DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: dose adjustment means in claim 1.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a push-button slides” this should be written as “configured to slide.” Claim 12 recites “a hollow sleeve is inserted” a term other than “inserted” should be used.
As per MPEP 2173.05(p)(ll), a single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite. It is not clear if the claims are drawn only to structures that are capable of performing the method steps or if the claims are intended to be written as method steps. For the sake of examination, the claims have been interpreted as only requiring that the claimed structures be capable of performing the method steps and are not so narrow as to require the method steps to actually be performed. Applicant is encouraged to check the claims to ensure language is functional as opposed to reciting positive step limitations.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the locking member" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 14 depends off of claim 1, claim 13 introduces a locking member. Claim 14 may need to depend on claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Knox (US 3,353,537).
With regard to claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10, and 12-15, Knox teaches a device for dispensing a fluid product comprising: a pump (pump components as rejected below) (10) connected to a reservoir (Fig. 1 member 99) (40) containing several doses of fluid product and to a dispensing head (Figs. 1 and 3 needle with curved walls member 93 connectable at 92) (50) provided with a dispensing opening (necessarily has an opening) (58), said pump (10) comprising a body (Fig. 1 includes 68’and 24) (20) containing a metering chamber (Fig. 1 chamber 68 in sleeve 46 contained between/inserted in the body portions) (21) in which a piston (Fig. 1 members 60 and 56) (22) connected to a piston rod (Fig. 1 member 51) (25) provided with a push-button (Fig. 1 member 37) (26) slides, said push button configured to be pressed by a user to actuate the pump (Col. 6 lines 16-28) (10), a return spring (Fig. 1 member 66) (27) cooperating with said piston (22) and/or said piston rod (25) to automatically return said piston (22) to a rest position after each actuation; wherein said body (20) comprises, downstream of said metering chamber (21), a T-like connection (Fig. 3 71 and 72) (24), of which a first branch is connected to said metering chamber (Fig. 3 at end 69) (21), a second branch is connected to said reservoir (Fig. 3 at end 73) (40) and a third branch is connected to said dispensing head (Fig. 3 at end 82) (50); a first valve (Fig. 3 member 80) (41) is provided in said second branch of said T-like connection (24) and a second valve (fig. 3 member 84) (51) is provided in said third branch of said T-like connection (24), said first and second valves (41, 51) are urged by first and second springs (45, 55) against first and second respective valve seats (Fig. 3 springs 81 and 85 valve seats within bush 77 and portion 82 of the body 68’) (43, 53); said device comprising dose adjustment means (28, 29) cooperating with said piston rod (25), said dose adjustment means comprising a bush (29) arranged coaxially around said piston rod (25), said bush (29) being movable with respect to said piston rod (25) to axially adjust the rest position of said piston (22) in said body (20) and consequently a volume of said metering chamber (21) (Fig. 1 bush 48 nut 54, Col. 7 lines 15-20); wherein said body (20) is connected to a secondary body (Fig. 1 member 10) (30) surrounding at least partially said piston rod, wherein said adjustment means is arranged between said secondary body and said piston rod (Fig. 1 in the area of 14 the bushing is between 51 and 10), said secondary body comprising a radial flange (32) configured to be pressed by the user to actuate said pump (Fig. 1 member 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knox (US 3,353,537) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Marshall (US 4,838,866).
With regard to claim 3, Knox teaches valves as recited but does not explicitly disclose the valves to be balls. However, Marshall teaches a similar injection device which uses two ball valves to control flow (Fig. 2 42 and 38). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use ball valves in Knox as in Marshall as they would function exactly the same and provide an art effective equivalent valve that would yield the same predictable result of delivery.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knox (US 3,353,537) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kas (US 2,825,334).
With regard to claim 7, Knox teaches valves as recited but does not explicitly disclose a dip tube. However, Kas teaches using a dip tube with a vent to transfer fluid from the reservoir (Fig. 3 tube 34 vent 36, Col. 2 lines 25-29). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a configuration for transferring fluid in Konx as in Kas including a dip tube and vent as this provide venting and maintain pressure in the reservoir.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knox (US 3,353,537) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Anderson et al. (US 6,063,054).
With regard to claim 11, Knox teaches a device substantially as claimed. Knox does not explicitly disclose a spray nozzle. However, Anderson et al. teach a similar multi-dose injection device (abstract) in which the outlet may be connected to a needle or fluid may be sprayed depending on the desired mode of delivery (Figs. 6b and 6c, Col. 5 lines 30-45). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a spray in Knox as Anderson et al. teach equivalently using a needle or spray depending on desired delivery.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/EMILY L SCHMIDT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783