Detailed Action
Summary
This is the Non-Final Office Action based on application 17/787015 filed 02/06/2023.
Claims 1-19 have been examined and fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6 & 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to Claims 3 & 6, the quotations and parentheses in the claim make it unclear if the language contained therein is merely exemplary or not. Correction is required. Further, when the terms Liquid A and Liquid B are used other places in the claims (Claim 4, Claim 5), it is confusing since it is not clear if they are being referred back to with proper antecedent basis.
Claims 7-11 are rejected as being dependent on rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-14, & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over BUCHBERGER in EP 3367095 in view of PubChem (with way back machine date of December 18, 2014).
With respect to Claim 1, BUCHBERGER teaches of a method of unmasking endotoxin in a solution which include a “biphasic mixture,” (abstract),
The solution in liquid phase (which contains a masked endotoxin and a protein molecule of interest) is suspected of containing an endotoxin and also contains an endotoxin masker, and the method comprises adding a modulator to the solution which is capable of unmasking the endotoxin (BUCHBERGER, Claim 1, Figure 1).
BUCHBERGER teaches that an aqueous composition is used to perform this wherein the composition comprises a protein and an aliphatic compound. The aliphatic compound, which is 1-dodecanol here, stabilizes a potentially contaminating lipopolysaccharide molecule/LPS (also known as endotoxin) in a form that renders the LPS more susceptible to detection by conventional endotoxin test kids such as EndoLISA ® (paragraphs 0008, & 0017-0024).
BUCHBERGER further indicates that the aliphatic compound also comprises a detergent (detergents can be in liquid or solid phase) (Claim 4), which even further can include the dodecyl compound to be a detergent which is dodecyl methyl sulfoxide (Claim 5).
BUCHBERGER further teaches that unless otherwise noted all experiments taught in BUCHBERGER are performed at room temperature (paragraph 0163). (This generally means 20-25 degrees Celsius or 68-77 degrees Fahrenheit.)
In paragraph 0251, BUCHBERGER further defines "ambient temperature", a synonym for room temperature, to be 22°C, and says that the temperature is increased to this temperature for the reaction to proceed.
Instant claim 1 requires that the mixture is biphasic and that a “solid phase,” 1- dodecanol is used. This solid phase is the phase 1 dodecanol, since it is used at room or ambient temperatures, since phase a temperature is a material property.
If this is unclear to one of ordinary skill in the art that 1 – dodecanol would be solid at room temperature, PubChem is used to remedy this.
PubChem teaches that 1-dodecanol has a melting point (where it turns from solid to liquid) of 24 degrees Celsius (Page 14, last paragraph, Page 15, first paragraph).
Therefore—the 1-dodecanol taught in BUCHBERGER wherein the temperature is raised to 22 degrees Celsius (paragraph 0163 of BUCHENBERGER), is in solid phase.
BUCHBERGER teaches that the 1-dodecanol is added as solution at room temperature to the sample to be unmasked (paragraph 0190). According to the instant application (see claim 2 and specification page 26, paragraph 2:) at temperatures below 24°C, 1-dodecanol is forming a solid phase. Therefore, this means a solid, “phase,” 1-dodecanol is added to a liquid “solution,” in REICH since the temperature is below 24 degrees. It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to solubilize 1- dodecanol into a liquid solution at under 24 degrees Celsius, due to the advantage working at room temperature has for ease of use in a laboratory setting.
With respect to Claim 2, BUCHBERGER teaches of a method of unmasking endotoxin in a solution (abstract),
The solution in liquid phase (which contains a masked endotoxin and a protein molecule of interest) is suspected of containing an endotoxin and also contains an endotoxin masker, and the method comprises adding a modulator to the solution which is capable of unmasking the endotoxin (BUCHBERGER, Claim 1, Figure 1).
BUCHBERGER teaches that an aqueous composition is used to perform this wherein the composition comprises a protein and an aliphatic compound. The aliphatic compound, which is 1-dodecanol here, stabilizes a potentially contaminating lipopolysaccharide molecule/LPS (also known as endotoxin) in a form that renders the LPS more susceptible to detection by conventional endotoxin test kids such as EndoLISA ® (paragraphs 0008, & 0017-0024).
BUCHBERGER further indicates that the aliphatic compound also comprises a detergent (detergents can be in liquid or solid phase) (Claim 4), which even further can include the dodecyl compound to be a detergent which is dodecyl methyl sulfoxide (Claim 5).
