous rejection has been withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s amendment filed on 09/03/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6, 11 and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Torai et al., US-PGPUB 2016/0061908 (hereinafter Torai)
Regarding Claim 6. Torai deterioration degree diagnosis device that determines a degree of deteriorating of a battery subject to user-arbitrary charging/discharging, (Abstract; Paragraph [0026], deteriorated), comprising:
a charging/discharging controlling circuitry configured to control charging or discharging of a battery (Paragraph [0085], “a battery control system 4 controls charging and discharging, Fig. 3);
a battery information measurement circuitry configured to measure a voltage and a current of the battery and measure a capacity and voltage transition during charging or discharging (Paragraph [0085], Fig. 3, current sensor 21, voltage sensor 3),
a multiple data integration circuitry configured to integrate battery capacity voltage data in at least two different state of charge sections of a plurality of state of charge sections of set percentage ranges (Fig. 2, which shows plurality of percentage sections, such as 0 to 20%, 80-100%, etc., that are two different state of charge sections of set percentages, etc., Paragraph [0079], integration occurs after various sections that have been actually measured prior to integration; Fig. 7, first measurement region, second measurement region, in view of Fig. 2, are sections of set percentage ranges), measured by the battery information measurement circuitry, and create a battery capacity voltage curve (Paragraph [0213], integrating; Fig. 7), and a deterioration degree diagnosis circuitry configured to estimate a deterioration degree of the battery on the basis of the battery capacity voltage curve, wherein the multiple data integration circuitry integrates derivative curves of a plurality of the battery capacity voltage curves (Fig. 7; Paragraphs [0213], integrates derivative curves; Claim 13; Paragraph [0136], peak strength to deterioration), the charging/discharging controlling circuitry controls the charging or discharging of the battery based on the deterioration degree of the battery estimated by the deterioration degree diagnosis circuitry (Paragraph [0085]; Fig. 3)
Regarding Claim 11. Torai deterioration degree diagnosis device (Abstract; Paragraph [0026]), comprising:
a charging/discharging controlling circuitry configured to control charging or discharging of a battery (Paragraph [0085], “a battery control system 4 controls charging and discharging, Fig. 3);
a battery information measurement circuitry configured to measure a voltage and a current of the battery and measure a capacity and voltage transition during charging or discharging (Paragraph [0085], Fig. 3, current sensor 21, voltage sensor 3),
a multiple data integration circuitry configured to integrate battery capacity voltage data in at least two different state of charge sections of a plurality of state of charge section of set percentage ranges measured by the battery information measurement circuitry (Fig. 2, which shows plurality of percentage sections, such as 0 to 20%, 80-100%, etc., that are two different state of charge sections of set percentages., Paragraph [0079], integration occurs after various sections that have been actually measured prior to integration; Fig. 7, first measurement region, second measurement region, in view of Fig. 2, are sections of set percentage ranges), and create a battery capacity voltage curve (Paragraph [0213], integrating; Figs. 7 and 11s), a deterioration degree diagnosis circuitry configured to estimate a deterioration degree of the battery on the basis of the battery capacity voltage curve, wherein the multiple data integration circuitry selects and integrates the battery capacity voltage data between which a difference in deterioration degree is within a threshold value, out of the battery capacity voltage data in at least two different charge percentage sections (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0078], various percentage sections; Figs. 7 and 11s, integrated value between upper and lower voltage limits; Paragraph [0136], peak strength to deterioration), the charging/discharging controlling circuitry controls the charging or discharging of the battery based on the deterioration degree of the battery estimated by the deterioration degree diagnosis circuitry (Paragraph [0085]; Fig. 3)
Regarding Claim 16. Torai discloses the battery capacity voltage curve integrated by the multiple data integration circuitry has at least one peak related to the positive electrode, in the derivative curve thereof (Fig. 7; Paragraph [0027], first and second derivative characteristic curves associated with positive and negative electrodes respectively; Paragraph [0030]; Paragraph [0041], plurality of peaks; Paragraphs [0072]-[0073]; Fig. 15)
Regarding Claim 17. Torai discloses the battery capacity voltage curve integrated by the multiple data integration circuitry has at least two peaks related to the negative electrode, in the derivative curve thereof (Fig. 7; Paragraph [0027], first and second derivative characteristic curves associated with positive and negative electrodes respectively; Paragraph [0030]; Paragraph [0041], plurality of peaks; Paragraphs [0072]-[0073]; Fig. 15)
Regarding Claim 18. Torai discloses the multiple data integration circuit integrates the battery capacity voltage data in at least two different state of charge sections in different charging or discharging cycles measured by the battery information measurement circuit (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0078], various sections; Fig. 7, first measurement region, second measurement region), and creates the battery capacity voltage curve (Paragraph [0009]; Paragraph [0033]; Figs. 16 and 17, charging and discharging; Paragraph [0073]; Figs. 7 and 11s, integrates different sections).
