DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's reply filed 5/18/2026 includes claim amendments and arguments corresponding to the new limitations. The 35 USC 112(b) Rejection set forth in the previous action for Claim 18 has been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments. Claims 1 and 18 have been amended to recite “a plurality of dot-shaped adhesives is disposed on one side surface of the separator, and an amount of adhesive included in each dot-shaped adhesive of the plurality of dot-shaped adhesives is approximately the same.”
Applicant argues throughout the entire electrode/separator stack of the instant invention, the amount of adhesive in each dot-shaped adhesive portion does not change. Applicant compares the instant invention to an embodiment of Obara, wherein the size of each dot-shaped adhesive decreases towards the center of the stack (“the area (average value) of the single coating portion of the resin layer at the end of the stacking direction is larger than the area (average value) of the single coating portion of the resin layer in the center” [0033]). Examiner agrees there is a distinction between this aspect of the instant invention and the embodiment described in [0033] of Obara.
Applicant appears to argue a uniform amount of adhesive per dot must be maintained for all dot-shaped adhesive portions throughout the entire electrode/separator stack. While this feature is supported by the instant specification, it is not claimed. The claims only require a same amount of adhesive for “a plurality of dot-shaped adhesives” that are “disposed on one side surface of the separator,” which is disclosed by Obara ([0109-0114], Figs. 3B and 3C). Applicant states “Obara clearly describes a structure where the amount of adhesive in each coating portion is prohibited from being the same.” While Obara does teach an embodiment varying the size of each dot-shaped adhesive, Obara’s dot size varies among different layers in the stacking/vertical direction ([0115], see examples). Obara discloses no variation in dot size within the same layer in the lamination/horizontal direction (“dot-shaped coating portions 33b formed at equal intervals in a total of 12 dots, 3 horizontally and 4 vertically … formed in a uniformly distributed manner” [0111, 0147], See example resin layers A-D and Figs. 3B and 3C).
Obara – Fig. 3
Applicant also states “Obara does not describe that all coating portions are disposed on one side surface of the separator,” but this is not required by any of the claims. The claims currently do not comprise any limitation pertaining to “a coating portion” or “all coating portions.”
The claims remain rejected as obvious over the references cited in the previous action.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites the following limitations:
“an adhesive disposed between at least one side surface in a thickness direction of the separator and a first electrode of the plurality of first electrodes” on lines 7-8; and
“a plurality of dot-shaped adhesives is disposed on one side surface of the separator” on lines 31-32
Although it is possible some or all of the adhesive on lines 7-8 is in the form of “a plurality of dot-shaped adhesives,” the claim does not establish any relationship between “an adhesive” and “a plurality of dot-shaped adhesives.” Since the instant specification also supports more than one adhesive in the battery structure, all limitations on lines 17-30 that pertain to “the adhesive” are interpreted as only applying to the adhesive on lines 7-8 of the claim.
Claim 18 recites the following limitations:
“an adhesive disposed between at least one side surface in a thickness direction of a separator of the plurality of separators and a first electrode of the plurality of first electrodes” on lines 7-9; and
“a plurality of dot-shaped adhesives is disposed on one side surface of the separator” on lines 31-32
Although it is possible some or all of the adhesive on lines 7-9 is in the form of “a plurality of dot-shaped adhesives,” the claim does not establish any relationship between “an adhesive” and “a plurality of dot-shaped adhesives.” Since the instant specification also supports more than one adhesive in the battery structure, all limitations on lines 18-30 that pertain to “the adhesive” are interpreted as only applying to the adhesive on lines 7-9 of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 18 recites:
“a plurality of separators; and an adhesive disposed between at least one side surface in a thickness direction of a separator of the plurality of separators and a first electrode of the plurality of first electrodes” on lines 6-9; and
“a plurality of dot-shaped adhesives is disposed on one side surface of the separator” on lines 31-32
Since the claim permits “a plurality of separators” in the battery structure, the limitations on lines 31-32 can be interpreted multiple ways:
First Interpretation – One Adhesive on One Separator: The adhesive on line 7 is in the form of “a plurality of dot-shaped adhesives,” so “the separator” and “one side surface” on lines 31-32 corresponds to “at least one side surface in a thickness direction of a separator of the plurality of separators” on lines 7-8; or
Second Interpretation – Two Adhesives on One Separator, Same Surface: The plurality of dot-shaped adhesives and the adhesive are both present on the same surface of one separator; or
Third Interpretation – Two Adhesives on One Separator, Different Surface: The plurality of dot-shaped adhesives and the adhesive are both present on the same separator, but on different surfaces of the separator; or
Fourth Interpretation – Two Adhesives on Two Separators: The adhesive, separator, and separator surface on lines 6-9 are independent of the dot-shaped adhesive, separator, and separator surface on lines 31-32.