Notably BUCHBERGER teaches that the 1-dodecanol is added to make it a solution in liquid phase, “Unmasking of endotoxin was performed as follows: Either 100 .Math.l of a 50 mM 1-dodecanol stock solution; or 100 .Math.l of 100 mg/ml BSA and 100 .Math.l of a 50 mM 1-dodecanol stock solution; or 100 .Math.l of a 1 M CaCl.sub.2 solution, 100 ml of a 100 mg/ml BSA solution, 100 .Math.l of a 1 % SDS solution and 100 .Math.l of a 50 mM 1-dodecanol solution were added to the solution containing masked LPS. In the case of addition of combinations, the agents were added sequentially with a 2-minute vortexing step between each addition. The samples were then incubated at room temperature for 30 minutes without shaking,” (paragraph 0191).
BUCHBERGER further teaches that unless otherwise noted all experiments taught in BUCHBERGER are performed at room temperature (paragraph 0163). (This generally means 20-25 degrees Celsius or 68-77 degrees Fahrenheit.)
Instant Claim 2 requires that the solution is cooled to a temperature below 24 degrees Celsius. It is noted that any mixing of components together creates a small about of heat and friction between sample components. Therefore, through broadest reasonable interpretation, “incubated at room temperature,” can read on “cooling,” to below 24 degrees Celsius (room temperature includes temperatures below 24 degrees Celsius from about 20-24 degrees Celsius). As the phase of the 1-dodecanol is a material property…the solid phase is the phase 1 dodecanol present at 24 degrees or under, this would mean that any 1-dodecanol not solubilized would be left in solid phase and the other part which is fully solubilized would be in liquid phase.
If this is unclear to one of ordinary skill in the art that 1 – dodecanol would be solid at room temperature, PubChem is used to remedy this.
PubChem teaches that 1-dodecanol has a melting point (where it turns from solid to liquid) of 24 degrees Celsius (Page 14, last paragraph, Page 15, first paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to solubilize 1- dodecanol into a liquid solution at under 24 degrees Celsius, due to the advantage working at room temperature has for ease of use in a laboratory setting.
With respect to Claim 3, BUCHBERGER teaches of adding polyoxyethylene glycol alkylphenol ethers which are dispersants and that these are used in combination with other endotoxin maskers/ detergents like the ones involving 1 -dodecanol already taught above (paragraph 0062, 0089, & 0092).
With respect to Claim 4, BUCHBERGER teaches of adding the buffer of chaotrophic agent having ions which are Mg2+ or Ca2+ (paragraphs 0030-0032). BUCHBERGER further teaches of the agent being magnesium chloride (paragraph 0031).
With respect to Claim 5, BUCHBERGER teaches of the composition having:
The protein (which can be an antibody) present in a concentration in the range from 0.1-20 mg/ml, preferably in the range from 1-10 mg/ml, more preferably in an amount of 10 mg/ml.
The aliphatic compound is present in the concentration from 0.01 - 100 mM, preferably in a concentration from 0.1 - 10 mM. This concentration range is in particular preferred for an 1-alkanol, preferably 1-dodecanol.
The detergent is present in a concentration from 0.001 - 1.0 wt %, preferably 0.05 - 0.5 wt %, preferably from 0.02 - 0.2 wt %.
In a further preferred embodiment, the chaotopic agent is present in a concentration from 1 mM - 1 M, preferably from 25 - 200 mM, preferably from 10 mM - 100 mM (this is the agent that includes Ca 2+ or Mg2+)
In a further preferred embodiment, the divalent cation is present in a concentration from 1 - 400 mM, preferably in a concentration from 10 - 200 mM, more preferably in a concentration from 50 - 100 mM.
In a further preferred embodiment, the pH of the composition is in the range from 2-12, preferably in the range from pH 5-10 (paragraphs 0030-0041).
As the concentration of buffer/agent containing Ca 2+ or Mg 2+ are variables that can be modified, and are considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed concentration of Ca 2+ or Mg 2+ cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the concentration of Ca 2+ or Mg 2+ in the BUCHBERGER to obtain the desired balance between the concentration and the endotoxin—See “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to Claim 6, BUCHBERGER teaches of a method of unmasking endotoxin in a solution (abstract),
The solution in liquid phase (which contains a masked endotoxin and a protein molecule of interest) is suspected of containing an endotoxin and also contains an endotoxin masker, and the method comprises adding a modulator to the solution which is capable of unmasking the endotoxin (BUCHBERGER, Claim 1, Figure 1).
BUCHBERGER teaches that an aqueous composition is used to perform this wherein the composition comprises a protein and an aliphatic compound. The aliphatic compound, which is 1-dodecanol here, stabilizes a potentially contaminating lipopolysaccharide molecule/LPS (also known as endotoxin) in a form that renders the LPS more susceptible to detection by conventional endotoxin test kids such as EndoLISA ® (paragraphs 0008, & 0017-0024).
