DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed December 09, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-14, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa et al. (US 2020/0187799 A1) (“Nishikawa”) in view of Lin et al. (US 2013/0046191 A1) ("Lin").
Regarding claim 1, Nishikawa discloses An airbag for detecting blood pressure, the airbag comprising (Abstract and entire document):
a plurality of connection walls (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “junction 45”, FIG. 18 and 19 showing multiple walls 45); and wherein the plurality of connection walls include a first connection wall,
an outer wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “bag-shaped structure 32”), comprising:
a first wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “a rectangular outer wall portion 42”),
a second wall, wherein the first wall and the second wall are disposed opposite to each other (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “inner wall portion 41” walls 41 and 42 are opposite each other), and
a peripheral side wall connected to a periphery of the first wall and a periphery of the second wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “a pair of side wall portions 43” each of the walls 43 is a peripheral side wall. each side wall 43 connects to the periphery of the walls 41/42), wherein
the first wall, the peripheral side wall, and the second wall form an air chamber (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “bag-shaped structure 32” comprises each wall as discussed above, forming an air chamber);
the air chamber is divided into a plurality of chambers by the plurality of connection walls (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “junction 45”, FIG. 18 and 19 showing multiple walls 45 creating multiple chambers);
each connection wall is located in the air chamber (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, as shown in FIG. 2 the junction 45 is within the air chamber);
each connection wall is connected to at least two of the peripheral side wall, the first wall, or the second wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, as shown in FIG. 2 the junction 45 is connected to both side walls. Each side wall portion connecting to each of the first wall and the second wall. Such that each junction 45 connects each side wall and each top and bottom walls.); and
each connection wall is tensed when the airbag is in an expanded state (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, as shown in FIG. 2 the wall is tensed.).
Nishikawa fails to disclose wherein the first connection wall is connected to the peripheral side wall and the first wall, a first end of the first connection wall is connected to the peripheral side wall, and a second end of the first connection wall is connected to the first wall between a first end of the first wall and a second end of the first wall;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lin teaches wherein the first connection wall is connected to the peripheral side wall and the first wall, a first end of the first connection wall is connected to the peripheral side wall, and a second end of the first connection wall is connected to the first wall between a first end of the first wall and a second end of the first wall (FIG. 3 and [0027], the folding laminate members 106 as applied to the airbag of Nishikawa include connection to the peripheral side wall and the first wall, a first end connected to the peripheral side wall and a second end connected to the first wall as claimed);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the airbag as taught by Nishikawa to include wherein the first connection wall is connected to the peripheral side wall and the first wall, a first end of the first connection wall is connected to the peripheral side wall, and a second end of the first connection wall is connected to the first wall between a first end of the first wall and a second end of the first wall as taught by Lin to increase the strength and volume ([0027], “When the host device 20 inflates or deflates the air bag 12 to adjust the pressure of the air bag 12, the folding laminate members 106 can maintain the original shape of the air bag 12, strengthen the structure of the post-inflation air bag 12, and increase the volume of the inflated air bag 12.”).
Regarding claim 2, Nishikawa as modified discloses The airbag according to claim 1, Nishikawa further discloses wherein: the peripheral side wall comprises a first side wall and a second side wall that are opposite to each other (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “a pair of side wall portions 43” each of the walls 43 is a peripheral side wall);
the plurality of connection walls comprise the first connection wall and a second connection wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “junction 45”, FIG. 18 and 19 showing multiple walls 45);
the first connection wall is connected to the first side wall and the first wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, as shown in FIG. 2 the junction 45 is connected to both side walls. Each side wall portion connecting to each of the first wall and the second wall. Such that each junction 45 connects each side wall and each top and bottom walls.);
a first end of the second connection wall is connected to the second side wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, as shown in FIG. 2 the junction 45 is connected to both side walls. Each side wall portion connecting to each of the first wall and the second wall. Such that each junction 45 connects each side wall and each top and bottom walls.); and
a second end of the second connection wall that is opposite the first end is connected to the first wall or the second wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, as shown in FIG. 2 the junction 45 is connected to both side walls. Each side wall portion connecting to each of the first wall and the second wall. Such that each junction 45 connects each side wall and each top and bottom walls.).