For the purpose of this action, the claim will be examined under the Fourth Interpretation. If Applicant intended for a relationship to be established between the elements recited on lines 6-9 and 31-32, please amend the claims and ensure proper antecedent basis terms are used.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7-9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Obara et al., JP 2014026943 A, and further in view of Masarapu et al., US 20140065464 A1 (previously cited; see underlined portions of action for updated mapping/citations).
Regarding Claim 1, Obara discloses a secondary battery (a stacked type non-aqueous electrolyte lithium ion secondary battery 10 [0014-0019], Figs. 1 and 4) comprising:
a plurality of first electrodes each including a first electrode core body and a first electrode active material disposed on the first electrode core body (negative electrode has a structure in which negative electrode active material layers 15 are disposed on both sides of a negative electrode current collector 12 [0019], Fig. 1; a plurality are stacked [0020]);
a plurality of second electrodes each including a second electrode core body and a second electrode active material disposed on the second electrode core body (the positive electrode has a structure in which positive electrode active material layers 13 are disposed on both sides of a positive electrode current collector 11 [0019], Fig. 1; a plurality are stacked [0020])
at least one separator (separator/electrolyte layer 17 [0019], Fig. 1); and
an adhesive disposed between at least one side surface in a thickness direction of the separator and a first electrode of the plurality of first electrodes (resin layers 18 may be disposed between the separator 17 and the negative electrode active material layer 15 and/or between the separator 17 and the positive electrode active material layer 13 to bond these two layers together [0019], resin layer 18 adheres electrode and separator [0013, 0034]), wherein
the plurality of first electrodes (12+15) and the plurality of second electrodes (11+13) are alternately stacked via the separator (18) ([0013, 0020], Figs. 1, 2, and 5), and
the plurality of the first electrodes (12+15) includes an outermost first electrode located farthest from a center in a stacking direction of the stacked body (see “outermost first electrode 12+15” in Annotated Fig. 1), and a centermost first electrode located closest to the center in the stacking direction of the stacked body (see “centermost first electrode 12+15” in Annotated Fig. 1),
an adhesive strength A0 (between the outermost first electrode and the separator, see “A0” on Annotated Fig. 1) and an adhesive strength A1 (between the centermost first electrode and the separator, see “A1 on Annotated Fig. 1) are measured at corresponding portions of the outermost first electrode and the centermost first electrode which overlap each other in the stacking direction (adhesive surfaces for A0 and A1 overlap each other in the stacking direction, see Figs. 1, 2, and 5; peel tests for measurements [0148]), and
a plurality of dot-shaped adhesives is disposed on one side surface of the separator, and an amount of adhesive included in each dot-shaped adhesive of the plurality of dot-shaped adhesives is approximately the same ([0111-0120], Figs. 3B and 3C).
Obara – Annotated Fig. 1
Obara – Fig. 3
Regarding the limitation “A1/A0 is at least 0.1 and less than 0.9,” Obara discloses a stacked battery manufacturing process that utilizes the method of the instant disclosure (using a hot press on a stack of electrodes to thermally fuse/melt resin and create an adhesive separator adjacent to an electrode, at 95ºC for 300 seconds [0007, 0162]; compared to instant spec Table 1, pressing at 70-110ºC for 50-500 seconds). Obara discloses numerous acceptable resin/adhesive materials also cited by the instant disclosure, including a meth(acrylic) resin, an ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer, an epoxy resin, and a fluorine resin such as PVDF ([0099]; compare to instant spec at [0051]).