Regarding Claim 19. Torai discloses the multiple data integration circuit stores the battery capacity voltage data measured by the battery information measurement circuit (Paragraph [0085], different storages 19-1, 2, 3; [0090]), integrates the stored battery capacity voltage data and the stored battery capacity voltage data in a different state of charge section (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0078], various sections; Fig. 7, first measurement region, second measurement region), and creates the battery capacity voltage curve (Figs. 7; 11s curves, integrated values)
Regarding Claim 20. Torai discloses the battery capacity voltage curve integrated by the multiple data integration circuitry has at least one peak related to the positive electrode, in the derivative curve thereof (Fig. 7; Paragraph [0027], first and second derivative characteristic curves associated with positive and negative electrodes respectively; Paragraph [0030]; Paragraph [0041], plurality of peaks; Paragraphs [0072]-[0073]; Fig. 15)
Regarding Claim 21. Torai discloses the battery capacity voltage curve integrated by the multiple data integration circuitry has at least two peaks related to the negative electrode, in the derivative curve thereof (Fig. 7; Paragraph [0027], first and second derivative characteristic curves associated with positive and negative electrodes respectively; Paragraph [0030]; Paragraph [0041], plurality of peaks; Paragraphs [0072]-[0073]; Fig. 15)
Regarding Claim 22. Torai discloses the multiple data integration circuit integrates the battery capacity voltage data in at least two different state of charge sections in different charging or discharging cycles measured by the battery information measurement circuit (Fig. 7, first measurement region, second measurement region), and creates the battery capacity voltage curve (Paragraph [0009]; Paragraph [0033]; Figs. 16 and 17, charging and discharging; Paragraph [0073]; Figs. 7 and 11s, integrates different sections).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torai, US-PGPUB 2016/0061908.
Regarding Claim 1. Torai deterioration degree diagnosis device (Abstract; Paragraph [0026]), comprising:
a charging/discharging controlling circuitry configured to control charging or discharging of a battery (Paragraph [0085], “a battery control system 4 controls charging and discharging, Fig. 3);
a battery information measurement circuitry configured to measure a voltage and a current of the battery and measure a capacity and voltage transition during charging or discharging (Paragraph [0085], Fig. 3, current sensor 21, voltage sensor 3),
a multiple data integration circuitry configured to integrate battery capacity voltage data in at least two different state of charge sections of a plurality of state of charge sections of set percentages ranges measured by the battery information measurement circuitry (Fig. 2, which shows plurality of percentage sections, such as 0 to 20%, 80-100%, etc., that are two different state of charge sections of set percentages, Paragraph [0079], integration occurs after various sections that have been actually measured prior to integration; Fig. 7, first measurement region, second measurement region, in view of Fig. 2, are sections of set percentage ranges), and create a battery capacity voltage curve (Paragraph [0213], integrating; Fig. 7), and a deterioration degree diagnosis circuitry configured to estimate a deterioration degree of the battery on the basis of the battery capacity voltage curve (Fig. 7; Paragraphs [0213], integrates derivative curves with peaks; Claim 13; Paragraph [0136], peak strength to deterioration), the charging/discharging controlling circuitry controls the charging or discharging of the battery based on the deterioration degree of the battery estimated by the deterioration degree diagnosis circuitry (Paragraph [0085]; Fig. 3)
Torai further discloses if sufficient number of measured data have been acquired to perform deterioration estimation, which involves existence of peaks associated with positive and negative electrodes (Fig. 15), whereas if insufficient, then more voltage data are added (Fig. 6). As such, although Torai is silent in regard to when there are no two peaks related to the negative electrode or there is no one peak related to the positive electrode in the derivative curve of the battery capacity voltage curve integrated by the multiple data integration circuitry, the multiple data integration circuitry adds the battery capacity voltage data to be integrated, it would have been obvious to do so, since deterioration estimation is entirely based on the existence of peaks from the negative and positive electrodes. Note that the exact number of two peaks related to the negative electrode is merely an obvious designer’s choice and criteria in determining the deteriorate degree.