Regarding claim 3, Nishikawa as modified discloses The airbag according to claim 1, Nishikawa further discloses wherein: the peripheral side wall comprises a first side wall and a second side wall that are opposite to each other (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “a pair of side wall portions 43” each of the walls 43 is a peripheral side wall);
the plurality of connection walls comprise a first connection wall and a second connection wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, as shown in FIG. 2 the junction 45 is connected to both side walls. Each side wall portion connecting to each of the first wall and the second wall. Such that each junction 45 connects each side wall and each top and bottom walls.);
the first connection wall is connected to the first side wall and the first wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, as shown in FIG. 2 the junction 45 is connected to both side walls. Each side wall portion connecting to each of the first wall and the second wall. Such that each junction 45 connects each side wall and each top and bottom walls.); and
the second connection wall is connected to the first side wall and the second wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, as shown in FIG. 2 the junction 45 is connected to both side walls. Each side wall portion connecting to each of the first wall and the second wall. Such that each junction 45 connects each side wall and each top and bottom walls.).
Regarding claim 5, Nishikawa as modified discloses The airbag according to claim 1, Nishikawa further discloses wherein each connection wall comprises a first end, a middle part, and a second end, the middle part is between the first end and the second end (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “junction 45” has a first end, second end and a part between them.);
the first end is connected to the first wall; the middle part is connected to the peripheral side wall; and the second end is connected to the second wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, as shown in FIG. 2 the junction 45 is connected to both side walls. Each side wall portion connecting to each of the first wall and the second wall. Such that each junction 45 connects each side wall and each top and bottom walls.).
Regarding claim 7, Nishikawa as modified discloses The airbag according to claim 1, Nishikawa further discloses wherein the plurality of connection walls and the outer wall form the plurality of chambers, and adjacent ones of the plurality of chambers communicate (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “junction 45” as shown in FIG. 2 the junction creates a plurality of chambers.).
Regarding claim 8, Nishikawa as modified discloses The airbag according to claim 7, Nishikawa further discloses wherein a periphery of each connection wall is connected to the outer wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “junction 45” as shown in FIG. 2 the junction 45 is connected to the outer wall.);
each connection wall comprises an air hole (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “junction 45” comprised “openings 45a”); and
the adjacent ones of the plurality of chambers communicate through the air hole (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “junction 45” as shown in FIG. 2 the junction creates a plurality of chambers that communicate through opening 45a).
Regarding claim 9, Nishikawa as modified discloses The airbag according to claim 1, Nishikawa further discloses wherein the each connection wall is connected to a middle part of the first wall or a middle part of the second wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, as shown in FIG. 2 the junction 45 is connected to both side walls. Each side wall portion connecting to each of the first wall and the second wall. Such that each junction 45 connects each side wall and each top and bottom walls.).
Regarding claim 10, Nishikawa discloses A device for detecting blood pressure, comprising (Abstract and entire document):
an air pump (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “pump 24”);
a barometric pressure sensor (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “pressure sensor 26”); and
an airbag (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “bag-shaped structure 32”), wherein the airbag comprises:
a plurality of connection walls (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “junction 45”, FIG. 18 and 19 showing multiple walls 45); and wherein the plurality of connection walls include a first connection wall,
an outer wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “bag-shaped structure 32”), comprising:
a first wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “a rectangular outer wall portion 42”),
a second wall, wherein the first wall and the second wall are disposed opposite to each other (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “inner wall portion 41” walls 41 and 42 are opposite each other), and
a peripheral side wall connected to a periphery of the first wall and a periphery of the second wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “a pair of side wall portions 43” each of the walls 43 is a peripheral side wall. each side wall 43 connects to the periphery of the walls 41/42), wherein
the first wall, the peripheral side wall, and the second wall form an air chamber (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “bag-shaped structure 32” comprises each wall as discussed above, forming an air chamber);
the air chamber is divided into a plurality of chambers by the plurality of connection walls (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “junction 45”, FIG. 18 and 19 showing multiple walls 45 creating multiple chambers);
each connection wall is located in the air chamber (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, as shown in FIG. 2 the junction 45 is within the air chamber);
each connection wall is connected to at least two of the peripheral side wall, the first wall, or the second wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, as shown in FIG. 2 the junction 45 is connected to both side walls. Each side wall portion connecting to each of the first wall and the second wall. Such that each junction 45 connects each side wall and each top and bottom walls.); and
each connection wall is tensed when the airbag is in an expanded state (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, as shown in FIG. 2 the wall is tensed.); and
the airbag comprises an air nozzle connected with the air chamber, and both the air pump and the barometric pressure sensor are connected with the air chamber through the air nozzle (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, [0052], “The apparatus main body 11 also includes an air flow path that fluidly connects the pump 24, the on-off valve 25, the pressure sensor 26, and the cuff 12.”).
