DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 12/22/2025. As directed by the amendment, claims 6-8 have been amended, no claims have been cancelled, and claims 10-13 have been newly added. Thus, claims 1-13 are presenting pending in this application, with claims 6-13 presented on the merits.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-5 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/22/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 6, 9-10, and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6, line 9-10 recites “the other side of the cushion body”; it is suggested to amend the claim to recite --another side of the cushion body-- as a cushion body can have more than two sides. Line 12 recites “the other side of the massage movement”; it is suggested to amend the claim to recite --another side of each massage movement-- as a massage movement can have more than two sides, can include more than one massage movements.
Claim 9, line 3 recites “the position of the massage movement”; it is suggested to amend the claim to recite --a position of the massage movement-- as it is the first time the position is being recited.
Claim 10, line 5 recites “the middle part of the control sleeve”; it is suggested to amend the claim to recite --a middle part of the control sleeve-- as it is the first time the limitation is being recited.
Claim 12, line 3 recites “the position of the movement”; it is suggested to amend the claim to recite --a position of the massage unit-- as it is the first time the position is being recited and to maintain claim consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a sliding conductive assembly . . . in slidably electric connection with the conductive bars” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the circuit board", “the probe control sleeve”, and “each conductive probe” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Regarding claim 8, line 4 recites “a controller”; it is unclear whether the limitation refers back to the previous recited controller in claim 6, or to a new second controller. For purposes of examination, it is considered that the limitation refers back to the previously recited controller in claim 6. Line 5 recites “the circuit board”; there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the hall switch" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 10, lines 3-4 recites “a plurality of conductive probes”; it is unclear whether the limitation refers back to the previously recited conductive probes in line 2 or to a new structural element. For purposes of examination, the limitation is considered to refer back to the previously recited conductive probes in line 2.
Claims 11-13 are rejected for being either directly or indirectly depending from a rejected claim base.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferber et al (2005/0245851) in view of Caldwell et al (2021/0159653) and Bruck (5,561,271).
Regarding claim 6, Ferber discloses a massage cushion, comprising: a flexible sliding power supply assembly (112) (power cord coiled about a bar (114) for extension and retraction) (para [0034]) connected to a power supply (power cord (114) is used to power motor (66) and therefore is connected to a power supply) and a controller (28) (remote) (remote (28) is used to select a target range of massage and therefore is connected to the motor (66) to reverse rotation of the motor (66)) (para [0066]) ;wherein the flexible sliding power supply assembly (112) about a bar (114) (para [0034]); a side (right side) of a cushion body (12) (backrest region) is further provided with a rack (110) (gear rack) (para [0032]); one or more massage movements (38) (massage assembly includes a motor (40) mounted on a carriage (40)) are mounted between the rack (110) and a left side of the carriage (40) (para [0026]); one side (right side) of each massage movement (38) is meshed with the rack (110) (para [0032]).
Ferber does not disclose the sliding power supply assembly comprises a flexible sliding power supply assembly comprising a flexible conductive rail and a sliding conductive assembly, wherein the flexible conductive rail is provided with two or more fixing slots; conductive bars are mounted in the fixing slots in an embedded manner; wherein the sliding conductive assembly is mounted on the flexible conductive rail; the sliding conductive assembly is in slidably electric connection with the conductive bars; and the conductive bars are correspondingly electrically connected to a power supply and a controller; wherein the flexible conductive rail is fixedly mounted on a cushion body; wherein one or more massage movements are mounted between the flexible conductive rail and the rack; the other side of the massage movement is fixedly provided with the sliding conductive assembly; and the massage movement is electrically connected with each conductive bar through the sliding conductive assembly.