BUCHBERGER further indicates that the aliphatic compound also comprises a detergent (detergents can be in liquid or solid phase) (Claim 4), which even further can include the dodecyl compound to be a detergent which is dodecyl methyl sulfoxide (Claim 5).
Notably BUCHBERGER teaches that the 1-dodecanol is added to make it a solution in liquid phase, “Unmasking of endotoxin was performed as follows: Either 100 .Math.l of a 50 mM 1-dodecanol stock solution; or 100 .Math.l of 100 mg/ml BSA and 100 .Math.l of a 50 mM 1-dodecanol stock solution; or 100 .Math.l of a 1 M CaCl.sub.2 solution, 100 ml of a 100 mg/ml BSA solution, 100 .Math.l of a 1 % SDS solution and 100 .Math.l of a 50 mM 1-dodecanol solution were added to the solution containing masked LPS. In the case of addition of combinations, the agents were added sequentially with a 2-minute vortexing step between each addition. The samples were then incubated at room temperature for 30 minutes without shaking,” (paragraph 0191).
BUCHBERGER teaches of adding the buffer of chaotrophic agent having ions which are Mg2+ or Ca2+ (paragraphs 0030-0032), which can be considered to “dilution,” liquid. BUCHBERGER further teaches of the agent being magnesium chloride (paragraph 0031).
This would yield a “sample ready for endotoxin testing,” through broadest reasonable interpretation.
BUCHBERGER further teaches that unless otherwise noted all experiments taught in BUCHBERGER are performed at room temperature (paragraph 0163). (This generally means 20-25 degrees Celsius or 68-77 degrees Fahrenheit.)
Instant Claim 2 requires that the solution is cooled to a temperature below 24 degrees Celsius. It is noted that any mixing of components together creates a small about of heat and friction between sample components. Therefore, through broadest reasonable interpretation, “incubated at room temperature,” can read on “cooling,” to below 24 degrees Celsius (room temperature includes temperatures below 24 degrees Celsius from about 20-24 degrees Celsius). As the phase of the 1-dodecanol is a material property…the solid phase is the phase 1 dodecanol present at 24 degrees or under, this would mean that any 1-dodecanol not solubilized would be left in solid phase and the other part which is fully solubilized would be in liquid phase.
If this is unclear to one of ordinary skill in the art that 1 – dodecanol would be solid at room temperature, PubChem is used to remedy this.
PubChem teaches that 1-dodecanol has a melting point (where it turns from solid to liquid) of 24 degrees Celsius (Page 14, last paragraph, Page 15, first paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to solubilize 1- dodecanol into a liquid solution at under 24 degrees Celsius, due to the advantage working at room temperature has for ease of use in a laboratory setting.
With respect to Claim 7, BUCHBERGER teaches of adding the buffer of chaotrophic agent having ions which are Mg2+ or Ca2+ (paragraphs 0030-0032). BUCHBERGER further teaches of the agent being magnesium chloride (paragraph 0031).
With respect to Claim 10, BUCHBERGER teaches of using an LAL assay to do the endotoxin testing (paragraph 0086).
With respect to Claim 11, BUCHBERGER teach of the claimed method as shown above for Claims 1-4. Since BUCHBERGER teach of the claimed method, this would yield, “wherein a greater amount of endotoxin can be detected in the sample ready for endotoxin testing than from an otherwise identical corresponding solution containing the molecule of interest and the masked endotoxin that was not subject to the method of Claim 4,” since this would be an effect of the method and reagents used- which are taught.
With respect to Claim 12, BUCHBERGER teaches of the composition having:
The protein (which can be an antibody/solution comprising the molecule of interest) present in a concentration in the range from 0.1-20 mg/ml, preferably in the range from 1-10 mg/ml, more preferably in an amount of 10 mg/ml.
The aliphatic compound is present in the concentration from 0.01 - 100 mM, preferably in a concentration from 0.1 - 10 mM. This concentration range is in particular preferred for an 1-alkanol, preferably 1-dodecanol.
The detergent is present in a concentration from 0.001 - 1.0 wt %, preferably 0.05 - 0.5 wt %, preferably from 0.02 - 0.2 wt %.
In a further preferred embodiment, the chaotopic agent is present in a concentration from 1 mM - 1 M, preferably from 25 - 200 mM, preferably from 10 mM - 100 mM (this is the agent that includes Ca 2+ or Mg2+)
In a further preferred embodiment, the divalent cation is present in a concentration from 1 - 400 mM, preferably in a concentration from 10 - 200 mM, more preferably in a concentration from 50 - 100 mM.