Nishikawa fails to disclose wherein the first connection wall is connected to the peripheral side wall and the first wall, a first end of the first connection wall is connected to the peripheral side wall, and a second end of the first connection wall is connected to the first wall between a first end of the first wall and a second end of the first wall;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lin teaches wherein the first connection wall is connected to the peripheral side wall and the first wall, a first end of the first connection wall is connected to the peripheral side wall, and a second end of the first connection wall is connected to the first wall between a first end of the first wall and a second end of the first wall (FIG. 3 and [0027], the folding laminate members 106 as applied to the airbag of Nishikawa include connection to the peripheral side wall and the first wall, a first end connected to the peripheral side wall and a second end connected to the first wall as claimed);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device as taught by Nishikawa to include wherein the first connection wall is connected to the peripheral side wall and the first wall, a first end of the first connection wall is connected to the peripheral side wall, and a second end of the first connection wall is connected to the first wall between a first end of the first wall and a second end of the first wall as taught by Lin to increase the strength and volume ([0027], “When the host device 20 inflates or deflates the air bag 12 to adjust the pressure of the air bag 12, the folding laminate members 106 can maintain the original shape of the air bag 12, strengthen the structure of the post-inflation air bag 12, and increase the volume of the inflated air bag 12.”).
Regarding claim 11, Nishikawa as modified discloses The device according to claim 10, Nishikawa further discloses wherein the air nozzle comprises an air intake nozzle and a measurement air nozzle, the air pump communicates with the air chamber through the air intake nozzle, and the barometric pressure sensor communicates with the air chamber through the measurement air nozzle (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, [0052], “The apparatus main body 11 also includes an air flow path that fluidly connects the pump 24, the on-off valve 25, the pressure sensor 26, and the cuff 12.” And [0058], “The pressure sensor 26 detects the pressure in the flow path. The pressure sensor 26 is electrically connected to the controller 28, converts the detected pressure into an electrical signal, and outputs it to the controller 28.”).
Regarding claim 12, Nishikawa as modified discloses The device according to claim 10, Nishikawa further discloses wherein the device is one or more of a sphygmomanometer, a wrist blood pressure monitor, or a wearable blood pressure monitor (FIG. 1 showing a wrist/wearable blood pressure monitor).
Regarding claim 13, Nishikawa as modified discloses The device according to claim 10, Nishikawa further discloses wherein; the peripheral side wall comprises a first side wall and a second side wall that are opposite to each other (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “a pair of side wall portions 43” each of the walls 43 is a peripheral side wall);
the plurality of connection walls comprises the first connection wall and a second connection wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, as shown in FIG. 2 the junction 45 is connected to both side walls. Each side wall portion connecting to each of the first wall and the second wall. Such that each junction 45 connects each side wall and each top and bottom walls.);
the first connection wall is connected to the first side wall and the first wall; a first end of the second connection wall is connected to the second side wall; and a second end of the second connection wall that is opposite the first end is connected to the first wall or the second wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, as shown in FIG. 2 the junction 45 is connected to both side walls. Each side wall portion connecting to each of the first wall and the second wall. Such that each junction 45 connects each side wall and each top and bottom walls.).
Regarding claim 14, Nishikawa as modified discloses The device according to claim 10, Nishikawa further discloses wherein: the peripheral side wall comprises a first side wall and a second side wall that are opposite to each other (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “a pair of side wall portions 43” each of the walls 43 is a peripheral side wall);
the plurality of connection walls comprises a first connection wall and a second connection wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “junction 45”, FIG. 18 and 19 showing multiple walls 45);
the first connection wall is connected to the first side wall and the first wall; and the second connection wall is connected to the first side wall and the second wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, as shown in FIG. 2 the junction 45 is connected to both side walls. Each side wall portion connecting to each of the first wall and the second wall. Such that each junction 45 connects each side wall and each top and bottom walls.).
