DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Applicant’s remarks and amendments to the claims filed August 3, 2026 are acknowledged. Claims 1, 6, 12-13, and 17 were amended, claim 42 was introduced. Claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-13, 15-18, 20, 25-27, 31, 34-35, and 42 are pending.
Restriction/Election
New claim 42 is directed to the elected invention. Claims 15-18, 20, 25-27, 31, and 34-35 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-13, and 42 are under consideration hereinafter.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 62/950,863, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Specifically, 62/950,863 fails to disclose “a 13PB2 catalytic domain sequence,” “I-R3 catalytic domain sequence,” “nucleic acids 10-50 of SEQ ID NO: 37,” or “nucleic acids 10-19 of SEQ ID NO: 54,” as recited in instant claims 5-6 and 12. The first disclosure of this subject matter is in PCT/US2020/066223 (see claim 5-6 and 12). In addition, 62/950,863 fails to disclose “saDNA,” or “high concentration of metal ions, wherein the catalytic nucleic-acid assisting reagent comprises a saDNA” as recited in claims 3 and 13. The first disclosure of this subject matter is in PCT/US2020/066223 (see claim 3, and pgs. 22-23). The effective filing date of claims 3, 5-6, 9, and 12-13, therefore, is December 18, 2020. Claims 1-2, 4, 7, 10, and 42 find support in Application No. 62/950,863. The effective filing date of claims 1-2, 4, 7, 10, and 42 is December 19, 2019.
Withdrawn Rejections
Applicant’s remarks and amendments to the claims have been thoroughly reviewed. Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 to recite “wherein the target site is located in double-stranded nucleic acid sequence,” is sufficient to overcome the provisional statutory double patenting rejections raised over co-pending Application No. 19/374,578. This amendment is also sufficient to overcome the § 102 and § 103 rejections raised over Kim, and the § 103 rejections raised over Kim in view of Quijano. As described in the prior action (para. 8), Kim’s system comprises one or more catalytic nucleic acids comprising one or more binding domains, which bind to a target site within an mRNA. Kim’s system does not meet the structural limitations of the claims as amended, and Quijano as presented in the prior action does not remedy this insufficiency of Kim. These rejections are withdrawn, accordingly.
Applicant’s remarks and amendments to the claims are not sufficient to place the claims in condition for allowance for the reasons that follow. Any objection or rejection not reiterated herein has been overcome by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The rejections that follow are new and necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claim 13 recites “a binding solution… comprising a low concentration of… metal ions… or a high concentration of metal ions.” The terms “low concentration” and “high concentration” are relative terms. The terms are not defined by the claim. The specification provides examples of low and high concentrations of metal ions (pg. 22, line 26 to pg. 23, line 5). However, these examples fail to provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree of “low” and “high” concentrations of metal ions. It is not clear what concentration(s) of metal ions are required of the binding solution, and therefore, the structure of the binding solution is not clear.
In the interest of compact prosecution, the claim will be examined as to (i) a binding solution comprising any concentration of, or no metal ions, i.e., a binding solution in general.
Claim 13 also recites “a binding solution comprising metal ion concentrations sufficient for DNAzyme activity.” Neither the claim nor specification provide a metric for ascertaining the concentration(s) of metal ions which would be considered “sufficient” for DNAzyme activity. The DNAzyme is not limited, and the type of/levels of activity are not limited. What may be considered sufficient for one DNAzyme, may not be sufficient for another DNAzyme. Similarly, what may be considered sufficient for one type/level of DNAzyme activity, may not be considered sufficient for another type/level of DNAzyme activity. While the specification provides exemplary metal ion concentrations (pg. 23, lines 7-16), this does not clarify what would be considered “sufficient for DNAzyme activity” because the phrases merely set forth examples which “may” be suitable. Therefore, structure of the binding solution is not clear.
In the interest of compact prosecution, the claim will be examined as to (ii) a binding solution comprising metal ions in any concentration.