Noting the common adhesive materials and processing conditions disclosed by Obara and the instant invention, it is the Examiner’s position that although Obara does not measure an “A1/A0” value, the electrode stack of Obara would possess the claimed values of A1/A0. Since the PTO cannot conduct experiments, the proof of burden is shifted to the applicant to establish an unobviousness difference, see In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977).
Should inherency due to similar material and processing conditions not be sufficient, the following rejection also applies. Obara discloses the electrode stack should have adhesive layers throughout the stack to prevent the separator from shrinking ([0007]), but also acknowledges in stacked-structure batteries, there is a difference in the amount of heat received between the ends and the center of the stacked-structure battery, resulting in variations in the melting speed of the resin layer between the center and ends in the stacking direction ([0008, 0011]).
Obara discloses an area of the resin layer at an end of the lamination direction can be 1.2 to 3 times larger than an area of the resin layer at the center ([0115]), or the weight of the resin layer at the end of the lamination direction can be 1.1 to 2.5 times larger than the weight of the resin layer at the center ([0117-0119, 0170]; meeting the limitation “different amounts of adhesive applied” to the separator). Obara also discloses there is a direct relationship between the amount of adhesive resin used for a layer and the resulting adhesiveness of the layer after hot pressing ([0105, 0114-0115]). Knowing Obara’s preference for the area of the resin layer at the end of the lamination direction (“A0”) to be 1.2 to 3 times larger than the area of the resin layer at the center (“A1”), Obara teaches an A1/A0 range of 0.33 to 0.83 (1/3=0.33 for “3 times larger” and 1/1.2=0.83 for “1.2 times larger”). Obara’s suggested range of 0.33 to 0.83 overlaps the claimed range of 0.1 to 0.9.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to optimize a ratio of adhesive strength between a centermost first electrode and a separator and between an outermost first electrode and a separator, in the stacked body of Obara, and would have been motivated to do so, as Obara teaches adhesiveness is needed throughout the electrode stack, and a significantly higher amount of adhesive is preferred at the outermost portion of the stack compared to the centermost portion.
Since Obara discloses a smaller amount of adhesive (i.e., a smaller area of resin) is present on an inner side of the stack compared to the outer side ([0115]), Obara discloses the limitation “an amount of the adhesive that melts on an inner side in the stacking direction is smaller than an amount of the adhesive that melts on an outer side in the stacking direction.”
Obara also discloses there is a direct relationship between the amount of adhesive resin used for a layer and the resulting adhesiveness of the layer after hot pressing ([0105, 0114-0115]). Therefore, Obara’s stack having a smaller amount of adhesive (i.e., a smaller area of resin, or a smaller “amount of bonded portion”) on an inner side of the stack compared to the outer side of the stack meets the limitation “an amount of bonded portion developing the adhesive strength in the adhesive on the inner side in the stacking direction is smaller than an amount of bonded portion developing the adhesive strength in the adhesive on the outer side in the stacking direction.”
Although Obara discloses a plurality of first electrodes are included in a stacked body including the plurality of the first electrodes and the plurality of the second electrodes (three or more unit cell layers stacked together [0013]; stack of five unit cells [0152]), Obara does not disclose the plurality of first electrodes is “at least ten” per Claim 1. However, this limitation is taught by Masarapu.
Masarapu teaches a high energy density battery can have about 3 to 50 negative electrode layers, and increasing the number of electrode layers in a battery will increase the capacity of the battery ([0148], “Cell Layers” column in Tables 2-7). However, Masarapu also teaches increasing the number of electrode layers will undesirably increase the battery weight and size ([0148]). Masarapu and Obara both disclose their respective batteries may be used in electric vehicles (Obara [0130], Masarapu [0031]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to select between 3 and 50 first electrodes for the stacked body of Obara, and would have been motivated to do so, by including enough first electrodes to achieve a high battery capacity, yet not too many layers to negatively impact battery weight and size (as taught by Masarapu). Examiner notes the range of first electrodes taught by Masarapu (3 to 50) overlaps with the claimed range of “at least ten.”
Regarding Claim 3, modified Obara discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Obara does not disclose “a longer side of the first electrode is at least 10 cm, and an area of one side surface of the first electrode in the thickness direction is at least 90 cm2.” However, these limitations are also taught by Masarapu.