However, Caldwell teaches a sliding track assembly a vehicle seat, wherein the sliding track assembly includes a sliding power supply assembly comprising a conductive rail (24) (para [0017])) and a sliding conductive assembly (36) (motor connector), wherein the flexible conductive rail (24) is provided with two or more fixing slots; conductive bars (28) (conductive strips) are mounted in the fixing slots in an embedded manner (as shown in fig 3B, conductive strips (28) are disposed in slots in insulating substrate (26) of conductive rail (24)) (para [0017]); wherein the sliding conductive assembly (36) is mounted on the flexible conductive rail (24) (para [0017]); the sliding conductive assembly (36) is in slidably electric connection with the conductive bars (28) (para [0017]); and the conductive bars (28) are correspondingly electrically connected to a connector (22) (vehicle connector) that is connected to a power supply and a controller (conductive rail (24) receives/transmits power and/or electronic signals between the connector (22) and the one or more track-mounted components (16), and therefore is connected to a power supply and a controller to receive power and electric signals) (para [0021]); wherein the flexible conductive rail (24) is fixedly mounted (as shown in fig 1, track (14) is shown to be fixedly mounted to a bottom surface of the cabin (12)) (para [0018]); wherein one side of a motor housing (32) is fixedly provided with the sliding conductive assembly (32) (integrally formed) (para [0023]); and a motor (30) in the motor housing (32) is electrically connected with each conductive bar (28) through the sliding conductive assembly (36) (motor connector (36) includes biasing members (24) to provide an electrical connection) (para [0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Ferber by substituting the a flexible sliding power supply assembly comprising a power cord coiled about a bar for extension and retraction with a sliding power supply assembly with a sliding power supply assembly including a conductive rail and a sliding conductive assembly, wherein the conductive rail is provided with two or more fixing slots; conductive bars are mounted in the fixing slots in an embedded manner; wherein the sliding conductive assembly is mounted on the conductive rail; the sliding conductive assembly is in slidably electric connection with the conductive bars; and the conductive bars are correspondingly electrically connected to a power supply and a controller; wherein the conductive rail is fixedly mounted on a cushion body; and the massage movement is electrically connected with each conductive bar through the sliding conductive assembly as taught by Caldwell, as it would be a simple substitution of one known mechanism for maintaining an electrical connection for a seat while in sliding contact along a linear direction (Caldwell, abstract).
The now-modified Ferber’s device discloses that the conductive rail (24 of Calwell) can be curved (Caldwell, para [0018]); however, Caldwell does not disclose that the conductive rail is flexible.
However, Bruck (5,561,271) teaches a flexible sliding power supply assembly, comprising a flexible conductive rail (1) (rail is flexible in the horizontal spatial plane) (col 2, In 9-11) and a sliding conductive assembly (30) (adaptor) (col 5, In 15-20), wherein the flexible conductive rail (1) is provided with two or more fixing slots (7-10) (profile chambers); conductive bars (5-9) (wire cloth bands) are mounted in the fixing slots (7-10) in an embedded manner (col 4, In 41-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of modified Ferber so that the conductive rail is flexible as taught by Bruck in order to allow the conductive to form curved portions without kinking and tipping, so that arced band sections are possible, in which the bending effects an increased resistance to bending (Bruck, col 2, ln 13-21).
The now-modified Ferber’s device does not disclose the one or more massage movements are mounted between the flexible conductive rail and the rack; and the other side of the massage movement is fixedly provided with the sliding conductive assembly.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of modified Ferber so that the flexible conductive rail is located at a left side of the massage movement, so that the massage movement is mounted between the flexible conductive rail and the rack, and another (left) side of the massage movement is fixedly provided with the sliding conductive assembly, as it would be an obvious rearrangement of parts, as a location of the flexible conductive rail would not affect the operation of the device and it appears that the flexible conductive rail of modified Ferber would perform equally well to connect to a massage movement if the flexible conductive rail were disposed on a left side opposite a rail on a right side. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferber et al, Caldwell et al, and Bruck as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Chiu (2022/0031560).
