Detailed Action
Claims 1, 3, 6 and 8-11 are currently pending. Claims 2, 4-5, 7 and 12 were canceled per Applicant. Claims 1, 3, 6 and 8-11 remain rejected despite Applicant’s arguments filed 11/05/2025. Amendment necessitated new grounds of rejection presented within this Office action. Previous drawing objections and 112(a) rejections are withdrawn. Claims contain outstanding 112(b) rejections. Response to Applicant arguments can be found at the end of this Office action. This Office action is final.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Within claim 1, lines 13 and 15: “removable coupling coupling means” should be “removable coupling means” as previously recited.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Specifically, the claim limitations “cable transport means”, “removable hooking means”, “removable coupling means”, “movement means”, “guidance means”, and “stiff shifting means” are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the reflexive pronoun “the same” with line 14. Please replace “the same” with the noun to which it refers.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "intended to" within line 21 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 8 recites the limitations "said first operating configuration” and “said second operating configuration" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3, 6 and 9-11 are rejected due to their dependency upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8-9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Erharter et al. (US 20210031811 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Erharter discloses a system for the transportation of loads and/or persons at height comprising at least one car defining at least one cab for the transportation of loads and/or persons (1; Fig.1), the system comprising: -cable transport means of said car (2; Fig.1); -removable hooking means of said car to said cable transport means (15,7; Fig.1); - movement means of said car onto a ground (8,5; Fig.1); and -removeable coupling means of said car to said movement means onto the ground (Fig.7), wherein said movement means onto the ground comprise at least one movable support coupleable to said car in a removable manner by means of said removable coupling coupling means and adapted to hold said car during movement of the same onto the ground (Fig.8); and wherein said removable coupling coupling means comprise at least a first coupling portion associated with said movable support and a second coupling portion associated with said car and coupleable to said first coupling portion in a removable manner (Fig.7); wherein: -said movable support comprises a supporting surface arranged, in use, substantially horizontal to the ground (top of seats 16; Fig.8), intended to receive said car and on which said first coupling portion is formed (opening of 16; Fig.8); and -said car comprises a bottom wall (10; Fig.7) on which said second coupling portion is formed (14; Fig.7), wherein when said bottom wall is resting on said supporting surface (Fig.5), said first coupling portion and said second coupling portion are coupled to secure said car and said movable support to each other so as to allow the movement of the car itself onto the ground (Figs.2-4).
Regarding claim 3: Erharter further discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein said hooking means (15,7; Fig.1) comprise: - at least one supporting arm (15; Fig.4) secured to said cable transport means (7; Fig.4) and provided with at least a first hooking portion (14; Fig.6); and - at least a second hooking portion associated with said car and coupleable to said first hooking portion in a removable manner (21; Fig.6).
Regarding claim 6: Erharter further discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein said movable support comprises at least one motor-driven assembly for the movement of the support onto the ground (Para.[0044], lines 10-14).
Regarding claim 8: Erharter further discloses the system according to claim 6, further comprising: at least one exchange station located between said movement means onto the ground and said transport means at height and defining at least one point of departure, at which said car is moved from said first operating configuration to said second operating configuration, and at least one point of arrival, at which said car is moved from said second operating configuration to said first operating configuration (Fig.1 and Para.[0025]-[0028]).
Regarding claim 9: Erharter further discloses the system according to claim 8, wherein said movement means comprise at least one of either:- guidance means for guiding said movable support (8; Fig.8) along at least one predetermined route (5,25; Fig.8) and provided with at least one way of arrival to said point of departure and at least one way of departure from said point of arrival (Fig.1 and Para.[0040], lines 8-17 and Para.[0041], lines 30-35); or - stiff shifting means of said movable support between said point of departure and said point of arrival along a shifting direction (apparent from Fig.1).
Regarding claim 10: Erharter further discloses the system according to claim 9, wherein said way of arrival and said way of departure extend substantially parallel to each other along respective directions of guidance of said movable support arranged substantially orthogonal with respect to said shifting direction (apparent from Fig.1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erharter in view of Wesener (US 3823673 A).
Regarding claim 11: Erharter teaches a system, wherein said movement means (8,5; Fig.1) travels along a predetermined route (5; Fig.1) including the moveable support (8; Fig.1) and said car (6; Fig.1). Erharter does not teach at least one power supply line configured to electrically supply at least one of either said moveable support or said car or at least one connecting element positioned, in use, in sliding contact with said power supply line.
However, Wesener teaches at least one power supply line (3; Fig.1) configured to electrically supply a moving car (Fig.1) and at least one connecting element (S1,S2; Fig.1) positioned, in use, in sliding contact with said power supply line (3; Fig.1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Erharter with the sliding power system of Wesener to supply power to the moving passenger cars for powering electric appliances or charging the electrical supply of the car with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant arguments regarding previous drawing objections and 112(a) rejection, Examiner agrees that one skilled in the art is able to make and use the invention as claimed; therefore, the previous drawing objections and 112(a) rejections are withdrawn.
Previous 112(b) rejections have been overcome by claim amendments, with new 112(b) rejections present.
Regarding Applicant arguments regarding amended limitations adding features not disclosed or taught by Erharter et al. (US 20200385029 A1), Examiner agrees. See new corresponding 102 and 103 rejections above in view of Erharter et al. (US 20210031811 A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HEAVEN R BUFFINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615