In a further preferred embodiment, the pH of the composition is in the range from 2-12, preferably in the range from pH 5-10 (paragraphs 0030-0041).
As the concentration and ratio to eachother of the amount of 1-dodecanol to the amount of solution containing the molecule of interest are variables that can be modified, and are considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed concentration or ratio of the amount of 1-dodecanol to the amount of solution containing the molecule of interest cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, or ratio of the amount of 1-dodecanol to the amount of solution containing the molecule of interest in the BUCHBERGER to obtain the desired balance between the concentration and the endotoxin—See “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to Claim 13, BUCHBERGER teach of detecting the molecule of interest which is a protein (paragraph 0027).
With respect to Claim 14, BUCHBERGER teaches of detecting the molecule of interest which is an antibody (paragraph 0027).
With respect to Claim 18, BUCHBERGER teaches that the aliphatic compound is present in the concentration from 0.01 - 100 mM, preferably in a concentration from 0.1 - 10 mM. This concentration range is in particular preferred for an 1-alkanol, preferably 1-dodecanol. The 1- dodecanol is 100 % 1-dodecanol. Otherwise, it would be called something else.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over BUCHBERGER in EP 3367095 in view of PubChem (with way back machine date of December 18, 2014) and further in view of NICHOLAS in US 20190257821.
With respect to Claims 8-9, BUCHBERGER teaches of the above and further teaches of adding the buffer of chaotrophic agent having ions which are Mg2+ or Ca2+ (paragraphs 0030-0032). BUCHBERGER further teaches of the agent being magnesium chloride (paragraph 0031), but does not teach of the agent being magnesium sulfate.
NICHOLAS is used to remedy this and teaches of a method of detection of analytes in a sample which has endotoxin lipopolysaccharides. The test sample further includes one or more potential masking agents such as surfactants, chelating agents, a divalent cation, protein, or nucleic acid and may also include a buffer (abstract).
NICHOLAS further teaches that the divalent cation can be in the form of magnesium sulfate (paragraph 0114, 0192), and that the magnesium ion can be in a concentration of greater than 1 mM (paragraph 014).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use magnesium sulfate as is done in the method of BUCHBERGER in the methods of BUCHBERGER and PubChem due to the advantage it has in affecting the accuracy of the standard LAL assay (NICHOLAS, paragraph 0112). Further NICHOLAS teaches that the divalent may be present in the test sample at any concentration, making it obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize through routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05. According to this guidance: “ [W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”
Claims 15- & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over BUCHBERGER in EP 3367095 in view of PubChem (with way back machine date of December 18, 2014) and further in view of WARTHOE in US 20190162718.
With respect to Claim 15, BUCHBERGER teaches of the claimed invention as shown above. BUCHBERGER does not teach of using tanezumab.
WARTHOE is used to remedy this and teaches of a method to detect the presence of therapeutic antibody drugs (abstract), which can specifically be tanezumab (paragraph 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to detect tanezumab as is done in WARTHOE in the method of BUCHBERGER and PubChem due to the need in the art for methods and devices capable of analyzing therapeutic monoclonal antibodies and their quantities in blood samples (WARTHOE, paragraph 0024-0025).
With respect to Claim 16, BUCHBERGER teaches of the claimed invention as shown above. BUCHBERGER does not teach of using tanezumab.
WARTHOE is used to remedy this and teaches of a method to detect the presence of therapeutic antibody drugs (abstract), which can specifically be tanezumab (paragraph 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to detect tanezumab as is done in WARTHOE in the method of BUCHBERGER and PubChem due to the need in the art for methods and devices capable of analyzing therapeutic monoclonal antibodies and their quantities in blood samples (WARTHOE, paragraph 0024-0025).
With respect to Claims 17 & 19, BUCHBERGER teaches of the composition having:
The protein (which can be an antibody/solution comprising the molecule of interest) present in a concentration in the range from 0.1-20 mg/ml which reads on the claimed concentration (paragraphs 0030-0041). BUCHBURGER does not teach of the antibody being specifically tanezumab.
WARTHOE is used to remedy this and teaches of a method to detect the presence of therapeutic antibody drugs (abstract), which can specifically be tanezumab (paragraph 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to detect tanezumab as is done in WARTHOE in the method of BUCHBERGER and PubChem due to the need in the art for methods and devices capable of analyzing therapeutic monoclonal antibodies and their quantities in blood samples (WARTHOE, paragraph 0024-0025).
Conclusion
/REBECCA M FRITCHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758