DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/23/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, lines 10-17, filed 8/19/2025, with respect to claim 9, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 9 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see page 8, line 18 – page 9, line 29, filed 8/19/2025, with respect to claim 1, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner rejected the amplifier limitation argued here by Applicant over ¶0004 of Gao, whereas Applicant has instead argued against ¶0013 of Gao. Patents are relevant as prior art for all they contain, and not only that which the patentee describes as his own invention. See MPEP § 2123(I). Applicant has not substantively addressed the rejection of record, and thus Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, line 1 – page 11, line 1, filed 8/19/2025, with respect to claims 1-20, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-11, 15, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (Chinese Patent Publication No. 110191398 A, August 30, 2019), hereinafter Gao, in view of Yuichiro et al, JP 2015176059 A, October 5, 2015), hereinafter Yuichiro.
Regarding claim 1, Gao teaches an acquisition part that acquires a feedback signal (Gao ¶0010: "When an audio input signal is acquired, acquiring an envelope detection signal corresponding to a howling segment in the audio input signal") of a musical sound of the electronic percussion instrument emitted through an amplifier and a speaker (Gao ¶0004: "the sound picked up by the microphone is amplified by the power amplifier and then played by the speaker. The sound is picked up by the microphone again and amplified by the power amplifier again and then played by the speaker"); and a processing circuit that performs uncorrelated processing on the feedback signal based on information indicating a control amount (Gao ¶0011; "When the detection value of the envelope detection signal is less than or equal to a first preset value and greater than or equal to a second preset value, performing frequency shift processing on the howling segment"), and outputs a signal after the uncorrelated processing to the amplifier (Gao ¶0013: "Audio information is output according to the howling segment after the frequency shift processing").
Gao does not explicitly disclose that the control amount is changed according to a degree of an operator of the electronic percussion instrument or a strength of a pressing force on a specific position of the electronic percussion instrument.
However, Yuichiro teaches that a control amount is changed according to a degree of an operator of the electronic percussion instrument or a strength of a pressing force on a specific position of the electronic percussion instrument (Yuichiro ¶0010: "pressure on at least a part of the striking surface increases the gain of a feedback loop that passes through the excitation means, the striking surface, the sensor and the amplifier and then back to the excitation means").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device for controlling feedback of an electronic percussion instrument of Gao by adding the operator and control amount of Yuichiro so that the oscillation will not be initiated by disturbances such as the sounds of other instruments or noise, and stable percussion instrument performance is possible (Yuichiro ¶0011).
Regarding claim 2, Gao (in view of Yuichiro) teaches a device for controlling feedback of an electronic percussion instrument comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above.
Gao further teaches that the uncorrelated processing comprises a processing of shifting a frequency of the feedback signal in a magnitude and a direction indicated as the control amount (Gao ¶0016: "When the detection value of the envelope detection signal is less than or equal to a first preset value and greater than or equal to a second preset value, performing frequency shift processing on the howling segment").
Regarding claim 6, Gao (in view of Yurichiro) teaches a device for controlling feedback of an electronic percussion instrument comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above.
Gao further teaches that the processing circuit performs the uncorrelated processing when a predetermined event occurs (Gao ¶0011; "When the detection value of the envelope detection signal is less than or equal to a first preset value and greater than or equal to a second preset value, performing frequency shift processing on the howling segment").
Regarding claim 7, Gao (in view of Yurichiro)teaches a device for controlling feedback of an electronic percussion instrument comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above.
Gao further teaches an input device (Gao ¶0015; "Obtaining a first difference between the first preset value and a detection value of the envelope detection signal") for information indicating a magnitude of the control amount (Gao ¶0016: "The frequency of the howling segment is shifted according to the first difference, wherein the smaller the first difference is, the greater the shift of the frequency of the howling segment is, and when the first difference is zero, the shift is a preset shift.").