Masarapu teaches a length and a width of an electrode is variable, and an area of an electrode can be 13.5 cm2 to about 400 cm2 ([0147], “Electrode Area” column in Tables 2-7). Masarapu teaches an electrode area can be large to increase battery capacity, but an increased weight of a large electrode can negatively influence cell capacity ([0147-0151], “Wh/Kg” column in Tables 2-7).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to optimize the length and area of the first electrode in the battery of modified Obara, and would have been motivated to do so, by having a large enough electrode area to contribute to a high battery capacity, yet not too large as to negatively impact battery weight.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Obara discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Obara discloses a second adhesive disposed between an other side surface of the separator in the thickness direction and the second electrode (resin layers 18 may be disposed between the separator 17 and the negative electrode active material layer 15 and/or between the separator 17 and the positive electrode active material layer 13 to bond these two layers together [0019]), wherein
an adhesive strength between an outermost second electrode and the separator is A2 (see “outermost second electrode 13+17” in Annotated Fig. 1), and an adhesive strength between the second electrode located in a center in the stacking direction of the stacked body and the separator is A3 (see “outermost second electrode 13+17” in Annotated Fig. 1; as the first electrode is at the exact center of the stack, the second electrode immediately above or below the center first electrode would be A3).
Regarding the limitation “A3/A2 is at least 0.1 and less than 0.9,” this limitation expresses the
adhesive strength between the outermost second electrode and separator (A2) is larger than the adhesive strength between the centermost second electrode and separator (A3). This limitation is consistent with modified Obara’s preference for the area of the resin layer at the end of the lamination direction be 1.2 to 3 times larger than the area of the resin layer at the center (Obara, [0115]), or the weight of the resin layer at the end of the lamination direction be 1.1 to 2.5 times larger than the weight of the resin layer at the center (Obara, [0117-0119, 0170]). Modified Obara discloses there is a direct relationship between the amount of adhesive resin used for a layer and the resulting adhesiveness of the layer (Obara, [0105]). Knowing modified Obara’s preference for the area of the resin layer at the end of the lamination direction (“A2”) to be 1.2 to 3 times larger than the area of the resin layer at the center (“A3”), Obara suggests an A3/A2 range of 0.33 to 0.83 (1/3=0.33 for “3 times larger” and 1/1.2=0.83 for “1.2 times larger”). Obara’s suggested range of 0.33 to 0.83 overlaps the claimed range of 0.1 to 0.9.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to optimize a ratio of adhesive strength between a centermost second electrode and a separator and an outermost second electrode and a separator, in the stacked body of modified Obara, and would have been motivated to do so, as modified Obara teaches adhesiveness is needed throughout the electrode stack, but a significantly higher adhesiveness is preferred at the outermost portion compared to the centermost portion.
Obara – Annotated Fig. 1
Regarding Claim 7, modified Obara discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Obara discloses the one side surface is included in a porous substrate having ionic permeability (Obara, separator having pores holding the electrolyte for lithium ion movement [0086]) and insulating characteristic (Obara, PP, PE, polyimide, and PVdF-HFP [0094]; PP, PE, polyimide, and PVdF-HFP are insulating materials [0099]).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Obara discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Obara discloses the other side surface is included in a porous substrate having ionic permeability (Obara, separator having pores holding the electrolyte for lithium ion movement [0086]) and insulating characteristic (Obara, PP, PE, polyimide, and PVdF-HFP [0094]; PP, PE, polyimide, and PVdF-HFP are insulating materials [0099]).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Obara discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Obara discloses the adhesive (Obara, resin 18) is applied to the one side surface of the separator with an approximately constant area density (Obara, [0143-0146, 0157-0161]), and the area density of a bonded portion of the adhesive changes in the stacking direction such that the area density of the bonded portion between the separator and the outermost first electrode is greater than the area density of the bonded portion between the separator and the centermost first electrode (Obara [0027, 0117-0119], Tables 1-2).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Obara discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Obara discloses the secondary battery is a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery (Obara, stacked type non-aqueous electrolyte lithium ion secondary battery [0014-0019]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Obara as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Okada et al., JP 2002329530 A (previously cited).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Obara discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Obara does not disclose “the separator is folded in a zigzag.” However, this limitation is taught by Okada.