Notice to Joint Inventors
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Xiao and Gomez
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 13, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao (Xiao et al., 2012, Nucleic Acids Research, Vol. 40, No. 4, pg. 1778-1786; of record) and Gomez (Gomez et al., 2014, Analytical Chemistry, 86, pg. 11992-11998; of record). The rejections of claims 1-7, 9-10, and 13 are maintained and modified as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims. The rejection of claim 42 is new and necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Regarding claims 1 and 42, Xiao teaches a system comprising one or more catalytic nucleic acids (“DNA catalyst,” or “deoxyribozyme”) comprising one or more catalytic domains (“catalytic region”) and one or more binding domains, wherein the one or more binding domains comprise a sequence complementary to and/or identical to a sequence within a target site (“binding domains”)(Figs. 1-2; pg. 1781). Xiao teaches the system is used for site-specific hydrolysis of single-stranded DNA (Abstract; pg. 1779, right col.). Xiao teaches that “comprehensive follow-up experiments should allow discovery of a complete set of deoxyribozymes that enable site-specific hydrolysis of essentially any arbitrarily chosen ssDNA substrate” (pg. 1779).
Xiao does not teach that the system comprises one or more catalytic nucleic acid-assisting reagents.
However, Xiao teaches that “[t]o achieve DNA-catalyzed cleavage of double-stranded DNA (dsDNA) rather than ssDNA… separation of the dsDNA substrate into its two ssDNA components would be required” (pg. 1785, right col.). Xiao teaches that “[s]uch separation may be possible via suitable strand invasion strategies, whereupon each of the two single-stranded components would be cleavable by a corresponding deoxyribozyme” (pg. 1785, right col.).
Gomez teaches a system comprise a pair of bis-PNA openers, each comprising a sequence that specifically binds a sequence complementary to and/or identical to a sequence flanking a target site (Fig. 1A-B; pg. 11992). Gomez illustrates that binding of the pair of bis-PNA openers to dsDNA exposes a ssDNA substrate (Fig. 1A-B; pg. 11992). Gomez illustrates that the ssDNA substrate produced by the bis-PNA openers can be hybridized with a liner DNA probe (Fig. 1; “leaving the other strand free for probe hybridization. Two ends of a linear padlock probe are then ligated on the displaced strand forming a PD-loop,” pg. 11992; Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the catalytic nucleic acids in the system of Xiao with the bis-PNA openers of Gomez, in order to achieve DNA-catalyzed cleavage at a double-stranded DNA (dsDNA) target site as taught by Xiao. It would have amounted to a simple combination of two known elements, by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan could have combined the known elements with a reasonable expectation of success because the elements perform separate, but complementary, functions on dsDNA; the bis-PNA openers of Gomez “open” up dsDNA to expose a ssDNA substrate, and the catalytic nucleic acids in the system of Xiao site-specifically cleave ssDNA substrates. Gomez also teaches that the ssDNA substrate produced by the bis-PNA openers can be hybridized to a DNA probe. In combination with the explicit teachings of Xiao regarding dsDNA substrates, the skilled artisan would have reasonably expected that the DNA-based catalytic nucleic acids of Xiao could be hybridized to a ssDNA substrate produced at a dsDNA target site by Gomez’s bis-PNA openers. The skilled artisan would have reasonably expected that hybridization of the catalytic nucleic acids of Xiao, would have enabled site-specific hydrolysis of a target site within the ssDNA substrate. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the elements in an effort to expand the applications of Xiao’s catalytic nucleic acids, and because Xiao explicitly describes that use of the catalytic nucleic acids on dsDNA would require means to separate the dsDNA, a function fulfilled by Gomez’s bis-PNA openers.
Regarding claims 2 and 4, the one or more catalytic nucleic acids above are DNAzymes comprising DNA hydrolysis activity (Figs. 1-3, Xiao).
Regarding claims 3 and 9, the one or more catalytic nucleic acid-assisting reagents above are PNAs comprising bis-PNA (Fig. 1, Gomez).
Regarding claim 5, the one or more catalytic nucleic acids above comprise a 13PB2 catalytic domain sequence (Fig. 3, Xiao).