Regarding claim 8, Gao discloses that an information processing device performs: acquiring a feedback signal (Gao ¶0010: "When an audio input signal is acquired, acquiring an envelope detection signal corresponding to a howling segment in the audio input signal") of a musical sound of the electronic percussion instrument emitted through an amplifier and a speaker (Gao ¶0004: "the sound picked up by the microphone is amplified by the power amplifier and then played by the speaker. The sound is picked up by the microphone again and amplified by the power amplifier again and then played by the speaker"); and performing uncorrelated processing on the feedback signal based on information indicating a control amount (Gao ¶0011; "When the detection value of the envelope detection signal is less than or equal to a first preset value and greater than or equal to a second preset value, performing frequency shift processing on the howling segment"), and outputting a signal after the uncorrelated processing to the amplifier (Gao ¶0013: "Audio information is output according to the howling segment after the frequency shift processing").
Gao does not explicitly disclose that the control amount is changed according to a degree of an operator of the electronic percussion instrument or a strength of a pressing force on a specific position of the electronic percussion instrument.
However, Yuichiro teaches that a control amount is changed according to a degree of an operator of the electronic percussion instrument or a strength of a pressing force on a specific position of the electronic percussion instrument (Yuichiro ¶0010: "pressure on at least a part of the striking surface increases the gain of a feedback loop that passes through the excitation means, the striking surface, the sensor and the amplifier and then back to the excitation means").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device for controlling feedback of an electronic percussion instrument of Gao by adding the operator and control amount of Yuichiro so that the oscillation will not be initiated by disturbances such as the sounds of other instruments or noise, and stable percussion instrument performance is possible (Yuichiro ¶0011).
Regarding claim 9, Gao discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium (Gao ¶0008: "computer readable storage medium"), recording a program that causes a computer to perform processing of: acquiring a feedback signal (Gao ¶0010: "When an audio input signal is acquired, acquiring an envelope detection signal corresponding to a howling segment in the audio input signal") of a musical sound of an electronic percussion instrument emitted through an amplifier and a speaker (Gao ¶0010: "When an audio input signal is acquired, acquiring an envelope detection signal corresponding to a howling segment in the audio input signal"; the BRI of "audio input signal" includes that of an electronic percussion instrument); and performing uncorrelated processing on the feedback signal based on information indicating a control amount (Gao ¶0011; "When the detection value of the envelope detection signal is less than or equal to a first preset value and greater than or equal to a second preset value, performing frequency shift processing on the howling segment"), and outputting a signal after the uncorrelated processing to the amplifier (Gao ¶0013: "Audio information is output according to the howling segment after the frequency shift processing").
Gao does not explicitly disclose that the control amount is changed according to a degree of an operator of the electronic percussion instrument or a strength of a pressing force on a specific position of the electronic percussion instrument.
However, Yuichiro teaches that a control amount is changed according to a degree of an operator of the electronic percussion instrument or a strength of a pressing force on a specific position of the electronic percussion instrument (Yuichiro ¶0010: "pressure on at least a part of the striking surface increases the gain of a feedback loop that passes through the excitation means, the striking surface, the sensor and the amplifier and then back to the excitation means").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device for controlling feedback of an electronic percussion instrument of Gao by adding the operator and control amount of Yuichiro so that the oscillation will not be initiated by disturbances such as the sounds of other instruments or noise, and stable percussion instrument performance is possible (Yuichiro ¶0011).
Regarding claim 10, Gao discloses an acquisition part that acquires a feedback signal (Gao ¶0010: "When an audio input signal is acquired, acquiring an envelope detection signal corresponding to a howling segment in the audio input signal") of a musical sound of the electronic percussion instrument emitted through an amplifier and a speaker (Gao ¶0004: "the sound picked up by the microphone is amplified by the power amplifier and then played by the speaker. The sound is picked up by the microphone again and amplified by the power amplifier again and then played by the speaker"); and a processing circuit that performs uncorrelated processing on the feedback signal based on information indicating a control amount (Gao ¶0011; "When the detection value of the envelope detection signal is less than or equal to a first preset value and greater than or equal to a second preset value, performing frequency shift processing on the howling segment"), and outputs a signal after the uncorrelated processing to the amplifier (Gao ¶0013: "Audio information is output according to the howling segment after the frequency shift processing").
Gao does not explicitly disclose that the control amount is changed according to a degree of an operator of the electronic percussion instrument or a strength of a pressing force on a specific position of the electronic percussion instrument.
