DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/24/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 has been amended, claims 8-10 have been canceled. Claims 11 and 12 are newly added and Claims 1, 3-4, 7 and 11-12 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dahl et al. (US 20190173084 A1), hereinafter “Dahl” in view of Kurita et al. (US 20170187031 A1), hereinafter “Kurita”. Dahl and Kurita et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely cathode materials and preparation.
In regard to Claim 1, Dahl et al. discloses a method for preparing a cobalt-free cathode material for a lithium-ion battery (Dahl, Paragraph [0005], Examples 1-3), comprising specific examples mixing lithium nickel manganate with a sulfate to obtain a first mixture (Dahl, Paragraph [0011], Examples 1-3). Dahl et al. also discloses wherein the sulfate is a salt of a strong acid and a weak base by providing ammonium sulfate on a short list of preferred alternatives as the sulfate combined with the active material in the mixture before a heat treatment step (Dahl, Paragraph [0040]). Ammonium sulfate, as disclosed in Dahl is the same compound used in an embodiment in the current application as a salt of a strong acid and a weak base which reacts with residual alkalis to generate the lithium sulfate containing cladding (Original Specification, [0028]). Further, the current application discloses the source of the residual alkali’s as be present on the active material as a result of the formation of lithium nickel manganate wherein LiOH is mixed with a nickel-manganese hydroxide and after synthesis the surface comprises residual alkalis such as lithium hydroxide and lithium carbonate (Original Specification, [0026]), which is then contacted with the sulfate to form the cladding.
Dahl et al. also discloses a cladding layer wherein the cladding layer is cladded on the outer surface of the lithium nickel manganate (Dahl, [0035-0036]), Table 1, Example 2), and the material of the cladding layer comprises lithium sulfate (Dahl, [0046-0048], Figures 1-3) as well as the presence of lithium carbonate in the cathode material (Dahl, Examples 1-3). Thus, providing the lithium nickel manganate disclosed in Dahl and mixing with ammonium sulfate as disclosed in Dahl would reasonably foster the same reaction of residual surface alkali that are present from the formation of the lithium nickel manganate and which reaction then produces a cladding layer comprising lithium sulfate.
Further, Dahl et al. discloses wherein in the first mixture, the mass ratio of sulfur in the sulfate to the lithium nickel manganate is in a range of 1000-16000 ppm (Dahl, Paragraph [0068]) and further discloses when sulfur is >4000 ppm there are impurities that lead to instability (Dahl, Figure 2, Paragraph [0059]) and thus the beneficial range is 1000ppm-4000ppm which is equivalent to 0.10%-0.40% mass ratio of sulfur atoms in the sulfate to the lithium nickel manganate, which anticipates the claimed range while further disclosing a specific example where the mass ratio of sulfur atoms is 2090 ppm, or 0.209 measured by ICP (Dahl, Example 1), which falls within the claimed range.
Next, Dahl et al. discloses reacting the first mixture at a predetermined temperature in a range of 700-1200°C to obtain the cobalt-free cathode material (Dahl, Paragraphs [0026-0027]), which anticipates the claimed temperature of 900°C and that the reaction of the first mixture is carried out in an oxygen-rich environment, and a volume percentage of oxygen in the oxygen-containing environment is at least 5% (Dahl, [0041]), and thus may be up to 100%, in which the claimed percentage of oxygen falls within.
Lastly, while Dahl et al. discloses the presence of lithium carbonate in the cathode material (Dahl, Examples 1-3) it is silent as to the amount of residual alkali content in the cathode material.
Kurita et al. discloses a cathode material combined with a sulfate also comprising lithium carbonate wherein the residual alkali content is in a beneficial range of 0.1% by mass to 0.8% by mass as measured by neutralization titration (Kurita, Abstract, [0069]), which overlaps the claimed range and with that configuration taught as being capable of high charge/discharge cycle performance and high discharge capacity (Kurita, [0006]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
In regard to Claim 3, Dahl in view of Kurita et al. discloses the preparation method according to claim 1. Dahl et al. further discloses a predetermined temperature of 900°C in each specific example which is higher than the melting point of each sulfate used in those same examples (Dahl, Examples 1-3).
