DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu US20160260965A1 (cited in office action mailed 11 February 2025) in view of Jiang CN111244459A (using machine English translation provided 22 April 2025), Kim US20100203388A1 and Matsubara JPH1069910A (using machine English translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a positive electrode material (Wu, [0071], Fig. 5, material 501) comprising a core-shell structure (Wu, [0090], Fig. 5, core 502, coating 503), wherein the core layer is a cobalt-free (Wu, [0071], Li1+x″NiαMnβCoγMδ′O2, where 0≦α≦1, 0≦β≦1, x″ = 0, γ = 0, δ′ = 0) single-crystal (Wu, [0039], “a cathode active particle having a cathode active material core”) positive electrode active substance (Wu, [0039]), and the shell layer (Wu, [0072], Fig. 5, coating 503) consists of LiAlO2 (Wu, [0072], AxBy, where A = LiAl, B = O, x = 1, y = 2) and LiFePO4 (Wu, [0072], AxBy, where A = LiFe, B = PO43-, x = 1, y = 1),
wherein the cobalt-free single-crystal positive electrode active substance is LiNi0.75Mn0.25O2 (Wu, [0071], Li1NiαMnβO2, where 0≦α≦1, 0≦β≦1, x″ = 0, γ = 0, δ′ = 0),
wherein a residual alkali content of the cobalt-free single-crystal positive electrode active substance is less than or equal to 0.5 wt %, it would be understood by the skilled artisan that absent a teaching of the residual alkali content the limitation is satisfied as the cobalt-free single-crystal positive electrode active substance disclosed by Wu is substantially similar to the claimed invention, similarly, the skilled artisan would understand that the substantially similar cobalt-free single-crystal positive electrode active substance disclosed by Wu satisfies the limitation a pH value of the cobalt-free single-crystal positive electrode active substance is less than or equal to 12, absent a teaching to the contrary.
Wu does not disclose wherein the content of the cobalt-free single-crystal positive electrode active substance is 98.5 wt% to 99.9wt%; wherein the content of LiAlO2 is 0.05 wt% to 0.5 wt%, and the content of LiFePO4 is 0.05 wt% to 1 wt%, and a specific surface area of the cobalt-free single-crystal positive electrode active substance is less than or equal to 2 m2/g.
Jiang teaches wherein the content of the cobalt-free single-crystal positive electrode active substance (Jiang, [0011], LiNixCoyM1-x-yO2, y = 0, 0.6<x≤0.9955, 0.0045<1-x<0.06) is 98.5 wt% to 99.9wt% (Jiang, [0016], shell is 0.2 to 5 wt%, therefore the core is 95 to 99.8 wt%), wherein the content of LiAlO2 is 0.05 wt% to 0.5 wt% (Jiang, [0016], 0.2 wt% to 5 wt%). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan to modify the wt% of the active substance and LiAlO2 shell of Wu with the teaching of Jiang, thereby reducing the loss of specific capacity (Jiang, [0097]). Wu as modified by Jiang does not teach wherein the content of LiFePO4 is 0.05 wt% to 1 wt%, and a specific surface area of the cobalt-free single-crystal positive electrode active substance is less than or equal to 2 m2/g.
Kim teaches wherein the content of LiFePO4 is 0.05 wt% to 1 wt% (Kim, Table 1, example 4, 0.5%). Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the LiFePO4 wt% of Wu as modified by Jiang with the teaching of Kim, thereby improving safety (Kim, [0110]). Wu as modified by Jiang and Kim does not teach a specific surface area of the cobalt-free single-crystal positive electrode active substance is less than or equal to 2 m2/g.
Matsubara teaches a specific surface area of the cobalt-free single-crystal positive electrode active substance (Matsubara, [0039]) is less than or equal to 2 m2/g (Matsubara, [0059], 0.01 to 1 m2/g). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific surface are of the cobalt-free single-crystal positive electrode active substance of Wu as modified by Jiang and Kim with the teaching of Matsubara, thereby having low reactivity with the electrolyte (Matsubara, [0059]).
