DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to a paper filed on 02/26/2026 in which claims 16-46 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 16-27, 30-36 and 41-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King et al. (hereinafter King) (US 2007/0164693 A1) in view of Atluri et al (hereinafter Atluri) (US 9,108,633 B1).
As to claims 16 and 31, King discloses a method for operating an electric vehicle including an electric traction drive device adapted to drive the vehicle (see abstract), a control device (Fig 4, 120, controls) adapted to control driving movement of the vehicle, a first energy storage device (Fig 4, 110) adapted to supply the control device with a first DC voltage, a second energy storage device (Fig 4, 140) adapted to supply the traction drive device with a second DC voltage, and an energy supply unit adapted to provide an output DC voltage (see parag [0025]), the first energy storage device being connected to the second energy storage device via a converter device (Fig 4, 120), the first energy storage device being connected to the energy supply unit, the converter device adapted to convert the first DC voltage into the second DC voltage (see parag [0025]).
King does not disclose: preventing a power flow from the second energy storage device to the first energy storage device.
However, Atluri discloses preventing a power flow from the second energy storage (Fig 2, 160) device to the first energy storage device (see Fig 2, 60, claim 24, when the switch S2 is open, the power from battery 160 can’t flow to the battery 60). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of King to include the teachings of Atluri in order to control the power flow of the energy storage.
As to claims 17 and 32, the combination of King and Atluri discloses the method according to claim 16, wherein the vehicle is arranged as a driverless mobile assistance system of an intralogistics application, the driving movement includes traction of the vehicle, the first energy storage device includes a rechargeable battery storage device (Fig 4, 110), the second energy storage device includes a double-layer capacitor device (Fig 4, 140) and/or is chargeable and dischargeable more rapidly than the first energy storage device, the energy supply unit is adapted to provide the output DC voltage periodically, the first energy storage device is electrically connected to the second energy storage device via the converter device, the first energy storage device is electrically connected to the energy supply unit such, the output DC voltage substantially equals the first DC voltage, the first DC voltage is lower than the second DC voltage and/or is an extra-low voltage, and the power flow from the second energy storage device to the first energy storage device is prevented at any time (King, see parags [0025-0027], Atluri, claim 24).
As to claim 18, the combination of King and Atluri discloses the method according to claim 16, wherein the converter device includes a unidirectional DC/DC converter, a step-up converter (Fig 4, 120, boost converter), and/or a flyback converter adapted to prevent the power flow from the second energy storage device to the first energy storage device.
As to claims 19 and 33, the combination of King and Atluri discloses the method according to claim 16, wherein the vehicle includes an energy storage control device (Fig 4, EMS), the method further comprising: detecting a state value of the first energy storage device; and transmitting the state value to the energy storage control device (King, see parag [0036]).
As to claims 20 and 34, the combination of King and Atluri discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein the state value includes a voltage applied to the first energy storage device, a current flowing through the first energy storage device, and/or a temperature prevailing in the first energy storage device (King, see parags [0025], [0047]).
As to claims 21 and 35, the combination of King and Atluri discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein an output current provided by the energy supply unit is regulated and/or controlled by the energy storage control device as a function of the state value (King, see parag [0025]).
As to claims 22 and 36, King discloses the method according to claim 21, wherein a value for the output current is specified as a setpoint value (King, see parag [0039]).
As to claim 23, the combination of King and Atluri discloses the method according to claim 19, further comprising determining, by the energy storage control device, an application parameter from the state value (King, see parags [0025], [0035]).
As to claim 24, the combination of King and Atluri discloses the method according to claim 23, further comprising transmitting the application parameter to the control device (King, see parags [0025], [0035]).
As to claim 25, the combination of King and Atluri discloses the method according to claim 23, wherein the application parameter includes a value of a maximum current dischargeable by first energy storage device (King, see parags [0032], [0045]), a state of charge of the first energy storage device, and/or an aging state of the first energy storage device.
As to claim 26, the combination of King and Atluri discloses the method according to claim 16, further comprising preventing a power flow to the first energy storage device and/or from the energy supply unit to the first energy storage device in response to a voltage applied at the first energy storage device exceeding a predefined maximum voltage, a current flowing through the first energy storage device exceeds a predefined maximum current, and/or a temperature prevailing in the first energy storage device exceeds a predefined maximum temperature (King, see parag [0047]).
As to claim 27, the combination of King and Atluri discloses the method according to claim 16, further comprising preventing a power flow from the first energy storage device and/or to the second energy storage device from the first energy storage device in response to a voltage applied at the first energy storage device falling below a predefined minimum voltage, a current flowing through the first energy storage device falling below a predefined minimum current, and/or a temperature prevailing in the first energy storage device exceeding a predefined maximum temperature (King, see parags [0037], [0045]).
As to claim 30, the combination of King and Atluri discloses the method according to claim 16, wherein energy is supplied to the energy supply unit with or without contact and/or in certain time intervals while driving (King, see parag [0045]).