However, Yuichiro teaches that a control amount is changed according to a degree of an operator of the electronic percussion instrument or a strength of a pressing force on a specific position of the electronic percussion instrument (Yuichiro ¶0010: "pressure on at least a part of the striking surface increases the gain of a feedback loop that passes through the excitation means, the striking surface, the sensor and the amplifier and then back to the excitation means").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device for controlling feedback of an electronic percussion instrument of Gao by adding the operator and control amount of Yuichiro so that the oscillation will not be initiated by disturbances such as the sounds of other instruments or noise, and stable percussion instrument performance is possible (Yuichiro ¶0011).
Regarding claim 11, Gao (in view of Yuichiro) teaches a method for controlling feedback of an electronic percussion instrument comprising the features of claim 8 as discussed above.
Gao further teaches that the uncorrelated processing comprises a processing of shifting a frequency of the feedback signal in a magnitude and a direction indicated as the control amount (Gao ¶0016: "When the detection value of the envelope detection signal is less than or equal to a first preset value and greater than or equal to a second preset value, performing frequency shift processing on the howling segment").
Regarding claim 15, Gao (in view of Yuichiro) teaches a method for controlling feedback of an electronic percussion instrument comprising the features of claim 8 as discussed above.
Gao further teaches preforming the uncorrelated processing when a predetermined event occurs (Gao ¶0011; "When the detection value of the envelope detection signal is less than or equal to a first preset value and greater than or equal to a second preset value, performing frequency shift processing on the howling segment").
Regarding claim 16, Gao (in view of Yuichiro) teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium comprising the features of claim 16 as discussed above.
Gao further teaches that the uncorrelated processing comprises a processing of shifting a frequency of the feedback signal in a magnitude and a direction indicated as the control amount (Gao ¶0016: "When the detection value of the envelope detection signal is less than or equal to a first preset value and greater than or equal to a second preset value, performing frequency shift processing on the howling segment").
Regarding claim 20, Gao (in view of Yuichiro) teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium comprising the features of claim 9 as discussed above.
Gao further teaches that the program further comprises performing the uncorrelated processing when a predetermined event occurs (Gao ¶0011; "When the detection value of the envelope detection signal is less than or equal to a first preset value and greater than or equal to a second preset value, performing frequency shift processing on the howling segment").
Claims 3, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Gao in view of Yuichiro, and further in view of Mori et al. (United States Patent No. 5633473 A, May 27, 1997), hereinafter Mori, and Berdahl et al. ("Frequency Shifting for Acoustic Howling Suppression, Presented September 10, 2010, retrieved from Applicant's disclosure in the instant file wrapper), hereinafter Berdahl.
Regarding claim 3, Gao (in view of Yuichiro) teaches a device for controlling feedback of an electronic percussion instrument comprising the features of claim 2 as discussed above.
Gao (in view of Yuichiro) does not explicitly disclose that a signal of the musical sound has a predetermined center frequency, and the processing circuit acquires the feedback signal having a center frequency different from the predetermined center frequency, and shifts the center frequency of the feedback signal to the predetermined center frequency by the uncorrelated processing.
However, Mori suggests that a signal of a musical sound has a predetermined center frequency (Mori col. 4, line 66 – col. 5, line 1: "The damping characteristics GL are very approximate to those of the acoustic instrument"; Mori fig. 4A reproduced below: vertical lines indicate predetermined center frequences corresponding to f0, 2f0, etc.), and the processing circuit acquires the feedback signal having a center frequency different from the predetermined center frequency (Mori col. 5, lines 4-8: "the fundamental frequency f0 of the resonance frequency will change to f01 as shown in FIG. 4B and its harmonic frequencies similarly change to 2f01, 3f01, 4f01, . . . , and thus the resonance frequencies can be set to desired values."; Mori fig. 4B reproduced below: vertical lines indicate predetermined center frequences different from f01, 2f01, etc.).
Furthermore, Berdahl suggests shifting the center frequency of the feedback signal to a predetermined center frequency by uncorrelated processing (Berdahl § 1.4: "a frequency shifter that shifts any input sinusoid up in frequency by Δf"; Berdahl equation 6: FFS(f) = f + Δf.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device for controlling feedback of an electronic percussion instrument of Gao (in view of Yuichiro) by employing a filter circuit having a center frequency different from the predetermined center frequency and shifting the center frequency of the feedback signal to the predetermined center frequency to achieve the maximum degree of howling suppression while ensuring that the sound is not distorted (Gao ¶0091).