Regarding claim 26, Wu discloses a lithium-ion battery (Wu, [0071]), comprising a positive electrode material (Wu, [0071], Fig. 5, material 501) comprising a core-shell structure (Wu, [0090], Fig. 5, core 502, coating 503), wherein the core layer is a cobalt-free (Wu, [0071], Li1+x″NiαMnβCoγMδ′O2, where 0≦α≦1, 0≦β≦1, x″ = 0, γ = 0, δ′ = 0) single-crystal (Wu, [0039], “a cathode active particle having a cathode active material core”) positive electrode active substance (Wu, [0039]), and the shell layer (Wu, [0072], Fig. 5, coating 503) consists of LiAlO2 (Wu, [0072], AxBy, where A = LiAl, B = O, x = 1, y = 2) and LiFePO4 (Wu, [0072], AxBy, where A = LiFe, B = PO43-, x = 1, y = 1),
wherein the cobalt-free single-crystal positive electrode active substance is LiNi0.75Mn0.25O2 (Wu, [0071], Li1NiαMnβO2, where 0≦α≦1, 0≦β≦1, x″ = 0, γ = 0, δ′ = 0),
wherein a residual alkali content of the cobalt-free single-crystal positive electrode active substance is less than or equal to 0.5 wt %, it would be understood by the skilled artisan that absent a teaching of the residual alkali content the limitation is satisfied as the cobalt-free single-crystal positive electrode active substance disclosed by Wu is substantially similar to the claimed invention, similarly, the skilled artisan would understand that the substantially similar cobalt-free single-crystal positive electrode active substance disclosed by Wu satisfies the limitation a pH value of the cobalt-free single-crystal positive electrode active substance is less than or equal to 12, absent a teaching to the contrary.
Wu does not disclose wherein the content of the cobalt-free single-crystal positive electrode active substance is 98.5 wt% to 99.9wt%; wherein the content of LiAlO2 is 0.05 wt% to 0.5 wt%, and the content of LiFePO4 is 0.05 wt% to 1 wt%, and a specific surface area of the cobalt-free single-crystal positive electrode active substance is less than or equal to 2 m2/g.
Jiang teaches wherein the content of the cobalt-free single-crystal positive electrode active substance (Jiang, [0011], LiNixCoyM1-x-yO2, y = 0, 0.6<x≤0.9955, 0.0045<1-x<0.06) is 98.5 wt% to 99.9wt% (Jiang, [0016], shell is 0.2 to 5 wt%, therefore the core is 95 to 99.8 wt%), wherein the content of LiAlO2 is 0.05 wt% to 0.5 wt% (Jiang, [0016], 0.2 wt% to 5 wt%). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan to modify the wt% of the active substance and LiAlO2 shell of Wu with the teaching of Jiang, thereby reducing the loss of specific capacity (Jiang, [0097]). Wu as modified by Jiang does not teach wherein the content of LiFePO4 is 0.05 wt% to 1 wt%, and a specific surface area of the cobalt-free single-crystal positive electrode active substance is less than or equal to 2 m2/g.
Kim teaches wherein the content of LiFePO4 is 0.05 wt% to 1 wt% (Kim, Table 1, example 4, 0.5%). Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the LiFePO4 wt% of Wu as modified by Jiang with the teaching of Kim, thereby improving safety (Kim, [0110]). Wu as modified by Jiang and Kim does not teach a specific surface area of the cobalt-free single-crystal positive electrode active substance is less than or equal to 2 m2/g.
Matsubara teaches a specific surface area of the cobalt-free single-crystal positive electrode active substance (Matsubara, [0039]) is less than or equal to 2 m2/g (Matsubara, [0059], 0.01 to 1 m2/g). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific surface are of the cobalt-free single-crystal positive electrode active substance of Wu as modified by Jiang and Kim with the teaching of Matsubara, thereby having low reactivity with the electrolyte (Matsubara, [0059]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The examiner notes that applicant has argued that because each of the references individually do not bodily incorporate the claim limitations that the combination is inappropriate, thus, no motivation exists for this inappropriate combination. The Courts have held that a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. See MPEP § 2123.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hong US20160164078A1 (discloses a cobalt free cathode material comprising a LiFePO4 shell with a 0.5 to 5 wt% content).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JARED HANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723