Regarding claim 6, Xiao teaches the DNAzymes comprise a catalytic region (“N40”) flanked by two Watson-Crick binding arms (Fig. 3, description). Xiao teaches the binding arm sequences, each of which comprise a “C” 5’ of the catalytic region as shown in Fig. A below (underlined, pg. 1780, left col.). Xiao teaches the 13PB2 catalytic region sequence in Fig. 3, which as shown in Fig. A below, is 100% identical to nucleotides 11-50 of SEQ ID NO: 37. Thus, the DNAzyme of Xiao comprises a 13PB2 catalytic domain sequence comprising nucleotides 10-50 of SEQ ID NO: 37.
FIGURE A.
5’-CGAAGTCGCCATCTCTTC-N40-ATAGTGAGTCGTATTA-3’
5’-CGAAGTCGCCATCTCTTC-N40-ATAGTGAGTCGTATTAAGCTGATCCTGATGG-3’
TATGACACTTATTATAAATATGCTAGTAACGGATAGGTTG N40 13PB2 (Fig. 3)
CTATGACACTTATTATAAATATGCTAGTAACGGATAGGTTG nts 10-50 SEQ ID NO 37
Regarding claim 7, Xiao teaches the one or more catalytic nucleic acids comprise two binding domains (“binding arms”), wherein a first binding domain specifically binds a sequence flanking a target site, and a second binding domain specifically binds a sequence flanking the target site on the opposite side compared with the first binding domain (Fig. 1; Fig. 3, description; pg. 1781)
Regarding claim 10, Gomez teaches the one or more catalytic nucleic-acid assisting reagents form a Watson-Crick and/or Hoogsteen base pair with a sequence that is complementary to and/or identical to a sequence flanking the target site (“Cationic pyrimidine bis-PNAs can be used to sequence-specifically bind to one strand of the DNA duplex,” pg. 11992; Table 1; Fig. 3A; pg. 11996).
Regarding claim 13, neither Xiao nor Gomez teach a kit comprising the elements. However, Gomez teaches (i) a binding solution with no metal ions for use with the bis-PNA openers (pg. 11994, “PNA Invasion and Padlock Probe Ligation”), and Xiao teaches (ii) a binding solution comprising metal ions for use with the DNAzymes (pg. 1781, “Cleavage assays”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have prepared a “kit” comprising the elements of the obvious system above and the binding solutions suitable for their use taught by Xiao and Gomez. It would have amounted to packaging elements of an obvious system, together with elements usable with the system, by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in preparing a kit comprising the aforementioned elements, because the system elements are compatible based on the prior art, and means of packaging nucleic acids together in a container were well known in the art. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to prepare a kit comprising the elements above in an effort to streamline use of the system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Xiao and Gomez as evidenced by Betts
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao (Xiao et al., 2012, Nucleic Acids Research, Vol. 40, No. 4, pg. 1778-1786; of record) and Gomez (Gomez et al., 2014, Analytical Chemistry, 86, pg. 11992-11998; of record) as applied to claims 1-7, 9-10, 13, and 42, and as evidenced by Betts (Betts et al., 1995, Science, Vol. 270, pg. 1838-1841; of record). The rejection that follows is maintained from the prior action.
Gomez teaches the bis-PNAs comprise a sequence which specifically binds a sequence that is complementary to a sequence flanking a target site (Fig. 1; Table 1), but does not teach that the bis-PNAs comprise a sequence that forms a triple helix.
However, Betts teaches that bis-PNA with a substantially identical structure to that of Gomez forms a triple helix which hybridized to a DNA substrate (Abstract; “Several groups have designed and synthesized bis- or hairpin PNAs to promote triplex formation by tethering two polypyrimidine PNA strands by flexible linkers…,” pg. 1838-1839; Fig. 1; Fig. 3). Thus, as evidenced by Betts, the bis-PNAs of Gomez inherently comprise a sequence that forms a triple helix with a sequence that is complementary to a sequence flanking a target site. Each of the remaining limitations of claim 12 have been addressed above in the rejections of claims 1-3, and 6-7. The combination of Xiao and Gomez also renders obvious claim 12 as evidenced by Betts.
Response to Remarks - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s remarks regarding the § 103 rejections raised over Xiao and Gomez have been considered.