Regarding claim 12, Gao (in view of Yuichiro) teaches a method for controlling feedback of an electronic percussion instrument comprising the features of claim 11 as discussed above.
Gao (in view of Yuichiro) does not explicitly disclose that a signal of the musical sound has a predetermined center frequency, and the processing circuit acquires the feedback signal having a center frequency different from the predetermined center frequency, and shifts the center frequency of the feedback signal to the predetermined center frequency by the uncorrelated processing.
However, Mori suggests that a signal of a musical sound has a predetermined center frequency (Mori col. 4, line 66 – col. 5, line 1: "The damping characteristics GL are very approximate to those of the acoustic instrument"; Mori fig. 4A reproduced above: vertical lines indicate predetermined center frequences corresponding to f0, 2f0, etc.), and the processing circuit acquires the feedback signal having a center frequency different from the predetermined center frequency (Mori col. 5, lines 4-8: "the fundamental frequency f0 of the resonance frequency will change to f01 as shown in FIG. 4B and its harmonic frequencies similarly change to 2f01, 3f01, 4f01, . . . , and thus the resonance frequencies can be set to desired values."; Mori fig. 4B reproduced above: vertical lines indicate predetermined center frequences different from f01, 2f01, etc.).
Furthermore, Berdahl suggests shifting the center frequency of the feedback signal to a predetermined center frequency by uncorrelated processing (Berdahl § 1.4: "a frequency shifter that shifts any input sinusoid up in frequency by Δf"; Berdahl equation 6: FFS(f) = f + Δf.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device for controlling feedback of an electronic percussion instrument of Gao (in view of Yuichiro) by employing a filter circuit having a center frequency different from the predetermined center frequency and shifting the center frequency of the feedback signal to the predetermined center frequency to achieve the maximum degree of howling suppression while ensuring that the sound is not distorted (Gao ¶0091).
Regarding claim 17, Gao (in view of Yuichiro) teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium comprising the features of claim 16 as discussed above.
Gao does not explicitly disclose that a signal of the musical sound has a predetermined center frequency, and the processing circuit acquires the feedback signal having a center frequency different from the predetermined center frequency, and shifts the center frequency of the feedback signal to the predetermined center frequency by the uncorrelated processing.
However, Mori suggests that a signal of a musical sound has a predetermined center frequency (Mori col. 4, line 66 – col. 5, line 1: "The damping characteristics GL are very approximate to those of the acoustic instrument"; Mori fig. 4A reproduced above: vertical lines indicate predetermined center frequences corresponding to f0, 2f0, etc.), and the processing circuit acquires the feedback signal having a center frequency different from the predetermined center frequency (Mori col. 5, lines 4-8: "the fundamental frequency f0 of the resonance frequency will change to f01 as shown in FIG. 4B and its harmonic frequencies similarly change to 2f01, 3f01, 4f01, . . . , and thus the resonance frequencies can be set to desired values."; Mori fig. 4B reproduced above: vertical lines indicate predetermined center frequences different from f01, 2f01, etc.).
Furthermore, Berdahl suggests shifting the center frequency of the feedback signal to a predetermined center frequency by uncorrelated processing (Berdahl § 1.4: "a frequency shifter that shifts any input sinusoid up in frequency by Δf"; Berdahl equation 6: FFS(f) = f + Δf.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device for controlling feedback of an electronic percussion instrument of Gao (in view of Yuichiro) by employing a filter circuit having a center frequency different from the predetermined center frequency and shifting the center frequency of the feedback signal to the predetermined center frequency to achieve the maximum degree of howling suppression while ensuring that the sound is not distorted (Gao ¶0091).
Claims 4, 5, 13, 14, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Gao in view of Yuichiro and further in view of Berdahl.
Regarding claim 4, Gao (in view of Yuichiro) teaches a device for controlling feedback of an electronic percussion instrument comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above.
Gao (in view of Yuichiro) does not explicitly disclose that the uncorrelated processing comprises a processing of shifting a pitch of the feedback signal in a magnitude and a direction indicated as the control amount.