Regarding claim 16, Nishikawa as modified discloses The device according to claim 10, Nishikawa further discloses wherein: each connection wall comprises a first end, a middle part, and a second end, the middle part is between the first end and the second end (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “junction 45” has a first end, second end and a part between them.);
the first end is connected to the first wall; the middle part is connected to the peripheral side wall; and the second end is connected to the second wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, as shown in FIG. 2 the junction 45 is connected to both side walls. Each side wall portion connecting to each of the first wall and the second wall. Such that each junction 45 connects each side wall and each top and bottom walls.).
Regarding claim 18, Nishikawa as modified discloses The device according to claim 10, Nishikawa further discloses wherein the plurality of connection walls and the outer wall form the plurality of chambers, and adjacent ones of the plurality of chambers communicate (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “junction 45” as shown in FIG. 2 the junction creates a plurality of chambers.).
Regarding claim 19, Nishikawa as modified discloses The device according to claim 18, Nishikawa further discloses wherein: a periphery of each connection wall is connected to the outer wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “junction 45” as shown in FIG. 2 the junction 45 is connected to the outer wall.);
each connection wall comprises an air hole (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “junction 45” comprised “openings 45a”); and
the adjacent ones of the plurality of chambers communicate through the air hole (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, “junction 45” as shown in FIG. 2 the junction creates a plurality of chambers that communicate through opening 45a).
Regarding claim 20, Nishikawa as modified discloses The device according to claim 10, Nishikawa further discloses wherein each connection wall is connected to a middle part of the first wall or a middle part of the second wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, as shown in FIG. 2 the junction 45 is connected to both side walls. Each side wall portion connecting to each of the first wall and the second wall. Such that each junction 45 connects each side wall and each top and bottom walls.).
Claims 4, 6, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa in view of Lin in further view of Bae et al. (US 2010/0121206 A1) (“Bae”).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Nishikawa as modified discloses The airbag according to claim 3, Nishikawa as modified fails to disclose wherein: the plurality of connection walls further comprise a third connection wall and a fourth connection wall;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bae teaches wherein: the plurality of connection walls further comprise a third connection wall and a fourth connection wall (As shown in FIG. 5A, pleats 113/114);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the airbag as taught by Nishikawa to include wherein: the plurality of connection walls further comprise a third connection wall and a fourth connection wall as taught by Bae to expand the inner space ([0011], “the bellows-type airbag comprising an inner space accommodating the compressed air discharged from the driving block, a plurality of wrinkles flattened so as to expand the inner space, and a pressurizing surface formed at an end portion of the wrinkles and spaced apart from the driving block as the inner space expands.”).
Nishikawa as modified further discloses the third connection wall is connected to the first side wall and the second wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, as shown in FIG. 2 the junction 45 is connected to both side walls. Each side wall portion connecting to each of the first wall and the second wall. Such that each junction 45 connects each side wall and each top and bottom walls.); and the fourth connection wall is connected to the second side wall and the second wall (FIG. 2-8 and 18-19, as shown in FIG. 2 the junction 45 is connected to both side walls. Each side wall portion connecting to each of the first wall and the second wall. Such that each junction 45 connects each side wall and each top and bottom walls.).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Nishikawa as modified discloses The airbag according to claim 5, Nishikawa as modified fails to disclose wherein the plurality of connection walls further comprise pleats, and the pleats are in a stretched state when the plurality of connection walls are tensed.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bae teaches wherein the plurality of connection walls further comprise pleats, and the pleats are in a stretched state when the plurality of connection walls are tensed (As shown in FIG. 5A, pleats 113/114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the airbag as taught by Nishikawa to include wherein the plurality of connection walls further comprise pleats, and the pleats are in a stretched state when the plurality of connection walls are tensed as taught by Bae to expand the inner space ([0011], “the bellows-type airbag comprising an inner space accommodating the compressed air discharged from the driving block, a plurality of wrinkles flattened so as to expand the inner space, and a pressurizing surface formed at an end portion of the wrinkles and spaced apart from the driving block as the inner space expands.”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely solely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A TOMBERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3791