Applicant refers to Xiao’s statement that “strand invasion is experimentally challenging and often requires chemically sophisticated approaches.” Applicant also refers to Quijano, as teaching that “PNA binding near a target site inhibit[s] catalytic digestion of dsDNA.” Applicant states that the skilled artisan, therefore, would not have a reasonable expectation of success because strand invasion is “experimentally challenging” and “use of PNAs… could very well result in an inoperable system.”
These arguments are not found convincing. MPEP 2143.02(II) states that “Obviousness does not require absolutely predictability, but at least some degree of predictability is required. Evidence showing there was no reasonable expectation of success may support a conclusion of nonobviousness.” The rejection above sets forth why the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the prior art. Xiao’s statement that “strand invasion is experimentally challenging,” or assertions that techniques to do so are “sophisticated,” is not suggestive that there was no reasonable expectation of success. Indeed, Xiao’s quoted statement also refers to several different references which teach PNA-based strand invasion techniques. See references 36-38 referred to by Xiao (pg. 1786). It is clear based on Xiao and Gomez, that PNA-based means to open dsDNA and expose a ssDNA target were known, and that such PNA-based means could be used and were within the purview of the skilled artisan. As to the teachings of Quijano, the rejection above does not rely upon the “catalytic digestion of dsDNA.” The rejection above is based on “the bis-PNA openers of Gomez “open[ing]” up dsDNA to expose a ssDNA substrate, and the catalytic nucleic acids in the system of Xiao site-specifically cleav[ing] ssDNA substrates” (emphasis added). It is not evident that the teachings of Quijano referred to by Applicant have relevance to the mechanism proposed in the rejection, which is supported by the mechanisms taught for each element in the prior art.
Applicant states that the rejection is “predicated on the assumption that, because Gomez shows that a DNA probe could bind to a localized ssDNA exposed by PNA binding, therefore a catalytic nucleic acid could both bind to and be catalytically active on a similarly exposed localized ssDNA sequence.” Applicant asserts that there is no evidence to support this position in the rejection, and alleges that “it was unknown if localized ssDNA exposed by PNA binding was functionally equivalent to the free single-stranded DNA described in Xiao’s work, or if the different conformation of locally exposed ssDNA would lock a DNAzyme into a catalytic inactive conformation.” Applicant refers to Kim’s DNAzymes with point mutations, as evidence that binding does not guarantee catalytic activity. Applicant also refers to Esteban, as evidence that ribozymes can bind to a substrate in active and inactive conformations.
These remarks are not found convincing. First, it is not evident that the teachings of Kim or Esteban referred to by Applicant have any relevance to the mechanism proposed in the rejection. The skilled artisan would know that DNAzymes with point mutations may have different binding and/or catalytic activities. However, neither the claims nor rejection above are directed to any such point mutations. Esteban’s teachings relate to a “hairpin ribozyme” which “is a relatively small RNA molecule… [which] acts a reversible, site-specific endoribonuclease, cleaving RNA substrates…” (see Esteban, pg. 13629, referenced in IDS filed August 3, 2026). It is not evident that the teachings of Esteban have any relevance to the mechanism of the DNAzyme of Xiao, which is a deoxyribozyme, that site-specifically hydrolyzes DNA, and functions on the basis of Watson-Crick base pairing with a ssDNA substrate (see at least Abstract, pg. 1778; Fig. 1).
Applicant does not provide any evidence to support that hybridization of a DNA probe to a ssDNA substrate exposed through the binding of Gomez’s bis-PNA openers to dsDNA is not sufficiently predictive for the use of Xiao’s DNAzyme, which also functions through hybridization to a ssDNA substrate based on Xiao. The rejection also refers to Xiao’s explicit teachings that use of the DNAzyme on dsDNA substrates would require opening of the dsDNA to expose ssDNA substrate. The alleged assumption upon which the rejection is based is sufficiently supported by the prior art as described in the rejection, and Applicant presents no evidence that the alleged assumption is incorrect. For example, Applicant does not provide any evidence of Xiao’s DNAzyme “lock[ing] into a catalytically inactive conformation” in the presence of a “locally exposed” ssDNA substrate, or any evidence that the DNAzyme of Xiao does not function as described in Xiao (i.e., through hybridization to a ssDNA substrate).