Regarding claim 7, modified Ferber discloses the fixing slots (28) of the flexible conductive rail are inwardly disposed (as shown in fig 1 of Caldwell, track (14 of Caldwell) is disclosed on a lower portion below the track-mounted component (16 of Caldwell), and therefore would be inwardly disposed within the cushion body (12 of Caldwell) (Caldwell, fig 1, para [0017]); a massage head (88 of Ferber) (massage nodes) on each massage movement (38 of Ferber) is outwardly disposed (as shown in fig 3 of Ferber, massage heads (88 of Ferber) are shown to be outwardly disposed from massage movement (38 of Ferber)) (Ferber, fig 3, par [0027]); and as shown in figs 4A-B of Caldwell, an upper surface and a lower surface of the probe control sleeve are both of arc curved structures (as shown in fig 4A-B, motor connector (36 of Caldwell) includes a housing which is shown to have curved corners at an upper and lower portion of the housing), wherein one side of each conductive probe (38 of Caldwell) (electrical contacts) is also inwardly disposed (as shown in fig 2 of Caldwell, distal side of electrical contacts (38 of Caldwell) is inwardly disposed inside track (14 of Caldwell)) (Caldwell, fig 2, para [0017]).
Modified Ferber does not disclose a circuit board of the probe control sleeve which is inwardly disposed.
However, Chiu teaches a massage device including a frame body (300), wherein the frame body (300) includes a circuit board (700) configured to obtain trajectory scripts representing a trajectory pattern, analyze coordinate values of the trajectory script, calculate movements of the massage protrusions, and control the massage device according to the trajectory pattern (para [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of modified Ferber by providing a circuit board connected to the massage movement and configured to obtain trajectory scripts representing a trajectory pattern, analyze coordinate values of the trajectory script, calculate movements of the massage protrusions, and control the massage device according to the trajectory pattern as taught by Chiu in order to allow the massage movement to provide a highly flexible massage path, while avoiding monotonous and fixed trajectory patterns, and also allows to customize massage requirements (Chiu, para [0026]).
The now-modified Ferber’s device discloses the circuit board disposed on the reciprocating portion of the device proximate to the massage movement; however, Ferber does not disclose the circuit board disposed within the probe control sleeve and is inwardly disposed.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of modified Ferber so that the circuit board is inwardly disposed within the probe control sleeve, as it would be an obvious rearrangement of parts, as a location of the circuit board within the probe control sleeve would not affect the operation of the device and it appears the device of modified Ferber would perform equally well provide a massage if the circuit board is disposed within a probe control sleeve. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferber et al, Caldwell et al, and Bruck as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Hofer et al (2021/0053764) and Chiu.
Regarding claim 8, modified Ferber discloses a device whose ordinary use discloses a control method, which is applied to the massage cushion of the modified Ferber’s device, comprising the steps of: S1, issuing, by means of the controller (28 of Ferber), an instruction (Ferber, para [0036]); encoding the instruction through a communication protocol; transmitting the encoded instruction to the MCU via a conductive bar (controller (28 of Ferber) instructs the motor (66 of Ferber) to rotate based on signals provided by limit switches (116a-e) (Ferber, para [0036]); and S2, feedback: when the massage movement switches a mode or stops working, the encoded state to the controller via a specified conductive bar (Caldwell, para [0017]); and decoding, by a central processing unit (CPU) on the controller, the encoded state to obtain a working state of the massage movement (limit switches (116a-e of Ferber) provide feedback as to the position of the massage movement so that motor (66 of Ferber) of the massage movement can be reversed when limit switch (116 of Ferber) is activated) (Ferber, para [0036]) wherein the conductive bars (28 of Caldwell) are also electrically connected with a controller (22 of Caldwell, 28 of Ferber) for supplying power and controlling signals (Caldwell, para [0017]).
Modified Ferber does not disclose the flexible conductive rail is provided with three conductive bars; two conductive bars are used for supplying power, and the third conductive bar is used for controlling signals.