As to claim 41, King discloses an electric vehicle (see parag [0002]), comprising:
a first consumer adapted to use a first DC voltage (Fig 4, 112);
a second consumer using a second DC voltage (Fig 4, 122);
a first energy storage device (Fig 4, 110);
a second energy storage device (Fig 4, 140);
an energy supply unit adapted to provide an output DC voltage (see parag [0025]); and wherein the first energy storage device is adapted to supply the first DC voltage, the second energy storage device is adapted to supply the second DC voltage, the first energy storage device is connected to the second energy storage device via a converter device (Fig 4, , 120, boost converter) the first energy storage device is connected to the energy supply unit, and the converter device is adapted to convert the first DC voltage into the second DC voltage (see parag [0025]); and wherein the first consumer includes a control device (Fig 4, 120, controls) adapted to control a driving movement of the vehicle and the second consumer includes an electric traction drive device adapted to drive the vehicle, a lifting device, and/or a handling device (see parags [0025-0027]).
King does not disclose a device adapted to prevent a power flow from the second energy storage device to the first energy storage device.
However, Atluri discloses a device adapted to prevent a power flow from the second energy storage device (Fig 2, 160) to the first energy storage device (see Fig 2, 60, claim 24, when the switch S2 is open, the power of battery 160 can’t flow to the battery 60). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of King to include the teachings of Atluri in order to control the power flow of the energy storage.
As to claim 42, the combination of King and Atluri discloses the method according to claim 16, wherein the preventing includes preventing the power flow from the second energy storage device to the first energy storage device at any time (Atluri, see Fig 2, the power can’t flow from battery 160 to battery 60 when the switch S2 is open).
As to claim 43, the combination of King and Atluri discloses the device according to claim 31, wherein the first consumer includes a control device (King, Fig 4, 120, controls) adapted to control driving movement of the vehicle, and the second consumer includes a traction drive of the vehicle (King, Fig 4, 147), the first energy storage device adapted to supply the first DC voltage to the control device, the second energy storage device adapted to supply the second DC voltage to the traction drive.
As to claim 44, the combination of King and Atluri discloses the vehicle according to claim 41, wherein the first energy storage device (Fig 4, 110) adapted to supply the first DC voltage to the control device, and the second energy storage device (Fig 4, 140) adapted to supply the second DC voltage to the traction drive.
As to claim 45, the combination of King and Atluri discloses the device according to claim 31, wherein the device is adapted to prevent the power flow from the second energy storage device to the first energy storage device at any time (Atluri, see Fig 2, the power can’t flow from battery 160 to battery 60 when the switch S2 is open).
As to claim 46, the combination of King and Atluri discloses the vehicle according to claim 41, wherein the device is adapted to prevent the power flow from the second energy storage device to the first energy storage device at any time (Atluri, see Fig 2, the power can’t flow from battery 160 to battery 60 when the switch S2 is open).
2. Claim(s) 28-29 and 37-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King et al. (hereinafter King) (US 2007/0164693 A1) in view of Atluri et al (hereinafter Atluri) (US 9,108,633 B1) further in view of Fukushima et al. (hereinafter Fukushima) (US 2020/0106082 A1).
As to claims 28 and 37, the combination of King and Atluri does not disclose the method according to claim 26, wherein the power flow to the first energy storage device is prevented by a bidirectional switch and/or by activating the bidirectional switch by the energy storage control device.
However, Fukushima discloses the power flow to the first energy storage device is prevented by a bidirectional switch and/or by activating the bidirectional switch by the energy storage control device (see Fig 4, 37, parag [0032]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of King and Atluri to include the cut-off device as taught by Fukushima in order to effectively control the power flow direction of the device.
As to claims 29 and 38, the combination of King, Atluri and Fukushima discloses the method according to claim 27, wherein the power flow from the first energy storage device is prevented by a bidirectional switch and/or by activating the bidirectional switch by the energy storage control device (Fukushima, see Fig 4, 37, parag [0032]).
As to claim 39, the combination of King, Atluri and Fukushima discloses the device according to claim 37, wherein the first energy storage device, an energy storage control device, and the bidirectional switch are combined in one structural unit (Fukushima, see Fig 4, 37 and 30 are in 20).
As to claim 40, the combination of King, Atluri and Fukushima does not disclose the device according to claim 39, wherein the structural unit is separable from the device and is replaceable. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of King and Fukushima to have the structural unit is separable from the device and is replaceable for convenient maintenance, since this just a designed choice and involves only routine skills in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 02/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argued the feature “preventing the power flow from the second energy storage device to the first energy storage device” was not disclosed in the Alturi reference. The examiner totally disagreed with the applicant’s argument. As you can see clearly in Fig 2 of Alturi, when the switch S2 is open, the power from the battery 160 can’t flow to the battery 60 or when the switch S1 is open, the power from the battery 60 can’t flow to the battery 160. Therefore, claims 16, 31 and 41 are still rejected under King and Alturi.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUC M PHAM/
Examiner, Art Unit 2836
May 30, 2026
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836