Applicant, referring to Paudel, also states that the skilled artisan would not have known whether “sufficient molecular crowding could occur at the localized ssDNA site… to enable catalytic nucleic acid activity.” Applicant asserts that the skilled artisan would have presumed that the necessary levels of molecular crowding would differ between Xiao’s and Gomez’s work, and therefore, would not have reasonably expected that the probe binding demonstrated by Gomez would be predictive of catalytic activity by Xiao’s DNAzyme.
These remarks are not found convincing. Paudel’s teachings relate to a “large ribozyme” which “self-splice[s] from pre-mRNA… and efficiently catalyzes the hydrolytic cleavage of the 5’ splice site,” i.e., an RNA substrate (see Paudel, pg. 11917, referenced in IDS filed August 3, 2026). It is not evident that the teachings of Paudel have any relevance to the mechanism of the DNAzyme of Xiao, which is a deoxyribozyme, that site-specifically hydrolyzes DNA, and functions on the basis of Watson-Crick base pairing with a ssDNA substrate (see at least Abstract, pg. 1778).
Finally, Applicant’s remarks regarding Betts are not found convincing. Betts was not relied upon to remedy any of the alleged deficiencies of Xiao or Gomez with respect to the claims, which have been addressed, and are not found convincing for the reasons described above.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Application No. 19/374,578
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-13, and 42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of co-pending Application No. 19/374,578 (reference application) in view of Xiao (Xiao et al., 2012, Nucleic Acids Research, Vol. 40, No. 4, pg. 1778-1786; of record) and Gomez (Gomez et al., 2014, Analytical Chemistry, 86, pg. 11992-11998; of record). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the reasons that follow. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. The rejections that follow are new and necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Co-pending claims 1 and 7 recite the same language as instant claims 1 and 7, except for the phrase “wherein the target site is located in a double-stranded nucleic acid sequence.”
The teachings of Xiao and Gomez are described above and applied hereinafter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adapted the co-pending system to target a double-stranded DNA target site in view of Xiao and Gomez. It would have amounted to adapting a generic co-pending system, to target a specific target type, by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to target a double-stranded DNA target site based on Xiao’s explicit teachings of doing so, and in an effort to expand the use of Xiao’s system. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success given the teachings of Xiao and Gomez regarding the complementary mechanisms of the DNAzymes and bis-PNA openers on double-stranded DNA target sites.
Accordingly, instant claims 1, 7, 9, and 42 are obvious over the co-pending claims in view of Xiao and Gomez.
Co-pending claim 3 anticipates instant claim 2. Co-pending claim 2 anticipates instant claim 3. Co-pending claims 4, 5, and 6 anticipate instant claims 4, 5, and 6, respectively. Co-pending claims 9 and 10 anticipate instant claim 10.
Regarding instant claim 12, the co-pending claims do not recite the specific combination of elements recited in instant claim 12. However, the co-pending claims recite each of the limitations of instant claim 12 in separate claims (see claims 2, 6-7, and 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the limitations of the co-pending claims to arrive at the combination of limitations in instant claim 12. It would have amounted to a simple combination of known co-pending elements by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the elements with a reasonable expectation of success because the co-pending claims are all directed to the same system, and the co-pending elements merely recite further limitations of the system, and therefore, the skilled artisan would reasonably expect the elements to be compatible together.
Regarding claim 13, the obviousness of preparing a kit comprising the elements recited in instant claim 13 in view of Xiao and Gomez is described above and applied hereinafter.
Response to Remarks – Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s assertion that the instant claims are structurally and functionally distinct from the claims of the co-pending application. For the reasons described above, the co-pending claims and instant claims are indistinct in view of the cited prior art. Examiner also acknowledges Applicant’s request that the nonstatutory double patenting rejections be held in abeyance. The nonstatutory double patenting rejections will not, however, be held in abeyance. The co-pending and instant claims remain indistinct for the reasons described above, and no terminal disclaimers have been filed. The rejections remain outstanding.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNA L PERSONS/Examiner, Art Unit 1637
/Soren Harward/Primary Examiner, TC 1600