However, Hofer in fig 10 teaches a device for connect conductive rail (4) (electrical supply bus) configured to provide power to an actuator (8) (motor (8) connected to controller (32)) (para [0095]), wherein the electrical supply bus includes a first and second conductive bar (17) (first voltage bus (17) which as shown in fig 10 include two conductive bars) (para [0081]), and a third and fourth conductive bar (34) (data bus) (para [0084]) which is used for controlling signals (para [0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of modified Ferber so that the flexible conductive rail is provided with three conductive bars; two conductive bars are used for supplying power, and a third and fourth conductive bar is used for controlling signals as taught by Hofer, as the flexible conductive rail of modified Ferber is configured to transmit power and/or signals (para [0017]), and it appears that the flexible conductive rail of modified Ferber would perform equally well to transmit power and/or signals if the flexible conductive rail is provided with at least three conductive bars; two conductive bars are used for supplying power, and a third and fourth conductive bar used for controlling signals.
The now-modified Ferber’s device does not disclose a circuit board is also electrically connected with a micro control unit (MCU); and in and the step of S1 control: issuing, by means of a mobile phone or the controller, an instruction; encoding the instruction through a communication protocol; transmitting the encoded instruction to the MCU via a specified conductive bar; and decoding, by the MCU, the encoded instruction to control the massage movement to perform a specified action; and in a step of S2 feedback: when the massage movement switches a mode or stops working, encoding, by the MCU, a state and transmitting the encoded state to the controller.
However, Chiu teaches a massage device including a frame body (300), wherein the frame body (300) includes a circuit board (700) electrically connected with a micro control unit (MCU) (710) (control unit), and in a control method: issuing, by means of a controller (800) (manual control device), an instruction ( manual control unit (800) is configured to manually controlling the back massaging device) (para [0053]); encoding the instruction through a communication protocol transmitting the encoded instruction to the MCU (710) (manual control unit (800) sends out direction commands to the control unit (710) (paras [0043], [0054]), and commands can be a trajectory script (para [0058]); and decoding, by the MCU (710), the encoded instruction to control a massage movement to perform a specified action (control unit (710) is used to (1) obtain one of trajectory scripts representing a trajectory pattern continuously composed of pause point locations, (2) analyze out coordinate values of the pause point locations of the trajectory script, (3) calculate rotation angles and vertical movements of the massage protrusion that is instructed to be moved according to the coordinate values of the pause point locations, (4) control the first motor assembly (500) and the second motor assembly (600) to operate synchronously according to the rotation angles and the vertical movements so that each of the massage protrusions (420) is allowed to continuously outline the trajectory pattern corresponding to the trajectory script); and transmit the encoded state to the controller (800); and decoding, by a central processing unit (CPU), the encoded state to obtain a working state of the massage movement (first (720) and second (730) detection modules are configured to provide feedback by converting the rotation angles of the massage device into a coordinate of a current position of a massage protrusion (para [0042]) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of modified Ferber by providing a circuit board connected with a micro control unit and connected to the massage movement and configured to perform the steps of issuing, by means of a mobile phone or the controller, an instruction; encoding the instruction through a communication protocol; transmitting the encoded instruction to the MCU via a specified conductive bar; and decoding, by the MCU, the encoded instruction to control the massage movement to perform a specified action; and when the massage movement switches a mode or stops working, encoding, by the MCU, a state and transmitting the encoded state to the controller as taught by Chiu in order to allow the massage movement to provide a highly flexible massage path, while avoiding monotonous and fixed trajectory patterns, and also allows to customize massage requirements (Chiu, para [0026]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferber et al, Caldwell et al, Bruck, Hofer et al, and Chiu as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Fukuyama et al (2014/0343467).
Regarding claim 9, modified Ferber discloses a method comprising a step of S3, positioning: sensing a position of the massage unit (limit switches (116) are used to sense a position of the massage unit (para [00035]) transmitting the position information to the controller, by the CPU on the controller, the encoded position information to obtain the position information of the massage movement (signals provided by the limit switches (116) are processed by a central processing unit provided at a circuit board of the controller) (para [0035]).