Okada teaches a traditional battery stack comprises a plurality of positive electrode sheets 1 and a plurality of negative electrode sheets 2 alternately stacked with a separator 3 interposed therebetween ([0002], Fig. 4; similar to Obara battery stack in Obara Fig. 1). Okada teaches the traditional stack design can be improved by obtaining a continuous-length separator and folding it “in a zigzag manner” between the electrode sheets ([0019], Fig. 3). Okada teaches the zigzag folding technique shields and insulates the edges of the positive and negative electrodes, which prevents a short circuit within the stack ([0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to assemble modified Obara’s plurality of first and second electrodes with a continuous-length separator folded in a zigzag manner, as disclosed by Okada, in order to protect the stack from short circuiting.
Okada – Fig. 3 (left) and Fig. 4 (right)
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Obara et al., JP 2014026943 A, and further in view of Masarapu et al., US 20140065464 A1 (previously cited; see underlined portions of action for updated mapping/citations).
Regarding Claim 18, Obara discloses a secondary battery (a stacked type non-aqueous electrolyte lithium ion secondary battery 10 [0014-0019], Figs. 1 and 4) comprising:
a plurality of first electrodes each including a first electrode core body and a first electrode active material disposed on the first electrode core body (negative electrode has a structure in which negative electrode active material layers 15 are disposed on both sides of a negative electrode current collector 12 [0019], Fig. 1; a plurality are stacked [0020]);
a plurality of second electrodes each including a second electrode core body and a second electrode active material disposed on the second electrode core body (the positive electrode has a structure in which positive electrode active material layers 13 are disposed on both sides of a positive electrode current collector 11 [0019], Fig. 1; a plurality are stacked [0020])
a plurality of separators (separator/electrolyte layer 17 [0019], Fig. 1; see examples: four separators in each stack); and
an adhesive disposed between at least one side surface in a thickness direction of a separator of the plurality of separators and a first electrode of the plurality of first electrodes (resin layers 18 may be disposed between the separator 17 and the negative electrode active material layer 15 and/or between the separator 17 and the positive electrode active material layer 13 to bond these two layers together [0019], resin layer 18 adheres electrode and separator [0013, 0034]), wherein
the plurality of first electrodes (12+15) and the plurality of second electrodes (11+13) are alternately stacked via the separator (18) ([0013, 0020], Figs. 1, 2, and 5), and
the plurality of the first electrodes (12+15) includes an outermost first electrode located farthest from a center in a stacking direction of the stacked body (see “outermost first electrode 12+15” in Annotated Fig. 1), and a centermost first electrode located closest to the center in the stacking direction of the stacked body (see “centermost first electrode 12+15” in Annotated Fig. 1),
an adhesive strength A0 (between the outermost first electrode and the separator, see “A0” on Annotated Fig. 1) and an adhesive strength A1 (between the centermost first electrode and the separator, see “A1 on Annotated Fig. 1) are measured at corresponding portions of the outermost first electrode and the centermost first electrode which overlap each other in the stacking direction (adhesive surfaces for A0 and A1 overlap each other in the stacking direction, see Figs. 1, 2, and 5; peel tests for measurements [0148]), and
a plurality of dot-shaped adhesives is disposed on one side surface of the separator, and an amount of adhesive included in each dot-shaped adhesive of the plurality of dot-shaped adhesives is approximately the same ([0111-0120], Figs. 3B and 3C), and
the plurality of separators includes two or more different separators with different amounts of adhesive applied ([0117-0119, 0170], combinations of resin separators A, B, C, and D in [0143-0161]).
Obara – Annotated Fig. 1
Obara – Fig. 3
Regarding the limitation “A1/A0 is at least 0.1 and less than 0.9,” Obara discloses a stacked battery manufacturing process that utilizes the method of the instant disclosure (using a hot press on a stack of electrodes to thermally fuse/melt resin and create an adhesive separator adjacent to an electrode, at 95ºC for 300 seconds [0007, 0162]; compared to instant spec Table 1, pressing at 70-110ºC for 50-500 seconds). Obara discloses numerous acceptable resin/adhesive materials also cited by the instant disclosure, including a meth(acrylic) resin, an ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer, an epoxy resin, and a fluorine resin such as PVDF ([0099]; compare to instant spec at [0051]).
