Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-7 in the reply filed on September 16, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Salice et al. (WO 2017/005730 A1, hereinafter Salice).
Regarding Claims 1, 4, and 6, Salice teaches a method of 3D fused deposition modeling conducted in the presence of a sacrificial composition comprising a casein protein not disclosed to exhibit enzymatic activity (per Page 11 Lines 12-18 that identifies both casein and starch as fillers to be used in the composition), a glycerol plasticizer, and water (per Page 12 Lines 2-27 specifying that water and glycerol are used with the starch, and that the composition can use more than one filler).
Regarding Claims 2-3, Salice teaches that some of the filler content may be inorganic in Page 11 Lines 12-18.
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chaunier et al. (“Plasticized protein for 3D printing by fused deposition modeling” available in the file wrapper as the 7-page NPL submission dated July 29, 2022).
Regarding Claims 1 and 6, per the Abstract and throughout the disclosure Chaunier teaches fused deposition modeling with a filament composition comprising a zein protein not disclosed to exhibit enzymatic activity, glycerol expressly described as a plasticizer (“zein can be thermoplasticized after blending with with polar plasticizers as glycerol” per the last paragraph of the Introduction as seen on Page 4), and water (present initially in the zein as moisture content “MC=5%” per the last paragraph of Page 5). Note that since the filament composition is disclosed as being usable for controlled drug release, it is considered a sacrificial composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaunier in view of Shoseyov et al. (WO 2017/006330 , hereinafter Showseyov).
Regarding Claim 5, Chaunier teaches the method as applied above, but is silent on whether the composition comprises an enzyme.
In analogous art pertaining to 3D printing, Shoseyov teaches in Page 14 Lines 24-29 that cross-linking proteins may be accomplished with enzymes, and therefore it would have been obvious to include an enzyme in Chaunier to cross-link Chaunier’s protein.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salice as applied to Claim 6 above.
Regarding Claim 6, Salice teaches in Page 11 Lines 19-21 that the composition can include up to 50% by weight of casein and starch filler in total, allowing for an embodiment with 30% casein and 20% starch filler. Salice further teaches in Page 12 Lines 6-18 water and glycerol amounts of up to 40% by weight compared to starch in order to destructure the starch, implying 8% by weight amounts of both water and glycerol in the composition. While the reference water content is slightly less than the 10% lower limit of water weight% in the Claim, such a difference is small enough that it would have been obvious to use 10% by weight of water to achieve proper destructuring with routine optimization.
Conclusion
/RYAN M OCHYLSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743