Modified Ferber does not disclose the sensing of the position of the massage unit comprises sensing, by the MCU, a magnet on a back shell rail of the cushion body through the hall switch on the circuit board; after the MCU determines the position of the massage movement, encoding, by the MCU, position information; transmitting the encoded position information to the controller via a specified conductive bar.
However, Fukuyama teaches a massage device including a massage movement (6) (first massage part), wherein the massage movement (6) includes a hall switch (101) (detection part may be a Hall IC) (para [0158]), wherein the hall switch (101) is configured to sense a magnet (155a-d) on a back shell rail of chair main body (11) (as shown in fig 13A, magnets (155a-d) may be provided on first (151) and/or second guide rails (171) (para [0142]), and after the hall switch (101) determines the position of the massage movement (6), encoding position information and transmitting the encoded position information to a controller (when a hall switch (101) moves to a magnet portion on detector part (155), control part (31) operates the movement of the massage part (6), and therefore, position information from the hall switch is transmitted to the control part (31) (para [0158]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to method of modified Ferber so that the sensing of the position of the massage unit comprises sensing, by the MCU, a magnet on a back shell rail of the cushion body through the hall switch on the circuit board; after the MCU determines the position of the massage movement, encoding, by the MCU, position information; and transmitting the encoded position information to the controller as taught by Fukuyama, as it would be a simple substitution of one known mechanism for determining position information of a massage movement along a rail with another, and it appears that the modified Ferber’s method would perform equally well to detect a position information along a rail of a massage device if the sensing of the position of the massage unit comprises sensing, by the MCU, a magnet on a back shell rail of the cushion body through the hall switch on the circuit board; after the MCU determines the position of the massage movement, encoding, by the MCU, position information; transmitting the encoded position information to the controller. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). The now-modified Ferber’s device is considered that the encoded position information is transmitting to the controller via a specified conductive bar because Fukuyama discloses that position information from the hall IC (101) is transmitted to a controller (31) (para [0158]), wherein the controller is provided at the seat part (3) (para [0115]), and because communication between the massage movement and other portions of the device are via the conductive bar (Caldwell, para [0017]), and a specified conductive bar is used to transmit signal information (Hofer, para [0084]) encoded position information is transmitted to the controller via a specified conductive bar.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement for reasons for allowance: The closest prior art of the record, Ferber et al (2005/0245851), Caldwell et al (2021/0159653) and Bruck (5,561,271) disclose the limitations of claim 6; wherein the sliding conductive assembly comprises a probe control sleeve (as shown in fig 4A-B of Caldwell, motor connector (36 of Caldwell) includes a housing), and a plurality of conductive probes (38 of Caldwell) (electrical contacts) (Caldwell, fig 2, para [0017]); and Chiu (2022/0031560) teaches a massage device including a frame body (300), wherein the frame body (300) includes a circuit board (700) configured to obtain trajectory scripts representing a trajectory pattern, analyze coordinate values of the trajectory script, calculate movements of the massage protrusions, and control the massage device according to the trajectory pattern (para [0043]), and the feature of providing the circuit board into the probe control sleeve is considered to be an obvious rearrangement of parts. However, neither Ferber et al, Caldwell et al, Bruck, Chiu, or the other prior art of record, disclose that the middle part of the probe control sleeve is a connecting opening; by the connecting opening, the probe control sleeve is capable of being mounted on the flexible conductive rail; and the conductive probes protrude from the connecting opening and are electrically connected to the conductive bars on the flexible conductive rail as recited in claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Ferber (7,419,475), Wang (6,283,928) and Cheung-Yi et al (6,808,500) disclose massage devices with a reciprocating massage carriage; and Zanotto (2018/0283661), Reischl (2016/0257500) and Moulin (2020/0207241) disclose sliding power assemblies including a conductive rail.
/DOUGLAS Y SUL/Examiner, Art Unit 3785