Noting the common adhesive materials and processing conditions disclosed by Obara and the instant invention, it is the Examiner’s position that although Obara does not measure an “A1/A0” value, the electrode stack of Obara would possess the claimed values of A1/A0. Since the PTO cannot conduct experiments, the proof of burden is shifted to the applicant to establish an unobviousness difference, see In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977).
Should inherency due to similar material and processing conditions not be sufficient, the following rejection also applies. Obara discloses the electrode stack should have adhesive layers throughout the stack to prevent the separator from shrinking ([0007]), but also acknowledges in stacked-structure batteries, there is a difference in the amount of heat received between the ends and the center of the stacked-structure battery, resulting in variations in the melting speed of the resin layer between the center and ends in the stacking direction ([0008, 0011]).
Obara discloses an area of the resin layer at an end of the lamination direction can be 1.2 to 3 times larger than an area of the resin layer at the center ([0115]), or the weight of the resin layer at the end of the lamination direction can be 1.1 to 2.5 times larger than the weight of the resin layer at the center ([0117-0119, 0170]; meeting the limitation “different amounts of adhesive applied” to the separator). Obara also discloses there is a direct relationship between the amount of adhesive resin used for a layer and the resulting adhesiveness of the layer after hot pressing ([0105, 0114-0115]). Knowing Obara’s preference for the area of the resin layer at the end of the lamination direction (“A0”) to be 1.2 to 3 times larger than the area of the resin layer at the center (“A1”), Obara teaches an A1/A0 range of 0.33 to 0.83 (1/3=0.33 for “3 times larger” and 1/1.2=0.83 for “1.2 times larger”). Obara’s suggested range of 0.33 to 0.83 overlaps the claimed range of 0.1 to 0.9.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to optimize a ratio of adhesive strength between a centermost first electrode and a separator and between an outermost first electrode and a separator, in the stacked body of Obara, and would have been motivated to do so, as Obara teaches adhesiveness is needed throughout the electrode stack, and a significantly higher amount of adhesive is preferred at the outermost portion of the stack compared to the centermost portion.
Since Obara discloses a smaller amount of adhesive (i.e., a smaller area of resin) is present on an inner side of the stack compared to the outer side ([0115]), Obara discloses the limitation “an amount of the adhesive that melts on an inner side in the stacking direction is smaller than an amount of the adhesive that melts on an outer side in the stacking direction.”
Obara also discloses there is a direct relationship between the amount of adhesive resin used for a layer and the resulting adhesiveness of the layer after hot pressing ([0105, 0114-0115]). Therefore, Obara’s stack having a smaller amount of adhesive (i.e., a smaller area of resin, or a smaller “amount of bonded portion”) on an inner side of the stack compared to the outer side of the stack meets the limitation “an amount of bonded portion developing the adhesive strength in the adhesive on the inner side in the stacking direction is smaller than an amount of bonded portion developing the adhesive strength in the adhesive on the outer side in the stacking direction.”
Although Obara discloses a plurality of first electrodes are included in a stacked body including the plurality of the first electrodes and the plurality of the second electrodes (three or more unit cell layers stacked together [0013]; stack of five unit cells [0152]), Obara does not disclose the plurality of first electrodes is “at least ten” per Claim 1. However, this limitation is taught by Masarapu.
Masarapu teaches a high energy density battery can have about 3 to 50 negative electrode layers, and increasing the number of electrode layers in a battery will increase the capacity of the battery ([0148], “Cell Layers” column in Tables 2-7). However, Masarapu also teaches increasing the number of electrode layers will undesirably increase the battery weight and size ([0148]). Masarapu and Obara both disclose their respective batteries may be used in electric vehicles (Obara [0130], Masarapu [0031]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to select between 3 and 50 first electrodes for the stacked body of Obara, and would have been motivated to do so, by including enough first electrodes to achieve a high battery capacity, yet not too many layers to negatively impact battery weight and size (as taught by Masarapu). Examiner notes the range of first electrodes taught by Masarapu (3 to 50) overlaps with the claimed range of “at least ten.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BETHANY C GARCIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721