In regard to Claim 4, Dahl in view of Kurita et al. discloses the preparation method according to claim 1. Dahl et al. further discloses a reaction time in a specific example of 4 hours at 900°C, with some reaction times in other examples up to 14 hours (Dahl, Examples 1-3), which anticipates the claimed range.
In regard to Claim 12, Dahl et al. in view of Kurita et al. discloses the preparation method according to claim 1. Dahl et al. discloses the specific surface area of the cobalt-free cathode material is in a preferable range of less than 0.5 m2/g (Dahl, Paragraph [0020]), which overlaps the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dahl et al. (US 20190173084 A1), hereinafter “Dahl” in view of Kurita et al. (US 20170187031 A1), hereinafter “Kurita” as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Kawakami (US 20150325855 A1), hereinafter “Kawakami”. Dahl, Kurita and Kawakami et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely cathode materials and preparation.
In regard to Claim 7, Dahl in view of Kurita et al. discloses the preparation method according to claim 1. Dahl et al. further discloses specific examples where the lithium nickel manganate and the sulfate mixing duration is from 6 minutes - 1hr, which overlaps the claimed range, however Dahl fails to explicitly disclose wherein the lithium nickel manganate and the sulfate are mixed by high-speed mixing equipment for 10 minutes to 20 minutes at a rotational speed of 2000 rpm to 3000 rpm.
Kawakami et al. discloses specific examples mixing a cobalt free lithium nickel manganate with precursors at a rotational speed of 2000 rpm for an aggregated duration of 20 minutes which has the effect of reaching a desired consistency before the next processing step (Kawakami, Paragraph [0108], Examples 2-4]). The speed and duration of time required is determined by the skilled artisan and the equipment available in order to achieve the common desired outcome of a uniformly mixed product. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a mixing speed and duration as taught in Kawakami et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Kawakami and as doing so would amount to nothing more than applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dahl et al. (US 20190173084 A1), hereinafter “Dahl” in view of Kurita et al. (US 20170187031 A1), hereinafter “Kurita” as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okamoto et al. (US20140306152A1), hereinafter “Okamoto”. Dahl, Kurita and Okamoto, et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely cathode materials and preparation.
In regard to Claim 11, Dahl et al. also discloses a particle size between 3 and 25µm (Dahl, Paragraph [0019]), which overlaps the claimed range and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
While Dahl discloses multistage drying steps to remove moisture, it fails to explicitly disclose the free water content of the cobalt-free cathode material is less than 200 ppm.
Okamoto et al. discloses a lithium nickel manganate with a free water content of less than 200 ppm (Okamoto, Paragraph [0016]) which provides the benefit of particularly good battery properties being achieved when the moisture content in a cathode active material is a certain value or lower (Okamoto, Paragraph [0008]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a lithium nickel manganate with a free water content of 200ppm or less as taught in Okamoto, as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Okamoto and as doing so would amount to nothing more than the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 has been considered but are moot because the ground of rejection has been changed to include a secondary reference. The new rejection addresses the subject matter specifically challenged in the argument and amended claim 1. Specifically, Dahl et al. discloses step (a) mixing starting materials including the lithium nickel manganate that would reasonably contain surface residual alkalis as is consistent with the current application (Original Specification, [0026]) with a sulfate precursor before step (b) which is reacting the first mixture at a predetermined temperature to obtain the cobalt-free cathode material (Dahl, [0026-0027]). The sulfate precursor includes ammonium sulfate as a preferred choice (Dahl, [0040]) which is a strong acid with a weak base as is consistent with the current application which provides ammonium sulfate as such (Original Specification, [0028]) and thus Dahl teaches mixing the ammonium sulfate precursor with the lithium nickel manganate in step (a) to form a cladding layer comprising lithium sulfate (Dahl, [0046-0048], Figures 1-3) as well as the presence of lithium carbonate in the cathode material (Dahl, Examples 1-3). Thus, discovering or newly explaining a property or mechanism of a prior art process does not make the prior art process or resulting product patentably new, See Atlas Powder Co v IRECO Inc., 190F.3d 1342, 1347 (Fed. Cir. 1999) see also MPEP § 2112.01 I.
Finally, while Kurita controls the surface alkali levels with water washing, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The skilled artisan of Dahl would look to Kurita for a teaching of the surface alkali content and that combination of references overlaps the claimed range.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.M.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725