DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. [US 8,125,403 B2] in view of Jin et al. [KR 10-2006-0031734 A].
Regarding claim 1, Saito et al. discloses an inductance device [figure 6] comprising:
- a ferrite core [2] having a through-hole;
- a wire conductor [10] pass through the through-hole of the ferrite core; and
- an adhesive material [4] configured to fix the ferrite core and the wire conductor and positioned between an upper surface of the ferrite core and the wire conductor [figure 6].
Saito et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific material for the wire.
Jin et al. discloses a metal wire [10] for use in an inductor device having a core [11], wherein the wire formed of a low resistance material such as permalloy [Fe-Ni] material.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the permalloy [Fe-Ni] material for the conductor coil wire of RU126238U1, as suggested by Jin et al., for the purpose of minimizing eddy current, thermal and electrical loss [see abstract].
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RU126238U1 in view of Jin et al. and Saito et al.
Regarding claims 1-2 and 4-5, RU126238U1 discloses a filter [figures 1-2] including an inductor device/unit comprising:
- ferrite core structure includes a first core [2] include a first hole and a second core [2] including a second hole; and
- a wire/conductor [6] passes through the first hole and the second hole of the first and second cores.
RU126238U1 discloses the first and second cores are ring cores [drum core with hole]. RU126238U1 further discloses an adhesive material [glue 5] for fixing the core and the wire.
RU126238U1 disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific material for the wire.
Jin et al. discloses a metal wire [10] for use in an inductor device having a core [11], wherein the wire formed of a low resistance material such as permalloy [Fe-Ni] material.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the permalloy [Fe-Ni] material for the conductor coil wire of RU126238U1, as suggested by Jin et al., for the purpose of minimizing eddy current, thermal and electrical loss [see abstract].
The inductor device/unit configured to filter noise included in a current and sense the current.
RU126238U1 in view of Jin et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific arrangement of the adhesive material.
Saito et al. discloses an inductance device [figure 6] comprising:
- a ferrite core [2] having a through-hole;
- a wire conductor [10] pass through the through-hole of the ferrite core; and
- an adhesive material [4] configured to fix the ferrite core and the wire conductor and positioned between an upper surface of the ferrite core and the wire conductor [figure 6].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange the adhesive material positioned between an upper surface of the ferrite core and the wire conductor of RU126238U1, as suggested by Saito et al., for the purpose providing adhesion and insulation between the ferrite core and the wire conductor.
Regarding claim 7, RU126238U1 further discloses a capacitor unit [1] connected with the inductor device/unit, wherein the inductor device/unit and the capacitor unit are the II-shaped LC filter [see figure 1].
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RU126238U1 in view of Jin et al. and Saito et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sung [KR 2007-0986146 A].
Regarding claim 8, Sung discloses a power steering system comprising:
- a filter unit including an inductor unit [230] configured to filter noise included in current and sense the current; and
- a steering motor power source unit [170] configured to generate an assist current by converting the filtered current based on a steering motor control signal and to control a steering motor based on the assist current.
Sung disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific of the inductor unit.
RU126238U1 in view of Jin et al. and Saito et al. disclose the inductor unit [see above].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the inductor unit of RU126238U1, as modified, for the inductor of Sung for the purpose of improving filtering.
Regarding claims 9-10, RU126238U1 in view of Jin et al. and Saito et al. discloses [see above] the inductor with cores and capacitor unit connected [see above].
Regarding claim 11, Sung further discloses a control unit [ECU 160] configured to controls the motor [170] to supply steering assist power in response to sensed torque [para 0016 0032-0042 and figures 1-3]. The structure of Sung in view of RU126238U1 and Jin et al. would result of determination, as claimed.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okubo et al. [US 4,797,647] in view of Jin et al. [KR 10-2006-0031734 A].
Regarding claims 1-2 and 4-5, Okubo et al. discloses a filter [figures 2, 3a-3b] including an inductor device/unit comprising:
- ferrite core structure includes a first core [25] include a first hole and a second core [26] including a second hole; and
- a wire [21] passes through the first hole and the second hole of the first and second cores.
Okubo et al. discloses the first and second cores are ring/cylindrical cores [drum core with hole]. Okubo et al. further discloses an adhesive material [adhesive resin 27] for fixing the core and the wire, wherein the adhesive positioned between an upper surface of the ferrite core structure and the wire [figure 2d].
Okubo et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific material for the wire.
Jin et al. discloses a metal wire [10] for use in an inductor device having a core [11], wherein the wire formed of a low resistance material such as permalloy [Fe-Ni] material.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the permalloy [Fe-Ni] material for the wire of Okubo et al., as suggested by Jin et al., for the purpose of minimizing eddy current, thermal and electrical loss [see abstract].
The inductor device/unit configured to filter noise included in a current and sense the current.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okubo et al. in view of Jin et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of RU126238U1.
Okubo et al. in view of Jin et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for a capacitor unit.
RU126238U1 discloses a capacitor unit [1] connected with the inductor device/unit, wherein the inductor device/unit and the capacitor unit are the II-shaped LC filter [see figure 1].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the filter/inductor unit of Okubo et al. connect with a capacitor unit for the purpose of completing an LC-circuit.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okubo et al. in view of Jin et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sung [KR 2007-0986146 A].
Regarding claim 8, Sung discloses a power steering system comprising:
- a filter unit including an inductor unit [230] configured to filter noise included in current and sense the current; and
- a steering motor power source unit [170] configured to generate an assist current by converting the filtered current based on a steering motor control signal and to control a steering motor based on the assist current.
Sung disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific of the inductor unit.
Okubo et al. in view of Jin et al. disclose the inductor unit [see above].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the inductor unit of Okubo et al., as modified, for the inductor of Sung for the purpose of improving filtering.
Regarding claim 9, Okubo et al. in view of Jin et al. discloses [see above] the inductor with cores, as claimed [see above].
Regarding claim 11, Sung further discloses a control unit [ECU 160] configured to controls the motor [170] to supply steering assist power in response to sensed torque [para 0016 0032-0042 and figures 1-3]. The structure of Sung in view of RU126238U1 and Jin et al. would result of determination, as claimed.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okubo et al. in view of Jin et al. and Sung as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of RU126238U1.
Okubo et al. in view of Jin et al. and Sung disclose the instant claimed invention except for a capacitor unit.
RU126238U1 discloses a capacitor unit [1] connected with the inductor device/unit, wherein the inductor device/unit and the capacitor unit are the II-shaped LC filter [see figure 1].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the filter/inductor unit of Okubo et al. connect with a capacitor unit for the purpose of completing an LC-circuit.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okubo et al. [US 4,797,647] in view of Jin et al. [KR 10-2006-0031734 A] as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Ueno et al. [US 2014/0232505 A1]
Regarding claim 12, Okubo et al. in view of Jin et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific arrangement of the wire.
Ueno et al. discloses a coil structure comprising:
- core structure including a first core [2] and a second core [2], wherein the first and second cores each having a through-hole; and
- a wire [3] arranged around the core structure, wherein the wire passing through the hole of the first core with a first number of turns and passing through the second hole of the second core with a second number of turns equal to the first number of turns [figures 1 and 10].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the wire arrangement of Ueno et al. in Okubo et al., as modified, for the purpose of facilitating and/or enhancing the inductance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-5 and 7-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837