However, Berdahl teaches that the uncorrelated processing comprises a processing of shifting a pitch of the feedback signal in a magnitude and a direction indicated as the control amount (Berdahl § 1.5: "The time-varying block could be an m-semitone pitch shifter").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device for controlling feedback of an electronic percussion instrument of Gao (in view of Yuichiro) by adding the pitch shifting of Berdahl to achieve the maximum degree of howling suppression while ensuring that the sound is not distorted (Gao ¶0091).
Regarding claim 5, Gao (in view of Yuichiro) teaches a device for controlling feedback of an electronic percussion instrument comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above.
Gao (in view of Yurichiro) does not explicitly disclose that the uncorrelated processing comprises a processing of delaying the feedback signal for a time indicated as the control amount.
However, Berdahl teaches that the uncorrelated processing comprises a processing of delaying the feedback signal for a time indicated as the control amount (Berdahl § 1.5: "Other time-varying elements can also increase the maximum stable gain, such as delay modulation").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device for controlling feedback of an electronic percussion instrument of Gao (in view of Yurichiro) by adding the signal delay of Berdahl to achieve the maximum degree of howling suppression while ensuring that the sound is not distorted (Gao ¶0091).
Regarding claim 13, Gao (in view of Yuichiro) teaches a method for controlling feedback of an electronic percussion instrument comprising the features of claim 8 as discussed above.
Gao (in view of Yuichiro) does not explicitly disclose that the uncorrelated processing comprises a processing of shifting a pitch of the feedback signal in a magnitude and a direction indicated as the control amount.
However, Berdahl teaches that the uncorrelated processing comprises a processing of shifting a pitch of the feedback signal in a magnitude and a direction indicated as the control amount (Berdahl § 1.5: "The time-varying block could be an m-semitone pitch shifter").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device for controlling feedback of an electronic percussion instrument of Gao (in view of Yuichiro) by adding the pitch shifting of Berdahl to achieve the maximum degree of howling suppression while ensuring that the sound is not distorted (Gao ¶0091).
Regarding claim 14, Gao (in view of Yuichiro) teaches a method for controlling feedback of an electronic percussion instrument comprising the features of claim 8 as discussed above.
Gao (in view of Yuichiro) does not explicitly disclose that the uncorrelated processing comprises a processing of delaying the feedback signal for a time indicated as the control amount.
However, Berdahl teaches that the uncorrelated processing comprises a processing of delaying the feedback signal for a time indicated as the control amount (Berdahl § 1.5: "Other time-varying elements can also increase the maximum stable gain, such as delay modulation").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device for controlling feedback of an electronic percussion instrument of Gao (in view of Yuichiro) by adding the signal delay of Berdahl to achieve the maximum degree of howling suppression while ensuring that the sound is not distorted (Gao ¶0091).
Regarding claim 18, Gao (in view of Yuichiro) teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium comprising the features of claim 9 as discussed above.
Gao (in view of Yuichiro) does not explicitly disclose that the uncorrelated processing comprises a processing of shifting a pitch of the feedback signal in a magnitude and a direction indicated as the control amount.
However, Berdahl teaches that the uncorrelated processing comprises a processing of shifting a pitch of the feedback signal in a magnitude and a direction indicated as the control amount (Berdahl § 1.5: "The time-varying block could be an m-semitone pitch shifter").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device for controlling feedback of an electronic percussion instrument of Gao (in view of Yuichiro) by adding the pitch shifting of Berdahl to achieve the maximum degree of howling suppression while ensuring that the sound is not distorted (Gao ¶0091).
Regarding claim 19, Gao (in view of Yuichiro) teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium comprising the features of claim 9 as discussed above.
Gao (in view of Yuichiro) does not explicitly disclose that the uncorrelated processing comprises a processing of delaying the feedback signal for a time indicated as the control amount.
However, Berdahl teaches that the uncorrelated processing comprises a processing of delaying the feedback signal for a time indicated as the control amount (Berdahl § 1.5: "Other time-varying elements can also increase the maximum stable gain, such as delay modulation").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device for controlling feedback of an electronic percussion instrument of Gao (in view of Yuichiro) by adding the signal delay of Berdahl to achieve the maximum degree of howling suppression while ensuring that the sound is not distorted (Gao ¶0091).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP G SCOLES/
Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/JEFFREY DONELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837