Regarding Claim 7. Torai discloses the battery information measurement circuitry further measures a temperature of the battery, and the multiple data integration circuitry includes a temperature data conversion circuitry configured to correct a difference in the temperature between at least the two battery capacity voltage data in which the temperatures measured by the battery information measurement circuitry are different from each other, on the basis of a temperature- resistance value correlation, and wherein the temperature data conversion circuitry includes a reaction distribution correction circuitry configured to correct a reaction distribution inside a battery electrode for at least the two battery capacity voltage data in which the temperatures are different from each other (Fig. 14, 19-4, temperature correction value storage; Paragraphs [0286]-[0297], estimating deterioration with respect to battery temperature changes)
Regarding Claim 14. Torai discloses the multiple data integration circuit integrates the battery capacity voltage data in at least two different state of charge sections in different charging or discharging cycles measured by the battery information measurement circuit (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0078], various sections; Fig. 7, first measurement region, second measurement region), and creates the battery capacity voltage curve (Paragraph [0009]; Paragraph [0033]; Figs. 16 and 17, charging and discharging; Paragraph [0073]; Figs. 7 and 11s, integrates different sections).
Regarding Claim 15. Torai discloses the multiple data integration circuit stores the battery capacity voltage data measured by the battery information measurement circuit (Paragraph [0085], different storages 19-1, 2, 3; [0090]), integrates the stored battery capacity voltage data and the stored battery capacity voltage data in a different state of charge section (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0078], various sections; Fig. 7, first measurement region, second measurement region), and creates the battery capacity voltage curve (Figs. 7; 11s curves, integrated values)
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torai, US-PGPUB 2016/0061908 in view of Du et al., US-PGPUB 2021/0141028 (hereinafter Du)
Regarding Claim 9. Torai discloses fitting so that the difference between the characteristic curve and the measured characteristic derivative curve is minimized in determining the SOC (Fig. 2; Paragraphs [0075]-[0077]), and making temperature correction in determining the SOC (Fig. 14, 19-4, temperature correction value storage; Paragraphs [0286]-[0297], estimating deterioration with respect to battery temperature changes).
Torai does not disclose from the battery capacity voltage data having a hysteresis in which open circuit voltages during charging and discharging of the battery are different, the multiple data integration circuitry selects data on which there is no influence of the hysteresis, on the basis of analysis of a derivative curve.
Du discloses a hysteresis correction circuitry configured to correct, for the battery capacity voltage data having a hysteresis in which open circuit voltages during charging and discharging of the battery are different, a difference due to the hysteresis on the basis of a hysteresis model (Abstract; Paragraphs [0006]-[0028])
Torai discloses making fitting and temperature correction based on derivative curve, which are themselves making choice or selecting to further refine the data, so as to accurately determine the battery deterioration state. Du, meanwhile, discloses correcting battery hysteresis due to open circuit voltages during charging and discharging. As such, it would have been obvious to selects data on which there is no influence of the hysteresis, on the basis of analysis of a derivative curve, from the battery capacity voltage data having a hysteresis in which open circuit voltages during charging and discharging of the battery are different, so as to accurately determine the deterioration state of the battery.
Regarding Claim 10. Torai does not disclose the multiple data integration circuitry includes a hysteresis correction circuitry configured to correct, for the battery capacity voltage data having a hysteresis in which open circuit voltages during charging and discharging of the battery are different, a difference due to the hysteresis on the basis of a hysteresis model.
Du discloses a hysteresis correction circuitry configured to correct, for the battery capacity voltage data having a hysteresis in which open circuit voltages during charging and discharging of the battery are different, a difference due to the hysteresis on the basis of a hysteresis model (Abstract; Paragraphs [0006]-[0028])
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Du in Torai and have a hysteresis correction circuitry configured to correct, for the battery capacity voltage data having a hysteresis in which open circuit voltages during charging and discharging of the battery are different, a difference due to the hysteresis on the basis of a hysteresis model, so as to accurately determine the deterioration degree of the battery.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torai, US-PGPUB 2016/0061908 in view of Kang et al., US-PGPUB 2003/0057939 (hereinafter Kang)
Regarding Claim 23. Torai does not disclose when peaks of the positive electrode and the negative electrode overlap and are impossible to distinguish and analyze, the deterioration diagnosis circuitry performs second-order differentiation and analyzes a second-order derivative voltage curve.
Kang discloses disclose when peaks of the positive electrode and the negative electrode overlap and are impossible to distinguish and analyze, the deterioration diagnosis circuitry performs second-order differentiation and analyzes a second-order derivative voltage curve (Paragraph [0042]; [0047]). Note: Kang is an analogous art, as it relates to detecting peak)
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Kang in Torai and when peaks of the positive electrode and the negative electrode overlap and are impossible to distinguish and analyze, the deterioration diagnosis circuitry performs second-order differentiation and analyzes a second-order derivative voltage curve, so as to accurately identify the peak.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/03/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In Response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Torai discloses at least two different state of charge sections of a plurality of state of charge sections of set percentage ranges at least in Fig. 2, which shows plurality of percentage sections, such as 0 to 20%, 80-100%, etc., that are two different state of charge sections of set percentages.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HYUN D PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857